Alan Gibbons - Hate - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780621777
    • Publication date:10 Apr 2014

Hate

By Alan Gibbons

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

In 2007 Goth Sophie Lancaster was murdered just for looking different - inspired by her story, HATE is a hard-hitting real-life thriller about friendship, courage, loss, forgiveness and about our society and communities.

Eve's older sister, Rosie, was bright and alive and always loved being the centre of attention. Then one day, she is brutally murdered. Six months later, Eve meets Antony and discovers that he was there the night Rosie died and did nothing to help. Is there any way she can ever get past that?

Inspired by the tragic murder of Sophie Lancaster, which saw Sophie and her partner Rob viciously attacked in Stubbylee Park, Bacup, Lancashire because of the way they dressed, this is a hard-hitting real-life thriller about friendship, courage, loss, forgiveness and about our society and communities.

Biographical Notes

Alan Gibbons is a full-time writer and a visiting speaker and lecturer at schools, colleges and literary events nationwide, including the major book festivals: Edinburgh, Northern Children's Book Festival, Swansea, Cheltenham, Sheffield and Salford. Alan is a key supporter of a high-profile, nationwide campaign to champion libraries and librarianship and to reevaluate government commitment to educational spending. He lives in Liverpool with his wife and four children. Alan is an honorary CILIP member.

Visit Alan's website at www.alangibbons.com, read his blog at alangibbons.net, follow him on Twitter @mygibbo, Facebook www.facebook.com/alan.gibbons.35 and Flickr www.flickr.com/people/71279646@N08.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780621784
  • Publication date: 12 Feb 2015
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Very few authors would have the expertise to so beautifully capture such difficult emotions without making the novel an explicit one. — THE GUARDIAN
This is one of Gibbon's best...a hard-hitting, deeply moving thriller about contemporary society — The Bookseller, The Bookseller
Hate needs to be read. — Read A Raptor
Alan Gibbons understands school life very well and all the seething tensions that affect everyone in it. — Hack Writers
It only becomes more so when you know it's based on the real-life tragic murder of Sophie Lancaster, and Gibbons doesn't pull any punches. — THE BOOK BAG
A very tense, riveting and compelling read. — Books and Writers JNR
Realistic down to the bone, this gritty novel will stay with you for a good while — Snuggling on the Sofa
Alan Gibbons should be praised for not holding back. — Book Angel Booktopia
A gritty, hard-hitting novel about tolerance and forgiveness ... an emotional, powerful read — School Librarian
Some books can change the world for the better -- this is one of them. All young people should be advised to read it. — The Sun
Some books can change the world for the better - this is one of them — Natasha Harding, The Sun
Orion Children's Books

They Saw Too Much

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

Two teenagers witness a murder - and now they're the next targets. An action-packed, edge-of-your-seat YA thriller from bestselling author, Alan Gibbons. Gripping and gritty, perfect for fans of Kevin Brooks, Patrice Lawrence and Malorie Blackman.Sixteen-year-old John has moved away from the tough inner-city neighbourhood he grew up in and started afresh. Ceri James is the guarded girl from the children's home who has captivated his attention. But when their lives are thrown together, it's not in the way John had hoped. They witness a man die.Not only are they eye-witnesses of the fatal shooting, but John caught the whole thing on camera - and the culprits know it. Now, John and Ceri must run for their lives in a deadly, heart-stopping chase that leads them in dark and ever more dangerous directions.So why does John refuse to call the police? As secrets are revealed and loyalties doubted, John and Ceri's world hinges on one question - when it's a matter of life or death, who can you really trust?

Orion Children's Books

Weird Snowy Day

Alan Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Jane Porter
Contributors:
Alan Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Jane Porter

A full colour blue Early Reader story from million-copy-selling author Alan Gibbons writing with his daughters, Megan and Rachel.Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books perfect for building confidence in new readers and reluctant readers. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Katie Cat saw it first. It was a single white flake drifting down from the sky. It's a snowy day, and that means snowball fights and playing outside with friends. Even the littlest animals can have fun in the snow.A delightful new Weirdibeasts story from million-copy-selling author Alan Gibbons writing with his daughters, Megan and Rachel, and illustrated by Jane Porter.

Orion Children's Books

The Trap

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

Terrorism, heroism and everything in between...THE TRAP is a teen thriller about espionage, a missing brother and the ever-raging war on terror by million-copy-selling author, Alan Gibbons.MI5 agent, Kate, receives a tip-off about an asset, who seems too good to be true. Amir and Nasima are trying to make friends at their new school but struggling to keep a terrible secret. A group of jihadists are planning something. And behind it all stands Majid. Brother. Son. Hero. Terrorist.Spanning Iraq, Syria and England, THE TRAP grapples with one of the greatest challenges of our time.

Orion Children's Books

Weird Spooky Day

Alan Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Jane Porter
Contributors:
Alan Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Jane Porter
Wayland

The Frog Olympics

Brian Moses, Amy Husband
Contributors:
Brian Moses, Amy Husband

Laugh out loud with this wonderfully funny and charming picture book story about frogs coming together from around the world to particpate in and celebrate their 'Frog Olympics'. The rhyming text is brilliant to read out loud at home or in the classroom.Great for discussion starters about the Olympics and to talk about inclusion and how people, or frogs, of every size and ability can take part in the Olympics.Humorously illustrated by Amy Husband, the frogs will really leap off the page.

Orion Children's Books

Weird Sports Day

Alan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Jane Porter
Contributors:
Alan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Jane Porter
Orion Children's Books

End Game

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons
Orion Children's Books

Weird School Day

Alan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Jane Porter
Contributors:
Alan Gibbons, Rachel Gibbons, Megan Gibbons, Jane Porter

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.It's Katie Cat's first day of school ... but what has happened? She has feathers and fur and whiskers and wings. She's all mixed up!A delightful story about starting school from million-copy-selling author Alan Gibbons writing with his daughters, Megan and Rachel.

Orion Children's Books

Complete eBook Collection

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

An action packed complete collection of the eight book Total Football series from bestselling writer Alan Gibbons.This collection contains the following stories:1. Some You Win . . .2. Under Pressure3. Divided We Fall4. Injury Time5. Last Man Standing6. Power Play7. Twin Strikers8. Final Countdown

Orion Children's Books

Raining Fire

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

Alex and Ethan are brothers, growing up on an estate where there are just two choices: sport or crime. Ethan is a promising footballer, and when he is selected to go on a training programme in the US, he feels sure that he has found his chance to escape the gangs that dominate his streets. But as life spirals out of control for his brother, Alex, and things unexpectedly take a turn for the worse for Ethan, he finds himself drawn into the midst of an explosive feud with the gun at its heart. The gun can make a weak man strong. The gun is the coward's fist. The gun is power. In this tense, gripping and absorbing real life thriller, Alan Gibbons explores the complex issue of gun crime, and the far-reaching consequences it can have.

Orion Children's Books

Witch Breed

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

When Paul journies back to 17th-century London, he expects to be thrown into a life or death struggle for the three gates that imprison the ancient King Lud. But the battle doesn't come. Instead, Paul roams alone, learning how to survive in a city where all the talk is of the savage civil war that rages beyond its ramparts. Somewhere underground, Lud is waiting in his crypt, preparing to rise again. War, fear and want are his tools. But Paul has his own weapons. Beyond the city, a witchhunt rages out of control. Only one woman possesses the power to help Paul in his quest.

Orion Children's Books

Hold On

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons
Orion Children's Books

An Act of Love

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons
Hodder Children's Books

The Viewer

Gary Crew, Shaun Tan
Contributors:
Gary Crew, Shaun Tan

Young Tristan, a curious boy who rescues all sorts of objects from the rubbish dump, finds an old Viewmaster in its elaborate box, complete with a set of disks. He finds that these represent the ages of humankind, seen as a cyclical structure in which patterns of growth and decay are repeated. Tristan becomes more and more drawn in to the world of the disks, and eventually disappears. The book is full of metaphors and symbols of seeing and watching, circularity and never-endingness, in a complex, fantastical tale, which was Shaun Tan's first picture book.

Orion Children's Books

A Greedy Gulp of Horrid Henry 3-in-1

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Collection of twelve classic stories about everyone's favourite horrid boy, including the ones when Horrid Henry competes to win a snowman competition, cheats at Gotcha, and performs at a talent show.

Orion Children's Books

Whose Side Are You On?

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons
Orion Children's Books

Rise of the Blood Moon

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons
Orion Children's Books

Setting of a Cruel Sun

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

The Helat rebels have broken the power of the demon lord and challenged the rule of their masters, the Sol-ket. But the Darkwing is merely in retreat, biding his time, and the Sol-ket will fight to their last breath to keep control of their golden cities. The power of the slaves is mounting as they rise to fulfil once-forbidden prophecies. When the Darkwing returns for his final onslaught, is anyone, soldier or slave, equipped to defeat him - especially as the cruel sun sets, beckoning a devastatingly relentless winter?A brilliant continuation of the journey begun in RISE OF THE BLOOD MOON, this novel also stands alone, with its own twists, turns and surprises for characters and readers alike. Be prepared for changes of allegiance, surprise new arrivals, and sudden deaths. Page-turning and unpredictable from start to finish.

Orion Children's Books

Divided We Fall

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

The Rough Diamonds are a close knit team. Kev McGovern, their captain, makes sure they work hard and play hard. When Kev's best mate, Jamie's world is wrecked by dirty play off the pitch, he's desperate to get everything back to normal.

Orion Children's Books

Warriors of the Raven

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons