Ryan Graudin - Invictus - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Invictus

By Ryan Graudin

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Dr Who meets Guardians of the Galaxy in this thrilling sci-fi novel with a historical twist from Carnegie Medal nominated author Ryan Graudin.

From the author of the Carnegie Medal nominated Wolf by Wolf, comes an epic new story - A fast-paced, heart-stopping journey through time that will leave you breathless.

Time is running out . . .

Farway McCarthy was born outside of time. With nowhere to call home and nothing to anchor him to the present, Far captains a crew on a dangerous mission into the past.

When he collides with Eliot - a mysterious, secretive girl, whose very appearance raises questions about time itself - Far immediately distrusts her.

But he must take a leap of faith, following Eliot on a race against time, if he is to protect everything he's ever loved from disappearing forever . . .

Biographical Notes

Ryan Graudin was born in Charleston, South Carolina with a severe case of wanderlust. When she's not travelling, she's busy photographing weddings, writing and spending time with her husband and wolf-dog. You can visit her website at ryangraudin.com and follow her on Twitter @ryangraudin.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781510102866
  • Publication date: 21 Sep 2017
  • Page count: 464
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Graudin depicts the futuristic, high-tech world and the fulsome and frenzied historical settings with equal richness . . . A madcap, vivid time-travel tale with a strong ensemble — Kirkus
Invictus gripped my heart. Graudin's achingly beautiful prose and thoughtful exploration of time, history, and identity create a stunning story. I couldn't turn the pages fast enough, and yet I wanted to savour each decadent sentence. Readers be warned, you'll want to stop time to live in this tale — Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen
If the crew from Firefly somehow wound up as teenagers on the TARDIS and had to solve a Fringe-type mystery before time literally disappeared, you'd have something like Invictus — Beth Revis, New York Times bestselling author of the Across the Universe series
Wild and gorgeous, vivid and consuming. — Laini Taylor, author of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy on WOLF BY WOLF
...an incredible read and fans of Dr Who or time-travel in general will be hooked. — Maximum Pop!
Graudin weaves an exciting plot where time travel is just the beginning. Her characters are spunky, smart-mouthed, tormented, emotionally yearning and contemporary. It's Firefly meets Assassin's Creed, but Graudin has a way with words that gives the book depth and makes it more than just an enjoyable page-turner. — BookTrust
...her writing is golden, powerful and completely addictive. — Emma Gray, Never Judge a Book By It's Cover
If epic adventure, fabulous settings and thoughtful worldbuilding are your things, you're going to love Invictus. — The Bookbag
Invictus was a gripping, fast paced, action packed, funny, heart warming, rollercoaster of a read and I couldn't recommend it more highly. — Girl Reading
Invictus was a highflying knock out for Ryan. Readers will be taken on a time travelling adventure and they definitely will not want it to end. — Literary-ly Obsessed
...literally crafted to perfection so you'll never want to put it down! If you're a fan of The Heroes of Olympus series, or Six of Crows, basically anything where a group of kids have to come together and save the world/steal some stuff, then you're going to love this book. — Heart Full of Books
It's got twists and turns that had me gaping in amazement, as well as emotional scenes that made my heart hurt. — Wishes On Eyelashes
...raises questions about how far our lives are fated and how much we shape our own destinies. — Reading Zone - Teacher Review
Invictus is perfect for fans of sci-fi reads and time traveller lovers. — Be My Anchor
Invictus is a tremendously fun novel, which fuses sci-fi and historical fiction with style, empathy and humour. brimming with entertaining characters and an indomitable energy, Invictus delivers mind-bending adventure. — The School Librarian
Orchard Books

chapter book 1

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

A secret world full of magic, unicorns and friendship! The brand-new series from the bestselling Daisy Meadows, author of RAINBOW MAGIC and MAGIC ANIMAL FRIENDS, and the most-borrowed children's author in UK libraries.Join best friends Lucy and Aisha as they discover a secret world full of unicorns, magic and friendship! Journey with them to the beautiful kingdom of Unicorn Valley, where the beautiful Queen Aurora rules kindly over the unicorns and all other magical creatures. But when the Dark Unicorn Selena tries to steal the throne, good magic everywhere is under threat. Can the girls and their new unicorn friends find a way to save the kingdom?

Orion Children's Books

Wundersmith

Jessica Townsend
Authors:
Jessica Townsend
Orchard Books

Orla the Inventor Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Dani the Detective Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Orchard Books

Elsie the Engineer Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

Devoted

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu

An empowering, feminist coming-of-age story about self-discovery, from the author of MOXIE - a Zoella Book Club book ...Rachel Walker's family and community have turned away from the world.Every part of Rachel's life is controlled, from what she reads to where she goes and what she wears. Her parents dictate how her life must be: marriage, modesty, children and obedience to her future husband. But when a former member of her community, a girl who escaped, moves back to her small Texas town, Rachel's world turns upside down.She realises that her life is her own. But can she find the courage to fight for it?

Franklin Watts

Werewolf

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Franklin Watts

Mutant

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow

Take on the role of the Monster Hunter in this fully interactive, flick-through-the pages, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.YOU are an agent of G.H.O.S.T. - protecting the world from creatures in the shadows. Dr Omega is creating mutanthumans - turning them into monsters. Your mission is to stop her experiments.Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve SkidmoreAge appropriate for 8+. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Hodder Children's Books

War is Over

David Almond, David Litchfield
Contributors:
David Almond, David Litchfield
Hodder Children's Books

Is it Really Nearly Christmas?

Joyce Dunbar, Victoria Turnbull
Contributors:
Joyce Dunbar, Victoria Turnbull

'This isn't any old night, this is a magic night!'There's only one more sleep till Christmas and Lucas and Willow, the moon and the stars are all waiting ... While they wait, the children remember everything they love about Christmas, but they don't notice that the magic has already begun ...This is a stunning picture book from a gifted storyteller and award-winning illustrator that perfectly captures the joy and anticipation of Christmas Eve.

Hodder Children's Books

The Survival Game

Nicky Singer
Authors:
Nicky Singer

In a world full of checkpoints and controls, can love and hope defy the borders? A searing, timely story, as arresting as it is beautiful. Mhairi Anne Bain owns only two things: a gun with no bullets and her identity papers. The world is a shell of what it once was. Now, you must prove yourself worthy of existence at every turn, at every border checkpoint. And if you are going to survive, your instincts will become your most valuable weapon. Mhairi has learnt the importance of living her own story, of speaking to no one. But then she meets a young boy with no voice at all, and finds herself risking everything to take him to safety. And so Mhairi and the silent boy travel the road north. But there are rumours that things in Scotland have changed since she has been away. What Mhairi finds there is shocking and heart-breaking, but might finally re-connect her to her sense of self and to the possibility of love.An extraordinary story about survival and what it costs, about the power of small kindnesses to change everything.

Hodder Children's Books

Grace and Fury

Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart

Bold, brutal and beautiful, this is a must-read with the glitter and romance of The Selection and the thrilling action and intrigue of Red Queen.In a world where women have no rights, sisters Serina and Nomi face two very different fates: one in the palace, the other on an island prison where women must fight to survive. Serina has spent her whole life preparing to become a Grace - selected to stand by the heir to the throne as a shining example of the perfect woman. But her headstrong and rebellious younger sister has a dangerous secret, and one wrong move could cost both sisters everything. Can Serina fight? And will Nomi win?

Quercus Children's Books

The Life and Death Parade

Eliza Wass
Authors:
Eliza Wass

Strange rituals, hauntings and the occult collide in this darkly memorable YA thriller. Perfect for fans of Louise O'Neill, Sarah Waters and Donna Tartt.One year ago, Kitty's boyfriend Nikki Bramley visited a psychic who told him he had no future. Now, he's dead. With the Bramleys grieving inside their rural English home, Kitty sets out to find the psychic who read Nikki his fate.Instead she finds Roan, an enigmatic medium claiming he can speak to the dead. He belongs to the Life and Death Parade - a group that explore the thin veil between this world and the next. Kitty is convinced he's a charlatan - but the 'magic' seems to work. The darkness is lifting.But there are things Kitty can't ignore - evidence of strange rituals, shadows of the boy she lost, and Kitty begins to suspect that this boy had something to do with Nikki's death. More, that he may have the very real power to bring him back ...'Haunting, unexpected, beautifully written. One of the best books I've read this year' LOUISE O'NEILL on In the Dark, In the Woods

Hodder Children's Books

Summertime Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins
Orchard Books

Verak the Storm King

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!Don't miss this new bumper special edition of the bestselling series, in which our heroes return to the realm of Gwildor to battle an old enemy and a terrifying new sea Beast - Verak the Storm King!Have you read any other Beast Quest books? Grymon the Biting Horror is a great place to find more adventures!

Orchard Books

Catherine the Fashion Princess Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Sianne the Butterfly Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

A Fairy Ballet

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Tiana the Toy Fairy: The Land of Sweets

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Another brand-new Rainbow Magic story featuring YouTube star Tiana from Toys AndMe!Join Kirsty and Rachel for another adventure with Tiana the Toy Fairy! When Jack Frost steals Tiana's magical candy key, the magical Land of Sweets is under threat. Can the three friends get it back before Fairyland turns sour?