Alan Gibbons - They Saw Too Much - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780622491
    • Publication date:08 Mar 2018

They Saw Too Much

By Alan Gibbons

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Two teenagers witness a murder - and now they're the next targets. An action-packed, edge-of-your-seat YA thriller from bestselling author, Alan Gibbons. Gripping and gritty, perfect for fans of Kevin Brooks, Patrice Lawrence and Malorie Blackman.

Two teenagers witness a murder - and now they're the next targets. An action-packed, edge-of-your-seat YA thriller from bestselling author, Alan Gibbons. Gripping and gritty, perfect for fans of Kevin Brooks, Patrice Lawrence and Malorie Blackman.

Sixteen-year-old John has moved away from the tough inner-city neighbourhood he grew up in and started afresh. Ceri James is the guarded girl from the children's home who has captivated his attention. But when their lives are thrown together, it's not in the way John had hoped. They witness a man die.

Not only are they eye-witnesses of the fatal shooting, but John caught the whole thing on camera - and the culprits know it. Now, John and Ceri must run for their lives in a deadly, heart-stopping chase that leads them in dark and ever more dangerous directions.

So why does John refuse to call the police? As secrets are revealed and loyalties doubted, John and Ceri's world hinges on one question - when it's a matter of life or death, who can you really trust?

Biographical Notes

Alan Gibbons is a full-time writer and a visiting speaker and lecturer at schools, colleges and literary events nationwide, including the major book festivals: Edinburgh, Northern Children's Book Festival, Swansea, Cheltenham, Sheffield and Salford. Alan is a key supporter of a high-profile, nationwide campaign to champion libraries and librarianship and to reevaluate government commitment to educational spending. He lives in Liverpool with his wife and four children. Alan is an honorary CILIP member.

Visit Alan's website at www.alangibbons.com, read his blog at alangibbons.net, follow him on Twitter @mygibbo, Facebook www.facebook.com/alan.gibbons.35 and Flickr www.flickr.com/people/71279646@N08.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780622484
  • Publication date: 08 Mar 2018
  • Page count: 240
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Some books can change the world for the better - this is one of them. All young people should be advised to read it. — THE SUN on HATE
This novel will take you to the edge of your comfort zone and beyond - a compelling, powerful read. — Cathy Cassidy on THE TRAP
Alan Gibbons has written a compelling novel of courage and conscience amidst the terrors of our time. — Beverley Naidoo, Carnegie Medal-winning author on THE TRAP
Wonderfully fast paced, thrilling ... as good as it gets in British teen fiction ... Authentic and unflinching, it is a novel you have to read. — Bali Rai, award-winning author on THE TRAP
Very few authors would have the expertise to so beautifully capture such difficult emotions without making the novel an explicit one. — THE GUARDIAN on HATE
Hodder Children's Books

Colour Me In

Lydia Ruffles
Authors:
Lydia Ruffles
Hodder Children's Books

Mystery of the Skull

Pamela Butchart, Enid Blyton
Authors:
Pamela Butchart, Enid Blyton
Orchard Books

What Manor of Murder?

Christopher William Hill
Authors:
Christopher William Hill

A BLEAKLEY BROTHERS MYSTERY by OSBERT THE AVENGER author Christopher William Hill What's that you say? You're off to Bleakley Manor? On Michaelmas eve? But dear child, hasn't anyone told you the legend of Old Bramble Head, who rises once a year to claim another victim from the unfortunate Bleakley household... Which one will it be this time? And could there be foul play? Crime-busting brothers Horatio and Eustace Bleakley feel certain they smell a rat. Or is that Cook's dinner? More importantly, can they solve the mystery before another Bleakley bites the dust? Go ahead and find out... if you dare!

Orion Children's Books

Shadow and Bone

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo
Orion Children's Books

Ruin and Rising

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo

Enter the Grishaverse with book three of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by number one New York Times-bestselling author Leigh Bardugo. Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Sarah J. Maas.Now with a stunning new cover and exclusive bonus material: The Demon in the Wood (a Darkling prequel story) and a Q&A with Leigh Bardugo. Soldier. Summoner. Saint.The nation's fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army.The Darkling rules from his shadow throne while a weakened Alina Starkov recovers from their battle under the dubious protection of the zealots who worship her as a Saint. Now her hopes lie with the magic of a long-vanished ancient creature and the chance that an outlaw prince still survives.As her allies and enemies race toward war, only Alina stands between her country and a rising tide of darkness that could destroy the world. To win this fight, she must seize a legend's power - but claiming the firebird may be her ruin. Read all the books in the Grishaverse! The Shadow and Bone Trilogy (previously published as The Grisha Trilogy) Shadow and Bone Siege and Storm Ruin and Rising The Six of Crows Duology Six of Crows Crooked Kingdom The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic

Hodder Children's Books

I Am Fugitive

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir
Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed
Orchard Books

Everless

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland
Quercus Children's Books

In the Afterlight

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken

The third book in the heart-stopping The Darkest Minds trilogy, by New York Times bestselling author of Passenger, for fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games.The fate of a generation lies in Ruby's hands - and one wrong move could set the world on fire.One of the few survivors of a disease which killed most of America's children, Ruby has emerged as Leader of the rebel group determined to bring the government down. Torn apart by the unbearable loss of Liam, she forms an unlikely alliance with his brother, Cole. But whatever their differences, Ruby and Cole are united by a clear mission: there are thousands like them still suffering in 'rehabilitation camps'. It's up to Ruby to set them free ...'A riveting emotional read that kept me on the edge.' - Melissa Marr, author of Wicked LovelyAlexandra Bracken is the New York Times bestselling author of Passenger, Wayfarer and The Darkest Minds series. Visit her online at www.alexandrabracken.com and on Twitter @alexbracken.

Quercus Children's Books

Never Fade

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken

The second book in the heart-stopping The Darkest Minds trilogy, by New York Times bestselling author of Passenger, for fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games.They call her the Leader. Their saviour and only hope. Only Ruby knows what she really is - a monster, capable of destroying them all.Ruby never asked for the abilities that almost cost her life. Now she must call upon them to bring down a corrupt government in a world where children have been eliminated. When she is entrusted with an explosive secret, she embarks on her deadliest journey yet: leaving the Children's League to track down Liam Stewart, the boy who carries the truth about the disease that threw the world into chaos. The boy she once loved and hoped never to see again ...'A riveting emotional read that kept me on the edge.' - Melissa Marr, author of Wicked LovelyAlexandra Bracken is the New York Times bestselling author of Passenger, Wayfarer and The Darkest Minds series. Visit her online at www.alexandrabracken.com and on Twitter @alexbracken.

Quercus Children's Books

The Darkest Minds

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Orion Children's Books

Weird Snowy Day

Alan Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Jane Porter
Contributors:
Alan Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Jane Porter
Orion Children's Books

The Trap

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

Terrorism, heroism and everything in between...THE TRAP is a teen thriller about espionage, a missing brother and the ever-raging war on terror by million-copy-selling author, Alan Gibbons.MI5 agent, Kate, receives a tip-off about an asset, who seems too good to be true. Amir and Nasima are trying to make friends at their new school but struggling to keep a terrible secret. A group of jihadists are planning something. And behind it all stands Majid. Brother. Son. Hero. Terrorist.Spanning Iraq, Syria and England, THE TRAP grapples with one of the greatest challenges of our time.

Orion Children's Books

Weird Spooky Day

Alan Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Jane Porter
Contributors:
Alan Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Jane Porter
Orion Children's Books

Silence is Goldfish

Annabel Pitcher
Authors:
Annabel Pitcher
Orion Children's Books

Weird Sports Day

Alan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Jane Porter
Contributors:
Alan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Jane Porter
Orion Children's Books

End Game

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

'He was here again last night, the man with the dead eyes. He was in my room and in my head.'There are not many things Nick Mallory knows for sure. He knows there was a car crash. He knows he is in hospital. And he knows he feels furious with his father. What he doesn't know is why. As his memories start to return, Nick finds himself caught in a net of secrets and lies - where truth and perception collide and heroes and villains are not easy to tell apart.

Orion Children's Books

Weird School Day

Alan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Jane Porter
Contributors:
Alan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Jane Porter
Orion Children's Books

Complete eBook Collection

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

An action packed complete collection of the eight book Total Football series from bestselling writer Alan Gibbons.This collection contains the following stories:1. Some You Win . . .2. Under Pressure3. Divided We Fall4. Injury Time5. Last Man Standing6. Power Play7. Twin Strikers8. Final Countdown

Orion Children's Books

Hate

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

Eve's older sister, Rosie, was bright and alive and always loved being the centre of attention. Then one day, she is brutally murdered. Six months later, Eve meets Antony and discovers that he was there the night Rosie died and did nothing to help. Is there any way she can ever get past that?Inspired by the tragic murder of Sophie Lancaster, which saw Sophie and her partner Rob viciously attacked in Stubbylee Park, Bacup, Lancashire because of the way they dressed, this is a hard-hitting real-life thriller about friendship, courage, loss, forgiveness and about our society and communities.