Anna Claybourne - Making with Forces - Hachette Children's Group

Making with Forces

By Anna Claybourne

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

Become a Science Maker by experimenting, tinkering and building - the hands-on way to discover the wonders of science

Be a SCIENCE MAKER by experimenting, tinkering and building to discover the wonders of science!
Learn all about FORCES by following in the footsteps of famous scientists, artists, engineers and inventors.
- Build a car ramp and experiment with acceleration like Galileo Galilei
- Be inspired by artist Lin Emery to build a kinetic sculpture
- Make a hot air balloon like the Montgolfier brothers ... and much more!

Each title in this series contains ten 'makes', prompted by featured profiles of great scientists, artists and engineers. Children will learn about and create the experiments and builds that have led to world-changing discoveries, amazing machines and inspiring artworks. Perfect for KS2 science and technology classes aged 9 and up.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781526305428
  • Publication date: 25 Jan 2018
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland
Franklin Watts

Sex and relationships

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

This book is a fantastic introduction to the tricky subject of sex for children aged 9+. In a straightforward way, it explores what sex is and what it's for, examines sexuality and identity, what healthy relationships are like and tackles modern-day issues that confront teenagers such as sexting and online pornography.Is is part of the series Healthy for Life, which gives factual information on a range of health issues so teens can get the information they need to be healthy. The books feature fun infographic style illustrations.

Franklin Watts

This Drop of Water

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Wren & Rook

The Good Guys

Rob Kemp, Paul Blow
Contributors:
Rob Kemp, Paul Blow
Franklin Watts

Alien

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow

Take on the role of the Monster Hunter in this fully interactive, flick-through-the pages, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.YOU are the Monster Hunter, protector of the living, and nightmare of the paranormal. Aliens have landed and your specialist services are urgently required...Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve SkidmoreAge appropriate for 8+. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Wayland

Making with States of Matter

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Wayland

Making with Machines

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Scent of Danger

Abie Longstaff
Authors:
Abie Longstaff
Orion Children's Books

Embassy of the Dead

Will Mabbitt
Authors:
Will Mabbitt

The first book in a spookily funny new series, where the living meets the dead and survival is a race against time. Perfect for fans of Skulduggery Pleasant and Who Let the Gods Out.Welcome to the Embassy of the Dead. Leave your life at the door. (Thanks.)When Jake opens a strange box containing a severed finger, he accidentally summons a grim reaper to drag him to the Eternal Void (yep, it's as fatal as it sounds) and now he's running for his life! But luckily Jake isn't alone - he can see and speak to ghosts.Jake and his deadly gang (well dead, at least) - Stiffkey the undertaker, hockey stick-wielding, Cora, and Zorro the ghost fox - have one mission: find the Embassy of the Dead and seek protection. But the Embassy has troubles of its own and may not be the safe haven Jake is hoping for . . .

Franklin Watts

Attack of the Zombie Bunnies

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore

Take on the role of a cartoon hero in this fully interactive, wacky, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.YOU live in a small, dull town with your ma and pa, and while they are perfectly happy growing fruit and veg for the ever-expanding population, YOU want more than this sedate, rural life. That'll be when the zombie bunnies start popping up all over the place...Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve Skidmore, and illustrated by the amazing Lee Robinson.Age appropriate for 6 to 8 year olds. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Wayland

Making with Living Things

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Be a SCIENCE MAKER by experimenting, tinkering and building to discover the wonders of science! Learn all about LIVING THINGS by following in the footsteps of famous scientists, artists and inventors.- Create your own miniature greenhouse like inventor Nathaniel Bagshaw Ward- Be inspired by artist Antony Gormley and make a cast if your own hand- Build a DNA model, like biologists Francis Crick and James Watson, and much more! Each title in this series contains ten 'makes', prompted by featured profiles of great scientists, artists and engineers. Children will learn about and create the experiments and builds that have led to world-changing discoveries, amazing machines and inspiring artworks. Perfect for KS2 science and technology classes aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Making with Sound

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Be a SCIENCE MAKER by experimenting, tinkering and building to discover the wonders of science! Learn all about SOUND by following in the footsteps of famous scientists, artists and inventors.- Transform your voice into beautiful patterns like singer Megan Watts Hughes- Create sci-fi sound effects like composer Delia Derbyshire- Catch intruders with Augustus Russell Pope's pressure mat alarm, and much more!Each title in this series contains ten 'makes', prompted by featured profiles of great scientists, artists and engineers. Children will learn about and create the experiments and builds that have led to world-changing discoveries, amazing machines and inspiring artworks. Perfect for KS2 science and technology classes aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Making with Light

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Be a SCIENCE MAKER by experimenting, tinkering and building to discover the wonders of science!Learn all about LIGHT by following in the footsteps of famous scientists, artists, engineers and inventors.- Make sun prints like photography pioneer Thomas Wedgwood- Be inspired by artist Tracey Emin to make your own neon sign- Create your own fibre optic lamp like engineer William Wheeler ... and much more!Each title in this series contains ten 'makes', prompted by featured profiles of great scientists, artists and engineers. Children will learn about and create the experiments and builds that have led to world-changing discoveries, amazing machines and inspiring artworks. Perfect for KS2 science and technology classes aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

This Little Pebble

Anna Claybourne, Sally Garland
Contributors:
Anna Claybourne, Sally Garland
Wayland

Gigantic Dinosaurs

Katie Woolley
Authors:
Katie Woolley
Franklin Watts

Killer Plants and Other Green Gunk

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Killer Plants investigates all things green and gross, from insect-eating pitcher plants to giant lilies that smell of rotting corpses.Disgusting and Dreadful Science features a look at the weird, revolting and shocking aspects of science for children at KS2. From plants and life cycles to the human body and animal adaptations, the books offer fascinating facts, fun examples and true-life stories to provide ways in to understanding solid scientific principles. Perfect for readers aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

Self-esteem and Mental Health

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Franklin Watts

Rocks and Fossils

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Rocks and fossils are brilliant things to study scientifically. They can tell us a huge amount of interesting information about our rocky planet - Earth. In Rocks and Fossils you'll delve into the science behind these marvels of the natural world by conducting ten investigations and experiments using the ATOM method - Ask, Test, Observe and Measure - to ensure you're working just like a professional scientist. Find out about the three main types of rock and what happens to rocks during a volcanic eruption and in processes like weathering and erosion. Discover how and why fossils form and how hard or soft some rocks can be! At the end of the book, scientific guidelines explain why scientists do things a certain way and the things they look out for or try to avoid. Science Skills Sorted are six topic books for children aged 8+ studying KS2 science. The ATOM method is designed to help readers work scientifically as they are taught to in the classroom, and each of the investigations is accompanied by explanatory text to uncover facts about the topic. A range of experiments in each book means that while some may need a little more equipment than others, there are plenty experiments that are cheap and accessible, using objects easily found in the classroom or at home.

Franklin Watts

Life Cycles

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Franklin Watts

Evolution and Classification

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Evolution and classification are brilliant things to study scientifically. Plants, humans and other animals have incredible adaptations that mean they can survive in their habitats on Earth. In Evolution and Classification you'll delve into the science behind these marvels of the natural world by conducting investigations and experiments using the ATOM method - Ask, Test, Observe and Measure - to ensure you're working just like a professional scientist. Find out why camouflage is important for survival and how humans and other animals decide whether something is food or not. Discover the ways some animals attract a mate to breed with and the important role genes play! At the end of the book, scientific guidelines explain why scientists do things a certain way and the things they look out for or try to avoid. Science Skills Sorted are six topic books for children aged 8+ studying KS2 science. The ATOM method is designed to help readers work scientifically as they are taught to in the classroom, and each of the investigations is accompanied by explanatory text to uncover facts about the topic. A range of experiments in each book means that while some may need a little more equipment than others, there are plenty experiments that are cheap and accessible, using objects easily found in the classroom or at home.

Franklin Watts

Puberty and Growing Up

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Puberty is often a confusing time with many changes both physical and emotional to deal with. This book deals with all aspects of puberty in a straightforward and sensitive way so young children and teenagers are armed with all the facts. It includes the changes that happen to boys and girls, periods, moods and stress and introduces sex and sexuality. The text is accompanied by fun, graphic illustrations suitable for any age.Is is part of the series Healthy for Life, which gives factual information on a range of health issues so teens can get the information they need to be healthy. The books feature fun infographic style illustrations.