Nicola Morgan - Positively Teenage - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781445158143
    • Publication date:24 May 2018

Positively Teenage

A positively brilliant guide to teenage well-being

By Nicola Morgan

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A wellbeing guide to getting the best out of your teenage years

Positively Teenage gives you tools to approach your teenage years with optimism and understanding and to develop real wellbeing for life. The media so often portray adolescence negatively but this book shows you how to approach these years far more positively so that you can really flourish and be in control. You'll find simple strategies to develop a positive attitude, growth mindset, self-understanding, determination and resilience and you'll see how those strengths will help you cope with any challenges, enjoy life and achieve your potential. Full of practical, proven strategies for physical and mental health, Positively Teenage will show you lots of ways to flourish physically and mentally - from doing things you enjoy to learning new skills; looking after your diet, exercise and attitude to being healthy online; getting great sleep to understanding your personality - allowing you to take control of many areas of your life. With these new strengths and skills, you can survive any storms and thrive on the challenges of your exciting life.

Scattered throughout are POSITIVE BOOSTS: quick ideas for actions you can take to build positivity and well-being. Add them into your life and use your imagination and your new understanding to invent others.

Positively Teenage gives you the power to let yourself flourish, achieve and be who you want to be. Use your powers well! Be truly, positively, teenage! Stand tall, stretch your arms wide, take a deep breath and say, loudly (or in your head), 'I can do this!'

"Nicola Morgan has that rare gift of being able to communicate science and make it fun." Professor Simon Baron Cohen, University of Cambridge

Biographical Notes

Nicola Morgan is an international speaker and award-winning author for and about teenagers. She has written nearly 100 books, including novels such as Fleshmarket (currently being adapted for the London stage) and Mondays are Red, but in the last twelve years she has become increasingly well known for her passionate factual work on adolescence, with Blame My Brain - The Amazing Teenage Brain Revealed and The Teenage Guide to Stress being seminal titles for teenagers and the adults who work with and care about them. A former teacher and dyslexia specialist, Nicola now writes and speaks around the world on a range of subjects relating to adolescence and wellbeing, as well as the reading brain, reading for pleasure and the effects of life online. Her positive, respectful and empathetic attitude towards young people naturally led her to write Positively Teenage.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445158938
  • Publication date: 24 May 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Orchard Books

Ivy the Worry Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

Devoted

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu
Franklin Watts

It's My Body

Louise Spilsbury
Authors:
Louise Spilsbury
Franklin Watts

Racism

Anita Ganeri, Ximena Jeria
Contributors:
Anita Ganeri, Ximena Jeria

Racism is a very hard concept for children to understand, so it is important children learn about respect and equality and how to deal with discrimination, should they encounter it. This hands-on picture book is designed to help children with their questions and feelings about tricky topics that can be hard to talk about. The exquisite and approachable illustrations give a comforting story book feel, particularly aimed at 5-7 year olds, while also appealing to both younger and older children. A perfect aid to help children open up and explore how they feel and give them steps they can take to help them cope.

Franklin Watts

Adoption

Anita Ganeri, Ximena Jeria
Contributors:
Anita Ganeri, Ximena Jeria
Orchard Books

The Way Home For Wolf

Rachel Bright, Jim Field
Contributors:
Rachel Bright, Jim Field

A lyrical, feel-good tale of friendship set in the snowy Arctic from the creators of the bestselling, multi-award-winning The Lion Inside and The Koala Who Could.Wilf is as strong and independent as a wolf cub can be. He doesn't need help from his friends and family - whatever it is, he can do it ALL BY HIMSELF. But when Wilf finds himself lost and alone in the snow and chill of an Arctic night, he discovers something important - sometimes we all need the help of a friend to keep us safe and show us the way.Look out for more books by Rachel Bright and Jim Field:The Lion InsideThe Koala Who CouldThe Squirrels Who Squabbled

Orchard Books

Giraffes Can't Dance Anniversary Edition

Giles Andreae, Guy Parker-Rees
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, Guy Parker-Rees
Hodder Children's Books

When I Was a Child

Andy Stanton, David Litchfield
Contributors:
Andy Stanton, David Litchfield

This beautifully illustrated book is a celebration of the the special bond between a grandparent and child as they share the magic, joy and love in the world, both past and present. There is magic in everything.The world is a spinning star, No matter how old you are.A heartwarming, tender story, perfect for sharing together.

Franklin Watts

Bullying

Louise Spilsbury
Authors:
Louise Spilsbury
Franklin Watts

Worries

Paul Christelis, Ximena Jeria
Contributors:
Paul Christelis, Ximena Jeria

A perfect book for addressing the things that can cause children to be anxious and worried. This hands-on picture book is designed to help children with their questions and feelings about tricky topics that can be hard to talk about. The exquisite and approachable illustrations give a comforting story book feel, particularly aimed at 5-7 year olds, while also appealing to both younger and older children. This is a much-needed aid to help children open up and explore how they feel and give them steps they can take to help them cope.

Orchard Books

Evelyn the Mermicorn Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Quercus Children's Books

The Impossible: On the Run

Mark Illis
Authors:
Mark Illis

Nothing is impossible in Hector Coleman's world ... A comic-book inspired adventure with a graphic novel twist, for fans of Joe Cowley, Joe Sugg and Charlie Higson.Last year, Hector Coleman survived the craziest week of his boring teenage life. And just one hour ago, everything in Hector's world was fine. OK, you could argue that he was obsessed with his mobile phone, keeping out the real world, but everything was basically fine. Now he's balanced on a stone in the middle of a river and ... he and his friends are about to genetically mutate in impossible ways. If they don't die first. Want to find out what it's like to be on the run, with a really rubbish super-power? A road-trip adventure with a graphic-novel twist, this is the breathtaking sequel to THE IMPOSSIBLE.

Franklin Watts

Puberty and Growing Up

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Franklin Watts

My New Friend

Tom Easton
Authors:
Tom Easton
Franklin Watts

Breath by Breath: A Mindfulness Guide to Feeling Calm

Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli
Contributors:
Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli

Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of the Sun

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond

This is a moving, funny and inspirational novel from the bestselling author of Skellig."The day is long, the world is wide, you're young and free."One hot summer morning, Davie steps boldly out of his front door. The world he enters is very familiar - the little Tyneside town that has always been his home - but as the day passes, it becomes ever more mysterious. A boy has been killed, and Davie thinks he might know who is responsible. He turns away from the gossip and excitement and sets off roaming towards the sunlit hills above the town.As the day goes on, the real and the imaginary start to merge, and Davie knows that neither he nor his world will ever be the same again. This an outstanding novel full of warmth and light, from a multi-award-winning author. David Almond says: 'I guess it embodies my constant astonishment at being alive in this beautiful, weird, extraordinary world.'

Orion Children's Books

The Sleepover

Lauren Pearson, Richard Watson
Contributors:
Lauren Pearson, Richard Watson

A red Early Reader full of humour, fun and a surprising friendship from Lauren Pearson, illustrated by Richard Watson. Perfect for children who are feeling a little nervous or anxious.Clark is desperate to have his very first sleepover. His sister Camilla has them ALL the time! But he's a little bit nervous about it, too ... until the night he meets his unlikely new friend, Johnny. Would you have a sleepover with a spider? Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.

Quercus Children's Books

We Are Young

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke
Orchard Books

Everless

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland
Franklin Watts

Having a Disability

Louise Spilsbury
Authors:
Louise Spilsbury

How do you help a young child deal with disability or explain what that means? This hands-on picture book is designed to help children with their questions and feelings about tricky topics that can be hard to talk about. The exquisite and approachable illustrations give a comforting story book feel, particularly aimed at 5-7 year olds, while also appealing to both younger and older children. A perfect aid to help children open up and explore how they feel and give them steps they can take to help them cope.