Abie Longstaff - The Scent of Danger - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781510200234
    • Publication date:14 Jun 2018
Books in this series

The Scent of Danger

Book 2

By Abie Longstaff

  • Paperback
  • £5.99

The second book in The Trapdoor Mysteries, a series about Tally, a code-breaking, animal-loving servant girl and her best friend, a squirrel named Squill, who solve mysteries with the help of a secret library...

The second book in The Trapdoor Mysteries, a series about Tally, a code-breaking, animal-loving servant girl and her best friend, a squirrel named Squill, who solve mysteries with the help of a secret library...

Orphan Tally is the servant girl at Mollett Manor - and she's also the Secret Keeper of the magical library hidden beneath a trapdoor, underneath the manor's grounds. Along with Squill the squirrel, she uses the enchanted books to solve crimes. So when Lady Mollett's new puppy, Widdles, is kidnapped, Tally and Squill head straight to the library. But will they be able to catch the dognapper or is it already too late?

Biographical Notes

Abie Longstaff wrote the Tally and Squill books because she wanted to feature an intelligent, inquisitive heroine who solves crimes by the power of her brain!

She was also inspired by her parents' house in France. The house is big and old, with lots of rooms and outbuildings. In one of the bedrooms, there is a secret entrance hidden in a fireplace. It leads to a room that was used by the French Resistance during the war. It was the perfect idea for a set of books!

Abie Longstaff is the eldest of six children and grew up in Australia, Hong Kong and France. She knows all about squabbling and bossing younger sisters around so she began her career as a barrister. She started writing when her children were born. Her books include The Fairytale Hairdresser series and The Magic Potions Shop books. She has a life-long love of fairy tales and mythology and her work is greatly influenced by these themes.

Abie lives with her family by the seaside in Hove.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781510200227
  • Publication date: 14 Jun 2018
  • Page count: 144
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Orion Children's Books

Thief in the Night

Abie Longstaff
Authors:
Abie Longstaff
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

A Sticky Situation

Abie Longstaff, James Brown
Contributors:
Abie Longstaff, James Brown
Orchard Books

Flaymar the Scorched Blaze

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Komodo the Lizard King

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Nixa the Death-Bringer

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Taladon the Swift has returned! But to Tom's horror, his father is a ghost. To save Taladon, Tom must battle the Ghost Beasts and collect the pieces of the shattered Amulet of Avantia. First is Nixa the Death-Bringer - will her deadly disguises lure Tom to his death?

Orchard Books

Rashouk the Cave Troll

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Luna the Moon Wolf

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

At night, the Dead Wood comes alive with wild animals made ferocious by the spell of Luna the Moon Wolf. To save his father, Tom must collect the pieces of the Amulet of Avantia - which means battling Luna's murderous magic...

Orchard Books

Blaze the Ice Dragon

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

The volcano at Stonewin is frozen over and the lands are blasted with a deadly cold. This is the work of Blaze the Ice Dragon, sent by wicked Wizard Malvel to thwart Tom's quest to save his father. Can he defeat Blaze and win the next piece of Amulet before it's too late?

Orchard Books

Hawkite, Arrow of the Air

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Rokk The Walking Mountain

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Tom is on a quest to free the Mistress of the Beasts from an evil curse. But when he arrives in a mountain town devastated by terrible rockfalls, he realises the destruction has been wreaked by a Beast as powerful as the mountain itself...Don't missKRABB, MASTER OF THE SEA - HAWKITE, ARROW OF THE AIR - KOLDO THE ARCTIC WARRIOR - TREMA THE EARTH LORD - AMICTUS THE BUG QUEEN

Orchard Books

Koldo the Arctic Warrior

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Amictus the Bug Queen

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Shattered

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Kyla's memory was erased,her personality wiped blank,her memories lost for ever.Or so she thought.After the shocking events of SLATED and FRACTURED, we return to Kyla's oppressive world as she tries to make sense of her life and everything around her.Set in a disturbing near-future world, this is the conclusion to an engrossing, fast-paced trilogy that establishes Teri Terry as a master thriller writer.Book 3 in the acclaimed SLATED trilogy.

Hodder Children's Books

Shock For The Secret Seven

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Orion Children's Books

Siege and Storm

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo

Enter the Grishaverse with book two of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by number one New York Times-bestselling author Leigh Bardugo. Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Sarah J. Maas.Soldier. Summoner. Saint. Alina Starkov's power has grown, but not without a price. She is the Sun Summoner - hunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Shadow Fold. But she and Mal can't outrun their enemies for long.The Darkling is more determined than ever to claim Alina's magic and use it to take the Ravkan throne. With nowhere else to turn, Alina enlists the help of an infamous privateer and sets out to lead the Grisha army.But as the truth of Alina's destiny unfolds, she slips deeper into the Darkling's deadly game of forbidden magic, and further away from her humanity. To save her country, Alina will have to choose between her power and the love she thought would always be her shelter. No victory can come without sacrifice - and only she can face the oncoming storm.Praise for the Grishaverse:"Utterly, extremely bewitching." The Guardian"There's a level of emotional and historical sophistication within Bardugo's original epic fantasy that sets it apart." Vanity Fair"Unlike anything I've ever read." Veronica Roth, bestselling author of Divergent"This is a great choice for teenage fans of George R.R. Martin and J.R.R. Tolkien." RT Book ReviewsRead all the books in the Grishaverse!The Shadow and Bone Trilogy (previously published as The Grisha Trilogy)Shadow and BoneSiege and StormRuin and RisingThe Six of Crows DuologySix of CrowsCrooked KingdomThe Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic

Orchard Books

Krabb Master of the Sea

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Trema the Earth Lord

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Fearsome Trema lurks in the bowels of the earth, only emerging to feast on his prey. If Tom is to defeat the Beast and lift the curse on Freya, the Mistress of the Beasts, he has no choice but to brave the underworld. But a terrible shock is waiting for him above ground...Don't missKRABB, MASTER OF THE SEA - HAWKITE, ARROW OF THE AIR - KOLDO THE ARCTIC WARRIOR - ROKK THE WALKING MOUNTAIN - AMICTUS THE BUG QUEEN

Orchard Books

Equinus the Spirit Horse

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Equinus the Spirit Horse crashes through the forests of the Forbidden Land, stealing the life force of other creatures. Tom must dodge the Ghost Beast's flying hooves and take the fragment of Amulet that Equinus guards - or Tom's father will remain a ghost for ever...

Orchard Books

Stealth the Ghost Panther

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Wizard Malvel's final Beast has reached the doors of King Hugo's Palace! Stealth the Ghost Panther lassoes victims with his tails and makes good people bad. To rescue his father, Tom must capture the final piece of Amulet from Stealth's collar - before all Avantia is turned to evil!

Orchard Books

Ferrok the Iron Soldier

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Tom must face an old enemy, and a brand new Beast! Ferrok the Iron Soldier has risen from the ground, and is marching to conquer Avantia with his army of slave-warriors. Can Tom defy the odds and win the battle?