Phil Earle - Grandad's Medal - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781510102378
    • Publication date:13 Jul 2017
Books in this series

Grandad's Medal

By Phil Earle
Illustrated by Sarah Horne

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

A touching and hopeful red Early Reader about first experiences of grief and loss, from Carnegie-nominated author, Phil Earle.

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reaading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.

Marvin loves going on his adventures with his grandad - escaping from hairy yetis, taking daytrips to Mars, and hunting ferocious tigers - all without leaving the house. Marvin thinks his grandad is the bravest person he's ever met; he even has a medal from the war to prove it. And, more than anything else, Marvin wants to be brave too.

But when Grandad must go on his final adventure alone, Marvin finds he has to be braver than he's ever been before. Until he discovers that Grandad has left behind a very special surprise just for him . . .

A touching and poignant Early Reader story, perfect for children coming to terms with grief for the first time.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781510102361
  • Publication date: 13 Jul 2017
  • Page count: 64
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Orion Children's Books

Scaredy Cat, Scaredy Cat

Phil Earle
Authors:
Phil Earle

From the author of DEMOLITION DAD, the CBBC Book of the Month June 2017, comes the fourth and final hilarious Storey Street by Phil Earle, illustrated by Waterstones Children's Book Prize-shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Liz Pichon and David Walliams.Kay Catt has a nickname - Scaredy Catt. And with good reason. You've never met a more timid, anxious girl in your life. And when you meet her dad, you'll start to understand why. But when a mysterious old man is spotted on Storey Street, it heralds the start of a great adventure for Kay. Because Wilf Wilkinson isn't your average, cardigan-wearing, sherbet lemon-sucking old codger. Oh no. Wilf wears a cloak, and a strange pointy hat, and his walking stick looks suspiciously like an over-sized wand.Wilf couldn't be a wizard ... could he?

Orion Children's Books

The War Next Door

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Orion Children's Books

Archie and George and the New Bikes

James Brown
Authors:
James Brown

A blue Early Reader about Archie and George, twin brothers who may look the same but are VERY different.Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Archie and George are identical twins. Archie is six minutes older than George. They look the same but are very different. Archie loves ball games and running and being outside. George loves drawing and reading and being inside.When Grandma and Grandad give the twins their very first bikes, Archie can't wait to have a go. George feels a bit scared but luckily Grandma is on hand to help!A blue Early Reader story about learning to ride your first bike - and how practice can often make perfect.

Orion Children's Books

Superhero Street

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Orion Children's Books

Elsie and the Magic Biscuit Tin

Phil Earle, Jamie Littler
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Jamie Littler

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reaading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Elsie's always known that there's something a little bit magical about her Grandma's biscuit tin, and when she discovers that it can grant wishes, there's only one thing she wants - chocolate! But Elsie's wish to turn everything she touches into chocolate (even Grandma!) soon causes chaos.Can she get the magic biscuit tin to grant her one last wish to help change everything back? The second Early Reader story from a talented and unique voice in children's fiction. Phil Earle is a CARNEGIE MEDAL shortisted author whose hard-hitting YA novels have been widely acclaimed. His first Early Reader, ALBERT AND THE GARDEN OF DOOM, and his first middle-grade title, DEMOLITION DAD, were released in 2015.

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Cannibal Curse

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Orchard Books

Petal Parade

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orion Children's Books

Demolition Dad

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie

CBBC Book of the Month, June 2017Perfect for fans of David Walliams, Roald Dahl and Liz Pichon, this is a hilarious and warm-hearted story about family, friends and wrestling by multi-award-shortlisted author Phil Earle, illustrated by award-winning artist, Sara Ogilvie.This is the story of Jake Biggs and his dad, George. George spends all week knocking down buildings ... and all weekend knocking down wrestlers! He's the Demolition Man, and Jake couldn't be prouder. But when Jake hears about a pro-wrestling competition in the USA, and persuades his beloved dad to apply, things don't quite turn out the way he expected ...Phil Earle's first novel for younger readers of 9-11, DEMOLITION DAD is DANNY THE CHAMPION OF THE WORLD in Spandex, a book bursting with humour and heart. Perfect for Father's Day this June!

Orion Children's Books

Albert and the Garden of Doom

Phil Earle, Jamie Littler
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Jamie Littler
Orion Children's Books

Anthony Ant Saves the Day

Lauren St John, Tamara Anegon
Contributors:
Lauren St John, Tamara Anegon
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Krazy Ketchup

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

The 23rd Horrid Henry storybook containing four brand new stories - including Horrid Henry's Ketchup, Horrid Henry's Chicken, The Revenge of the Bogey Babysitter and Horrid Henry Tells It Like It Is.Discover the one thing Horrid Henry is scared of, watch out for the return of Rabid Rebecca, find out what happens when Henry makes a film about his family and lots more in the more hilarious and horrid storybook yet. Horrid Henry is illustrated by Tony Ross, who also illustrates David Walliams' children's books, as well as his own picture books.

Orchard Books

Glitter Bird

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

The students at the Pixie Flying School are arguing all the time and have forgotten how to be friends... It must be the work of Queen Malice! Ellie, Summer and Jasmine have to find the magical Bird Keeper and reunite her with the friendship charm to make everyone friends again - but how will they manage it when even they can't get along?

Orion Children's Books

Shumba's Big Adventure

Lauren St John, Lorna Hussey
Contributors:
Lauren St John, Lorna Hussey
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Nightmare

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Monster Movie

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Four brand new stories in which Horrid Henry makes his own scary movie, The Undead Demon Monster Who Would Not Die, persuades Peter to hand over his stash of Grump Cards (as a brilliant scheme to get him out of the punishments his parents give him) and spends a weekend at Aunt Ruby's where he has to share a bedroom with his two arch-enemies, Stuck-Up Steve and Bossy Bill. Then when Henry's school decides to have a mini-Olympics, he sets up his own Holympics, with medals for crisp-eating, TV watching, and Burping to the Beat.

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry Rocks

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Four new stories:Horrid Henry's Invasion - Horrid Henry and Perfect Peter keep invading each other's rooms.Moody Margaret's Sleepover - Moody Margaret invites all the members of the Secret Club for a sleepover, with catastrophic results.Horrid Henry's Autobiography - Miss Battle-Axe's class all have to write their autobiographies, the best to be published in the local paper.Horrid Henry Rocks - Horrid Henry wants to go to the Killerboy Rats concert while his family want to go to the Daffy and her Dancing Daisies concert.

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry Wakes The Dead

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Orchard Books

No Way to Go

Bernard Ashley
Authors:
Bernard Ashley
Hodder Children's Books

Michael Rosen's Book of Nonsense

Michael Rosen, Clare Mackie
Contributors:
Michael Rosen, Clare Mackie
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry Robs the Bank

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross