Jess Butterworth - Running on the Roof of the World - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Running on the Roof of the World

By Jess Butterworth

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

A richly atmospheric story of survival and hope set in Tibet and India, filled with friendship, love and courage. This young girl's thrilling journey to save her parents is an ideal read for fans of Katherine Rundell, Lauren St John or Polly Ho-Yen.

Join 12-year-old Tash and her best friend Sam in a story of adventure, survival and hope, set in the vivid Himalayan landscape of Tibet and India. Filled with friendship, love and courage, this young girl's thrilling journey to save her parents is an ideal read for children aged 9-12.

There are two words that are banned in Tibet. Two words that can get you locked in prison without a second thought. I watch the soldiers tramping away and call the words after them. 'Dalai Lama.'

Tash has to follow many rules to survive in Tibet, a country occupied by Chinese soldiers. But when a man sets himself on fire in protest and soldiers seize Tash's parents, she and her best friend Sam must break the rules. They are determined to escape Tibet - and seek the help of the Dalai Lama himself in India.

And so, with a backpack of Tash's father's mysterious papers and two trusty yaks by their side, their extraordinary journey across the mountains begins.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781510102088
  • Publication date: 01 Jun 2017
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Daring kids, sidekick yaks, Himalayan setting - all the ingredients of a smashing adventure. — Abi Elphinstone
A wonderful story of courage and hope. — Amy Wilson, author of A GIRL CALLED OWL
A powerful, compelling story of hope, wisdom and compassion... — Steve Voake
a cracking adventure and survival novel set in the Himalayas which really makes you think about the plight of the Tibetan people. — Sarah Webb, Irish Independent
This beautifully designed book is a richly atmospheric story of friendship, courage and survival. — Anna McKerrow, BookTrust
...a thrilling fable about hope, and the importance of holding onto what matters, no matter what. With its derring-do charm, and vivid sense of place, this follows in the tradition of classic adventure stories, and comes thoroughly recommended for fans of Eva Ibbotson, Lauren St John and Katherine Rundell. — Joanne Owen, Love Reading 4 Kids
With a cover that sings of sunrise and adventure, and inside pages that hold intricate print designs and hidden yaks, this is a beautiful book to own. An eye-opening and somewhat different read. — Minerva Reads
...one of those stories that gives its young readers an honest understanding of some of the awful things that go on in the world, but balances that understanding with a narrative of survival and hope... — Jill Murphy, The Book Bag
This is a fantastic book which is relevant to today's crises: refugees, conflict and children growing up in war zones. Although there's danger, gruelling journeys and battles to survive, there is also hope, and hope is the essence of Tash's story. — Type Writered
This is an excellent story it maintains a good pace throughout and is filled with insights into both Tibetan and Indian culture. — The School Librarian
Running on the Roof of the World by Jess Butterworth is full of excitement and tension, and also gives you a glimpse of the culture and lifestyle of the people in the mountains. — The Hindu
...an absolute page-turner and Tash was an amazing character full of spirit and determination. — Evie - 11, NG Kids (Reader Review)
A story of adventure, survival and hope — Angels and Urchins
A captivatingly classic adventure. — Love Reading 4 Kids
A cracking adventure and survival novel set in the Himalayas which really makes you think about the plight of the Tibetan people. — Irish Independent (Weekend Review)
There's inevitably a political element to the story, pitched at just the right level, but this is also an exciting adventures with vivid descriptions of the landscape. A story relevant to the world that we live in today, told with compassion and understanding. — The Guardian
This is a wonderfully fast-paced read that's a celebration of courage and integrity in the face of danger, and the importance of standing up for what you believe in. — Scoop
Hodder Children's Books

Winter Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

Stories of Magic and Mischief

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

A selection of 25 magical and mischievous short stories by Britain's most beloved children's author - perfect for sharing at Halloween! Witches and pixies abound in this magical selection of twenty-five short stories, perfect for seasonal reading and sharing. With lots of humour and fantastic characters these classic tales are ideal for younger children being read to and for newly confident readers to read alone. Each story stands alone and is the perfect length for reading at bedtime or in the classroom.Enid Blyton remains one of Britain's favourite children's authors and her bumper short story collections are perfect for introducing her to the latest generation of readers.Read all of Enid Blyton's bestselling short story collections: Springtime StoriesSummer StoriesHoliday StoriesSummer Holiday StoriesStories of Wizards and WitchesChristmas TalesChristmas Treats***Enid Blyton ® and Enid Blyton's signature are Registered Trademarks of Hodder and Stoughton Limited. No trademark or copyrighted material may be reproduced without the express written permission of the trademark and copyright owner.

Orion Children's Books

When the Mountains Roared

Jess Butterworth
Authors:
Jess Butterworth
Orchard Books

Equestria Girls: Magic, Magic Everywhere

Perdita Finn
Authors:
Perdita Finn
Orchard Books

The New Age

Chris d'Lacey
Authors:
Chris d'Lacey

The third in the stunning new fantasy series from the New York Times bestselling author, Chris d'Lacey.On Erth, a dark dragon has risen. His return ripples throughout the universe, from the firebirds at the Great Librarium to the dragons on the home world K:imera.Will human boy Ren be able to control the dragon's power? Or will it destroy everything?The epic finale to the Erth Dragons trilogy will take you to new and beautiful worlds and make you see dragons as never before.

Orchard Books

The Island of Doom

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school where ordinary kids with extraordinary powers learn to be superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations.Jack and his friends are doing underwater training in a tropical ocean when they stumble across the secret lair of Dr Maranya - an evil scientist who has been splicing humans and animals to create a deadly combination! Can they save the animal hybrids, and stop Dr Maranya from unleashing her minions against Team Hero?** This Special Bumper Book contains a longer adventure for even more fun! **Have you read any other Adam Blade books? Try Team Hero: Battle for the Shadow Sword or Beast Quest: Ferno the Fire Dragon.

Wayland

Making with Living Things

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Wayland

Making with Sound

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Wayland

What is Right and Wrong? Who Decides? Where Do Values Come From? And Other Big Questions

Michael Rosen, Annemarie Young
Authors:
Michael Rosen, Annemarie Young
Orchard Books

Badly Drawn Beth

Jem Packer, Duncan McCoshan
Authors:
Jem Packer, Duncan McCoshan

Winner of the Laugh Out Loud book awards!Badly Drawn Beth is officially the funniest book for 6-8 year olds in 2016! Beth is a hilarious new heroine who just can't help getting in trouble ...So, I'm surrounded by crocodiles, holding a briefcase full of fish fingers, I'm wearing a swamp monster mask AND MISS PRIMULA IS ABOUT TO CALL MY PARENTS!Meet Beth - and all of her fantastically crazy family and friends - and be prepared to laugh your socks off!A hilarious new diary series from the creators of Fleabag Monkeyface.

Orchard Books

Fairy Charm

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Genie Wish

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Queen Malice has cast her most dangerous spell yet! The wicked queen has cursed the Magic Hourglass. When the sand runs out, all the magic will be gone from the Secret Kingdom forever! Jasmine, Ellie and Summer must find the four Enchanted Objects to break Queen Malice's spell. Can the girls get the Glitter Lamp and save Gina the genie?

Orchard Books

Pixie Spell

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Mermaid Magic

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Petal Parade

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Sparkle Statue

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Queen Malice has decided that Summer, Jasmine and Ellie are the cause of all her problems - so she's stolen their special talents!The only way to get their gifts back is to award four special talent prizes. But how can the girls give Jasper the Art Imp the Sparkle Statue without Ellie's artistic ability?

Orchard Books

Melody Medal

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Serenity Island is a beautiful, tropical place - until Queen Malice arrives! Ellie, Summer and Jasmine must help perform a special musical ceremony, but Jasmine's lost her talent for music! Can the girls award the Melody Medal before the island is ruined forever?

Orchard Books

Pet Show Prize

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Twinkle Trophy

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

My Magical Story Collection

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks