Kate Ling - The Loneliness of Distant Beings - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781510200166
    • Publication date:19 May 2016
Books in this series

The Loneliness of Distant Beings

Book 1

By Kate Ling

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Choice is rebellion. Love is an anomaly. And freedom? Freedom is dangerous. The perfect read for fans of Veronica Roth and Beth Revis.

Choice is rebellion. Love is an anomaly. And freedom? Freedom is dangerous. The perfect read for fans of Veronica Roth and Beth Revis.

'It is that quick, that strong, that beautiful. And it is also totally impossible.'

Even though she knows it's impossible, Seren longs to have the sunshine on her skin. It's something she feels she needs to stay sane. But when you're hurtling through space at thousands of kilometres an hour, sometimes you have to accept there are things you cannot change.

Except that the arrival of Dom in her life changes everything in ways she can barely comprehend. He becomes the sun for her, and she can't help but stay in his orbit. To lose him would be like losing herself . . .

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781510200173
  • Publication date: 19 May 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
This book will capture the imagination and attention of teenage girls across the globe... A forbidden romance set in space, this young adult debut has the potential to be the next Twilight. — The Bookbag
Very action packed — Debra's Book Cafe
Author Kate Ling did a fantastic job shaping a chilling concept into a beautifully haunting novel and I cannot wait to read more by her hand — Page to Stage Reviews
Kate Ling's writing is crisp, the characters are well-drawn and the background premise is very, very chilling. — The Crime Review
The story is thrilling, challenging and fast paced. Its themes are thought provoking — School Librarian
...a gorgeous sci-fi... — Maximum Pop
Hodder Children's Books

The Survival Game

Nicky Singer
Authors:
Nicky Singer

In a world full of check points and controls, can love and hope defy the borders? A searing, timely story, as arresting as it is beautiful. Mhairi Anne Bain owns only two things: a gun with no bullets and her identity papers. The world is a shell of what it once was. Now, you must prove yourself worthy of existence at every turn, at every border checkpoint. And if you are going to survive, your instincts will become your most valuable weapon. Mhairi has learnt the importance of living her own story, of speaking to no one. But then she meets a young boy with no voice at all, and finds herself risking everything to take him to safety. Mhairi and the silent boy travel the road north, towards what she truly believes is their salvation. But there are rumous that things have changed since she has been away ... An extraordinary story about the power of small kindnesses to change everything, this is a book to read in one sitting.

Hodder Children's Books

The Love Curse: Arrowheart

Rebecca Sky
Authors:
Rebecca Sky
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Truth of Different Skies

Kate Ling
Authors:
Kate Ling
Orion Children's Books

Escape

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Glow of Fallen Stars

Kate Ling
Authors:
Kate Ling
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Meteor Madness

Frank Lampard
Authors:
Frank Lampard
Hodder Children's Books

The Resurrection

Julie Plec
Authors:
Julie Plec
Orion Children's Books

The Apple Tart of Hope

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

'A moving and poignant tale about the redemptive power of friendship' - Louise O'Neill, bestselling author of Asking for ItOscar Dunleavy is missing, presumed dead. His bike was found at sea, beyond the pier, and everyone in town has accepted this as a teenage tragedy. Except for his best friend, Meg. Oscar's kind, always cheerful, and makes the world's best apple tarts. Meg knows he isn't dead ... ...and she's is going to prove it.

Wayland

Languages What Job Can I Get?

Richard Spilsbury
Authors:
Richard Spilsbury
Hodder Children's Books

One Shot Kill

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

Chris Oxlade

Chris Oxlade, is an experienced writer of information books for children. He specializes in science and technology, and has written more than sixty titles, on subjects ranging from kites to virtual reality as well as books on various forms of transport.

Colin Hynson

Colin Hynson is an experienced children's and educational writer and broadcaster. He also acts as an educational consultant for museums and heritage sites.

Dan Lyndon

Dan Lyndon has been teaching for over 15 years, and is former head of history at Henry Compton School, London. He is a member of the Black and Asian Studies Association (BASA).

Ian Graham

Ian Graham has written more than one hundred non-fiction books and numerous magazine articles on video, computers, electronics and communications. After taking a degree in applied physics and a post-graduate diploma in journalism at the City University, London, he worked for three years as an editor in consumer electronics magazines before turning freelance. His book 'How it works: Helicopters' received a commendation in that year's Science Book Prizes and he has also had books selected as 'Books for the Teen Age' by the US Library of Congress.

Jane Bingham

Jane Bingham is an experienced children's author and editor. She specializes in history and contemporary issues.

Jen Green

Jen Green received a doctorate from the University of Sussex (Dept of English and American Studies) in 1982. She worked in publishing for 15 years and is now a full-time writer, who has written over 150 books for children. Her book 'Your Feelings: I'm Special' was short-listed for the NASEN Special Needs Award.

Jillian Powell

Jillian Powell has an MA in English from Cambridge University and an M.Phil in Art History from the Courtauld Institute, London. She is an experienced writer of children's fiction and non-fiction, and has written on many social issues.

Katie Dicker

Katie Dicker is a writer and editor who has worked in publishing for over 15 years. She has a degree in politics and philosophy and specialises in children's educational publishing.

Kaye Stearman

Kaye Stearman has worked for international organizations in the field of human rights, minorities, health and development. She is also an experienced writer of children's books and has published titles on human rights and social issues.

Mike Gordon

Mike Gordon is an ever-popular and award-winning cartoonist. He has produced over 500 cards for Hallmark and over 300 picture books for various publishers. His talent has been rewarded with numerous awards inlcuding Berol cartoonist of the year (1988) and runner up for the Trento Fra realto e Follia (1990). He was also nominated for the Silver Quill Award (Germany, 1991) and for the Book and Magazine Illustrator of the Year by the National Cartoonists Society (1995).