Claudia Martin - Immigration - Hachette Children's Group

Immigration

By Claudia Martin

  • Hardback
  • £13.99

Comprehensive explorations of major issues affecting the global community

People have many different reasons for leaving their home country, but they are nearly always looking for a better or safer life. This book considers the pull factors that attract people to another country and the push factors that drive them from their home country. It looks at movements of people in the past, the impact of current immigration and the arguments that people put forward in favour or against welcoming immigrants to a country. It asks readers to think about what they can do to learn more about this global issue and the people affected by it.

Biographical Notes

Izzi Howell is the author and editor of over fifty children's books. She lives in East Sussex and enjoys learning languages, cooking and travelling around Europe.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445163758
  • Publication date: 08 Mar 2018
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Orchard Books

Equestria Girls 9

Perdita Finn
Authors:
Perdita Finn
Hodder Children's Books

I Am Fugitive

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir
Orchard Books

Rarity's Friendship Lesson

This full-colour Early Reader is perfect for young pony fans just starting their own reading adventure.Rainbow Dash is nervous about taking part in a flying competition, but Rarity, Pinkie Pie and Applejack can't go and cheer her on because the contest is high up in the sky and they can't fly! When Twilight gives Rarity some beautiful magic wings, Rarity gets carried away and forgets that she's suposed to be supporting Rainbow Dash. Can Rainbow Dash conquer her fear - and will Rarity learn a friendship lesson?With all your favourite My Little Pony friends and simple language endorsed by a literacy consultant, learning to read has never been more fun!Collect all the My Little Pony Early Readers:Twilight Sparkle's Princess SpellRainbow Dash's Big Race!Pinkie Pie's Perfect PartyApplejack's Sister SurpriseFluttershy's Secret Song

Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins

One boy stranded at sea. One girl back on land. One ocean between them. The only thing willing him to survive is the thought of her. A romance with bite, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon. Sometimes you have to lose yourself, to find each other.Kai has always been best friends with Jen; ever since he and his mum moved to Cornwall when he was small. But now his feelings are deepening. It's ridiculous to imagine Jen would feel the same, especially since she has been hanging out with surf-pro Macca, the guy everyone fancies. Frustrated by his feelings, Kai makes a snap decision that will put his life in great danger. Stranded at sea, time is running out. With only his thoughts to occupy him, he must face some buried truths about his past. And confront his future with the girl back on shore, if he can reach it ... if the ocean doesn't take him first.

Orchard Books

Mermaid Mystery - Bumper Special Book!

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical new series where best friends become Secret Princesses!Charlotte and Mia are delighted to meet the mermaids who live in the lagoon in the grounds of Wishing Star Palace. But in the middle of all the fun, the lagoon suddenly turns a murky, toxic green. Nasty Princess Poison is up to her old tricks again! Charlotte and Mia have to grant four more wishes to break the evil curse.Freya wishes to find the buried treasure on her family's treature hunt. Can Charlotte and Mia grant Freya's wish and solve the mermaid mystery?This book is a special longer length for even more magical fun.

Franklin Watts

Terrorism

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin

What is terrorism? How do terrorists differ from other criminals? What makes some individuals and groups decide to use violence to create terror as a means of achieving their aims? This book looks at the history of terrorism and analyses the motivations for its use. It looks at what is being done to tackle terrorism and asks readers to think about what they can do to help people in countries affected by terrorism, for example by fundraising for organisations supporting victims of terrorist attacks.

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

From the bestselling author of How to Train Your Dragon comes an exciting high-adventure series - set in an ancient, magical time, full of Wizards, Warriors, Giants and Sprites. This is the story of a young boy Wizard and a young girl Warrior who have been taught since birth to hate each other like poison; and the thrilling tale of what happens when their two worlds collide.Perfect for boys and girls who love fantasy adventure...Once there was Magic, and the Magic lived in the dark forests. Until the Warriors came...Xar is a Wizard boy who has no Magic, and will do anything to get it. Wish is a Warrior girl, but she owns a banned Magical Object, and she will do anything to conceal it. In this whirlwind adventure, Xar and Wish must forget their differences if they're going to make it to the dungeons at Warrior Fort. Where something that has been sleeping for hundreds of years is stirring...

Franklin Watts

Abdul's Lazy Sons

Franklin Watts
Authors:
Franklin Watts
Franklin Watts

One of Our Tigers is Missing!

Franklin Watts
Authors:
Franklin Watts

Orchard Books

Equestria Girls: Magic, Magic Everywhere

Perdita Finn
Authors:
Perdita Finn
Wayland

Making with Living Things

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Each title in this series contains ten 'makes', prompted by featured profiles of great scientists, artists and engineers. Children will learn about and create the experiments and builds that have led to world-changing discoveries, amazing machines and inspiring artworks. Perfect for KS2 science and technology classes aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Making with Sound

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Each title in this series contains ten 'makes', prompted by featured profiles of great scientists, artists and engineers. Children will learn about and create the experiments and builds that have led to world-changing discoveries, amazing machines and inspiring artworks. Perfect for KS2 science and technology classes aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

My New House

Tom Easton
Authors:
Tom Easton

Rabia is sad and scared about moving house. She's worried about what it will be like and how she will cope. But her mum helps her by arranging a visit there before they move and by packing a bag of special things that she can keep with her rather than pack into boxes.The story shows what happens during a move, about the first night there and the excitement that comes when exploring a new home.This first experiences series uncovers the worries and fears associated with big life changes that young children might experience and provides reassurance by explaining how they might feel and shows ways that children can learn to cope with these feelings. The sensitively written story provides guidance not only for children, but also for adults who want to help their child through these unsettling times in their lives. Children can read the books on their own or can discuss the books with an adult. Notes for teachers and parents at the back of the books provide related advice and information to help them guide and support children.

Franklin Watts

New School

Tom Easton
Authors:
Tom Easton

Tyrone is having to move schools because his dad has a new job. He is sad and scared about his first day there. Will he make new friends? Will he find his way around? Will he like the teachers?This story shows what happens on a first day at school and shows ways that children can help themselves to ease the transition.This first experiences series uncovers the worries and fears associated with big life changes that young children might experience and provides reassurance by explaining how they might feel and shows ways that children can learn to cope with these feelings. The sensitively written story provides guidance not only for children, but also for adults who want to help their child through these unsettling times in their lives.

Orchard Books

Deception

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Some lies can't be forgiven ...Don't miss this startling second book in a breathtaking new trilogy from Teri Terry, queen of the teen thriller and author of the bestselling SLATED trilogy.An epidemic is sweeping the country.You are among the infected. There is no cure, and you cannot be permitted to infect others. You are now under quarantine. The 5% of the infected who survive are dangerous and will be taken into the custody of the army.As the epidemic spreads, survivors are being hunted like witches, for the authorities fear their strange new powers. Kai is desperate to trace Shay, who tricked him and disappeared. Meanwhile, Shay is searching for the truth behind the origins of the epidemic ... but danger finds them wherever they go. Can they outrun the fire? From the author of the international sensation Slated comes the second book in a powerful new story of survival and transformation; love and power.

Orchard Books

Sleepover School

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Pet Rescue

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical new series where best friends become Secret Princesses! Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they become trainee Secret Princesses they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like!Once in a blue moon, a tiara shaped constellation forms high in the sky above Wishing Star Palace. The four girls that make a wish on these special stars get their wishes granted by the Secret Princesses ... but Princess Poison is determined that this year the wishes won't come true ...Have you read all four books in series four: The Moonstone Collection?

Orchard Books

Movie Magic

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Hodder Children's Books

Mr Penguin and the Lost Treasure

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

From the international bestselling creator of Claude, comes a brand new hero - Mr Penguin, adventurer and penguin.Indiana Jones meets Hercule Poirot in this new Alex T. Smith series with plenty of slapstick humour, mystery and adventure. Highly illustrated throughout with a striking black and orange design.It has been weeks since Mr Penguin's last adventure and he's been stuck at his desk, twiddling his flippers ever since. That is until the phone rings!Mr Penguin and Colin (a spider and Mr Penguin's silent right hand man) are called in to find the missing treasure somewhere in the Museum of Extraordinary Objects. The quest finds them solving secret codes, fighting ferocious beasts, eating fish finger sandwiches and travelling deep below the museum to a lost jungle...Praise for Alex T. Smith's Claude series:'Illustrated with humour and elegance.' Sunday Times'Quirky illustrations with plenty of humour.' The MetroClaude won the 5-9 young fiction Sainsbury's Children's Book Award, was selected for the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize, the Richard and Judy Book Club and is soon to be a TV star on Disney Junior with 52 episodes airing in 2017. Alex T. Smith is a World Book Day Illustrator. Follow Alex at http://alextsmith.blogspot.co.uk and https://twitter.com/Alex_T_Smith

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Trapdoor Mysteries: A Sticky Situation

Abie Longstaff, James Brown
Contributors:
Abie Longstaff, James Brown