Tim Harris - Africa - Hachette Children's Group

Africa

By Tim Harris

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

Uncover Earth's iconic landmarks and habitats, and the plants and animals that live there

This stunning six-book series explores some of Earth's iconic landmarks and habitats, and the plants and animals that live there.

Africa explores the incredibly diverse range of habitats and wildlife on this continent. Lions, elephants and hippos feature, alongside some less well-known mammals, amphibians, birds and reptiles. From the Atlas Mountains, through the Sahara Desert, across the wide savanna, up Mount Kilimanjaro, through the rainforests of Madagascar and over the immense Victoria Falls - this book will make you want to know even more about the spectacular array of life on Earth.

They are illustrated with beautiful photographs that will inspire readers and leave them in awe at the incredible variety of life on our planet. Filled with incredible facts and gems of information, each book reveals the dramatic ways in which each of our seven continents are shaped and how they in turn affect the living creatures and plants that call each continent home.

For readers aged 8 and upwards, these books are the perfect introduction to the geography and wildlife of Africa and for key stage 2 students, studying geography, plant life and the animal kingdom.

Biographical Notes

Tim Harris has been fascinated by all aspects of the natural world since a young age. After studying Norwegian glaciers at university, his quest for wildlife has seen him explore the giant dunes of the Namib Desert, climb the slopes of Popocatapetl in Mexico, camp in the Sumatran rainforest, and search the frozen Sea of Okhotsk for sea-eagles. Tim has written books about nature and the environment for both children and adults, including the award-winning Migration Hotspots: the World's Best Bird Migration Sites. Apart from birds, his special interests are bats, moths, glaciers, and the weather.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445166858
  • Publication date: 13 Jun 2019
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Wayland

A World of Supercars

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Franklin Watts

Take Charge of Anger

Gill Hasson, Sarah Jennings
Contributors:
Gill Hasson, Sarah Jennings

When things don't go right. When it's not fair. When someone doesn't do what they promised they would. Losing or breaking something, being scared or hurt. Not understanding or being able to make something work. Any of these things can trigger anger in children. In response, they may scream, shout, or lash out. This book helps children learn how to deal with their anger. It explains how and why we get angry, and why we think, feel and do the things we do when we're angry. It explains how children can use up their angry energy safely, in ways that don't hurt anyone or make things worse.Take Charge of Anger understands what's going on for an angry child. It suggests ways in which a child can learn to manage their anger and get help if they need it. With this book, children can learn solutions that really work so that they feel less overwhelmed and upset and more in control.

Hodder Children's Books

The Hottentops at No. 87

Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Chris Jevons

Nelly isn't scared of monsters. In fact, she babysits for them. From the bestselling author of the OI FROG! and DAISY books comes this hilarious, action-packed series for fans of THE BOLDS and BARRY LOSER.'If monsters are real, how come I've never seen one?''Because they never go out.''Why don't monsters ever go out?''Because they can never get a babysitter.'Ever swum with a Water Greep, or played hotscotch with a Hottentop? Every time Nelly rings on a new monster family's doorbell she's up for a new challenge. Come on her monster-sitting adventures in this laugh-out-loud funny third book in the NELLY THE MONSTER SITTER series. Kes Gray is one of the Independent's top ten children's authors, and winner of the Red House Children's Book Award.This is a brand-new story in the Nelly the Monster Sitter series, never before published, and illustrated by the hugely talented Chris Jevons.

Orchard Books

Adventure Duck vs the Armadillo Army

Steve Cole, Aleksei Bitskoff
Contributors:
Steve Cole, Aleksei Bitskoff
Franklin Watts

Europe

Tim Harris
Authors:
Tim Harris
Franklin Watts

North America

Tim Harris
Authors:
Tim Harris
Wren & Rook

A Planet Full of Plastic

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton

Everything is made of stuff. Some things are made of paper, like this book. And some things are made of PLASTIC. If you look around you, plastic is everywhere. Even in places where it's not meant to be. If it drops to the ground, it doesn't rot away - it sticks around for ever.Our world is drowning in plastic, and it's a big problem. Award-winning author-illustrator Neal Layton is here to explain where plastic comes from, why it doesn't biodegrade, and why that's dangerous for animals and humans alike. But he's also FULL of ideas for how you can help! From giving up straws in juice cartons to recycling all we can and taking part in a beach clean, A Planet Full of Plastic will get young readers excited about how they can make a difference to keep Planet Earth happy.This brilliant non-fiction picture book, illustrated in Neal's trademark collage style, is perfect for readers aged 5-7 who love nature and want to help the environment.

Hodder Children's Books

Malory Towers: New Class at Malory Towers

Enid Blyton, Rebecca Westcott, Narinder Dhami, Patrice Lawrence, Lucy Mangan
Authors:
Enid Blyton, Rebecca Westcott, Narinder Dhami, Patrice Lawrence, Lucy Mangan

It's time to welcome new girls to Malory Towers, the famous boarding school by the sea, in four brand-new stories by outstanding authors, set in Enid Blyton's much-loved school.YA and Waterstones Book Prize-winner Patrice Lawrence introduces us to proud Marietta with her magnificent head of braided hair. A dormitory argument reveals something unusual about Marietta, and something equally unexpected about Alicia.In Guardian and Stylist columnist Lucy Mangan's story, student librarian Evelyn is wary of her lively, lacrosse-playing classmates. When one of them becomes a regular visitor to the hushed domain of the library, can Evelyn really trust her?Sunita Sharma joins Malory Towers surrounded by a sense of mystery, in Narinder Dhami's fabulous story. But is Sunita really as glamorous as Gwendoline imagines?In Rebecca Westcott's heartwarming story, Darrell and friends fear the worst when spoilt Gwendoline's cousin joins the school. But Maggie is very different from her stuck-up relative . . .

Franklin Watts

Australasia and Antarctica

Tim Harris
Authors:
Tim Harris
Franklin Watts

Space Rap

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Franklin Watts

Movie Star Set-up

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Hodder Children's Books

The Cherry Tree Farm Story Collection

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Enid Blyton's timeless collection of farm stories, perfect for holidays or rainy days, and an ideal gift for anyone who loved the stories during their own childhood to pass on to the next generation of readers.Benjy, Penny, Rory and Sheila are spending the holidays with their aunt and uncle at Cherry Tree Farm. They play with the animals and learn to feed them, roam the countryside and hunt for the mysterious Tammylan, who lives deep in the woods. Everywhere is teeming with adventure and the children are bound to get into mischief!This collections brings together some of Enid Blyton's earliest and most imaginative stories - The Children of Cherry Tree Farm (1940) and two further stories about the same children, The Children of Willow Farm (1942) and More Adventures at Willow Farm (1943).(P) 2019 Hodder Children's Books

Wren & Rook

This Book is Not Rubbish

Isabel Thomas, Alex Paterson
Contributors:
Isabel Thomas, Alex Paterson

Discover how YOU can ditch plastic, reduce rubbish and become an eco-warrior, not an eco-worrier, with 50 practical tips to really make a difference! Our planet is in peril and it needs your help! But the good news is that there are loads of easy ways that you can make a difference. From throwing a planet party and ditching straws, to banning glitter and becoming an art-activist, helping to save the planet is not as difficult as you think. Covering issues like plastics, pollution, global warming and endangered animals, this book is full of top tips for kids and families. Discover how to ditch the plastic, reduce your rubbish and start making everyday steps that will make all the difference. It's time to take control of your future and help clear the world of all this rubbish!

Orion Children's Books

Embassy of the Dead

Will Mabbitt
Authors:
Will Mabbitt
Orchard Books

Monica the Marshmallow Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Wayland

You are Stardust

Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim
Contributors:
Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim

If people were planets, we'd be a lot like Earth ...People are nature. From the water we drink to the trees we climb, we are connected to the natural world in big and surprising ways. With simple, poetic text, and exquisite artwork, You Are Stardust introduces kids to these connections - sparking their imaginations and starting conversations. Combining the ideas of environmental author and educator Elin Kelsey with inventive, three-dimensional dioramas by artist Soyeon Kim, this remarkable picture book reveals ties that are often sensed, yet seldom explained. Children will learn that the salt in their body is the same as the salt in the ocean, that they learned to speak in the same way that baby birds do - by copying their parents, and that elephants, bats and whales make friends, just like they do. In a world dominated by technology, never have these connections between people and nature been more worth exploring.

Hodder Children's Books

The Famous Five Collection 5

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

An Author's Odyssey

Chris Colfer
Authors:
Chris Colfer

The 5th book in the No.1 New York Times bestselling series by Chris ColferIn the highly anticipated continuation of the Land of Stories series, Conner learns that the only place to fight the Masked Man's literary army is inside his own short stories! When the twins and their friends enter worlds crafted from Conner's imagination, finding allies no one else could have ever dreamed of, the race begins to put an end to the Masked Man's reign of terror. Can the twins finally restore peace in the fairy tale world?

Orchard Books

Tiana the Toy Fairy: The Land of Sweets

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Franklin Watts

Tropical Rainforests

Tim Harris
Authors:
Tim Harris

Rainforests are one of the most amazing environments on Earth and many plants, people and animals have made rainforests their home and are adapted to living there. They have to be tough to survive in the dense jungle, whether they live on the forest floor or high up in the canopy, what they eat and how they are adapted to survive in this hot and humid place, and of course avoiding the variety of predators that live there. Read on to find out how they do it! Books aimed at KS2 readers wanting to find out a bit more about world environments. Amazing Biomes explores six main habitats.