Richard Platt - Egyptians - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Egyptians

By Richard Platt
Illustrated by David Lawrence

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Fun informative guides on how people in the past solved technological problems.

Written by award-winning author Richard Platt, How They Made Things Work: Egyptians examines aspects of technology in ancient Egypt, including irrigation, cosmetics, building the pyramids, ship-bullding and astronomy.

Suitable for Key Stages 2-3, How They Made Things Work looks at how people in history advanced their societies by pushing the boundaries of technology.

Biographical Notes

Richard Platt is one of the best-known children\'s non-fiction authors working in the UK today. Beginning his publishing career at Dorling Kindersley, he has written dozens of books for DK, Walker Books, Kingfisher and Franklin Watts.

He authored the immensely successful Stephen Biesty\'s Cross-Sections series for DK in the 1990s, following this up with Castle Diary and Pirate Diary for Walker Books. He has won numerous awards for his work.

Richard lives in Kent.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445164465
  • Publication date: 26 Apr 2018
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
A mix of humour and easily accessible language... very appealing with step by step illustrations and lifelike characters. — SATH History Teaching Review
Franklin Watts

King Midas

Damian Harvey, Sonya Abby Soekarno
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, Sonya Abby Soekarno

In this retelling of the Greek myth, King Midas learns what true value means when his greed robs him of everything that he holds most dear.This first colour chapter book is a perfectly levelled, accessible text for Key stage 2 readers aged 9-10. Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and activities to provoke deeper response and encourage writing. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Hidden Talent

Cath Jones, Anne Defreville
Contributors:
Cath Jones, Anne Defreville
Franklin Watts

The Blitz Baby

Damian Harvey, Nicolas Hitori De
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, Nicolas Hitori De

During a bombing of Plymouth in World War 2, a German plane is shot down near Jenny and Thomas's house. They long to investigate, but they hear something and decide to investigate first. They are soon in grave danger, needing help from the last source they would expect.This first colour chapter book is a perfectly levelled, accessible text for Key stage 2 readers aged 9-10. Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and activities to provoke deeper response and encourage writing. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Hasan's Idea

Jill Atkins, José Rubert
Contributors:
Jill Atkins, José Rubert
Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

No.1 Bestselling Series from the Blue Peter Award winning author of How To Train Your Dragon. Enter a land of wizards, warriors, mythical creatures and powerful magic in an exciting new fantasy adventure."Do not be afraid, dear trees," implores Crusher the Giant as he strides through the forest ... while up above, the Witches sharpen their talons in readiness. The third electrifying book in The Wizards of Once series fizzes with magic and introduces us to a host of glorious new characters - bears and piskies and magical pins and needles to name but a few. Xar and Wish are heroes with a huge task ahead. Confronting the Nuckalavee is not for the faint hearted but with Magic and Iron together, surely they will prevail. Stunningly written, magnificent in scope, hilarious and thrilling, Knock Three Times immerses you in a world you won't ever wish to leave.

Hodder Children's Books

The Dark Lady

Akala
Authors:
Akala
Franklin Watts

Sandy Cove Rescue

Sue Graves, Noémie Gionet Landry
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Noémie Gionet Landry
Hodder Children's Books

Iguana Boy Unmasks The Invisible Hero

James Bishop, Rikin Parekh
Contributors:
James Bishop, Rikin Parekh

Franklin Watts

Magic Marcus

Elizabeth Dale
Authors:
Elizabeth Dale
Hodder Children's Books

BOOT - small robot, BIG adventure

Shane Hegarty
Authors:
Shane Hegarty

For fans of WALL-E and Toy Story, comes a heart-warming, humorous adventure about a young robot trying to find its way home. Beautifully illustrated throughout, Boot is a special book you will want to treasure and share.When toy robot, Boot, wakes up at a scrapyard, it has no idea how it got there and why it isn't with its owner, Beth. It only has two and a half glitchy memories, but it knows it was loved, which means something important to humans. Boot soon realises its emotions make it different to other robots, who just function and don't think. Boot is scared but tries to be brave, which is hard when its screen keeps showing a wobbly, worried face. Luckily Boot meets Noke and Red - other 'advanced' robots who have learned to survive in secret.With its new friends by its side, Boot is determined to find Beth and the gang set off on a dangerous adventure. Everything Boot thought it knew about the world is changing and things aren't as simple as it remembers . . .Boot is a story that will take you by surprise and make you think about the world around you.

Franklin Watts

Coyote the Fire Thief

Mick Gowar, James Rey Sanchez
Contributors:
Mick Gowar, James Rey Sanchez
Franklin Watts

Dragon Dance

Sue Graves, Fátima Anaya
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Fátima Anaya
Franklin Watts

A New Home in Space

Damian Harvey, José Rubert
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, José Rubert
Franklin Watts

Keep Off the Grass

Katie Dale, Liam Darcy
Contributors:
Katie Dale, Liam Darcy
Franklin Watts

Mary and the Great Fire of London

Sue Graves, Alex Paterson
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Alex Paterson

One dry, hot night in 1666, Mary was on her way home from the bakery where she worked in Pudding Lane, London. Later that night, a terrible fire broke out in that same bakery... one that would change London forever!Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Save the library!

Katie Dale
Authors:
Katie Dale

Franklin Watts

MORE!

Enid Richemont, Shahab Shamshirsaz
Contributors:
Enid Richemont, Shahab Shamshirsaz

When Sanjay is given a magic bowl that produces food by a kind goddess, he and his family need never be hungry again. Then the greedy Maharajah takes the bowl from him. But the Maharajah cannot control the magic and the food keeps coming... This traditional tale clearly echoes with 'The Magic Porridge Pot'.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Thin Ice

Sue Graves, Roger Simó
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Roger Simó
Wayland

I'm a JavaScript Games Maker: Advanced Coding

Max Wainewright
Authors:
Max Wainewright
Franklin Watts

Wonders of the World

Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds
Authors:
Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds

Ever thought about the Wonders of the World? What they are and where to find them? These are the questions that will be explored in this exciting book. The Great Wall of China, the Giant's Causeway and the Galapagos Islands are just some of the incredible places you will learn about in this book. There are eight titles in the series Visual Explorers. High-impact books with incredible information about the world around us. Perfect for KS2 and children aged 7+ with an interest in natural phenomenon and natural history.