Zana Fraillon - The Ones That Disappeared - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Ones That Disappeared

By Zana Fraillon

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Beautiful, magical and moving, this is a SKELLIG for a new generation, from the author of THE BONE SPARROW, shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal 2017 and the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize 2016.

Beautiful, magical and moving, this is a SKELLIG for a new generation, from the author of THE BONE SPARROW, shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal 2017 and the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize 2016.

Some stories need to be told... A moving, beautifully-written and poignant novel about child trafficking and the search for freedom.

Kept by a ruthless gang, three children manage to escape from slavery. But freedom isn't just waiting on the outside.

Separated, scared and looking after a small child, Esra will do whatever she can to reunite with her friend Miran, who was captured by the police - the police who she mustn't trust.

Hiding in the shadows of the forest, Esra is found by a local boy, a boy with his own story. Together they will create a man out of mud. A man who will come to life and lead them through a dark labyrinth of tunnels until they finally have the courage the step above ground. Until they finally have the courage to speak their story. Until they finally have the courage to be free.

Biographical Notes

Zana Fraillon lives in Victoria, Australia with her husband and three sons. She worked as a primary school teacher before having children, and has had picture books and middle grade fiction published in Australia. Follow Zana on Twitter @ZanaFraillon

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781510101586
  • Publication date: 13 Jul 2017
  • Page count: 272
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Outstanding . . . This is an important, heartbreaking book with frequent, unexpected humour, that everyone, whether teenager or adult, should read. — The Guardian on The Bone Sparrow
A contender for the children's book of the year... It is a heartrending tale about how our stories make us, and also an angry polemic, vividly convincing in is detailed description of what it means for your home to be a tent in the dust behind a guarded fence. — The Sunday Times on The Bone Sparrow
This is a tragic, beautifully crafted and wonderful book whose chirpy, stoic hero shames us all. I urge you to read it — The Independent on The Bone Sparrow
A profoundly poignant novel — The Metro on The Bone Sparrow
The writing is beautiful and the message of survival and bravery a universal one — THE BOOKSELLER
Think of it as a powerful polemic, yes, but also think of it as a story of the redeeming power of friendship and the vital nature of storytelling — The Bookbag
Hodder Children's Books

Whoever You Are

Diana Hendry
Authors:
Diana Hendry
Quercus Children's Books

Miss Match 2

Crystal Cestari
Authors:
Crystal Cestari

The follow-up to the bestselling Miss Match - fans of Geek Girl and Girl Online will love this magically messed-up romance.Amber Sand has a gift. Five seconds of eye contact, and she can see your soul mate.

Orchard Books

Maria the Mother's Day Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Verak the Storm King

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!Don't miss this new bumper special edition of the bestselling series, in which our heroes return to the realm of Gwildor to battle an old enemy and a terrifying new sea Beast - Verak the Storm King!Have you read any other Beast Quest books? Grymon the Biting Horror is a great place to find more adventures!

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Fiction: Power Up Psyduck

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Fiction: The Winner's Cup

Join Ash and friends for another action-packed Pokémon adventure!It's time! With all four star gems under his belt, Pokémon master-in-training Ash Ketchum is now ready for the biggest battle of his life - the Winner's Cup. Can Ash and Pikachu overcome the mighty Dragonite to win the ultimate Pokémon challenge?

Orion Children's Books

Return to Rome

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

Fourth in a new historical adventure series from million copy selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.From the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2.

Orchard Books

Fight for the Hidden City

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations. Welcome to Hero Academy! Join Jack and your other new classmates at this secret school, where the lessons are more exciting than Maths and PE. When a portal from the evil underground realm of Noxx is discovered beneath the school, Team Hero needs your powers. The next invasion is upon us ...There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Book 1: Fight for the Hidden City, Book 2: Scorpion Strike, Book 3: Falcon of Fury, Book 4: Rise of the Shadow SnakesAnd don't forget Adam Blade's other series: Beast Quest and Sea Quest

Orchard Books

Scorpion Strike

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Falcon of Fury

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Rise of the Shadow Snakes

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations. Welcome to Hero Academy! Join Jack and your other new classmates at this secret school, where the lessons are more exciting than Maths and PE. When a portal from the evil underground realm of Noxx is discovered beneath the school, Team Hero needs your powers. The next invasion is upon us ...There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Book 1: Fight for the Hidden City, Book 2: Scorpion Strike, Book 3: Falcon of Fury, Book 4: Rise of the Shadow SnakesAnd don't forget Adam Blade's other series: Beast Quest and Sea Quest

Hodder Children's Books

Movie Night

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay

If you love rom-coms you'll love this sassy, funny romance that will make you fall head over heels with the help of twelve classic films and a misbehaving cat named Nigel. Perfect for fans of Zoella, Geek Girl and Holly Bourne.One: I am hopelessly in love with Hanna Bergdahl. Two: for the first time since our recent reunion Hanna Bergdahl appears to be single. And three: I am stuck in that inescapable netherworld of demons and acne - the Friend Zone.Sol and Hanna were best friends at primary school and after reuniting at college, they spend approximately seventy per cent of daylight hours together. When disaster strikes at a New Year's Eve party and Hannah sees new boyfriend Danny Dukas kissing Lizzie Banks, a New Year's Resolution is formed. Sol and Hanna will watch one film a month for twelve months until the next New Year. After all, films hold answers to life's hardest questions. Maybe they'll figure out why they are both members of the dumpee club. Only Sol Adams has a new year's resolution of his own: to kiss Hanna Bergdahl before the year is over. Will Sol ever defeat the Friend Zone?

Orion Children's Books

The Trials of Morrigan Crow

Jessica Townsend
Authors:
Jessica Townsend
Orion Children's Books

The Language of Thorns

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo

Inspired by myth, fairy tale, and folklore, no. 1 New York Times-bestselling author Leigh Bardugo has crafted a deliciously atmospheric collection of short stories filled with betrayals, revenge, sacrifice, and love.Enter the Grishaverse . . .Love speaks in flowers. Truth requires thorns.Travel to a world of dark bargains struck by moonlight, of haunted towns and hungry woods, of talking beasts and gingerbread golems, where a young mermaid's voice can summon deadly storms and where a river might do a lovestruck boy's bidding but only for a terrible price.Inspired by myth, fairy tale, and folklore, no. 1 New York Times-bestselling author Leigh Bardugo has crafted a deliciously atmospheric collection of short stories filled with betrayals, revenge, sacrifice, and love.Perfect for new readers and dedicated fans, these tales will transport you to lands both familiar and strange - to a fully realized world of dangerous magic that millions have visited through the novels of the Grishaverse.This collection of six stories includes three brand-new tales, all of them lavishly illustrated with art that changes with each turn of the page, culminating in six stunning full-spread illustrations as rich in detail as the stories themselves.

Hodder Children's Books

The Rainmaker Danced

John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura
Contributors:
John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Ascension

Olivia Chase
Authors:
Olivia Chase

For fans of Cassandra Clare and Buffy the Vampire Slayer, the second book in this kick-ass new series will keep you on the edge of your seat ...Diana, Minerva and Vesta are Demon Hunters, gifted with amazing powers. They can see truth with the touch of the hand, break down solid walls and shoot lightning from their fingertips ... basically all the things you could want in the battle against supernatural evil. When an eerie fog cloaks Edinburgh and the girls find a boy, bloodied and confused, they suspect a demon is up to no good. Before they can even grab their weapons, they're plunged into a fight agianst an ancient foe. Will the united strength of their Trinity be enough to keep them alive?With new faces, an old flame and one seriously blood-thirsty demon, things are about to get interesting ...

Orchard Books

Deadly Trap

John Sazaklis
Authors:
John Sazaklis

An original adventured inspired by the hit TV series!When a maximum-security prison ship crashes on earth, Cyberton's most-wanted criminals escape. Now all that stands between Earth and the deadly Decepticons is a crack team of Autobot heroes - the Robots in Disguise!Windblade has joined the Autobot heroes searching for escaped Decepticon criminals. First mission: to climb Mount Everest on the trail of a yeti-like Decepticon, Abominus!But Abominus has booby-trapped the whole mountain, and a TV crew is in danger! Can the Autobots rescue the humans - and who will rescue them?

Quercus Children's Books

Miss Match

Crystal Cestari
Authors:
Crystal Cestari
Hodder Children's Books

Songs About Us

Chris Russell
Authors:
Chris Russell
Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Fiction: Scyther Vs Charizard