Claudia Martin - Immigration - Hachette Children's Group

Immigration

By Claudia Martin

  • Hardback
  • £13.99

Comprehensive explorations of major issues affecting the global community

People have many different reasons for leaving their home country, but they are nearly always looking for a better or safer life. This book considers the pull factors that attract people to another country and the push factors that drive them from their home country. It looks at movements of people in the past, the impact of current immigration and the arguments that people put forward in favour or against welcoming immigrants to a country. It asks readers to think about what they can do to learn more about this global issue and the people affected by it.

Biographical Notes

Izzi Howell is the author and editor of over fifty children's books. She lives in East Sussex and enjoys learning languages, cooking and travelling around Europe.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445163758
  • Publication date: 08 Mar 2018
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Wayland

What is Race? Who are Racists? Why Does Skin Colour Matter? And Other Big Questions

Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan
Authors:
Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan

Talk about race is often discouraged, but this book aims to bring everyone into the conversation. It explores the history of race and society, giving context to how racist attitudes come into being. It looks at belonging and identity, the damaging effects of stereotyping and the benefits of positive representation. The authors talk sensiitively about how to identify and challenge racism and how to protect against and stop racist behaviour.Aimed at young people aged 10 and upwards.Part of the groundbreaking and important 'And Other Big Questions' series, which offers balanced and considered views on the big issues we face in the world we live in today.Other titles in the series include:What is Humanism? How do you live without a god?What is Feminism? Why do we need it?Who are Refugees and Migrants? What makes people leave their homes?What is Consent? Why is it important?What is Right and Wrong? Who Decides? Where Do Values Come From?

Orion Children's Books

Wundersmith: The Calling of Morrigan Crow

Jessica Townsend
Authors:
Jessica Townsend
Orchard Books

Phantom

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt

Sixteen-year-old thief and hacker Nova makes just enough to live on leeching from the corpsmen that live in the spires 400 storeys above the forgotten undercity slums she calls home. So when infamous anti-corp hacker The Moth offers Nova a huge sum to infiltrate and steal something from the biggest corp of all, Bliss Inc. - manufacturer of the neural implants that allow everyone in the spires continuous metanet access - she jumps at the chance. But what is the dark secret Bliss Inc. is hiding and why does The Moth want to get his hands on it so badly?

Hodder Children's Books

Illegal

Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin, Giovanni Rigano
Contributors:
Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin, Giovanni Rigano
Franklin Watts

At Sea

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles

How did the forces that fought at sea affect the outcome of the Second World War? This book explores the ships and submarines that slugged it out to rule the seas during the Second World War, from stealthy U-boats to mighty battleships. Along the way, readers will discover the key battles, tactics and weapons that helped the Allies to victory. The Fighting Forces of the Second World War is a must-read for all young military buffs, who enjoy poring over the tactics, uniforms, weapons, special equipment and much more of the heroic fighting forces who waged the Second World War. Key battles and notable events, told chronologically, provide a useful solid historical structure and offer key learning, while the single-topic approach allows easy comparison between the different sidesA great series for readers aged 11 and up.

Franklin Watts

The Home Front

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles
Hodder Children's Books

The Love Curse: Arrowheart

Rebecca Sky
Authors:
Rebecca Sky
Franklin Watts

Terrorism

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin

What is terrorism? How do terrorists differ from other criminals? What makes some individuals and groups decide to use violence to create terror as a means of achieving their aims? This book looks at the history of terrorism and analyses the motivations for its use. It looks at what is being done to tackle terrorism and asks readers to think about what they can do to help people in countries affected by terrorism, for example by fundraising for organisations supporting victims of terrorist attacks.

Orion Children's Books

Escape

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orchard Books

The New Age

Chris d'Lacey
Authors:
Chris d'Lacey
Wayland

What is Right and Wrong? Who Decides? Where Do Values Come From? And Other Big Questions

Michael Rosen, Annemarie Young
Authors:
Michael Rosen, Annemarie Young

Every day we make decisions that are underpinned by our ideas of what is right and wrong. But where do these ideas come from? Where do our values come from and who decides which values are used in a society? This book looks at topics that are strongly connected to the values people hold and their ideas of right and wrong, such as democracy, justice, fairness, prejudice and discrimination, education, climate change and war. There are contributions from Laura Bates, Richard Rieser, Tulip Siddiq and Alex Wheatle, who, along with the authors, discuss how their ideas of what is right and wrong have been shaped by their life experiences. Readers are encouraged to think for themselves about the issues discussed and decide which values are important to them.

Orion Children's Books

They Saw Too Much

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

Two teenagers witness a murder - and now they're the next targets. An action-packed, edge-of-your-seat YA thriller from bestselling author, Alan Gibbons. Gripping and gritty, perfect for fans of Kevin Brooks, Patrice Lawrence and Malorie Blackman.Sixteen-year-old John has moved away from the tough inner-city neighbourhood he grew up in and started afresh. Ceri James is the guarded girl from the children's home who has captivated his attention. But when their lives are thrown together, it's not in the way John had hoped. They witness a man die.Not only are they eye-witnesses of the fatal shooting, but John caught the whole thing on camera - and the culprits know it. Now, John and Ceri must run for their lives in a deadly, heart-stopping chase that leads them in dark and ever more dangerous directions.So why does John refuse to call the police? As secrets are revealed and loyalties doubted, John and Ceri's world hinges on one question - when it's a matter of life or death, who can you really trust?

Wayland

Materials

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin

Wayland

Computers

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin

Take a look at how computers are designed, how engineers program them and how all the data in computers is held. Find out about memory, outputs and inputs, explore amazing feats of computing such as the web, artificial intelligence and virtual reality and imagine what computers might be able to do in the future. Test your understanding with fun activities, such as writing your own program using a programming language such as Scratch.Inject some fun into STEAM topics, with these lively examinations of buildings, robots, computers, vehicles, materials and space! This bright, colourful new series aims to inspire children with a lifelong love of STEAM subjects.

Franklin Watts

Suffragettes and the Fight for the Vote

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley

This book tells the story of the campaign to get women the vote in Britain through significant objects. From photos of key people in the campaign through ephemera such as force-feeding equipment, banners and medallions, Sarah Ridley brings the story to life. Beginning by looking at the role of women in the 19th Century and ending with the continuing struggle for equal rights for women in all parts of society, this is an essential read for young people aged 10 plus to understand the history of the women's movement on suffrage. It includes the suffragists' campaign.The book is published ahead of 2018 - a landmark year that marks the centenary of the Representation of the People Act. This finally gave the vote to some women for the first time (women over 30, who owned property) and also gave the vote to all men (up until then, only about two-thirds of men had the vote). The Houses of Parliament are celebrating this centenary with their 'Vote 100' project. 2018 will also be the 90th anniversary of women gaining full voting equality with men in 1928.

Wayland

A Guide to Britain and Ireland

Kevin Pettman
Authors:
Kevin Pettman
Wayland

The Indus Valley

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin

Around 4,000 years ago, the Indus Valley was home to a great civilisation. Find out about the mysterious rulers of the Indus Valley, their splendid cities and their flushing toilets.How were the cities of the Indus Valley built? What were homes like? What food did people eat? What gods were worshipped? This book helps children at Key Stage 2 discover the answers to these and other fascinating questions. It also recommends sites on the Internet and sources in their local library where they can find out more about the Indus Valley. Packed with fascinating information, the Explore! series inspires children's curiosity to find out more about the past. A great tool for readers age 8+ or teachers looking for books to support the new curriculum.

Wayland

Tim Berners-Lee

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin

The series focuses on the people who inspire children today. Each book looks at the background, life and achievements of a personality, their impact on popular culture as well as detailing the everyday facets of their job and how they have gained such success.This title explores how Tim Bernes-Lee, the British born computer scientist, became the man to invent the World Wide Web. Carrying on to become the Director of the World Wide Web Consortium, Tim Bernes-Lee has been awarded for 'ground breaking innovation in engineering that has been of global benefit to humanity', and will continue to inspire for generations.

Franklin Watts

The Battle of Hastings

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin
Wayland

London

Simon Holland
Authors:
Simon Holland