Claudia Martin - Materials - Hachette Children's Group

Materials

By Claudia Martin

  • Hardback
  • £13.99

Inject some fun into STEAM topics with these lively books
  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781526304742
  • Publication date: 14 Dec 2017
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Wayland
Orchard Books

Rainbow Magic: Sasha the Slime Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel, Kirsty and Sasha for some fun with slime!Sasha the Slime Fairy's special magic helps everyone have loads of fun making and playing with slime. From glitter slime to goo slime, all types of slime are Sasha's favourite! But when Jack Frost steals her three special pieces of slime, the magic starts to go awry. Can Rachel and Kirsty help her get them back before the slime adventure comes to a sticky end?

Orion Children's Books

Wundersmith

Jessica Townsend
Authors:
Jessica Townsend
Wren & Rook

The You Are Awesome Journal

Matthew Syed, Lindsey Sagar, Toby Triumph
Contributors:
Matthew Syed, Lindsey Sagar, Toby Triumph
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry Annual 2019

Francesca Simon
Authors:
Francesca Simon

It's Horrid Henry's world -- you're just living in it! Join Horrid Henry, his friends and family in this activity-filled annual that will entertain every Horrid Henry fan for hours on end!Full of mazes, word-qames, puzzles, jokes, extracts, facts and much, much more, this annual has something for everyone. Find out how to avoid bedtime, fool your family, and tame your parents. Just make sure there aren't any sneaky peeking little siblings around...

Hodder Children's Books

Will You Catch Me?

Jane Elson
Authors:
Jane Elson
Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Colour and Draw

Gotta colour 'em all! Packed with Pokémon for you to catch, colour and learn to draw in this beautiful book.Get creative and dive into the world of Pokémon! This fantastic book will teach you how to draw favourite Pokémon from every region, including Pikachu, Squirtle, Litten, Rowlet and more! With space to test your new drawing skills, you can perfect your technique before adding Pokémon to scenes throughout and finishing them off with some colour. The ultimate gift for any Pokémon fan!

Orion Children's Books

Iron Tide Rising

Carrie Ryan, John Parke Davis
Authors:
Carrie Ryan, John Parke Davis

Join Marrill and Fin in the fourth action-packed title in the epic adventure series from John Parke Davis and NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author, Carrie Ryan. Best friends and fearless explorers Fin and Marrill have shared countless thrilling adventures on the waters of the Pirate Stream, but neither could have predicted the evil that lies behind the mask of the Master of the Iron Ship.To stop him, they'll have to team up with their oldest enemy: the malevolent wizard Serth. As the iron tide surges across the Stream, Marrill and Fin must race from one bizarre world to the next, and even into the heart of the Stream itself, to challenge the most frightening foe they've ever encountered.This is the mind-blowing conclusion to the highly acclaimed and utterly original Map to Everywhere series.

Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins

One boy stranded at sea. One girl back on land. One ocean between them. The only thing willing him to survive is the thought of her. A romance with bite, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.Sometimes you have to lose yourself, to find each other.Kai has always been best friends with Jen; ever since he and his mum moved to Cornwall when he was small. But now his feelings are deepening. It's ridiculous to imagine Jen would feel the same, especially since she has been hanging out with surf-pro Macca, the guy everyone fancies. Frustrated by his feelings, Kai makes a snap decision that will put his life in great danger. Stranded at sea, time is running out. With only his thoughts to occupy him, he must face some buried truths about his past. And confront his future with the girl back on shore, if he can reach it ... if the ocean doesn't take him first.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Scent of Danger

Abie Longstaff
Authors:
Abie Longstaff
Franklin Watts

Terrorism

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin

What is terrorism? How do terrorists differ from other criminals? What makes some individuals and groups decide to use violence to create terror as a means of achieving their aims? This book looks at the history of terrorism and analyses the motivations for its use. It looks at what is being done to tackle terrorism and asks readers to think about what they can do to help people in countries affected by terrorism, for example by fundraising for organisations supporting victims of terrorist attacks.

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

From the bestselling author of How to Train Your Dragon comes an exciting high-adventure series - set in an ancient, magical time, full of Wizards, Warriors, Giants and Sprites. #1 Sunday Times BestsellerWinner of the Blue Peter Book AwardThis is the story of a young boy Wizard and a young girl Warrior who have been taught since birth to hate each other like poison; and the thrilling tale of what happens when their two worlds collide.Perfect for boys and girls who love fantasy adventure...Once there was Magic, and the Magic lived in the dark forests. Until the Warriors came...Xar is a Wizard boy who has no Magic, and will do anything to get it. Wish is a Warrior girl, but she owns a banned Magical Object, and she will do anything to conceal it. In this whirlwind adventure, Xar and Wish must forget their differences if they're going to make it to the dungeons at Warrior Fort. Where something that has been sleeping for hundreds of years is stirring...

Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed
Wayland

The Indus Valley

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin

Around 4,000 years ago, the Indus Valley was home to a great civilisation. Find out about the mysterious rulers of the Indus Valley, their splendid cities and their flushing toilets.How were the cities of the Indus Valley built? What were homes like? What food did people eat? What gods were worshipped? This book helps children at Key Stage 2 discover the answers to these and other fascinating questions. It also recommends sites on the Internet and sources in their local library where they can find out more about the Indus Valley. Packed with fascinating information, the Explore! series inspires children's curiosity to find out more about the past. A great tool for readers age 8+ or teachers looking for books to support the new curriculum.

Franklin Watts

Immigration

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin

People have many different reasons for leaving their home country, but they are nearly always looking for a better or safer life. This book considers the pull factors that attract people to another country and the push factors that drive them from their home country. It looks at movements of people in the past, the impact of current immigration and the arguments that people put forward in favour or against welcoming immigrants to a country. It asks readers to think about what they can do to learn more about this global issue and the people affected by it.

Wren & Rook

Women in Sport

Rachel Ignotofsky
Authors:
Rachel Ignotofsky
Wayland

Computers

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin
Orion Children's Books

Nevermoor

Jessica Townsend
Authors:
Jessica Townsend

WINNER OF THE WATERSTONES CHILDREN'S BOOK PRIZE 2018 YOUNGER FICTION CATEGORY International bestselling new series. Enter the Wundrous world of Morrigan Crow and Nevermoor - the most fantastical children's series of the year."Exciting, mysterious, marvellous and magical ... quite simply one of the best children's books I've read in years" - Robin Stevens, author of Murder Most Unladylike"An extraordinary story full of magics great and small" - Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of The Girl of Ink and Stars"Endlessly inventive, with a fresh delight on every page. Nevermoor rewrites the genre of the Chosen Child novel. This is a special book" - David Solomons, author of My Brother is a Superhero"A full-speed joy of a book; funny, quick-footed, and wildly, magically inventive" - Katherine Rundell, author of Rooftoppers"A wonderful, warm-hearted magical adventure" - Sunday Express"Funny and delightful" - The Sunday TimesMorrigan Crow is cursed, destined to die on her eleventh birthday. But, as the clock strikes midnight, she's whisked away by a remarkable man called Jupter North and taken to the secret city of Nevermoor.There she's invited to join the Wundrous Society. Mystery, magica and protection are hers - if only she can pass four impossible trials, using an exceptional talent. Which she doesn't have...Perfect for fans of the Harry Potter series and His Dark Materials, this series takes readers into an extraordinary world, setting hope and imagination alive.

Franklin Watts

States of Matter

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Franklin Watts

Earth and Space

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Franklin Watts

The Battle of Hastings

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin

Why Do We Remember?: The Battle of Hastings looks at the gripping events that led up to the famous battle of Hastings in 1066 and the following Norman conquest of Anglo-Saxon Britain. This simple, friendly children's first history series, aimed at readers aged 5 and up, takes a close look at some key events and personalities through history and reveals how and why they are still important to us today. A perfect support to learning about history at Key Stage 1, each book uses a rich variety of historical sources, from diaries to paintings, to bring events to life, while simple historical vocabulary is introduced and explained. Each book also features a simple timeline and explores how we find about the past. All text has been carefully checked by a historian.