Zana Fraillon - The Ones That Disappeared - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Ones That Disappeared

By Zana Fraillon

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Beautiful, magical and moving, this is a SKELLIG for a new generation, from the author of THE BONE SPARROW, shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal 2017 and the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize 2016.

Beautiful, magical and moving, this is a SKELLIG for a new generation, from the author of THE BONE SPARROW, shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal 2017 and the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize 2016.

Some stories need to be told... A moving, beautifully-written and poignant novel about child trafficking and the search for freedom.

Kept by a ruthless gang, three children manage to escape from slavery. But freedom isn't just waiting on the outside.

Separated, scared and looking after a small child, Esra will do whatever she can to reunite with her friend Miran, who was captured by the police - the police who she mustn't trust.

Hiding in the shadows of the forest, Esra is found by a local boy, a boy with his own story. Together they will create a man out of mud. A man who will come to life and lead them through a dark labyrinth of tunnels until they finally have the courage the step above ground. Until they finally have the courage to speak their story. Until they finally have the courage to be free.

Biographical Notes

Zana Fraillon lives in Victoria, Australia with her husband and three sons. She worked as a primary school teacher before having children, and has had picture books and middle grade fiction published in Australia. Follow Zana on Twitter @ZanaFraillon

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781510101586
  • Publication date: 13 Jul 2017
  • Page count: 272
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Outstanding . . . This is an important, heartbreaking book with frequent, unexpected humour, that everyone, whether teenager or adult, should read. — The Guardian on The Bone Sparrow
A contender for the children's book of the year... It is a heartrending tale about how our stories make us, and also an angry polemic, vividly convincing in is detailed description of what it means for your home to be a tent in the dust behind a guarded fence. — The Sunday Times on The Bone Sparrow
This is a tragic, beautifully crafted and wonderful book whose chirpy, stoic hero shames us all. I urge you to read it — The Independent on The Bone Sparrow
A profoundly poignant novel — The Metro on The Bone Sparrow
The writing is beautiful and the message of survival and bravery a universal one — THE BOOKSELLER
Think of it as a powerful polemic, yes, but also think of it as a story of the redeeming power of friendship and the vital nature of storytelling — The Bookbag
Franklin Watts

At Home

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles

Orchard Books

Story Treasury

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Lair of the Fire Lizard

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orion Children's Books

The Language of Thorns

Leigh Bardugo, Sara Kipin
Contributors:
Leigh Bardugo, Sara Kipin
Orion Children's Books

Invictus

Ryan Graudin
Authors:
Ryan Graudin
Orion Children's Books

Scaredy Cat, Scaredy Cat

Phil Earle
Authors:
Phil Earle

From the author of DEMOLITION DAD, the CBBC Book of the Month June 2017, comes the fourth and final hilarious Storey Street by Phil Earle, illustrated by Waterstones Children's Book Prize-shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Liz Pichon and David Walliams.Kay Catt has a nickname - Scaredy Catt. And with good reason. You've never met a more timid, anxious girl in your life. And when you meet her dad, you'll start to understand why. But when a mysterious old man is spotted on Storey Street, it heralds the start of a great adventure for Kay. Because Wilf Wilkinson isn't your average, cardigan-wearing, sherbet lemon-sucking old codger. Oh no. Wilf wears a cloak, and a strange pointy hat, and his walking stick looks suspiciously like an over-sized wand.Wilf couldn't be a wizard ... could he?

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Fiction: Race to Danger

Join Ash and friends for another action-packed Pokémon adventure!Pokémon master-in-training Ash Ketchum is facing a brand-new challenge - a hot air balloon battle! Ash and his friends must race the other Pokémon trainers to catch a rare Dratini, before Team Rocket shoots them down! Can Ash get everyone back down safely - and still get his hands on first prize?

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Fiction: Show Time!

Join Ash and friends for another action-packed Pokémon adventure!A juggling Exeggutor, a singing Charmander and a dancing Farfetch'd can only mean one thing - it's time for the Pokémon Talent Show! Pokémon master-in-training Ash is determined to win. But when his enemies Team Rocket lure away his Pikachu, it's up to him to save all the Pokémon - and steal the show!

Orchard Books

Samira the Superhero Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Samira the Superhero Fairy makes sure superheroes everywhere have the spark they need to save the day, every day! But when Jack Frost and his goblins steal her magical objects, no one is feeling very super. Can Kirsty and Rachel help Samira be a hero again?

Orchard Books

Zulok the Winged Spirit

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!When supernatural events start to occur in Avantia it can only mean one thing - something is afoot in the terrifying Isle of Ghosts, and the Dark Wizard Malvel is to blame. Tom and Elenna must travel to the Isle and first face eagle Ghost Beast Zulok.There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Zulok the Winged Spirit; Skalix the Snapping Horror; Okira the Crusher and Rykar the Fire Hound

Orchard Books

Skalix the Snapping Horror

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Okira the Crusher

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!Dark Wizard Malvel has stolen the Amulet of Avantia and plans to attack the kingdom of Avantia with four new, deadly Ghost Beasts. If they don't retrieve the amulet, Tom and Elenna will be trapped on the Isle of Ghosts for ever! The heroes must now face an enormous ogre, Okira the Crusher...There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Zulok the Winged Spirit; Skalix the Snapping Horror; Okira the Crusher and Rykar the Fire Hound

Orchard Books

Rykar the Fire Hound

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!If Dark Wizard Malvel captures Ghost Beast Rykar's key, he will be able to return to wreak havoc in Avantia, leaving Tom and Elenna trapped on the Isle of Ghosts. Can Tom hope to defeat both the Beast and his oldest enemy once and for all? There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Zulok the Winged Spirit; Skalix the Snapping Horror; Okira the Crusher and Rykar the Fire Hound

Orchard Books

Dinobot Disaster

John Sazaklis
Authors:
John Sazaklis
Orion Children's Books

Chase

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

Get ready to run . . . an edge-of-your-seat thriller with bite from international bestselling author Linwood Barclay, in his first novel for 9-12 year olds.Chipper is a very special dog. As part of a top-secret, multi-million dollar experiment to create the ultimate canine spy technology, Chipper's whole life has been spent within the walls of a secret organization known only as The Institute. Chipper is supposed to be more machine than mutt, but something's wrong and The Institute knows it. He's about to be terminated.Across the state, twelve-year-old orphan Jeff Conway is working all hours at his aunt Flo's lakeside cabin business. He misses his parents, his old life, and the dog he had to leave behind.When Chipper escapes and Jeff finds himself part of the chase, The Institute's most ruthless agent is hot on their tail, and he wants Chipper dead . . . at any cost.Danger, secrets and thrilling suspense collide in Linwood Barclay's action-packed first novel for children.

Hodder Children's Books

How to Twist a Dragon's Tale

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

Read the HILARIOUS books that inspired the HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON films! Hiccup Horrendous Haddock the Third is a smallish Viking with a longish name. Hiccup's father is chief of the Hairy Hooligan tribe which means Hiccup is the Hope and the Heir to the Hairy Hooligan throne - but most of the time Hiccup feels like a very ordinary boy, finding it hard to be a Hero. Over on Lava-Lout Island, the volcano is ready to blow. Now Hiccup faces a terrifying Quest to Stop the Volcano Exploding, alongside his best friend Fishlegs and Humungously Hotshot the ex-Hero.But not only is Lava-Lout Island full of EXTERMINATOR DRAGONS, Hiccup's ARCH ENEMY is also lurking - and he's seeking REVENGE! READ ALL 12 BOOKS IN THE SERIES!You don't have to read the books in order, but if you want to, this is the right order:1. How to Train Your Dragon2. How to Be a Pirate3. How to Speak Dragonese4. How to Cheat a Dragon's Curse 5. How to Twist a Dragon's Tale6. A Hero's Guide to Deadly Dragons7. How to Ride a Dragon's Storm8. How to Break a Dragon's Heart9. How to Steal a Dragon's Sword10. How to Seize a Dragon's Jewel11. How to Betray a Dragon's Hero12. How to Fight a Dragon's FuryHow to Train Your Dragon is now a major DreamWorks franchise starring Gerard Butler, Cate Blanchett and Jonah Hill and the TV series, Riders of Berk, can be seen on CBeebies and Cartoon Network.

Orchard Books

Lola Fluffywhiskers Pops Up

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orion Children's Books

The Bone Sparrow

Zana Fraillon
Authors:
Zana Fraillon

Winner of the CILIP Amnesty Honour 2017.Shortlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction prize 2016.Perfect for fans of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas. This is a beautiful, vivid and deeply moving story about a refugee boy who has spent his entire life living in a detention centre. This novel reminds us all of the importance of freedom, hope, and the power of a story to speak for anyone who's ever struggled to find a safe home.'...a special book' - Morris Gleitzman, author of the acclaimed ONCE seriesBorn in a refugee camp, all Subhi knows of the world is that he's at least 19 fence diamonds high, the nice Jackets never stay long, and at night he dreams that the sea finds its way to his tent, bringing with it unusual treasures. And one day it brings him Jimmie.Carrying a notebook that she's unable to read and wearing a sparrow made out of bone around her neck - both talismans of her family's past and the mother she's lost - Jimmie strikes up an unlikely friendship with Subhi beyond the fence. As he reads aloud the tale of how Jimmie's family came to be, both children discover the importance of their own stories in writing their futures.(P) Orion Children's Group 2016

Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.