Enid Richemont - Double Dragons - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Books in this series

Double Dragons

Independent Reading 12

By Enid Richemont

  • Hardback
  • £8.99

This story is part of Reading Champion, a series carefully linked to book bands to encourage independent reading skills, developed with Dr Sue Bodman and Glen Franklin of UCL Institute of Education (IOE)

A fearsome, fire-breathing, knight-eating dragon, a princess and a town in danger ... sound familiar? But this princess is not a weak, idle maiden, she is very sassy and is determined to save her town and change the dragon's diet too!

Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.

Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Biographical Notes

Although I've lived for most of my life in north London, I was born and grew up in South Wales. My mum read to me a great deal,and I think it was from her that I developed my love of language. I also enjoyed drawing and painting, and eventually won a scholarship to study at Dublin College of Art.

When I came back from Eire, I first worked as a teacher in a Rudolf Steiner school. Then I came to London and took a number of strange jobs, including reading aloud to a blind writer and typing out his manuscript. The typewriter I'd hired to do this had some paid-for time left, so I used it to write a short story which I sold to a women's magazine. It became the first of many, and the beginning of a successful career. While my children were growing up, I stopped writing, and started a small design business, making screen-printed puppet theatres, flying saucers and playhouses that looked like medieval battle tents.

Work took us to Paris, where we lived for two years, and where, incidentally, I first encountered the Romanian gipsy girl who features in my novel, FOR MARITSA WITH LOVE (Simon&Schuster).

My first children's book, THE TIME TREE (Walker Books) grew out of a story I told my daughter and her best friend to pass the time on a very long walk (the original idea came from a TV programme I'd watched about teaching children with hearing problems). The girls begged me to write it down so that they could read it for themselves - so I did. This book is currently being marketed as a film series by Wild Thyme Productions.

TO SUMMON A SPIRIT (Walker Books), was one of the Pick of the Year titles listed in the Children's Book Award. I'm now published in the USA and Australia as well as the UK, and my work has been translated into Danish, German and Japanese.

My first book for Franklin Watts was PLOP CITY, a book about bird poo which continues to be loved, especially by small boys. I have two copies of the Arabic version

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445163017
  • Publication date: 13 Sep 2018
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Franklin Watts

MORE!

Enid Richemont, Shahab Shamshirsaz
Contributors:
Enid Richemont, Shahab Shamshirsaz
Quercus Children's Books

The Last Life of Prince Alastor

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken

Every family has secrets - but not every family has a secret pact with a demon.The thrilling second book in the darkly comic PROSPER REDDING series - with enough twists and turns to make every reader dizzy. Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket, Jonathan Stroud and Skulduggery Pleasant.Prosper is the only unexceptional Redding in his remarkable family. So, when he discovers that an 800-year-old demon called Alastor is responsible for their luck - and that this demon is currently living inside him - he's more than a little surprised.Worse luck, now Prosper needs a favour from him.Prosper's sister Prue has fallen into the clutches of evil queen Pyra, and only Prince Alastor can help him get her back. His demonic malefactor agrees to be Prosper's guide through the demon realm under one condition - Prosper must enter into a contract of eternal servitude in the afterlife. With Prue in mortal danger, Prosper has no choice but to agree. Will Prosper ever make it out again, and if he does, will his afterlife be damned for all eternity?

Orchard Books

Rainbow Magic: Sasha the Slime Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel, Kirsty and Sasha for some fun with slime!Sasha the Slime Fairy's special magic helps everyone have loads of fun making and playing with slime. From glitter slime to goo slime, all types of slime are Sasha's favourite! But when Jack Frost steals her three special pieces of slime, the magic starts to go awry. Can Rachel and Kirsty help her get them back before the slime adventure comes to a sticky end?

Franklin Watts

The Peach Boy

Enid Richemont, Andy Catling
Contributors:
Enid Richemont, Andy Catling

In this retelling of a famous Japanese legend, we meet Momotaro, a boy whose mother found him inside a peach. When ogres attack his village, Momotaro bravely sets out to drive them away - with the help of his friends and some of his mother's strength-giving cakes...Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Hodder Children's Books

Claude Adventures

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Franklin Watts

One Hundred Wishes

Enid Richemont, Ben Whitehouse
Contributors:
Enid Richemont, Ben Whitehouse

Miserable, old Stan lives on his own, just counting his money. And when his fairy godmother grants him three wishes, all he can think of is wishing for more wishes and greedily hoarding them. But the wishes escape, and Stan's world is about to get a whole lot brighter. This story celebrates friendship, however it may find you.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Wayland

Feeling Worried

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Franklin Watts

Ahmed and the New Boy

Enid Richemont, Maxine Lee
Contributors:
Enid Richemont, Maxine Lee
Wayland

Feeling Sad

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Wayland

Feeling Jealous

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon

This lovely story follows the day of one small boy who tries to help friends and family who are feeling jealous, but then ends up feeling jealous himself and having to follow his own advice.Illustrating scenarios of why people get angry will help readers to identify their feelings and work out the best way to deal with this emotion.Ideal for home or classroom, this book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to help children deal with feelings.This book is part of a series of stories about feelings and emotions for children aged between 4 and 8. Other titles are: Feeling Angry, Feeling Frightened, Feeling Sad, Feeling Shy and Feeling WorriedIllustrated by the ever-popular and award-winning illustrator Mike Gordon.

Orchard Books

Ursus the Clawed Roar

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Evil Wizard Malvel has stolen the treasured Warlock's Staff! If he reaches the Eternal Flame in the mysterious realm of Seraph, he will rule all the kingdoms. Tom must stop him, but first he must defeat a giant Beast: Ursus the Clawed Roar!

Orchard Books

Lustor the Acid Dart

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Something horrible lurks in the Yellow Marshes! Malvel has created Lustor the Acid Dart to fight Tom. This giant Beast can shoot acid - and his aim is fixed on Tom! Is our hero fast enough to win?

Orchard Books

Voltrex the Two-headed Octopus

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

The Good Beast Sepron is in danger! Malvel has sent Voltrex -­ a hideous Octopus-Beast - to kill him. If Sepron dies, Malvel will be closer to conquering Avantia. Tom must dash to Sepron's rescue before it's too late!

Franklin Watts

Lizzie Lizard's Long Jump

Enid Richemont
Authors:
Enid Richemont

Lizzie Lizard is great at leaping! She knows she can win the Long Jump if she can get in enough practice. Can she leap her way out of danger from some hungry animals?The Froglets series is perfect for children who are reading on their own, with fun stories of no more than 200 words.

Franklin Watts

Arabella's Web

Enid Richemont, Gabriele Antonini
Contributors:
Enid Richemont, Gabriele Antonini

Arabella the spider tries hard to spin the perfect web, but things keep going wrong! Will she ever catch anything for dinner?The Tadpoles series contains fun, original stories told in under 80 words and accompanied by bright illustrations, perfect for beginner readers.

Franklin Watts

The Night of the Were-Boy

Enid Richemont, Gustavo Mazali
Contributors:
Enid Richemont, Gustavo Mazali

There is a full moon and Frankie the cat is feeling rather strange...then something quite incredible suddenly starts to happen! Race Further with Reading is the perfect tool to build reading confidence with illustrated stories in manageable bite-size chapters, following on a level from the Race Ahead with Reading series with stories of 2,000 words.

Franklin Watts

Princess Frog

Enid Richemont
Authors:
Enid Richemont

In this new twist on the traditional fairy tale the princess is bored of her princess duties and clothes, she longs for freedom and adventure, in fact she'd prefer to be a frog! But then she falls in love...The carefully controlled text level and beautiful illustrations ensure this is a fantastic read for all children of all reading levels!

Orchard Books

Shamani the Raging Flame

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Tecton the Armoured Giant

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Malvel has created another ferocious Beast for Tom to battle! Tecton is a massive creature that even Tom might find hard to defeat. Luckily Tom's father, Taladon, is here to help. Will Tom and Taladon prevail, or will it end in tragedy?

Orchard Books

Minos the Demon Bull

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade