Claudia Martin - Immigration - Hachette Children's Group

Immigration

By Claudia Martin

  • Hardback
  • £13.99

Comprehensive explorations of major issues affecting the global community

People have many different reasons for leaving their home country, but they are nearly always looking for a better or safer life. This book considers the pull factors that attract people to another country and the push factors that drive them from their home country. It looks at movements of people in the past, the impact of current immigration and the arguments that people put forward in favour or against welcoming immigrants to a country. It asks readers to think about what they can do to learn more about this global issue and the people affected by it.

Biographical Notes

Izzi Howell is the author and editor of over fifty children's books. She lives in East Sussex and enjoys learning languages, cooking and travelling around Europe.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445163758
  • Publication date: 08 Mar 2018
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Orion Children's Books

Wundersmith

Jessica Townsend
Authors:
Jessica Townsend
Hodder Children's Books

The Other Side of Lost

Nick Lake
Authors:
Nick Lake

Sixteen-year-old Emily and her little brother Aidan are onboard a plane bound for Anchorage. When the plane crashes, both kids and the pilot barely escape with their lives and are left to fight for survival in the Alaskan wilderness. But there is worse to come - Emily and Aidan are being chased, and their shady, unknown pursuers are closing in. As the kids go on the run, Emily finds herself in greater danger than she could have imagined. Because nothing in her life is what it seems - not even the things she holds dearest of all...

Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Egg of Glory

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Hodder Children's Books

Devoted

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu
Hodder Children's Books

Grace and Fury

Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart
Orchard Books

Everless

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland

THE TOP TEN BESTSELLER Time is a prison. She is the key. Packed with danger, temptation and desire - a perfect read for fans of The Red Queen.In the land of Sempera, the rich control everything - even time. Ever since the age of alchemy and sorcery, hours, days and years have been extracted from blood and bound to iron coins. The rich live for centuries; the poor bleed themselves dry.Jules and her father are behind on their rent and low on hours. To stop him from draining himself to clear their debts, Jules takes a job at Everless, the grand estate of the cruel Gerling family. There, Jules encounters danger and temptation in the guise of the Gerling heir, Roan, who is soon to be married. But the web of secrets at Everless stretches beyond her desire, and the truths Jules must uncover will change her life for ever ... and possibly the future of time itself.'Sara Holland is a fierce storyteller. An intoxicating blend of blood, secrets, and haunting mythology, Everless gives new and terrifying meaning to the phrase running out of time.' Stephanie Garber, New York Times and Sunday Times bestselling author of Caraval

Wayland

Masters of Matter

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown

What if you could teleport, change shape or be elastic? You'd be a superhero BUT are these superpowers feasible in the real world? Superpower Science: Masters of Matter tells you all about the reality of these superpowers when looked at through a scientific lens.The series Superpower Science focuses on the superpowers commonly associated with superheroes and reveals just how scientifically realistic they could be to us mere humans. Each title focuses on four superpowers and explains which science principles would come into action if the superpower existed and what effect these science principles would have on the body. Momentum builds by questioning everything as we progress. The comic book format and vintage-looking colourful illustrations paired with quirky and humorous explanations turn what would be considered by many as dry physics principles into high interest exciting books. By pointing out the physical limitations of superpowers, the series aims to fix them, not crush children's dreams but inspire them to be interested in science. Perfect for reader aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

At Sea

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles
Wayland

Fantastic Forces and Motion

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Franklin Watts

The Home Front

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Summer of Us

Cecilia Vinesse
Authors:
Cecilia Vinesse

Five friends. Five cities. Two complicated love stories . . . The perfect read for fans of Jennifer E Smith and Sara Barnard.Aubrey and Rae have been planning their European tour since the moment they met. It was meant to be the perfect way to spend their last summer together before university, but now it's not just the two of them . . .There's Jonah, Aubrey's seemingly perfect boyfriend, and Gabe, who Aubrey may have accidentally kissed. Then there's Clara, the friend Rae is crushing on, hard, even though there's no hope because Clara is into guys, not girls. And on top of all that Aubrey and Rae's friendship appears to be falling apart. Things are more complicated at eighteen than they were at ten.Set off on a romantic adventure that embraces warm summer nights, the thrill of first kisses and the bittersweet ache of saying goodbye to the past.

Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins
Hodder Children's Books

I Am Fugitive

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir

What if finding out the meaning of life meant destroying peace on Earth - would you still seek out the answers? Perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas, The Hunger Games and Divergent After rescuing thousands of teenagers from a gruelling regime in space, Amy Sullivan must try to make sense of home, as it is now. But after an invasion of such colossal proportions, it seems Earth won't be going back to normal any time soon. And when Amy is made Ambassador for Solidarity at the newly created Earth Council, she must defend Earth against new attacks from Visitors. Working day and night to protect planet Earth, Amy still dreams of Caeser, the boy with the dimples, from another planet - she is convinced he can help her. But Caeser is still in space, where conflict is the only thing on agenda. Are two teenagers from different galaxies able to make those in power choose peace ... over the very meaning of life itself?

Orchard Books

A Thousand Perfect Notes

C. G. Drews
Authors:
C. G. Drews
Franklin Watts

Terrorism

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin
Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of the Sun

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond

This is a moving, funny and inspirational novel from the bestselling author of Skellig."The day is long, the world is wide, you're young and free."One hot summer morning, Davie steps boldly out of his front door. The world he enters is very familiar - the little Tyneside town that has always been his home - but as the day passes, it becomes ever more mysterious. A boy has been killed, and Davie thinks he might know who is responsible. He turns away from the gossip and excitement and sets off roaming towards the sunlit hills above the town.As the day goes on, the real and the imaginary start to merge, and Davie knows that neither he nor his world will ever be the same again. This an outstanding novel full of warmth and light, from a multi-award-winning author. David Almond says: 'I guess it embodies my constant astonishment at being alive in this beautiful, weird, extraordinary world.'

Hodder Children's Books

The Outcast

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu
Franklin Watts

The Battle of Hastings

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin
Franklin Watts

Your Number's Up

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson
Franklin Watts

Get in Shape

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson