Sue Graves - Mary and the Great Fire of London - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781445163154
    • Publication date:11 Oct 2018
Books in this series

Mary and the Great Fire of London

Independent Reading 13

By Sue Graves
Illustrated by Alex Paterson

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

This story is part of Reading Champion, a series carefully linked to book bands to encourage independent reading skills, developed with Dr Sue Bodman and Glen Franklin of UCL Institute of Education (IOE)

One dry, hot night in 1666, Mary was on her way home from the bakery where she worked in Pudding Lane, London. Later that night, a terrible fire broke out in that same bakery... one that would change London forever!

Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.

Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445163178
  • Publication date: 11 Jul 2019
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Franklin Watts

A Hat for Gran

Sue Graves, A. Corazon Abierto
Contributors:
Sue Graves, A. Corazon Abierto

Gran really needs a new hat. She visits the hat shop, but it is hard to find one that is just right for her!Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Sandy Cove Rescue

Sue Graves, Noémie Gionet Landry
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Noémie Gionet Landry

Jess and Spencer have been learning all about their local environment. When they go on a beach clean one Saturday, they are horrified to find a seal cub entangled in plastic. Their quick thinking ensures that the seal is soon in the best place to recover.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Wayland

Brilliant Women

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli

Discover the stories of 68 brave and brilliant womenCurious, provocative, engaging, brave, and funny - women who change the world are diverse, intriguing and brilliant. Filled with wonderful illustrations and engaging activities that will nurture your own varied skills, Brilliant Women compiles the stories of inspiring women from every field. Retelling their triumphs and adversities, this beautiful book reveals and celebrates the women who have shaped the world we live in now. Perfect reading for the next generation of brilliant girls and boys. Suitable for readers aged 9 and up.

Orchard Books

Guinea Pig Superstar

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orchard Books

The Lonely Pony

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

Helping animals, having fun! The bestselling Animal Ark series has been reimagined for a new generation of children. Perfect for animal lovers and fans of Holly Webb and Magic Animal Friends. When Amelia and Sam start taking riding lessons, they meet a homeless rescue pony named Ginger and a big horse named Walnut who keeps throwing off his riders. The only thing that seems to calm Walnut down is the gentle Shetland Pony. Can Amelia and Sam find a way for the pony pals to stay together?A brilliant animal series from multi-million-selling author Lucy Daniels, loved by parents and children alike!"I remember reading these books as a child myself. Now buying them for my own daughter. . . Delightful stories!" "I love this series of books. They made me realise how special animals are!"A brilliant animal series from multi-million selling author Lucy Daniels.

Orchard Books

Torka the Sky Snatcher

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!King Hugo's brother Prince Angelo, long believed dead, has reappeared and seized power. Banished from their kingdom, Tom and Elenna must uncover the truth about Prince Angelo ... but there are new and deadly Beasts on the loose. How can they defeat Torka the three-headed dragon? There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out!

Orchard Books

Xerkan the Shape Stealer

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!Back in Avantia from their exile in the Wildlands, Tom and Elenna face their deadliest enemy yet. Can they fight the ghoulish Beast Xerkan - and reveal the truth about the mysterious Prince Angelo before the kingdom of Avantia is changed for ever?There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out!

Orion Children's Books

Swimming Against the Storm

Jess Butterworth
Authors:
Jess Butterworth

Heartland middle-grade adventure set in the swamps of Louisiana, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell and Lauren St JohnOur land is sinking. It's disappearing into the water. And no one knows how to save it.Twelve-year-old Eliza and her sister Avery have lived their entire lives in a small fishing village on the coast of Louisiana, growing up alongside turtles, pelicans and porpoises. But now, with sea levels rising, their home is at risk of being swept away.Determined to save the land, Eliza and her younger sister Avery secretly go searching in the swamp for the dangerous, wolf-like loup-garou. If they can prove this legendary creature exists, they're sure that the government will have to protect its habitat - and their community.But there's one problem: the loup-garou has never been seen before. And with a tropical storm approaching and the sisters deep, deep in the swampland, soon it's not just their home at risk, but their lives as well...

Orchard Books

Aisha the Astronaut Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Orla the Inventor Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Orla the Inventor Fairy's magical item, inventors everywhere stop having ideas!Can the girls help Orla defeat him and bring inspiration back to fairy and human worlds?

Orchard Books

Annie the Detective Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Annie the Detective Fairy's magical item, detectives everywhere run out of clues! Can the girls help Annie get it back and help solve mysteries everywhere?

Orchard Books

Elsie the Engineer Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

An Army Awakens

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Franklin Watts

Dragon Dance

Sue Graves, Fátima Anaya
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Fátima Anaya
Franklin Watts

Thin Ice

Sue Graves, Roger Simó
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Roger Simó

When friends Lenny and Ted take their bikes off to the woods on a cold, snowy day, Mum warns them to keep away from the icy pond. The trouble is, Lenny just can't resist it and ends up nearly paying a very high price...Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Lost!

Sue Graves
Authors:
Sue Graves
Franklin Watts

Croc Needs to Wait - A book about patience

Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Franklin Watts

Turtle Comes Out of Her Shell - A book about feeling shy

Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton

This funny, charming story is the perfect way to introduce young children to being brave when they feel shy and help them find ways to feel more confident. Also included are suggestions for activities and ideas to talk through together to help children fully understand how their behaviour can impact on others.Turtle has a beautiful singing voice, but she feels far to shy to enter the talent show at school. By talking to her friends about it, she develops a way to overcome her shyness in a way that works for her.The Behaviour Matters series of picture books provide a gentle means of discussing emotions, boosting self-esteem and reinforcing good behaviour. Supports the Personal, Social and Emotional Development Area of Learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage, and is also suitable for use with children in KS1 and can be used to discuss values. Suitable for children under 5.

Franklin Watts

Cheetah Learns to Play Nicely - A book about being a good sport

Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Franklin Watts

Rhino Learns to be Polite - A book about good manners

Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton