Alex Bertie - Trans Mission - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781526360694
    • Publication date:02 Nov 2017

Trans Mission

My Quest to a Beard

By Alex Bertie

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

A brave and ground-breaking first-hand account of the life, struggles and victories of a young transgender man, as told by YouTuber Alex Bertie.

I guess we should start at the beginning. I was born on 2 November 1995. The doctors in the hospital took one look at my genitals and slapped an F on my birth certificate. 'F' for female, not fail - though that would actually have been kind of appropriate given present circumstances.

When I was 15, I realised I was a transgender man. That makes it sound like I suddenly had some kind of lightbulb moment. In reality, coming to grips with my identity has taken a long time.

Over the last six years, I've come out to my family and friends, changed my name, battled the healthcare system, started taking male hormones and have had surgery on my chest. My quest to a beard is almost complete. This is my story.

Biographical Notes

Alex Bertie is a 21-year-old transgender YouTuber from rural Dorset. While attending school aged 14, he started making videos on sexuality and gender identity, continuing to do so with weekly uploads. His YouTube channel, TheRealAlexBertie, now has almost 300,000 subscribers, he has 72,000 Instagram followers and 47,000 Twitter followers.

Alex has worked with organisations such as Childline and Stonewall, and has been recognised by the Independent, YouTube magazine TenEighty and trans publication FTM Magazine.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781526360687
  • Publication date: 02 Nov 2017
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Wren & Rook
Must read...Tran Mission: My Quest To A Beard is Alex Bertie's moving memoir — NME
Franklin Watts

Trans Global

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

Hodder Children's Books

That's Not What Happened

Kody Keplinger
Authors:
Kody Keplinger

The next hotly anticipated YA novel from bestselling US sensation Kody Keplinger, author of THE DUFF and RUN

Hodder Children's Books

Girl at Sea

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay
Wren & Rook

Can Everyone Please Calm Down?

Mae Martin
Authors:
Mae Martin

Are you gay? Are you male? Are you straight? Are you female? These aren't necessarily questions with yes/no answers. Gender and sexuality aren't black and white, binary concepts - they can be fluid, and are often on a spectrum: 40% of people under 25 don't identify as gay or straight. Society hasn't necessary caught up with this, though, as comedian Mae Martin notes in this hilarious look at sexuality, dating and gender in the 21st century. She notes, partly in humour, partly in frustration, that it's 2017, and we are still labeling people by who they sleep with. Expanding on themes raised in her BBC Radio 4 show Mae Martin's Guide to 21st Century Sexuality, she aims to break down barriers and start conversations. With a blend of personal anecdotes and clever social observations, Mae gently pokes fun at stereotypes, pigeon-holing and intolerance in this truly millennial book.

Hodder Children's Books

Run, Riot

Nikesh Shukla
Authors:
Nikesh Shukla

A powerful novel about young people standing up for themselves and their community, from the editor/author of The Good Immigrant.'This is what it means to live in a place where everyone knows you. The sense of community. The sense of knowing each other, even though we don't, not really. The idea that we are all living in this space together and understand and want the best for each other.'Taran and her twin Hari never wanted to move to Firestone House. But when the rent was doubled overnight and Dad's chemo meant he couldn't work, they had to make this tower block their home. It's good now though; they feel part of something here.When they start noticing boarded-up flats and glossy fliers for expensive apartments, they don't think much of it - until Hari is caught up in a tragedy, and they are forced to go on the run. It's up to the teenagers to uncover the sinister truth behind what's going on in the block, before it blows their world apart.

Franklin Watts

The Seaside Trip

Jackie Walter, Jem Maybank
Contributors:
Jackie Walter, Jem Maybank
Franklin Watts

Picnic at the Park

Jackie Walter, Jem Maybank
Contributors:
Jackie Walter, Jem Maybank
Wren & Rook

The 57 Bus

Dashka Slater
Authors:
Dashka Slater

Two teenagers growing up in Oakland, California, in 2013. One, Sasha, was born male but identifies as agender, wears skirts and attends a private school. The other, Richard, is an African American from a poor part of Oakland who attends a rough public school. They have no reason to meet, except for eight minutes every day, they catch the same bus home. And one day, messing about, Richard spies Sasha napping. He flicks the flame of his lighter to Sasha's skirt, and Sasha wakes up in a ball of flame. What happens next, as the victim, the perpetrator and the community struggle to come to terms with their sadness and shock, is a story of recovery, reconciliation, forgiveness and, above all, hope. It's about the power of being true to yourself, bravery and the good and bad in all of us. And, remarkably, it's all true.

Franklin Watts

Positively Teenage

Nicola Morgan
Authors:
Nicola Morgan

Positively Teenage gives you tools to approach your teenage years with optimism and understanding and to develop real wellbeing for life. The media so often portray adolescence negatively but this book shows you how to approach these years far more positively so that you can really flourish and be in control. You'll find simple strategies to develop a positive attitude, growth mindset, self-understanding, determination and resilience and you'll see how those strengths will help you cope with any challenges, enjoy life and achieve your potential. Full of practical, proven strategies for physical and mental health, Positively Teenage will show you lots of ways to flourish physically and mentally - from doing things you enjoy to learning new skills; looking after your diet, exercise and attitude to being healthy online; getting great sleep to understanding your personality - allowing you to take control of many areas of your life. With these new strengths and skills, you can survive any storms and thrive on the challenges of your exciting life.Scattered throughout are POSITIVE BOOSTS: quick ideas for actions you can take to build positivity and well-being. Add them into your life and use your imagination and your new understanding to invent others.Positively Teenage gives you the power to let yourself flourish, achieve and be who you want to be. Use your powers well! Be truly, positively, teenage! Stand tall, stretch your arms wide, take a deep breath and say, loudly (or in your head), 'I can do this!'"Nicola Morgan has that rare gift of being able to communicate science and make it fun." Professor Simon Baron Cohen, University of Cambridge

Quercus Children's Books

We Are Young

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke

It starts with a wedding. And a car crash. An unforgettable story from the queen of emotional suspense, for fans of Jodi Picoult, Megan Abbott and Courtney Summers.'A new Cat Clarke novel is always something to celebrate' JUNO DAWSONOn the same night Evan's mother marries local radio DJ 'Breakfast Tim', Evan's brand-new step-brother Lewis is found unconscious and terribly injured, the only survivor of a horrific car crash.A media furore erupts, with the finger of blame pointed firmly at stoner, loner Lewis. Everyone else seems to think the crash was drugs-related, but Evan isn't buying it. With the help of her journalist father, Harry, she decides to find out what really happened that night.As Evan delves deeper into the lives of the three teenagers who died in the crash, she uncovers some disturbing truths and a secret that threatens to tear her family - and the community - apart for ever...

Franklin Watts

The Bike Ride

Jackie Walter, Jem Maybank
Contributors:
Jackie Walter, Jem Maybank
Franklin Watts

The Museum

Jackie Walter, Jem Maybank
Contributors:
Jackie Walter, Jem Maybank

Isla's mum has planned a surprise day at the museum but Isla wishes she could see her friend instead. But there's lots to do at the museum and the day flies by after all.This story features a young carer who helps to look after her disabled mum. For children progressing through Book Bands, it is suitable for reading at level 8: Purple. It is part of the Family Days Out series, fun, humourous stories with bold illustrations and a range of family set-ups including two mums, two dads, a young carer and a step-family.

Quercus Children's Books

Clean

Juno Dawson
Authors:
Juno Dawson
Franklin Watts

Serena Williams

Roy Apps
Authors:
Roy Apps
Franklin Watts

Civil War and Genocide

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Franklin Watts

Global Pollution

Rachel Minay
Authors:
Rachel Minay
Franklin Watts

Adam Peaty

Roy Apps
Authors:
Roy Apps

This inspirational biography for children, written by award-winning author Roy Apps, follows the swimming story of Adam Peaty and his incredible rise to become a Commonwealth gold medalist and world-record holder for 100 metre breaststroke. Illustrated with colour artwork by Alessandro Valdrighi, including graphic novel-style panels, this book is perfect for sport-mad girls and boys with a reading age of 7, but will work perfectly well for older readers too. Printed on off-white paper using a reading font approved by the British Dyslexia Association, the Sporting Heroes series brings to life the skill, grit and determination needed to be a world-class sportsperson today. This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of booksto get children reading with confidence. EDGE - for books kids can't put down.

Wayland

From Prejudice to Pride: A History of LGBTQ+ Movement

Amy Lamé
Authors:
Amy Lamé

From Prejudice to Pride looks at the rise and achievements of the LGBTQ+ movement and the different communities, pioneers and stories of heartbreak and courage that have marched alongside it. Perfect for readers aged 11 and upwards, this book will inspire courage and pride in young LGBTQ+ people and help answer questions for all readers interested in gender and identity.Follow LGBTQ+ history from ancient civilisations to the present-day, and learn about key events including the trial of Oscar Wilde, the Stonewall riots, the AIDS crisis, same-sex marriage and changing laws that have impacted on LGBTQ+ life. Gain insight into the shifting attitudes that have challenged lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people and the experiences that help us understand what it means to be LGBTQ+ today.Filled with photographs documenting LGBTQ+ life from the past and present, and from around the world.

Wayland

the American Civil War?

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

This book considers the deadliest war in US history, which killed 750,000 soldiers and many civilians before this young nation was a century old. Its legacy still resonates across the USA today. Did it achieve any of its goals? Did it have unexpected consequences? Did any good at all come out of it?

Wayland

the Great Depression?

Emma Marriott
Authors:
Emma Marriott

Look at the events that lead to the Wall Street Crash of October 1929 and the shockwaves that it sent around the world, leading to economic crisis and financial panic and plunging millions into unemployment, eviction from their homes and grinding poverty. Explore the legacy of the Great Depression internationally, both in terms of the bad things that came out of it, such as political ferment leading to the rise of fascism, and the good things, including the expansion of the welfare state and provision for those in need, technological innovation and the rise of the cinema industry.