Paul Mason - In the Animal Kingdom - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

In the Animal Kingdom

By Paul Mason
Illustrated by Mark Ruffle

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

This series look at why and how things happen, the effects, and the consequences of when things go a bit wrong
  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781526305787
  • Publication date: 09 Aug 2018
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland
Wayland

On Planet Earth

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle

What happens on planet earth when an earthquake strikes, a volcano erupts or ice caps and glaciers melt? Actions on planet earth can have a huge impact on the way we live our lives - and on our very existence! Cause, Effect and Chaos! explores the relationship between things, their actions and reactions, and what happens when processes don't go according to plan. From the unfortunate to the truly catastrophic, discover how things work in the world and beyond.Each spread follows a narrative chain with fun illustrations and arrows leading the reader through a different action, process or phenomenon. For children aged 9 and up.This highly visual approach, with simple text, makes it the perfect series for imparting STEM and geography concepts.

Hodder Children's Books

Agent Weasel and the Fiendish Fox Gang

Nick East
Authors:
Nick East

Meet Agent Weasel: woodland super-spy. Can he foil the dastardly Fiendish Fox Gang once and for all? Perfect for reading alone or sharing together, for fans of The Bolds and Toto the Ninja Cat.Strange things are happening in the United Woodlands. Rabbit warrens have been peppered with itching powder. Squirrels' nuts are missing. Even Badger's bottom has been shaved! All the clues point to the Fiendish Fox Gang. It's time to call Agent Weasel, woodland super-spy. But before they can even finish their stakeout picnic, Weasel and his trusty dormouse friend Doorkins are captured by the villainous Vixen von Fluff. Can our heroes escape? Can peace be made in the United Woodlands? Will they get afternoon tea and biscuits? Does Agent Weasel have a clue what's going on? All these very important questions will be answered in this rib-ticklingly funny adventure, with glorious illustrations throughout.

Wren & Rook

Incredible Journeys: Discovery, Adventure, Danger, Endurance

Levison Wood, Sam Brewster
Contributors:
Levison Wood, Sam Brewster

Alongside real-life explorer Levison Wood, travel around the world, meet some of history's most daring pioneers, and be inspired to go on your very own adventures!Embark on 20 epic expeditions alongside Levison Wood, from the Silk Road and medieval pilgrimages to the Holy Land to Nellie Bly's trip around the world, and recent missions to the Moon and the Mariana Trench. Along the way, Levison Wood shares his own insights into adventuring, telling you what it's REALLY like to follow in the footsteps of Alexander the Great.Beautifully illustrated with maps showing the routes and filled with detail bringing the cultures of each region to life, this is a lavish gift book to treasure from one of our greatest living explorers.

Orchard Books

Help! I Smell a Monster

Justin Davies
Authors:
Justin Davies

This book STINKS . . . of monsters!When Alice is sent to stay with her Uncle Magnus, she soon realises that his job agency isn't quite ... normal. It helps monsters find work that makes the most of their unique talons - er, talents. Alice is shocked to discover that monsters are EVERYWHERE. There's even a Cyclops working in the castle as a pastry chef! But when he suddenly disappears, Alice smells something fishy. Can she and her uncle sniff out the missing monster before it's too late?Perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and David Solomons.

Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous 3

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell

WARNING: DO NOT GIVE THIS BOOK TO YOUR OWN GRANDMA. SHE MIGHT GET IDEAS...Danger is her middle name!*Grandma flies Ollie and Piper in her hot-air balloon for a cursed adventure in Cairo! The third book in the fantastically hilarious Grandma Dangerous series. Praise for Book 1: "Thrills! Biscuits! This book has it all" Andy Riley, author of King Flashypants*Actually, it's Maude

Wayland

In Outer Space

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle

What happens in outer space when a star explodes, a spacewalk goes wrong or a meteor falls towards planet Earth? Actions in outer space can be jaw-dropping - and sometimes deadly!Cause, Effect and Chaos! explores the relationship between things, their actions and reactions, and what happens when processes don't go according to plan. From the unfortunate to the truly catastrophic, discover how things work in the world and beyond.Each spread follows a narrative chain with fun illustrations and arrows leading the reader through a different action, process or phenomenon.This highly visual approach, with simple text, makes it the perfect series for imparting STEM and geography concepts.

Wayland

In the Human Body

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Wayland

Energy and Fuel

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Wayland

People and Places

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Wayland

How to Design the World's Best Space Station

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Wayland

How to Design the World's Best Skatepark

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap and the Pirate Prince

Liz Kessler
Authors:
Liz Kessler

Meet Emily Windsnap! Ordinary girl on land, magical mermaid in water... Bubbling with magic, fun, friendship and oceans of adventure. A must-read for girls aged 8+.When Emily Windsnap's boyfriend Aaron is captured by pirates there's only one option - join a rival pirate crew and persuade them to help rescue him. The Pirate Prince agrees, as long as Emily assists in finding the Trident's Treasure first.But as if boarding a pirate ship weren't dangerous enough, Emily soon discovers that pirates hate mermaids. If her true identity is revealed, her life - and Aaron's - will be at risk.How will Emily keep her secret when the only way to win the treasure is by turning into a mermaid?

Orion Children's Books

Hangman's Crossing

Will Mabbitt
Authors:
Will Mabbitt
Wayland

Human Body

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Did you know blood is made of 55% plasma and 45% blood cells? Together they make 100% blood. Or that 65% of the body is water? Learn about the human body through facts focused on percentages. Lungs, the brain, muscles, senses are some of the topics covered in this exciting new way of exploring how our body works.Find out what makes the world complete by understanding the different components that make everything whole.The series combines the visual style of infographics and their striking way of presenting facts and figures, alongside in-depth explanations and diagrams.

Orchard Books

Querzol the Swamp Monster

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!The kingdom of Avantia is shocked by the return of the king's brother, Prince Angelo, believed killed in battle many years ago. But when he banishes Tom and Elenna from Avantia they travel to the Wildlands in search of the truth about Prince Angelo. First of all they must tackle Querzol, a man-eating mangrove tree! There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out!

Quercus Children's Books

The Last Life of Prince Alastor

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Hodder Children's Books

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

From the international bestselling creator of Claude comes a brand new hero: Mr Penguin. Indiana Jones meets Hercule Poirot in this series from Alex T. Smith. Follow Mr Penguin and Colin as they crash-land on a snowy mountain. Will they be able to solve the mystery of the missing pets? What are the strange noises coming from the abandoned fortress? And will Mr Penguin conquer his fear of flying?Find out in the second Mr Penguin book with plenty of slapstick humour, mystery and adventure. Highly illustrated throughout with a striking black and orange design.Praise for Mr Penguin and the Lost Treasure:'Addictive slapstick' - Guardian'The perfect introduction to mystery stories' - ScotsmanClaude won the 5-9 young fiction Sainsbury's Children's Book Award, was selected for the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize, the Richard and Judy Book Club and is now a TV star on Disney Junior. Alex T. Smith was a World Book Day Illustrator. Follow him on Twitter @Alex_T_Smith

Wayland

In the Rainforest

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Wayland

In Engineering and Industry

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle

Wayland

Roller Coaster

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Imagine someone gave you a sackful of money and told you to build a roller coaster. You'd definitely want it to be the best roller coaster in the world. But how do you go about designing THAT? Armed with your own imagination and some smart research, find out how you can transform a fantasy design into an actual dream product. You'll apply real-world design considerations to your ideas, refining your design to make it workable and achievable as it takes shape.