Joanna Nadin - The Incredible Billy Wild - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781510201248
    • Publication date:04 May 2017

The Incredible Billy Wild

By Joanna Nadin

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

A story about courage, sacrifice and family - and how everyone has something incredible inside of them, just waiting to be discovered. For fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and Eva Ibbotson. From the author of JOE ALL ALONE - now a major CBBC series.


This cover comes in four different colours, supplied at random. Which one will you receive?

From the author of JOE ALL ALONE - now a major CBBC series.

A story about courage, sacrifice and family - and how everyone has something incredible inside of them, just waiting to be discovered. For fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and Eva Ibbotson.

This cover comes in four different colours, supplied at random. Which one will you receive?

When Billy Wild's teacher asks the class to write a letter to their god, Billy's request is simple:

Please send me a dog.

So when he discovers a greyhound hiding in the shed, he decides someone must really be listening. With the help of his brothers, Billy sets out to hide her from Dad, who's far too stressed to add a dog to the mix. But keeping a greyhound a secret is a difficult task, and when Billy's classmate Paris enters them all in a local talent show, it becomes even harder!

Billy must make a big, brave, wild decision - but it's one that might save Dog and hundreds like her. And it might just make him incredible...

Biographical Notes

Joanna Nadin is a winner of the Fantastic Book Award, the Surrey Book Award, Blue Peter 'Book of the Month' and Radio 4 Open Book 'Book of the Year'. She has been shortlisted for the Booktrust Best Book Award and Queen of Teen, and Spies, Dad, Big Lauren and Me was selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club. In 2011, Penny Dreadful is a Magnet for Disaster was shortlisted for the Roald Dahl Funny Prize. Joe All Alone was nominated for the 2016 CILIP Carnegie Medal. She writes the Flying Fergus series with Sir Chris Hoy. Joanna previously worked as a policy writer for the Labour Party and a special adviser to the Prime Minister. She continues to freelance as a speechwriter and editor, and lectures in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781510201255
  • Publication date: 04 May 2017
  • Page count: 240
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
A tender, unsentimental adventure, filled with family ties, love and courage — Guardian
A boy, a dog and a whole lot of awesome. LOVE this book. — Cathy Cassidy
Charming narrator and really touching character developments, as he sees the people around him in new light. A lovely warm-hearted read. — Peters
Very funny and so loveable. — Ann Giles, The Book Witch
A story about dogs, and love, and the power of words... — Achuka
A warm, accessible and funny celebration of finding faith in yourself. I can't recommend it enough! — Rhino Reads
A beautifully written adventure story about a dog and the boy that found him, that perfectly captures contemporary family dynamics and a child's need to be 'incredible', wrapped up with a generous dose of humour and warm hearted love. — Annie Everall - SLG
The author's ability to combine humour and skilful writing to show the power of love and family in overcoming all the odds make this a life-enchancing and highly recommended read. Billy Wild is incredible. — Books for Keeps
A tender, unsentimental adventure, filled with family ties, love and courage
A boy, a dog and a whole lot of awesome. LOVE this book.
Charming narrator and really touching character developments, as he sees the people around him in new light. A lovely warm-hearted read.
Very funny and so loveable.
A story about dogs, and love, and the power of words...
A warm, accessible and funny celebration of finding faith in yourself. I can't recommend it enough!
A beautifully written adventure story about a dog and the boy that found him, that perfectly captures contemporary family dynamics and a child's need to be 'incredible', wrapped up with a generous dose of humour and warm hearted love.
Hodder Children's Books

Oi Puppies!

Kes Gray, Jim Field
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Jim Field
Hodder Children's Books

Stories for Every Season

Enid Blyton, Becky Cameron
Contributors:
Enid Blyton, Becky Cameron

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Hodder Children's Books

Iguana Boy Unmasks The Invisible Hero

James Bishop, Rikin Parekh
Contributors:
James Bishop, Rikin Parekh
Franklin Watts

Bear's Cave

Jenny Jinks
Authors:
Jenny Jinks

It's freezing cold and bear wants to sleep, so he finds a nice empty cave to shelter in. But as he tries to rest, a number of animals interrupt him, wanting to escape the bitter cold. Bear is not happy and tells each of the animals to go away, but still he can't sleep. Then bear has an idea that will help him and all the animals ...Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure. Perfect for the 4-5 year old beginner reader or those reading book band red.

Hodder Children's Books

BOOT - small robot, BIG adventure

Shane Hegarty
Authors:
Shane Hegarty
Franklin Watts

Meg and Ted

Katie Woolley
Authors:
Katie Woolley
Franklin Watts

The School Play

Katie Woolley
Authors:
Katie Woolley
Franklin Watts

Bug Hotel

Jackie Walter
Authors:
Jackie Walter

The children at school have an exciting task today - they're making a bug hotel! The minibeasts will be very happy when the chidlren have finished.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure. Perfect for the 4-5 year old beginner reader or those reading book band red.

Franklin Watts

Magic Marcus

Elizabeth Dale
Authors:
Elizabeth Dale
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Where Do You Go, Birdy Jones?

Joanna Nadin
Authors:
Joanna Nadin
Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Hodder Children's Books

Happy Easter, Tooth Fairy!

Peter Bently, Garry Parsons
Contributors:
Peter Bently, Garry Parsons

Everyone's favourite fairy meets everyone's favourite bunny in this rhyming Easter egg hunt!The Tooth Fairy helps the Easter Bunny hide eggs inside wellington boots, under logs and inside a wheelbarrow. All is set for the Easter egg hunt until one of the children loses her wobbly tooth! Will the Tooth Fairy come to the rescue?Following the much-loved The Tooth Fairy's Christmas and The Tooth Fairy's Royal Visit - from Roald Dahl Funny Prize winner Peter Bently and Garry Parsons, the bestselling illustrator of The Dinosaur That Pooped series.Praise for The Tooth Fairy's Christmas: 'Garry Parsons does both characters proud with his swirling, atmospheric illustrations.' - Independent

Hodder Children's Books

A Home Full of Friends

Peter Bently, Charles Fuge
Contributors:
Peter Bently, Charles Fuge
Hodder Children's Books

Five On Kirrin Island Again

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventure series. All 21 titles also available as audiobooks!In book six, Uncle Quentin has locked himself away on Kirrin Island. What's he up to and why won't he let anyone visit? Then the Famous Five discover that a suspicious stranger is watching Uncle Quentin's every move. Can the Famous Five warn Uncle Quentin in time?Fantastic new cover art by Laura Ellen Anderson will draw young readers into this accessible timeless classic.

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Swimming Lesson

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Armbands at the ready as Henry causes chaos in a mischievous bid to escape his dreaded swimming lesson with Soggy Sid.A hilarious and horrid Early Reader from bestelling author Francesca Simon, and illustrator Tony Ross.

Hodder Children's Books

Oi Frog! Board Book

Kes Gray, Jim Field
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Jim Field

The board book edition of the bestselling rhyming story, jam-packed with the silliest of animals, will have the youngest of readers in fits of laughter.Cats sit on mats, hares sit on chairs, mules sit on stools and gofers sit on sofas, but Frog does not want to sit on a log! From the award-winning Kes Gray and the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, Jim Field, comes an hilarious rhyming tale about a frog who discovers that all animals have their special places to sit!Can't get enough? Look out for Oi Dog!, Oi Cat! and Oi Duck-billed Platypus!'An absolute treat.' - Daily Mail'Hilarious illustrations and rhymes which are easy to recite and join in. Everyone will love it.' - GuardianOi Frog!, Oi Dog! and Oi Cat! are a top ten bestselling series. Oi Dog! won the 2017 Laugh Out Loud Picture Book Award and was shortlisted for the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award and the British Book Awards in 2016, amongst others. It also won the Teach Primary New Children's Fiction Award, MadeForMums Award, Bishop's Stortford Picture Book Award and Portsmouth Picture Book Award. Oi Cat! was the Independent Booksellers Children's Book of the Season and Oi Goat! is a World Book Day book in 2018. Combined series sales currently stand at a phenomenal 900,000 copies.

Hodder Children's Books

First Term

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

White Lies, Black Dare

Joanna Nadin
Authors:
Joanna Nadin
Hodder Children's Books

The Secret of Moon Castle

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton