Jon Richards and Ed Simkins - Animals - Hachette Children's Group

Animals

By Jon Richards and Ed Simkins

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

An emoji-based fact book that takes infographics to the next evolution - injecting fun into facts

What makes an animal, an animal? And what makes a reptile different from a mammal, or fish - and how about amphibians? What's all that about? Whether it flies, crawls, swims or slithers, Infomojis: Animals is all about exploring the animal kingdom in a fun and engaging way. Each book features custom-made 'infomojis' - presenting the information with real personality! So inject fun into facts, and take your young naturalist to the next evolution in infographics. Perfect for readers aged 8+.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781526306999
  • Publication date: 13 Sep 2018
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland
Wayland

A World of Computers and Coding

Clive Gifford
Authors:
Clive Gifford

In this exciting, photo-packed book, discover the world's most amazing computers, from the first mechanical calculators to the latest groundbreaking designs. Step back in time to explore the history of computer gaming - from the first simple pong game to the latest high-tech console. Meet the pioneers of computer programming and gain an insight into how computers work. You can even become a coder yourself - follow step-by-step instructions to program your very own computer game!

Franklin Watts

The Maya

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Franklin Watts

The Benin Kingdom

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland
Franklin Watts

Beating Stress and Anxiety

Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Contributors:
Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio

Aimed at young tweens, this book will help you to overcome feelings of stress and anxiety and develop good mental health. How do you feel right now? Everyone experiences stress and anxiety at times in their lives, but sometimes the feelings build up and can affect our physical and mental health. This book will help you to recognise the signs of feeling stressed and anxious and what you can do to feel better. There are hints and tips on quick ways to improve your health that you can try every day or whenever you need to. The text has been approved by a consultant working in the field of young people's mental health and includes information on further sources of help and advice.

Franklin Watts

Your Brain and Body

Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Contributors:
Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio

Aimed at young tweens, this book will help you to look after your brain and body and develop good mental health. How are you today? Your brain and body work as a team. What you do with your body - what you eat, how you exercise and how much sleep you get - affects your mood, while your thoughts and feelings affect how you feel physically. This book will help you to understand how your physical and mental health are closely linked. There are hints and tips on quick ways to improve your health that you can try every day or whenever you need to. The text has been approved by a consultant working in the field of young people's mental health and includes information on further sources of help and advice.

Wayland

What is Masculinity? Why Does it Matter? And Other Big Questions

Jeffrey Boakye, Darren Chetty
Authors:
Jeffrey Boakye, Darren Chetty

Masculinity is being discussed more than ever before, in a range of contexts. People talk about 'toxic masculinity', claim that there is a crisis in masculinity or argue that we need to 'reclaim masculinity'. There have always been many ways of being a man, and many people who have claimed that there are correct and incorrect ways of being a man. This important and timely book looks at the big questions surrounding definitions of masculinity, and discusses where ideas of masculinity have come from and the effects of gender stereotyping. The authors and contributors share their experiences of and perspectives on masculinity and invite readers to think for themselves about the issues involved.

Orion Children's Books

Hangman's Crossing

Will Mabbitt
Authors:
Will Mabbitt

The second book in a spookily funny new series, where the living meet the dead and survival is a race against time. Perfect for fans of Skulduggery Pleasant and Who Let the Gods Out. Welcome to the Embassy of the Dead. Leave your life at the door. (Thanks.) Jake may have already outrun and outwitted a grim reaper - saving his own life, as well as the soul of an innocent ghost - but his spooky adventure has only just begun . . . In return for helping ghost, Stiffkey, resolve his unfinished business and travel to the Afterworld, Jake has now been awarded an official position working for the Embassy of the Dead, protecting ghosts in need. He didn't ask for it and, to be honest, he doesn't necessarily want it, but saying 'no' to the Embassy isn't an option. Now Jake must journey even deeper into the mysterious world of ghosts where, on a rowdy night undercover at the Hangman's Social Club, he overhears a plot to destroy the very fabric between the world of the living and the dead. With his ghostly gang at his side - hockey stick-wielding Cora and Zorro the fox - Jake must do the impossible. He has to be a hero. Again. His life - and ultimately his death - depends on it.

Wayland

Magnificent Habitats

Rob Colson, Jon Richards
Authors:
Rob Colson, Jon Richards

Wayland

Incredible Living Things

Rob Colson, Jon Richards
Authors:
Rob Colson, Jon Richards
Wayland

Who are Refugees and Migrants? What Makes People Leave their Homes? And Other Big Questions

Michael Rosen, Annemarie Young
Authors:
Michael Rosen, Annemarie Young

What does it mean for people to have to leave their homes, and what happens when they seek entry to another country? This book explores the history of refugees and migration around the world and the effects on people of never-ending war and conflict. It compares the effects on society of diversity and interculturalism with historical attempts to create a racially 'pure' culture. It takes an international perspective, and offers a range of views from people who have personal experience of migration, including the campaigners Meltem Avcil and Muzoon Almellehan, the comedian and actor Omid Djalili and the poet Benjamin Zephaniah. Aimed at young people aged 10 and upwards, the book encourages readers to think for themselves about the issues involved. There is also a role-play activity asking readers to imagine themselves in the situation of having to decide whether to leave their homes and seek refuge in a new country. Part of the groundbreaking and important 'And Other Big Questions' series, which offers balanced and considered views on the big issues we face in the world we live in today.Other titles in the series include:What is Humanism? How do you live without a god?What is Feminism? Why do we need It?What is Gender? How does it Define us?What is Consent? Why is it Important?What is Right and Wrong? Who Decides? Where do Values come from?What is Race? Who are Racists? Why Does Skin Colour Matter?What is Masculinity? Why Does it Matter?What is Politics? Why Should we Care?

Hodder Children's Books

Classic Stories of Courageous Girls

This wonderful anthology features the stories of some of the best-loved heroines in children's books. From Jo March who sells her hair to raise money for her family, to George's single-minded commitment to protecting her island in The Famous Five to Bobbie's quick-thinking action that prevents a train crash in The Railway Children, these girls demonstrate courage beyond their years. Each of the 24 chapters contains an introduction about the courageous girl featured and a satisfying extract from the original book. These fictional heroines will inspire young readers with their stories of expectations defied, fears faced and obstacles overcome. This collection is also bound to tempt readers to discover these classic novels for themselves.Classic novels featured include Little Women, Anne of Green Gables, Five on a Treasure Island, The Railway Children, Jane Eyre, A Little Princess, Pollyanna and The Wizard of Oz, as well as beloved fairy tales from diverse cultures such as The Snow Queen, Kate Crackernuts and White Chrysanthemum.

Franklin Watts

Your Emotions

Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Contributors:
Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio

Aimed at young tweens, this book will help you to understand your feelings and develop good mental health. How are you feeling today? Positive emotions can make us feel that the world is a wonderful place, but feeling sad, angry and hopeless can make us think the opposite is true. As we get older we learn how different experiences affect us and become more skilled in managing negative emotions and expressing our feelings. This book will help you to understand your emotions so that you can make good decisions that will shape your behaviour and allow you to build strong relationships with the people around you. There are hints and tips on quick ways to improve your emotional health that you can try every day or whenever you need to.

Franklin Watts

Social Media and You

Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Contributors:
Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Franklin Watts

Cultural Issues

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Orchard Books

Torka the Sky Snatcher

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!King Hugo's brother Prince Angelo, long believed dead, has reappeared and seized power. Banished from their kingdom, Tom and Elenna must uncover the truth about Prince Angelo ... but there are new and deadly Beasts on the loose. How can they defeat Torka the three-headed dragon? There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out!

Franklin Watts

In the Home

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards
Franklin Watts

Overcoming Fear of Failure

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

Franklin Watts

Understanding Sexuality

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

Self-Esteem and Confidence

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

This book looks at self-esteem and how it's possible to change it. It deals with issues such as a healthy body image, peer pressure, celebrity culture and bullying and provides lots of practical advice for young people dealing with low self-esteem.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Franklin Watts

Family Differences

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

This book looks at different family set-ups including single parents and step-families and examines issues that can arise within families - sibling fall-outs, poverty, abuse, illness and child carers, and getting on with parents.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.