Jon Richards - Living Things - Hachette Children's Group

Living Things

By Jon Richards

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

From the creators of the award-winning World in Infographics series, numbers explain the amazing world of science.

Welcome to the world of infographics! This exciting form of data visualisation uses icons, pictograms and graphics to present information in a whole new way. Read how living things make more of themselves, explore how animals can live in large groups, and discover how food webs work - all visualised in beautifully designed infographics.

Ideal for children of 9+, and fact and science geeks of all ages, finding out about living things has never been more exciting!

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781526303844
  • Publication date: 09 Nov 2017
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland
Orchard Books

Adventure Duck vs the Armadillo Army

Steve Cole
Authors:
Steve Cole
Hodder Children's Books

Agent Weasel and the Fiendish Fox Gang

Nick East
Authors:
Nick East

Meet Agent Weasel: woodland super-spy. Can he foil the dastardly Fiendish Fox Gang once and for all? Perfect for reading alone or sharing together, for fans of The Bolds and Toto the Ninja Cat.Strange things are happening in the United Woodlands. Rabbit warrens have been peppered with itching powder. Squirrels' nuts are missing. Even Badger's bottom has been shaved! All the clues point to the Fiendish Fox Gang. It's time to call Agent Weasel, woodland super-spy. But before they can even finish their stakeout picnic, Weasel and his trusty dormouse friend Doorkins are captured by the villainous Vixen von Fluff. Can our heroes escape? Can peace be made in the United Woodlands? Will they get afternoon tea and biscuits? Does Agent Weasel have a clue what's going on? All these very important questions will be answered in this rib-ticklingly funny adventure, with glorious illustrations throughout.

Hodder Children's Books

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

From the international bestselling creator of Claude comes a brand new hero: Mr Penguin. Indiana Jones meets Hercule Poirot in this new Alex T. Smith series. Follow Mr Penguin and Colin as they crash-land on a snowy mountain. Will they be able to solve the mystery of the missing pets? What are the strange noises coming from the abandoned fortress? And will Mr Penguin conquer his fear of flying?Find out in the second Mr Penguin book with plenty of slapstick humour, mystery and adventure. Highly illustrated throughout with a striking black and orange design.Praise for Mr Penguin and the Lost Treasure:'Addictive slapstick' - Guardian'The perfect introduction to mystery stories.' - ScotsmanClaude won the 5-9 young fiction Sainsbury's Children's Book Award, was selected for the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize, the Richard and Judy Book Club and is now a TV star on Disney Junior. Alex T. Smith was a World Book Day Illustrator. Follow Alex on Twitter @Alex_T_Smith

Orchard Books

Adventure Duck vs Power Pug

Steve Cole, Aleksei Bitskoff
Contributors:
Steve Cole, Aleksei Bitskoff
Franklin Watts

Planes and Helicopters

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards

Have you ever wondered what made human beings think they could take to the skies? Starting with Icarus and his wax and feather wings and Leonardo Da Vinci's Flying Machine and primitive helicopter know as the Aerial Screw, It'll Never Work: Aeroplanes and Helicopters explores the history of flying machines, the successes and failures that have led to the comforts of modern passenger flight that we know today.Each title in this exciting, high-interest series looks at a different area of technology and engineering and reveals the pioneering ideas and scientific thinking that enabled its development, as well as exposing those that proved to be a dead end. Each spread examines a particular example in depth, bringing in other similar ideas where relevant, and revealing that experimentation and failure often pave the way to technology success. Beautifully designed and illustrated with infographic-style artwork, this series is an excellent technology resource for readers aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Powerful Forces

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Wayland

Awesome Matter and Materials

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Wayland

Sports

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Wayland

Inventions

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Wayland

Planet Earth

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Wayland

Space

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins

Who holds the record for driving the fastest on the Moon? And how far away is the Moon from Earth? What are the gas giants - and what about nebulae? Whether it shoots, glows, radiates or collides, Infomojis: Space is all about exploring the universe in a fun and engaging way. Core scientific areas of investigation are covered, such as the nuclear reaction that makes our Sun shine or how the Moon's gravity affects tides on Earth.The book features custom-made 'infomojis' (information emojis) that present the information with real personality! So inject fun into facts, and take your young astronomer to the next evolution in infographics. Infomojis is a series of ten books that are perfect for curious readers aged 8+.

Wayland

Infomania

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins

From awesome record-breakers to amazing Top 10s and fascinating facts on the fastest, tallest and most exciting things out there, Infomania has it all. Using striking graphics, crisp designs and a rainbow of colours, this book visually brings information to life in infographics and includes almost everything children want to know about humans, space, Earth, buildings and animals.Includes information on the biggest bugs, longest sleepers, killer creature, longest survivors, super strong, iconic art, melodic music, driest places, oldest buildings, biggest bridges, distant worlds and size of the Universe, to name just a few topics in this fact-filled book.

Orchard Books

Enchantimals: Adventure in Wonderwood

Felicity Fox and her bestie, Flick, have organised a fun camping trip for their friends. But when Bree Bunny's latest invention predicts a big storm headed straight for Wonderwood, it looks like Felicity's plans will be ruined. Can the Enchantimals find a way to save the trip? Based on the bestselling toys.

Hodder Children's Books

War is Over

David Almond, David Litchfield
Contributors:
David Almond, David Litchfield
Wayland

Natural Disasters

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins

Did you know that the eruption of Krakatoa in 1883 was the largest ever? Or about tsunamis, cyclones and avalanches? Well, where have you been! Whether it rips, erupts, floods or crashes, Infomojis: Natural Disasters is all about exploring the dangers of our planet in a fun and engaging way. Each book features custom-made 'infomojis' - presenting the information with real personality! So inject fun into facts, and take your young adventurer to the next evolution in infographics. Perfect for readers aged 8+.

Wayland

What is Race? Who are Racists? Why Does Skin Colour Matter? And Other Big Questions

Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan
Authors:
Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan

An important and timely book on race and racism, encouraging children to think for themselves about the issues involved.Talk about race is often discouraged, but this book aims to bring everyone into the conversation. It explores the history of race and society, giving context to how racist attitudes come into being. It looks at belonging and identity, the damaging effects of stereotyping and the benefits of positive representation. The authors talk sensitively about how to identify and challenge racism, and how to protect against and stop racist behaviour.Aimed at young people aged 10 and upwards.Part of the groundbreaking and important 'And Other Big Questions' series, which offers balanced and considered views on the big issues we face in the world we live in today.Other titles in the series include:What is Humanism? How do you live without a god?What is Feminism? Why do we need it?Who are Refugees and Migrants? What makes people leave their homes?What is Consent? Why is it important?What is Right and Wrong? Who Decides? Where Do Values Come From?

Wayland

Technology

Colin Hynson
Authors:
Colin Hynson
Wayland

Science

Colin Hynson
Authors:
Colin Hynson

Discover the amazing array of jobs within the field of science that you never knew existed. From the exoplanet hunters who use powerful telescopes to look for planets orbiting stars, to the forensic scientists who help detectives by using forensic chemistry to link suspects to crime scenes.Read about the academic and vocational routes you can take to reach these jobs and how to get ahead in these exciting professions whilst you are at school and college.

Franklin Watts

Weapons and Warfare

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards

Have you ever wondered how guns and bullet proof jackets were invented? From spears and arrows to experiments with rocket and lasers, from chain mail to kevlar and ceramic plates, It'll Never Work: Weapons and Warfare explores the history and development of weaponry, the successes and failures that have led to the weapons of modern warfare that we know today.Each title in this exciting, high-interest series looks at a different area of technology and engineering and reveals the pioneering ideas and scientific thinking that enabled its development, as well as exposing those that proved to be a dead end. Each spread examines a particular example in depth, bringing in other similar ideas where relevant, and revealing that experimentation and failure often pave the way to technology success. Beautifully designed and illustrated with infographic-style artwork, this series is an excellent technology resource for readers aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

Minibeasts

Peter Riley
Authors:
Peter Riley

Have you ever looked at the objects inside a curiosity box? What did you see and what did they feel like? Did you recognise some of them or were there things in there that you'd never seen before? Books that take the magical charm of collecting curiosities, joined together with the science behind some of the wonders of the natural world. Children will be inspired to take a closer look at objects and the world around them and begin to question how and why nature designs things in certain ways.Minibeasts focuses on the different types of minibeasts we encounter, such as insects, spiders and molluscs like slugs and snails. It links them to the habitats they live in and examines their behaviours and the roles they play in pollinating, composting and eating other bugs!Books that are brimming with science and encourage KS1 pupils to engage with core science and nature topics, while developing other key skills in thinking and reasoning in an utterly absorbing and charming way.