Ryan Graudin - Invictus - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Invictus

By Ryan Graudin

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Dr Who meets Guardians of the Galaxy in this thrilling sci-fi novel with a historical twist from Carnegie Medal nominated author Ryan Graudin.

From the author of the Carnegie Medal nominated Wolf by Wolf, comes an epic new story...

Farway Gaius McCarthy was born outside of time. The son of a time-traveling Recorder from 2354 AD and a gladiator living in Rome in 95 AD, Far's birth defies the laws of nature. Exploring history himself is all he's ever wanted, and after failing his final time-traveling exam, Far takes a position commanding a ship with a crew of his friends as part of a black market operation to steal valuables from the past.

But during a heist on the sinking Titanic, Far meets a mysterious girl who always seems to be one step ahead of him. Armed with knowledge that will bring Far's very existence into question, she will lead Far and his team on a race through time to discover a frightening truth: History is not as steady as it seems.

In this heart-stopping adventure, Ryan Graudin has created a fast-paced world that defies time and space.

Biographical Notes

Ryan Graudin was born in Charleston, South Carolina with a severe case of wanderlust. When she's not travelling, she's busy photographing weddings, writing and spending time with her husband and wolf-dog. You can visit her website at ryangraudin.com and follow her on Twitter @ryangraudin.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781510102866
  • Publication date: 21 Sep 2017
  • Page count: 464
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Orchard Books

Deception

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Some things can't be cured, can't be stopped, can't die ... Don't miss this startling second book in a breathtaking new trilogy from Teri Terry, queen of the teen thriller and author of the bestselling SLATED trilogy.An epidemic is sweeping the country.You are among the infected. There is no cure; and you cannot be permitted to infect others. You are now under quarantine. The 5% of the infected who survive are dangerous and will be taken into the custody of the army.With Shay gone, Callie has no way of communicating with her brother Kai. But together they must discover the origins of the disease. As the epidemic becomes ever more widespread and survivors are being hunted like witches, speaking out is making Kai the new number one target. And he's running out of places to run.From the author of the international sensation Slated comes the second book in a powerful new story of survival and transformation; love and power.

Orchard Books

Midnight Feast

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Pet Rescue

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Stage Spell

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Story Treasury

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

Moxie

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu
Wren & Rook

This Book Will (Help You) Change the World

Sue Turton, Alice Skinner
Contributors:
Sue Turton, Alice Skinner

A practical and inspiring guide to activism and politics. This book is a rallying call: if you don't like the world you see in front of you, don't blame politicians on the telly. It was brave women, brave black people and brave LGBTQ people who gave us civil rights - and they did so by changing the minds of other citizens. Award-winning journalist Sue Turton's guide for young people explains the political system that rules our daily lives while also pointing out its shocking flaws - and empowers readers to change the status quo. From disrupting the system from within, via political parties, to forcing change from the outside using petitions, marches, sit-ins and protest art, this book is for anyone who has looked at the world around them and thought We can do better than this. Equipping readers with a practical toolkit to launch their campaigns, the book shows how to detect bias in the media, avoid fake news, harness social media, win debates and much more. Giving young people the tools and confidence they'll need, This Book Will (Help You) Change the World is the powerhouse guide we've all been waiting for.Featuring contributions from C4 anchor Jon Snow and Avaaz.com founder Jeremy Heimans, plus influential young activists such as leader of Hong Kong's Umbrella Revolution, Joshua Wong and activist and former refugee Roza Salih. Also includes hilarious tongue-in-cheek illustrations from activist-illustrator Alice Skinner. Endorsed by Amnesty International.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Ascension

Olivia Chase
Authors:
Olivia Chase
Hodder Children's Books

Midnight Sun

Trish Cook
Authors:
Trish Cook
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Glow of Fallen Stars

Kate Ling
Authors:
Kate Ling
Quercus Children's Books

The Starman and Me

Sharon Cohen, Sharon Cohen
Authors:
Sharon Cohen, Sharon Cohen

E.T. meets Stig of the Dump in a page-turning adventure for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and David AlmondHe wasn't an alien, I was sure of that. It was more like he'd walked in through an ancient door from the past ... except he was here, in my bedroom and his misty forest was somewhere real on Planet Earth.Twelve-year-old Kofi first spots the prehistoric human on a supermarket roundabout. He is small and dark and curled into a tight ball. His name is Rorty Thrutch and he has zero memory of how he ended up in the unexceptional village of Bradborough, or why he's being hunted... Kofi soon finds out that Rorty can do amazing things. He can copy, paste and delete objects, using only the power of his mind. This is the discovery of the century and mad, greedy scientists will stop at nothing to track him down.Kofi and best friend Janie are on a mission. Not only must they protect Rorty, but they have to find his missing girlfriend Pogsy Blue, too. Our prehistoric ancestors have crashed headlong into the 21st century and time is running out to save them...THE STARMAN AND ME explores where we have come from and where we are moving to - it's about the magic of DNA, the power of identity, and the importance of caring for each other.

Hodder Children's Books

The Sprites' Den

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters

The third in a magical, exciting series by Olympic gold medallist Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans for Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony! What if you had a magic bracelet that allowed you to conjure anything you wanted - out of thin air! Evie's grandma has sent her another parcel. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet! Evie's going to need the bracelet's powers - and a brave heart - to deal with some mischievous sprites. But she's always ready to have some magical adventures! Evie shares Jessica's determination and drive - an inspiration for kids everywhere.

Orchard Books

The Hawkweed Legacy

Irena Brignull
Authors:
Irena Brignull
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Ryan Higa’s How to Write Good

Ryan Higa
Authors:
Ryan Higa
Orchard Books

Contagion

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Don't miss this startling first book in a breathtaking new trilogy from Teri Terry, queen of the teen psychological thriller and author of the bestselling Slated trilogy!URGENT!An epidemic is sweeping the country.You are among the infected. There is no cure; and you cannot be permitted to infect others. You are now under quarantine. The very few of the infected who survive are dangerous and will be taken into the custody of the army.Young runaway Callie survived the disease, but not the so-called treatment. Her brother Kai is still looking for her. And his new friend Shay may hold the key to uncovering what truly happened. From the author of the international sensation Slated comes the first book in a powerful new story of survival and transformation; love and power.

Orion Children's Books

Blood for Blood

Ryan Graudin
Authors:
Ryan Graudin
Quercus Children's Books

There May Be a Castle

Piers Torday
Authors:
Piers Torday

A remarkable story about love and death from the winner of the Guardian Children's Fiction PrizeEleven-year-old Mouse is travelling to see his grandparents on Christmas Eve with his mother and two sisters. But it's snowing, and visibility is bad, and the car goes off the road, and crashes. Mouse is thrown from the car. When he wakes, he's not in his world any more. He meets a sheep named Bar, who can only say Baaa, and a sarcastic horse named Nonky, who is a surprising mix of his beloved toy horse and his older sister.So begins a quest to find a castle in a world of wonder - a world of monsters, minstrels, dangerous knights and mysterious wizards; a world of terrifying danger but also more excitement than Mouse has ever known.But why are they looking for a castle? As the cold grows, we realise it might just have something to do with the family he's left behind; and that Mouse's quest is more important than ever. This is a novel about love and death. It's about the power of stories to change the way we view the world - and it's about the power of a child to change their own world. Emotionally arresting but ultimately uplifting, this is a remarkable novel for our times.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

An Author's Odyssey

Chris Colfer
Authors:
Chris Colfer

The 5th book in the No.1 New York Times bestselling series by Chris ColferIn the highly anticipated continuation of the Land of Stories series, Conner learns that the only place to fight the Masked Man's literary army is inside his own short stories! When the twins and their friends enter worlds crafted from Conner's imagination, finding allies no one else could have ever dreamed of, the race begins to put an end to the Masked Man's reign of terror. Can the twins finally restore peace in the fairy tale world?

Wayland

the American Civil War?

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Wayland

the Great Depression?

Emma Marriott
Authors:
Emma Marriott

Look at the events that lead to the Wall Street Crash of October 1929 and the shockwaves that it sent around the world, leading to economic crisis and financial panic and plunging millions into unemployment, eviction from their homes and grinding poverty. Explore the legacy of the Great Depression internationally, both in terms of the bad things that came out of it, such as political ferment leading to the rise of fascism, and the good things, including the expansion of the welfare state and provision for those in need, technological innovation and the rise of the cinema industry.