Lesley De Meza and Stephen De Silva - A-Z of Growing Up, Puberty and Sex - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781445129884
    • Publication date:13 Mar 2014

A-Z of Growing Up, Puberty and Sex

By Lesley De Meza and Stephen De Silva

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The perfect ready-reference guide for older kids and teenagers to get the info they need on growing up, puberty and sex.

The A-Z of Growing UP, Puberty and Sex is the perfect ready-reference guide to help you get through adolescence. Get to grips with all of the important, and sometimes embarrassing, facts of life. Packed with lots of practical support on how to deal with the physical and emotional changes that growing up brings. This book explains words and terms, both medical and slang, to help you find your way through puberty from A-Z.

From A to Z, here are some of the topics discussed in this great guide to being or becoming a teenager: Adoption, Body image, Coming out, Contraception, Dumping and getting dumped, Eating disorders, Fancying: Does he/she fancy you?, Gay/Lesbian, HIV/AIDS, Internet safety, Jealousy, Kissing, Love, Masturbation, Orgasm, Peer pressure, Periods, Relationships, Sex, Transgender/Transsexual, Underwear, Virginity, Wet dreams, You, Zits...

Biographical Notes

Lesley De Meza (Author)
A leading practitioner, trainer and author Lesley is known internationally for her PSHE education work. She has worked with a range of organisations including: DAATs, DfE, DoH, HIT (Liverpool), Home Office, Integrated Youth Support Services, LAs, Metropolitan Police, NICE, PCTs, QCA, schools, TPU and universities.


Stephen De Silva (Author)
Stephen is an experienced and respected teacher, consultant and writer with 30 years' service in the education and health sectors. He works nationally across the UK and internationally in Europe, SE Asia, the USA and Bermuda.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445163567
  • Publication date: 25 Jan 2018
  • Page count: 96
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
The perfect ready-reference guide for older kids and teenagers to get the information they need on growing up, puberty and sex. — Parents in Touch
This book goes well beyond the obvious topics. — School Librarian
Direct, friendly, sensible, non-judgemental. — Carousel
Hodder Children's Books

Queen of Ruin

Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart

The breathtaking sequel to Grace and Fury. A fierce tale of sisterhood, courtly intrigue, and heart pounding action, perfect for fans of Red Queen and The Selection.Nomi and Malachi find themselves powerless and headed towards their all-but-certain deaths. Now that Asa sits on the throne, he will stop at nothing to make sure Malachi never sets foot in the palace again. Nomi's sister, Serina, is far away on the prison island of Mount Ruin - but it is in the grip of revolution and Serina leads. The women there have their sights set on revenge beyond the confines of their island prison. They will stop at nothing to gain freedom for the entire kingdom. But first they'll have to get rid of Asa, and only Nomi knows how.Separated once again, this time by choice, Nomi and Serina must forge their own paths as they aim to tear down the world they know, to build something better in its place.

Hodder Children's Books

The Paper & Hearts Society

Lucy Powrie
Authors:
Lucy Powrie

A brand new series from "the Zoella of books" - all about what happens when you give up on trying to fit in in and let your weird out! You're invited to join The Paper & Hearts Society ... get ready to find your people! Tabby Brown is tired of trying to fit in with her classmates. She doesn't want to go to parties at the weekend - in fact, she would much rather snuggle up on the sofa with her favourite book. It's like she hasn't found her people ...That is until she moves to a new town where a book club, The Paper & Hearts Society, is recruiting. Tabby might just be in luck. Enough of her old "friends" who only talk to her when they need something. It's time for Quidditch themed fancy dress parties, games like "shut up and Shakespeare" ... and LOTS of chocolate. Perfect for fans of Holly Smale and Super Awkward.

Franklin Watts

The Somme

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley
Wayland

Feeling Angry

Katie Douglass
Authors:
Katie Douglass
Franklin Watts

Teen Pioneers

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard
Wayland

Feeling Sad

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon

This lovely picturebook story tells the story of a small child helping others who are feeling sad.Illustrating scenarios of why children become frightened will help readers to identify their feelings and work out the best way to deal with this emotion.Ideal for home or classroom, this book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to help children deal with this feeling.Illustrated by the ever-popular and award-winning illustrator Mike Gordon.

Hodder Children's Books

The Dark Lady

Akala
Authors:
Akala

Henry is a street boy, a thief and a genius - abandoned at birth by his mother, he is searching for belonging in this thrilling new series set in a magical realist Shakespearean world.Written by award-winning rapper, poet and writer Akala, founder of the renowned Hip-hop Shakespeare Company.Perfect for introducing secondary school readers to Shakespeare and the Renaissance, this exciting new series is inspired by the Dark Lady, the fierce, independent black woman alluded to in Shakespeare's sonnets 127-154.Featuring Shakespeare himself and many of his key characters, bringing to life through fresh eyes the visceral, violent and daring world of the Renaissance.

Wren & Rook

How Big is Our Baby?

Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Britta Teckentrup
Contributors:
Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Britta Teckentrup

When a new baby is on the way, siblings-to-be have lots of feelings and plenty of questions. But whether they're impatient, curious or a little worried, this friendly and reassuring guide explains each step of the pregnancy journey and helps little ones feel involved and excited. With a month-by-month approach that compares the size of the growing baby to something familiar to the young reader, such as a speck of sand at the seaside or an egg, readers also find out about how Baby is developing, from when the heart might first beat to when they'll be able to feel it kick. The book also includes information about how life might change once Baby arrives, and how exciting it will be to have a new baby brother or sister.

Wayland

Amazing Jobs: Engineering

Colin Hynson
Authors:
Colin Hynson

Discover the amazing array of jobs within the field of engineering that you never knew existed. From the structural engineers who design the concrete and steel structures that keep skyscrapers and other buildings from falling down, to the robotics engineers who construct industrial robots and walking robots and the aeronautical engineers who design aircrafts. Read about the academic and vocational routes you can take to reach these jobs and how to get ahead in these exciting professions whilst you are at school and college.

Wayland

Amazing Jobs: Maths

Colin Hynson
Authors:
Colin Hynson
Franklin Watts

Far From Home: Refugees and migrants fleeing war, persecution and poverty

Cath Senker
Authors:
Cath Senker

Wayland

Feeling Worried

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Wayland

Feeling Jealous

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Franklin Watts

Racism

Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Contributors:
Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Franklin Watts

My Stepfamily

Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Contributors:
Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean

Sometimes you can sort out a problem on your own. But sometimes you need to ask for help. This book helps young children aged 7+ to make this decision and find out about and understand life in a step family. It features seven case studies from children who have a range of stepfamily issues from a girl who doesn't want to share to a boy who is worried because he likes his stepdad more than his 'real' dad. The end of the book features a short playscript to act out and discuss. The book has engaging illustrations throughout.In this series case studies combine with sensible, practical advice to help children find out what to do in difficult situations.

Orchard Books

Fated

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Hodder Children's Books

Smile with Splosh

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling
Franklin Watts

Understanding Transgender

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

A sensitive book that explores the issue of people who feel they do belong to the gender they were born with. It looks at what this means for the person and their family, issues around school policy, bullying and discrimination and explores the journey of transitioning.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Franklin Watts

Understanding Sexuality

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

This book looks at the issues around sexuality - what it means, being lesbian, gay or bisexual, coming out, homophobia and accepting yourself and being happy in your own skin. It includes talking and debating points and is perfect for someone starting to question their sexuality or for PSHE lessons.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Franklin Watts

Overcoming Fear of Failure

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

Lots of people suffer from a fear of failure. It is one of the biggest causes of anxiety and stress for school students. Fear of failure can make us afraid to try new things. For some it means that they have to come first at everything they do. For many fear of failure is linked with low self-esteem. It can make people feel inadequate and ruin their self-confidence. This book explores why we fear failure and how we can overcome it - from understanding that making mistakes isn't always bad to breaking out of our comfort zones. The book ties in with the 'growth mindset' theory - that success is based on hard work, trying and being prepared to fail and pick yourself up again.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.