Louise Kay Stewart - Rebel Voices - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781526360892
    • Publication date:11 Jan 2018

Rebel Voices

The Rise of Votes for Women

By Louise Kay Stewart
Illustrated by Eve Lloyd Knight

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

Rule Breakers. Risk Takers. Rebel Women. Law Makers. A celebration of women rallying around the globe to win the vote.

A beautifully illustrated celebration of the brave campaigners who fought for women's right to vote. Discover that it was never illegal for women to vote in Ecuador, or how 40,000 Russian women marched through St Petersburg demanding their rights. Find out how one Canadian woman changed opinions with a play, and Kuwaiti women protested via text message. And learn that women climbed mountains, walked a lion through the streets of Paris, and starved themselves, all in the name of having a voice. Tracing its history from New Zealand at the end of the 19th century, follow this empowering movement as it spread from Oceania to Europe and the Americas, then Africa and Asia up to the present day. Meet the women who rioted, rallied and refused to give up.

Stunningly illustrated by Eve Lloyd Knight, this book celebrates the women who refused to behave, rebelling against convention to give women everywhere a voice.

If you loved Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls, Fantastically Great Women Who Changed the World or Women in Science then you'll love this!

Biographical Notes

Louise K Stewart (Author)
Louise K Stewart studied women's writing at university and did a Masters degree in Women and Literature. She co-founded Aurora, a magazine featuring creative writing and illustrations by women, based in Liverpool. She then became an author, and has written more than 200 books for young people on a wide range of subjects.

Eve Lloyd Knight (Illustrator)
Eve Lloyd Knight is an illustrator, designer and art director based in London, whose work has been featured in Grazia Magazine, Stylist Magazine, New York Times, The Pool and Vue Cinemas. Eve produces bold and topical illustrations, with a specific focus on feminist issues.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781526300232
  • Publication date: 11 Jan 2018
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Wren & Rook
Franklin Watts

Bitra and the Witch

Andy Elkerton
Authors:
Andy Elkerton

Viking Adventures are thrilling stories mixing that perfect match of fantasty and history. Boy hero Oolaf is on another quest for adventure. This time he meets a girl named Bitra, who leads him to a terrible Sea Witch...The Viking Adventures series are vividly colour illustrated first chapter books, pitched perfectly for 6-8 years olds or readers in key stage 2.

Wayland

The Royal Family: Prince Charles

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Tin

Discover three Pokémon-packed books; journey in Alola with Ash and Pikachu, colour Pokémon in a Creative Colouring and complete fun sticker activities! Plus, there are pens inside so you can get started straight away. Gotta catch 'em all!

Hodder Children's Books

Summertime Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Enjoy a whole summer of fun with this fantastic collection of 30 short stories - the perfect holiday read for children aged 7 and up. From the tale of the two naughty brownies who tuck into a goblin's summer picnic, to the boy who turns into a train, these classic stories are packed with excitement and adventure. Ideal for newly confident readers, these entertaining stories are the perfect length for reading aloud at bedtime or in the classroom. Enid Blyton remains one of Britain's favourite children's authors and her bumper short story collections are perfect for introducing her to the latest generation of readers.Enid Blyton ® and Enid Blyton's signature are Registered Trademarks of Hodder and Stoughton Limited. No trademark or copyrighted material may be reproduced without the express written permission of the trademark and copyright owner.

Orchard Books

Ellen the Explorer Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins

One boy stranded at sea. One girl back on land. One ocean between them. The only thing willing him to survive is the thought of her. A romance with bite, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon. Sometimes you have to lose yourself, to find each other.Kai has always been best friends with Jen; ever since he and his mum moved to Cornwall when he was small. But now his feelings are deepening. It's ridiculous to imagine Jen would feel the same, especially since she has been hanging out with surf-pro Macca, the guy everyone fancies. Frustrated by his feelings, Kai makes a snap decision that will put his life in great danger. Stranded at sea, time is running out. With only his thoughts to occupy him, he must face some buried truths about his past. And confront his future with the girl back on shore, if he can reach it ... if the ocean doesn't take him first.

Orchard Books

Mermaid Mystery - Bumper Special Book!

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical new series where best friends become Secret Princesses!Charlotte and Mia are delighted to meet the mermaids who live in the lagoon in the grounds of Wishing Star Palace. But in the middle of all the fun, the lagoon suddenly turns a murky, toxic green. Nasty Princess Poison is up to her old tricks again! Charlotte and Mia have to grant four more wishes to break the evil curse.Freya wishes to find the buried treasure on her family's treature hunt. Can Charlotte and Mia grant Freya's wish and solve the mermaid mystery?This book is a special longer length for even more magical fun.

Orchard Books

Sea Turtle Song

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

From the bestselling author of How to Train Your Dragon comes an exciting high-adventure series - set in an ancient, magical time, full of Wizards, Warriors, Giants and Sprites. This is the story of a young boy Wizard and a young girl Warrior who have been taught since birth to hate each other like poison; and the thrilling tale of what happens when their two worlds collide.Perfect for boys and girls who love fantasy adventure...Once there was Magic, and the Magic lived in the dark forests. Until the Warriors came...Xar is a Wizard boy who has no Magic, and will do anything to get it. Wish is a Warrior girl, but she owns a banned Magical Object, and she will do anything to conceal it. In this whirlwind adventure, Xar and Wish must forget their differences if they're going to make it to the dungeons at Warrior Fort. Where something that has been sleeping for hundreds of years is stirring...

Hodder Children's Books

The Fire Bird

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters

The sixth in a magical, exciting series by Olympic gold medallist Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony!What if you had a magic bracelet that meant you could fly?Evie's grandma has sent her another parcel. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet! This one is the most exciting yet - it lets Evie and her friends soar through the sky. And when they find a phoenix high above the city, they've got a magical creature to rescue! Evie shares Jessica's determination and drive - an inspiration for kids everywhere.

Franklin Watts

Breath by Breath: A Mindfulness Guide to Feeling Calm

Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli
Contributors:
Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli
Orchard Books

Fatima the Face-Painting Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their sweetest-ever fairy adventure!Fatima the Face-Painting Fairy loves decorating people with beautiful patterns and makeup. But when Jack Frost steals her magical item, the funfair faces disaster! Kirsty and Rachel must help her get it back.

Franklin Watts

Oolaf and the Golden Book

Andy Elkerton
Authors:
Andy Elkerton
Wayland

Materials

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin
Wayland

Space

Richard Spilsbury
Authors:
Richard Spilsbury
Franklin Watts

Anglo-Saxon Britain

Moira Butterfield
Authors:
Moira Butterfield
Franklin Watts

Iron Age

Moira Butterfield
Authors:
Moira Butterfield
Wren & Rook

This Book Will (Help You) Change the World

Sue Turton, Alice Skinner
Contributors:
Sue Turton, Alice Skinner
Hodder Children's Books

How To Be A Pirate

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

Read the HILARIOUS books that inspired the HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON films! Hiccup Horrendous Haddock the Third is a smallish Viking with a longish name. Hiccup's father is chief of the Hairy Hooligan tribe which means Hiccup is the Hope and the Heir to the Hairy Hooligan throne - but most of the time Hiccup feels like a very ordinary boy, finding it hard to be a Hero. When a huge, six-and-a-half-foot floating coffin with the words BEWARE! DO NOT OPEN THIS COFFIN arrives, can you guess what happens next?The Quest to discover the treasure of Hiccup's ancestors begins and Hiccup needs to find it before Alvin the Treacherous gets his hands on it. But when a dragon called the Monstrous Strangulator is thrown into the mix, things are about to get seriously SCARY.READ ALL 12 BOOKS IN THE SERIES!You don't have to read the books in order, but if you want to, this is the right order:1. How to Train Your Dragon2. How to Be a Pirate3. How to Speak Dragonese4. How to Cheat a Dragon's Curse 5. How to Twist a Dragon's Tale6. A Hero's Guide to Deadly Dragons7. How to Ride a Dragon's Storm8. How to Break a Dragon's Heart9. How to Steal a Dragon's Sword10. How to Seize a Dragon's Jewel11. How to Betray a Dragon's Hero12. How to Fight a Dragon's FuryHow to Train Your Dragon is now a major DreamWorks franchise starring Gerard Butler, Cate Blanchett and Jonah Hill and the TV series, Riders of Berk, can be seen on CBeebies and Cartoon Network.

Hodder Children's Books

The Silver Unicorn

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters

The first in a magical, exciting series by Olympic gold medallist Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony! What if you had a special bracelet that gave you the power to talk to animals? One morning Evie gets a parcel in the post from her Grandma Iris in Jamaica. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet! Evie's going to need the bracelet - and a brave heart - when her friend meets a frightened silver unicorn. But she's always ready to have some magical adventures! This is the first in a sensational seven-book series by Jessica Ennis-Hill, World Book Day ambassador and inspiration for kids everywhere.