Saviour Pirotta - Stories From China - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Stories From China

By Saviour Pirotta
Illustrated by Tim Clarey

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Exciting retellings of traditional tales, ideal for KS2 Literacy.

This beautifully illustrated collection of stories from one of the world's richest story-telling traditions is ideal for young readers and for reading aloud to 7-11 year-olds.

There are stories of how the world began, Chinese dragons, zodiac monkeys, legendary monsters, Chinese New Year and hopping ghosts.

Each story is introduced with information about its origins and the people who first started telling it, and maps locate the places associated with it. The book includes a glossary and sources of further information as well as ideas for activities that children can do to explore the stories and their culture further.

Retold by an experienced writer of stories for the young, this is a book to inform and entertain in equal measure.

Biographical Notes

Saviour Pirotta has written over 100 children's books, ranging from picture books to novels. He has been fascinated by traditional tales since he was a child, and before becoming a full-time writer he worked as a storyteller for the Commonwealth Institute in London. His titles include The Orchard Book of First Greek Myths and The Orchard Book of Grimm's Fairy Tales. He lives in Saltaire, West Yorkshire.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781526303721
  • Publication date: 11 May 2017
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Wayland
This beautifully illustrated collection of stories from one of the world's richest story-telling traditions are ideal for young readers and for reading aloud to 7-11 year-olds. — Parents In Touch
This series provides a good introduction to the wealth of stories to be found around the world, and would make a good addition to a primary school library. — Armadillo, Autumn 00
Desirable and collectable [...] What makes them work is their integrity and synergy as a series. [...] These stories cannot fail to stimulate your child's imagination and sense of wonder. — Children's books in Ireland, Dec 00
The selection of stories is interesting, and these books would be of great value in class. — Books in schools 2000, Issue 82
Franklin Watts

Plastic Planet

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

A powerful look at how plastic pollution is becoming one of the biggest environmental disasters of our generation Once hailed as a miraculous invention, plastic has become the indestructible scourge of our Earth. It has infiltrated every part of our planet, from the deepest oceans to most remote ice fields. It chokes our wildlife, litters our beaches and even pollutes our drinking water. The world is reaching a crisis point.Plastic Planet offers readers aged 8 and up a look at plastic through the ages, exploring what it is, how it's made and how we have become so dependent on it in a single-use, disposable world. It highlights the social inequality of plastic pollution and explores how plastic has become a widespread and dangerous pollutant that is inextricably linked to climate change. The book looks ahead to possible solutions to our plastic crisis, from global changes such as changing people's mindsets, to innovations such as compostable plastics, to practical solutions such as recycling and bottle return schemes.

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry: Fun in the Sun

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Franklin Watts

Mammals, Birds and other Vertebrates

Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Contributors:
Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Orchard Books

The Unicorn Prince

Saviour Pirotta, Jane Ray
Contributors:
Saviour Pirotta, Jane Ray
Wayland

Birds

Pat Jacobs
Authors:
Pat Jacobs
Orchard Books

Princess Prom: Two magical adventures in one!

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Secret Princesses is a gorgeous series about magical princesses and best friends. Princes Prom is a special bumper long book with two stories for even more magical fun! Will Charlotte and Mia finally get their princess wands? Best friends Shelley and Kat are desperate to put on the perfect Jingle Bells Ball. Their whole school is counting on them and they wish everything could go well. And if Charlotte and Mia grant their wishes, they'll finally become fully-fledged Secret Princesses! But mean Princess Poison hates Christmas, hates fun and most of all hates happiness. Can the girls defeat her one last time?Join Charlotte and Mia in this brilliant adventure full of princess sparkle and Christmas excitement!

Wayland

What is Feminism? Why do we need It? And Other Big Questions

Bea Appleby, Louise Spilsbury
Authors:
Bea Appleby, Louise Spilsbury
Wayland

Multicultural Stories: Stories From The Amazon

Saviour Pirotta, Rebecca Gryspeerdt
Contributors:
Saviour Pirotta, Rebecca Gryspeerdt

This beautifully illustrated collection of stories from one of the world's richest story-telling traditions is ideal for young readers and for reading aloud to 7-11 year-olds.Each story is introduced with information about its origins and the people who first started telling it, and maps locate the places associated with it. The book includes a glossary and sources of further information as well as ideas for activities that children can do to explore the stories and Amazonian culture further.Retold by an experienced writer of stories for the young, this is a book to inform and entertain in equal measure.

Wayland

Anglo Saxons

Jane Bingham
Authors:
Jane Bingham
Franklin Watts

Ninja

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Franklin Watts

Unicorn

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore

YOU are the Blue Unicorn, and you live in the Rainbow Isle. Evil Empress, Yin Yang, wants to steal all the colour from you world, and she's captured your friend the Red Unicorn. You have to find a way to stop her wicked plans!This is a title in the interactive I HERO Immortals series - where the reader is the hero! In each adventure the reader makes a choice that affects how the story progresses - it really is 'decide-your-own-destiny!Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve Skidmore (more commonly known as the 2Steves), and illustrated by comics legend, Jack Lawrence.

Franklin Watts

Warrior Princess

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore

YOU are the leader of the Kingdom of the North, a land of ice and snow. When Professor Mechanik attempts to steal the Ice Diamonds you have to stop him.This is a title in the interactive I HERO Immortals series - where the reader is the hero! In each adventure the reader makes a choice that affects how the story progresses - it really is 'decide-your-own-destiny!Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve Skidmore (more commonly known as the 2Steves), and illustrated by comics legend, Jack Lawrence. Age appropriate for 6 to 8 year olds and more sensitive readers. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Franklin Watts

Spy

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Orchard Books

Orchard Ballet Stories for Young Children

Saviour Pirotta, Brigette Barrager
Contributors:
Saviour Pirotta, Brigette Barrager

Discover all the magic of the ballet with this collection of classic tales and meet enchanted princesses, magical birds, dancing dolls and wicked witches. Travel to a magical kingdom of sweets, twirl at an enchanted fairytale ball, and discover the story of a sleeping princess, woken after 100 years by her true love's kiss.This beautiful gift collection contains six of the best-loved stories from the ballet: The Nutcracker, Swan Lake, Sleeping Beauty, Cinderella, Coppelia and The Firebird.Award-winning storyteller Saviour Pirotta retells the classic tales in an accessible style that's perfect for young children, while New York Times bestselling artist Brigette Barrager's beautiful full-colour illustrations bring each magical scene to life.The perfect gift for little ballet dancers and ballet fans.

Hodder Children's Books

The Mystery of the Disappearing Cat

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

The Find-Outers is a clever mystery series from bestselling author Enid Blyton, and perfect for fans of The Secret Seven. A prize winning Siamese Cat has been stolen, and all evidence points to the Find-Outers' friend Luke. Fatty Larry, Daisy, Pip and Bets know Luke is innocent, but how can they prove it? The Find-Outers have another mystery to solve!First published in 1944, this edition contains the orginal text and is unillustrated.

Orchard Books

Mia the Bridesmaid Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Wayland

What is Evolution?

Louise Spilsbury, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Louise Spilsbury, Mike Gordon
Franklin Watts

Habitats

Peter Riley
Authors:
Peter Riley
Hodder Children's Books

Goodbye

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

For new girl Darrell Rivers, there are friends to be made, pranks to be played and fun to be had at Malory Towers in Enid Blyton's best-loved boarding school series.In book twelve, the sixth form girls are to attend finishing school before they're sent out into the world. They are to learn deportment, etiquette and obedience. Oh dear!Expect more drama at Malory Towers!Between 1946 and 1951, Enid Blyton wrote six novels set at Malory Towers. Books 7-12 are authorised sequels of the series written by Pamela Cox in 2009 and focus on the adventures of Felicity Rivers, Susan Blake, and June Johns. This edition is unillustrated.

Wayland

The Universe, Black Holes and the Big Bang

Clive Gifford
Authors:
Clive Gifford