Ryan Graudin - Invictus - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Invictus

By Ryan Graudin

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Dr Who meets Guardians of the Galaxy in this thrilling sci-fi novel with a historical twist from Carnegie Medal nominated author Ryan Graudin.

From the author of the Carnegie Medal nominated Wolf by Wolf, comes an epic new story - A fast-paced, heart-stopping journey through time that will leave you breathless.

Time is running out . . .

Farway McCarthy was born outside of time. With nowhere to call home and nothing to anchor him to the present, Far captains a crew on a dangerous mission into the past.

When he collides with Eliot - a mysterious, secretive girl, whose very appearance raises questions about time itself - Far immediately distrusts her.

But he must take a leap of faith, following Eliot on a race against time, if he is to protect everything he's ever loved from disappearing forever . . .

Biographical Notes

Ryan Graudin was born in Charleston, South Carolina with a severe case of wanderlust. When she's not travelling, she's busy photographing weddings, writing and spending time with her husband and wolf-dog. You can visit her website at ryangraudin.com and follow her on Twitter @ryangraudin.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781510102866
  • Publication date: 21 Sep 2017
  • Page count: 464
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Graudin depicts the futuristic, high-tech world and the fulsome and frenzied historical settings with equal richness . . . A madcap, vivid time-travel tale with a strong ensemble — Kirkus
Invictus gripped my heart. Graudin's achingly beautiful prose and thoughtful exploration of time, history, and identity create a stunning story. I couldn't turn the pages fast enough, and yet I wanted to savour each decadent sentence. Readers be warned, you'll want to stop time to live in this tale — Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen
If the crew from Firefly somehow wound up as teenagers on the TARDIS and had to solve a Fringe-type mystery before time literally disappeared, you'd have something like Invictus — Beth Revis, New York Times bestselling author of the Across the Universe series
Wild and gorgeous, vivid and consuming. — Laini Taylor, author of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy on WOLF BY WOLF
...an incredible read and fans of Dr Who or time-travel in general will be hooked. — Maximum Pop!
Graudin weaves an exciting plot where time travel is just the beginning. Her characters are spunky, smart-mouthed, tormented, emotionally yearning and contemporary. It's Firefly meets Assassin's Creed, but Graudin has a way with words that gives the book depth and makes it more than just an enjoyable page-turner. — BookTrust
...her writing is golden, powerful and completely addictive. — Emma Gray, Never Judge a Book By It's Cover
If epic adventure, fabulous settings and thoughtful worldbuilding are your things, you're going to love Invictus. — The Bookbag
Invictus was a gripping, fast paced, action packed, funny, heart warming, rollercoaster of a read and I couldn't recommend it more highly. — Girl Reading
Invictus was a highflying knock out for Ryan. Readers will be taken on a time travelling adventure and they definitely will not want it to end. — Literary-ly Obsessed
...literally crafted to perfection so you'll never want to put it down! If you're a fan of The Heroes of Olympus series, or Six of Crows, basically anything where a group of kids have to come together and save the world/steal some stuff, then you're going to love this book. — Heart Full of Books
It's got twists and turns that had me gaping in amazement, as well as emotional scenes that made my heart hurt. — Wishes On Eyelashes
...raises questions about how far our lives are fated and how much we shape our own destinies. — Reading Zone - Teacher Review
Invictus is perfect for fans of sci-fi reads and time traveller lovers. — Be My Anchor
Invictus is a tremendously fun novel, which fuses sci-fi and historical fiction with style, empathy and humour. brimming with entertaining characters and an indomitable energy, Invictus delivers mind-bending adventure. — The School Librarian
Hodder Children's Books

Revolution

Simon Lelic
Authors:
Simon Lelic

An adrenaline-fuelled adventure, second in the Haven series, by top thriller writer Simon Lelic. Ollie Turner isn't sure he's ready to be a hero ...Our rules. Our city. Our secret. Below the city streets is the Haven, a sanctuary for kids run by kids, and the headquarters of an organisation that fights for justice everywhere. Ollie Turner is leading the Haven's investigations team, and a new threat is on the horizon. A boy has gone missing from a private boarding school nearby: it's Jack's brother, and Jack is a key part of the investigations team. But when Ollie and his friends go undercover to investigate in the school, they find much more than they'd ever bargained for ... A book for teens and above from the writer of adult thrillers THE HOUSE, THE LIAR'S ROOM and RUPTURE, this is the second in the HAVEN series.

Orchard Books

Glitterhoof's Secret Garden

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Sparklesplash and the Mermaid Adventure

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

A secret world full of magic, unicorns and friendship! The brand-new series from the bestselling Daisy Meadows, author of RAINBOW MAGIC and MAGIC ANIMAL FRIENDS, and the most-borrowed children's author in UK libraries.Join best friends Lucy and Aisha as they discover a secret world full of unicorns, magic and friendship! Journey with them to the beautiful kingdom of Unicorn Valley, where the beautiful Queen Aurora rules kindly over the unicorns and all other magical creatures. But when the Dark Unicorn Selena tries to steal the throne, good magic everywhere is under threat. Can the girls and their new unicorn friends find a way to save the kingdom?

Orion Children's Books

Untitled Ryan Graudin 2 of 2

Ryan Graudin
Authors:
Ryan Graudin
Orchard Books

Book 1

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orion Children's Books

The Wishing Bones

Michelle Lovric
Authors:
Michelle Lovric

A brand new exquisitely imagined historical fantasy novel set on the canals of Venice from award-winning author, Michelle Lovric for ages 9+Lily is an orphan, growing up in a convent in Venice. Cruelly treated by the nuns, especially the head nun Arabella Magoghe, she dreams of escape...of a family...of being loved. When a sacred saint's foot is stolen, a theft which threatens the very heart and soul of Venice, Lily knows Arabella is responsible. Lily vows to save her city, the only home she's ever known. But it might just be the most dangerous thing she's ever done...

Hodder Children's Books

Queen of Ruin

Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart

The breathtaking sequel to Grace and Fury. A fierce tale of sisterhood, courtly intrigue, and heart pounding action, perfect for fans of Red Queen and The Selection.Nomi and Malachi find themselves powerless and headed towards their all-but-certain deaths. Now that Asa sits on the throne, he will stop at nothing to make sure Malachi never sets foot in the palace again. Nomi's sister, Serina, is far away on the prison island of Mount Ruin - but it is in the grip of revolution and Serina leads. The women there have their sights set on revenge beyond the confines of their island prison. They will stop at nothing to gain freedom for the entire kingdom. But first they'll have to get rid of Asa, and only Nomi knows how.Separated once again, this time by choice, Nomi and Serina must forge their own paths as they aim to tear down the world they know, to build something better in its place.

Pat-a-Cake

Here Come the Dragons

Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir
Pat-a-Cake

Here Come the Mermaids

Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir

Clap hands and play with this range of exciting toddler touch-and-feel books!Here Come the Mermaids is a playful touch-and-feel book, full of energy, fun and of course, lots of magical mermaid friends! Toddlers will laugh, shout, clap their hands and join in the fun as the simple text encourages them to point, match and talk about the magical pals playing on every page. With textures to feel on every page and a fun matching game at the end, everyone will want to clap hands for the favourite mermaid friends!Also available: Here Come the Monkeys, Here Come the Kittens, Here Come the Puppies, Here Come the Dinosaurs, Here Come the Chicks, Here Come the Bunnies, Here Come the Unicorns, Here Comes Christmas, Here Come the Mummies and Babies, Here Come the Dragons

Orchard Books

Dawnblaze Saves Summer

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

The Frozen Fortress

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic adventure series from bestselling author Adam BladeOrdinary kids with extraordinary powers gather in a secret school to be trained to fight the forces of darkness.

Orchard Books

Elsie the Engineer Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

The Night Thief

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

An Army Awakens

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations. TEAM HERO VS THE AGENT! IT IS TIME FOR JACK, RUBY AND DANNY TO FACE THE DREADED AGENT. CAN THEY RESTORE THE SHARDS OF ETHER BEFORE THEY ARE USED FOR UNSPEAKABLE EVIL?There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Book 1: The Secret Jungle, Book 2: Ninja Strike, Book 3: The Night Thief, Book 4: An Army AwakensAnd don't forget Adam Blade's other series: Beast Quest and Sea Quest

Hodder Children's Books

Colour Me In

Lydia Ruffles
Authors:
Lydia Ruffles
Orchard Books

Rainbow Magic: Sasha the Slime Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Franklin Watts

The Toxic Cookie Monster

Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Contributors:
Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Franklin Watts

Dr Vlogger

Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Contributors:
Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Franklin Watts

Trans Global

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

Alien

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow

Take on the role of the Monster Hunter in this fully interactive, flick-through-the pages, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.YOU are the Monster Hunter, protector of the living, and nightmare of the paranormal. Aliens have landed and your specialist services are urgently required...Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve SkidmoreAge appropriate for 8+. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.