Paul Mason - In the Animal Kingdom - Hachette Children's Group

In the Animal Kingdom

By Paul Mason

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

This series look at why and how things happen, the effects, and the consequences of when things go a bit wrong
  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781526305787
  • Publication date: 09 Aug 2018
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland
Wayland

Human Body

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Did you know blood is made of 55% plasma and 45% blood cells? Together they make 100% blood. Or that 65% of the body is water? Learn about the human body through facts focused on percentages. Lungs, the brain, muscles, senses are some of the topics covered in this exciting new way of exploring how our body works.Find out what makes the world complete by understanding the different components that make everything whole.The series combines the visual style of infographics and their striking way of presenting facts and figures, alongside in-depth explanations and diagrams.

Wayland

Our Living Planet

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Did you know that 40% of volcanoes are active and 60% aren't? Find out what causes earthquakes and how they are measured. Learn about our planet Earth through facts focused on percentages. Habitats, earthquakes, volcanoes, tsunamis, the air we breathe are some of the topics covered in this exciting new way of exploring how our planet works.Find out what makes the world complete by understanding the different components that make everything whole.The series combines the visual style of infographics and their striking way of presenting facts and figures, alongside in-depth explanations and diagrams.

Wayland

Power Stations and Electricity

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Explore the science and technology behind the world that surrounds us in this innovative illustrated series.

Wayland

A World of Supercars

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Get up to speed with the fastest cars around!

Wayland

Transport

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

See the world from a whole new angle!This innovative series, illustrated with amazing isometric artwork, reveals the technology, science and engineering behind our world's infrastructure.Discover in this book how transport helps us to travel around the world and the huge range of vehicles we use to move from place to place, from driverless cars to high-speed maglev trains. We also take a look forward to see how transport might move forward in the future.

Wayland

Technology

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Wayland

Engineering

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Explore the science and technology behind the world that surrounds us in this innovative illustrated series.

Wayland

How to Design the World's Best Roller Coaster

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Imagine someone gave you a sackful of money and told you to build a roller coaster. You'd definitely want it to be the best roller coaster in the world. But how do you go about designing THAT? Armed with your own imagination and some smart research, find out how you can transform a fantasy design into an actual dream product. You'll apply real-world design considerations to your ideas, refining your design to make it workable and achievable as it takes shape.

Wayland

Paralympic Power

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Hodder Children's Books

BOOT - small robot, BIG adventure

Shane Hegarty
Authors:
Shane Hegarty

For fans of WALL-E and Toy Story, comes a heart-warming, humorous adventure about a young robot trying to find its way home. Beautifully illustrated throughout, Boot is a special book you will want to treasure and share.When toy robot, Boot, wakes up at a scrapyard, it has no idea how it got there and why it isn't with its owner, Beth. It only has two and a half glitchy memories, but it knows it was loved, which means something important to humans. Boot soon realises its emotions make it different to other robots, who just function and don't think. Boot is scared but tries to be brave, which is hard when its screen keeps showing a wobbly, worried face. Luckily Boot meets Noke and Red - other 'advanced' robots who have learned to survive in secret.With its new friends by its side, Boot is determined to find Beth and the gang set off on a dangerous adventure. Everything Boot thought it knew about the world is changing and things aren't as simple as it remembers . . .Boot is a story that will take you by surprise and make you think about the world around you.

Wayland

Events

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Get inside the events of the biggest sporting occasion in the world!The Olympic Games feature a dazzling variety of sporting events, from sprinting to fencing, and from powerlifting to rhythmic gymnastics. Together, they make for an amazing spectacle. Explore them for yourself in The Ultimate Guide to Olympic Events. Great reading for children aged 8 and up.ContentsThe changing OlympicsAthletics (track) Athletics (field)Ball sports Boat sports Combat sports Cycling Football Gymnastics Multi-sport events Racquet sports Swimming and aquatics New Olympic sports Olympic words Olympic events Finding out more Index

Wayland

Champions

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Get up close with the champions of the biggest sporting event in the world!From shot-putters to ice-skaters, the Olympic Games showcase the very best sporting achievements and feature some truly memorable personalities and performances. Discover them in The Unofficial Guide to Olympic Champions!Great reading for children aged 8 and up.Contents 'Faster, higher, stronger' Athletics (Track): Usain Bolt/Jamaica & Mo Farah/GB Athletics (Field) Valerie Adams/NZ & Carl Lewis/USA Boxing: Nicola Adams/GB & Teófilo Stevenson/Cuba Cycling: Jason Kenny/GB & Anna Meares/Australia Football: USA & Hungary Gymnastics: Simone Biles/USA & Nadia Comaneci/Romania Rowing/canoeing: Steve Redgrave/GB & Michal Martikán/Slovakia Ice skating: Yuzuru Hanru/Japan & Ireen Wüst/NetherlandsSnowboard/skiing: Shaun White/USA & Marit Bjørgen/Norway Swimming: Michael Phelps/USA & Rebecca Adlington/GB Triathlon: Alistair Brownlee/GB & Simon Whitfield/Canada Olympic not-so-champions Olympic words Olympic host cities Index & Further information

Wayland

How to Design the World's Best Skatepark

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Imagine someone gave you a sackful of money and told you to build a skatepark. You'd definitely want it to be the best skatepark in the world. But how do you go about designing THAT? Armed with your own imagination and some smart research, find out how you can transform a fantasy design into an actual dream product. You'll apply real-world design considerations to your ideas, refining your design to make it workable and achievable as it takes shape.

Wayland

How to Design the World's Best Bike

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Wayland

How to Design the World's Best Space Station

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Franklin Watts

34.7 Quadrillion Minutes Since the Last Dinosaurs Died

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Do you know for how many years the dinosaurs ruled the Earth? Or how much the hefty Argentinosaurus weighed? Which dinosaur ran 144 per cent faster than Usain Bolt? And do you know how many hours there were in a dinosaur say? Discover the answers to all these questions and much, more more in Big Countdown: Dinosaurs.The Big Countdown looks at popular topics and investigates the great many numbers that make them fascinating. From the mind-bogglingly large to smallest and most precious, this series helps us understand that it's not just our days that are numbered. Perfect for number-crunchers aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

2.67 Trillion Internet Searches Each Year Using Technology

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Hodder Children's Books

Toto the Ninja Cat and the Incredible Cheese Heist

Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Contributors:
Dermot O’Leary, Nick East

Toto is no ordinary cat, and she can't wait for you to join her on her SECOND ninja adventure! From one of the UK's best-loved broadcasters, purrfect for fans of The Aristocats, The Secret Life of Pets and Atticus Claw Breaks the Law. Toto, the amazing ninja cat, is back and cooler than ever! Toto is almost blind, but that doesn't stop her having brilliant adventures. Something CAT-ASTROPHIC has happened: ALL the cheese in the world has been stolen. Join Toto, her brother Silver and their best-friend Catface on a secret mission to save the day. Toto is going to need all her ninja skills to defeat the fur-midable cheese thief ...Ideal for reading aloud or for children to curl up with and read alone, the story features brilliant black and white illustrations throughout. With gentle themes of friendship, inclusivity and winning in the face of adversity, this is a hilarious must-read for all animal-loving kids! Dermot says: 'The idea for Toto first came to me when my wife and I rescued two stray cats from an olive grove in Italy. One of them, Toto, has been blind from birth, but we quickly realised she had ninja-like reactions. Like a lot of cat owners (or cat servants), we like to imagine our pets having secret lives when we're out or asleep. So before I knew it I was writing about Toto and her brother Silver's nocturnal adventures around London. I really hope that children who pick it up enjoy reading the adventures of our little Italian underdog (cat).'Have you read Toto's first adventure, The Great Snake Escape?

Wren & Rook

The World of the Whale

Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward
Contributors:
Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward
Wayland

How to Design the World's Best Sports Stadium

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason