Tim Cooke - Ancient Rome - Hachette Children's Group

Ancient Rome

By Tim Cooke

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

Using important events, stories, myths and objects to bring ancient civilisations to life

The ancient Romans were skilled builders, artists and inventors, and one of the best ways to discover how they lived is by studying the artefacts they made. Just as ancient objects enable us to step back into the world of the people who made them, the stories people told can reveal what they thought about their world. This book combines facts about the ancient Romans with photographs of the artefacts they left behind and the stories they shared with each other to present a full picture of life at the time.

Biographical Notes

Tim Cooke is a graduate of Oxford University. He has worked in children's publishing for over 20 years, and has written or contributed to dozens of books on a wide range of subjects. Among his publications as writer or editor are numerous sets about military history, particularly the American Revolution, the Civil War, World Wars I and II, and the Vietnam War. He has also written extensively about general history, both ancient and modern.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445161891
  • Publication date: 26 Jul 2018
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Orchard Books

Help! I Smell a Monster

Justin Davies
Authors:
Justin Davies

This book STINKS . . . of monsters!When Alice is sent to stay with her Uncle Magnus, she soon realises that his job agency isn't quite ... normal. It helps monsters find work that makes the most of their unique talons - er, talents. Alice is shocked to discover that monsters are EVERYWHERE. There's even a Cyclops working in the castle as a pastry chef! But when he suddenly disappears, Alice smells something fishy. Can she and her uncle sniff out the missing monster before it's too late?Perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and David Solomons.

Wayland

Forces

Franklin Watts

Robin Hood and the Golden Arrow

Elizabeth Dale
Authors:
Elizabeth Dale
Wayland

Submarines

Tim Cooke
Authors:
Tim Cooke
Wayland

Warships

Tim Cooke
Authors:
Tim Cooke

From wooden Greek galleys to vast battleships bristling with huge guns, warships have provided vital defense for nations around the globe. Throughout history, warships have become faster, stronger - and ever more deadly. This book follows the history of warships from the iron-clad vessels used in the American Civil War to today's gigantic aircraft carriers that can accommodate for over 60 fighter jets.

Wayland

Tanks

Tim Cooke
Authors:
Tim Cooke

Tanks are the most feared of all land weapons. Main battle tanks are heavily armoured but fast, and their main guns fire explosive shells that can destroy virtually any target - including other tanks. This book reveals just what makes tanks and other armoured fighting vehicles (AFVs) such formidable weapons on the battlefield. Find out about leading tanks from around the world - including their technical specifications. Learn about the history of tanks - from their first use in World War I through incredible developments, right up to the latest, cleverest machines around today. Ultimate Military Machines delves into the incredible world of fighting machines and takes an up-close look at the latest technology used by the army, navy and air forces today. Each title takes an indepth look at one type of military vehicle - from its first use in warfare up to recent conflicts.

Wayland

Materials

Get outside and do some fun science experiments! From making a raft and an ice sculpture to painting with water and testing materials, these simple activities are quick and easy to do, using easily found equipment. Everything on Earth is made from different materials. We can see many materials outdoors, such as wood, metal and rock.But how do we tell them apart and how can we work out what they are best used for? This book tells you all you need to know about materials. This series is perfect for Outdoor Classroom Day. Being outdoors helps children focus, boosts creativity and imagination, and can simply be more fun! Learning outdoors creates lasting memories, helps build a greater awareness of the environment, provides more opportunities to think independently, and gets children feeling challenged and excited by learning.

Franklin Watts

Enter The Penguin

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Franklin Watts

Killer Custard

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore

Take on the role of a cartoon hero in this fully interactive, wacky, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.The school cook serves up smooth custard! And if that wasn't weird enough, the yellow stuff comes alive and starts to eat everyone... YOU must stop the revenge of the killer custard, before it's dessert time for everyone.Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve Skidmore, and illustrated by the amazing Lee Robinson.Age appropriate for 6 to 8 year olds. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Franklin Watts

Greg Rutherford

Roy Apps
Authors:
Roy Apps

This inspirational biography for children, written by award-winning author Roy Apps, follows the jumping story of Greg Rutherford and his incredible rise to become Olympic long jump gold medalist and IAAF top-ranking Diamond League athlete. Illustrated with colour artwork by Alessandro Valdrighi, including graphic novel-style panels, this book is perfect for sport-mad girls and boys with a reading age of 7, but will work perfectly well for older readers too. Printed on off-white paper using a reading font approved by the British Dyslexia Association, the Sporting Heroes series brings to life the skill, grit and determination needed to be a world-class sportsperson today. This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of booksto get children reading with confidence. EDGE - for books kids can't put down.

Wayland

Plants

Get outside and do some fun science experiments! From growing flowers and vegetables, to building a bee hotel or aging a tree, these simple activities are quick and easy to do, using easily found equipment. This book tells you all you need to know about plants. This series is perfect for Outdoor Classroom Day. Suitable for the key stage one and key stage two science curriculum.Being outdoors helps children focus, boosts creativity and imagination, and can simply be more fun! Learning outdoors creates lasting memories, helps build a greater awareness of the environment, provides more opportunities to think independently, and gets children feeling challenged and excited by learning.

Franklin Watts

Max and the Gladiator

Damian Harvey
Authors:
Damian Harvey
Franklin Watts

Werewolf

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Franklin Watts

Comparing Countries: Games and Entertainment (English/French)

Sabrina Crewe
Authors:
Sabrina Crewe

How do children have fun in other countries? Travel the world with Games and Entertainment to see the activities that people enjoy, from sport and games to art and music. Comparing Countries is a groundbreaking non-fiction dual-language series which compares and contrasts ways of life in ten different countries around the world. Presented in two different languages, each title explores a topic common to all children, from homes to festivals, highlighting what makes us different and what we all have in common. This series provides great support to geography learning, as well as helping young language learners improve their reading skills.Perfect for readers aged 7 and up.

Franklin Watts

Mutant

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow

Take on the role of the Monster Hunter in this fully interactive, flick-through-the pages, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.YOU are an agent of G.H.O.S.T. - protecting the world from creatures in the shadows. Dr Omega is creating mutanthumans - turning them into monsters. Your mission is to stop her experiments.Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve SkidmoreAge appropriate for 8+. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Franklin Watts

Comparing Countries: Games and Entertainment (English/Spanish)

Sabrina Crewe
Authors:
Sabrina Crewe
Franklin Watts

Comparing Countries: Games and Entertainment (English/Polish)

Sabrina Crewe
Authors:
Sabrina Crewe
Franklin Watts

Comparing Countries: Games and Entertainment (English/Urdu)

Sabrina Crewe
Authors:
Sabrina Crewe

How do children have fun in other countries? Travel the world with Games and Entertainment to see the activities that people enjoy, from sport and games to art and music. Comparing Countries is a groundbreaking non-fiction dual-language series which compares and contrasts ways of life in ten different countries around the world. Presented in two different languages, each title explores a topic common to all children, from homes to festivals, highlighting what makes us different and what we all have in common. This series provides great support to geography learning, as well as helping young language learners improve their reading skills.Perfect for readers aged 7 and up.

Franklin Watts

Comparing Countries: Games and Entertainment (English/Arabic)

Sabrina Crewe
Authors:
Sabrina Crewe

How do children have fun in other countries? Travel the world with Games and Entertainment to see the activities that people enjoy, from sport and games to art and music. Comparing Countries is a groundbreaking non-fiction dual-language series which compares and contrasts ways of life in ten different countries around the world. Presented in two different languages, each title explores a topic common to all children, from homes to festivals, highlighting what makes us different and what we all have in common. This series provides great support to geography learning, as well as helping young language learners improve their reading skills.Perfect for readers aged 7 and up.

Wayland

Helicopters

Tim Cooke
Authors:
Tim Cooke