Jackie Walter - Picnic at the Park - Hachette Children's Group

Picnic at the Park

By Jackie Walter
Illustrated by Jem Maybank

  • Hardback
  • £11.99

Picture books that feature different family set-ups and emphasise family values

Logan has a new stepfamily. His dad has moved in with Emily and Freya's mum. They are all spending the weekend together but Logan would much rather be with his friends - but will a family picnic in the park be more fun than he thought?

This story features a step-family. It is part of the Family Days Out series, fun, humourous stories with bold illustrations and a range of family set-ups including two mums, two dads, a young carer and a step-family.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445158983
  • Publication date: 14 Jun 2018
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Franklin Watts

It's My Body

Louise Spilsbury
Authors:
Louise Spilsbury
Franklin Watts

Families

Anita Ganeri
Authors:
Anita Ganeri

There are all kinds of families. Families can be big or small and they can change over time. Some families live together and others live apart. They can have one or two or no mums or dads. In every family there are people who love each other. Who's in your family?

Franklin Watts

Feelings

Judith Heneghan
Authors:
Judith Heneghan
Hodder Children's Books

Heartstopper Volume Two

Alice Oseman
Authors:
Alice Oseman

Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between: this is the second volume of HEARTSTOPPER, for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon. Nick and Charlie are best friends. Nick knows Charlie's gay, and Charlie is sure that Nick isn't. But love works in surprising ways, and Nick is discovering all kinds of things about his friends, his family ... and himself. Heartstopper is about friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie's lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us. This is the second volume of Heartstopper, with more to come.

Hodder Children's Books

The Boxer

Nikesh Shukla
Authors:
Nikesh Shukla

Told over the course of the ten rounds of his first fight, this is the story of amateur boxer Sunny. A seventeen year old feeling isolated and disconnected in the city he's just moved to, Sunny joins a boxing club to learn to protect himself after a racist attack. He finds the community he's been desperately seeking at the club, and a mentor in trainer Shobu, who helps him find his place in the world. But racial tensions are rising in the city, and when a Far Right march through Bristol turns violent, Sunny is faced with losing his new best friend Keir to radicalisation.A gripping, life-affirming YA novel about friendship, radicalisation and finding where you belong.

Franklin Watts

Bug Hotel

Jackie Walter
Authors:
Jackie Walter
Franklin Watts

Max is Cooking

Jackie Walter, Valentina Bandera
Contributors:
Jackie Walter, Valentina Bandera
Franklin Watts

Bounce, Bounce, Bounce!

Jackie Walter, Beccy Blake
Contributors:
Jackie Walter, Beccy Blake

Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.Independent Reading Pink 1B stories are perfect for children aged 4+ who are reading at book band 1B (Pink) in classroom reading lessons.In this story, Mo is having a great time on the bouncy castle - but then everyone joins in and gets a bit overexcited...

Franklin Watts

I Don't Like Chocolate

Jackie Walter, Alex Naidoo
Contributors:
Jackie Walter, Alex Naidoo

Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.Independent Reading Pink 1B stories are perfect for children aged 4+ who are reading at book band 1B (Pink) in classroom reading lessons.In this story, the little girl is determined to share her packed lunch with the animals, but they just don't like the same food!

Franklin Watts

Understanding Sexuality

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

Cheetah Learns to Play Nicely - A book about being a good sport

Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton

This funny, charming story is the perfect way to introduce young children to what fair play is, and help them understand the importance of being a good sport. Also included are suggestions for activities and ideas to talk through together to help children fully understand how their behaviour can impact on others.Cheetah always wants to win - no matter what it takes. But when his friends no longer want to play with him, he decides to look at his behaviour and start playing more nicely.The Behaviour Matters series of picture books provide a gentle means of discussing emotions, boosting self-esteem and reinforcing good behaviour. Supports the Personal, Social and Emotional Development Area of Learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage, and is also suitable for use with children in KS1 and can be used to discuss values. Suitable for children under 5.

Hodder Children's Books

Heartstopper Volume One

Alice Oseman
Authors:
Alice Oseman
Franklin Watts

Being Safe Out and About

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

My Dad's in Prison

Jackie Walter
Authors:
Jackie Walter

A sensitive and moving account of having a parent in prison, written from a child's point of viewDad's gone away for a while, but I don't understand why. I miss him. Every year in the UK, over 200,000 children suffer the trauma of parental imprisonment. Children with a parent in prison feel isolated, ashamed - unable to talk about their situation because they are scared of being bullied and judged. They often feel that they are to blame and having a parent in prison marks them as an outcast. Children with parents in prison are: - twice as likely to experience conduct and mental health problems, and less likely to do well at school- three times more likely to be involved in offending- sixty-five per cent of boys with a convicted father will go on to offend This sensitively written picture book explores the experience of having a parent in prison from a child's point of view. Perfect for sharing with children, it promotes understanding and provides reassurance. It has been written with the advice and support of Storybook Dads, a charity that seeks to help children and parents maintain their relationship during imprisonment by providing CD recordings of fathers reading bedtime stories to their children.

Franklin Watts

What Size Is It?

Jackie Walter
Authors:
Jackie Walter

What Shape Is It? looks at different shapes using objects we can spot in our environment. It includes a first look at angles, 3D shapes and looking at how shapes can fit together.

Orchard Books

The Way Home For Wolf

Rachel Bright, Jim Field
Contributors:
Rachel Bright, Jim Field
Franklin Watts

Croc Needs to Wait - A book about patience

Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Franklin Watts

Turtle Comes Out of Her Shell - A book about feeling shy

Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Franklin Watts

Rhino Learns to be Polite - A book about good manners

Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton

This funny, charming story is the perfect way to introduce young children to being polite, and help them understand the importance of using nice manners. Also included are suggestions for activities and ideas to talk through together to help children fully understand how their behaviour can impact on others.Rhino does not have very nice manners, especially at the dinner table. But soon no one wants to sit near him at lunch time and he even misses out on tea at his friend's house. It is time for Rhino to bring out his very best manners!The Behaviour Matters series of picture books provide a gentle means of discussing emotions, boosting self-esteem and reinforcing good behaviour. Supports the Personal, Social and Emotional Development Area of Learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage, and is also suitable for use with children in KS1 and can be used to discuss values. Suitable for children under 5.

Franklin Watts

Cultural Issues

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

This book looks at cultural issues between family and school friends including religion, diet, clothes and attitudes. It looks at family expectations and the desire to blend in with peers. It emphasises respect for cultural differences in and out of school and tolerance and an acceptance of a different way of behaving. The book includes practical advice and links to organisations that can help. The consultant is the chief executive of the Race Equality Foundation.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.