Philip Steele - Race and Crime - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Race and Crime

By Philip Steele

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

In-depth explorations of big topics in today's world

Go behind the headlines to explore the wider background of news stories that are making a major impact across the world. In Race and Crime, we ask why headlines often link these issues and question some assumptions. Are some crimes carried out by one ethnic or racial grouping more than by others? What parts do policing, prisons, the immigration system and the media play? We examine abuse and hate crimes linked to race, such as slavery or genocide. Who are the perpetrators and who are the victims?

This book includes quotes from key figures, opinions from all sides of the argument and debate panels that invite readers aged 12+ to discuss the issues that shape our world.

Other titles in the Behind the News series: Global Financial Crisis, Hostage Takers, School Shootings, Uprising in the Middle East and Violence Against Women

Biographical Notes

The author, Philip Steele, is an experienced writer of non-fiction for young people, on topics ranging from history to current affairs.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781526305114
  • Publication date: 14 Sep 2017
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Wayland
Wayland

Rabbits

Gemma Barder
Authors:
Gemma Barder
Wayland

Reptiles

Gemma Barder
Authors:
Gemma Barder

Orion Children's Books

A Strange Kind of Brave

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

Hodder Children's Books

The Boxer

Nikesh Shukla
Authors:
Nikesh Shukla
Franklin Watts

The Artist in You

Julie Brunelle, Peter Wood
Authors:
Julie Brunelle, Peter Wood

Orion Children's Books

They Saw Too Much

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons
Wayland

Natural Habitats

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Wayland

Food

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

Food is fundamental to life on Earth. The struggle to find or grow food, and often failing, is the story of human history. Today we have more varities of food and production methods than ever before, but there has perhaps never been less connection with the land that produces food, and with farming. And despite all the incredible progress that has been made, today nearly 11 per cent of the world's population is undernourished. This book, in the Question It! series for readers upwards of age ten, will explore these important topics in a balanced and objective way, encouraging readers to take a questioning approach to the issues surrounding the global food supply.

Wayland

Climate Change

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Wayland

Population

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Wayland

Water

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

Water keeps us and our world alive. Without it we couldn't exist. Water and climate influence every aspect of human life. They affect where and how we live, our health, farming and food, our energy and our industry. The world's climate is changing. The amount of water we use is changing and the population is growing. But water is finite. There is only so much of it to go round, and we cannot make any more of it. This book, in the Question It! series for readers upwards of age ten, will explore these important topics in a balanced and objective way, encouraging readers to take a questioning approach to the issues surrounding the global water supply.

Wayland

Oil

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Quercus Children's Books

In the Afterlight

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken

The third book in the heart-stopping The Darkest Minds trilogy, by New York Times bestselling author of Passenger, for fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games.The fate of a generation lies in Ruby's hands - and one wrong move could set the world on fire.One of the few survivors of a disease which killed most of America's children, Ruby has emerged as Leader of the rebel group determined to bring the government down. Torn apart by the unbearable loss of Liam, she forms an unlikely alliance with his brother, Cole. But whatever their differences, Ruby and Cole are united by a clear mission: there are thousands like them still suffering in 'rehabilitation camps'. It's up to Ruby to set them free ...'A riveting emotional read that kept me on the edge.' - Melissa Marr, author of Wicked LovelyAlexandra Bracken is the New York Times bestselling author of Passenger, Wayfarer and The Darkest Minds series. Visit her online at www.alexandrabracken.com and on Twitter @alexbracken.

Franklin Watts

China and Beijing

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Wayland

Explorers

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Franklin Watts

In the Rainforest

J.P. Percy
Authors:
J.P. Percy
Franklin Watts

At the Seaside

J.P. Percy
Authors:
J.P. Percy

Just how closely do you look at the world around you? Could you recognise seaside plants, objects and animals from a close up picture? A book that encourages children to use observation skills to translate what they see in the real word, to what they read and see on a page. Fun activity suggestions at the back of the book will help children and parents, teachers and carers to make the most of this book.For EYFS children a series of four books based on familiar subjects for very young children.

Wayland

Did Anything Good Come Out of... the American Civil War?

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

This book considers the deadliest war in US history, which killed 750,000 soldiers and many civilians before this young nation was a century old. Its legacy still resonates across the USA today. Did it achieve any of its goals? Did it have unexpected consequences? Did any good at all come out of it?

Wayland

Did Anything Good Come Out of... the Vietnam War?

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Wayland

Did Anything Good Come Out of... WWI?

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele