Anne Walter - Little Red Riding Hood: Caperucita Roja - Hachette Children's Group

Little Red Riding Hood: Caperucita Roja

By Anne Walter
Illustrated by Marjorie Dumortier

  • Hardback
  • £8.99

Easy to read dual Language retellings of classic fairy tales, accompanied by beautiful colour artwork

An accessible introduction to modern languages, these billingual readers Introduce the best loved fairy tales with parallel text in English and Spanish. Stories are told in approximately 400 words and are supported by modern artwork. The two anguages are in a different fonts to help distinguish them clearly on each spread. As well as a perfect approach to learning a new language for the first time, these books will be a useful tool for EAL teaching as well. The texts are perfectly pitched for chidlren aged 5-7 and up.

Biographical Notes

Anne Walter is an expert on young children's fairy tales and she has written many adaptations for Franklin Watts for primary school age children. She is adept at short, accessible texts for reluctant and struggling readers and has a great undertanding of the literacy needs of young children. She frequents schools and libraries to promote her work and literacy development more generally.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445158242
  • Publication date: 14 Sep 2017
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Hodder Children's Books

Agent Weasel and the Abominable Dr Snow

Nick East
Authors:
Nick East

Meet Agent Weasel: woodland super-spy. Can he save the Big Freeze winter games from disaster? And will there be enough marshmallows for another hot chocolate? Perfect for reading alone or sharing together, for fans of The Bolds and Toto the Ninja Cat.It's the opening night of the Big Freeze winter games, but all is not well in the United Woodlands. Top animal athletes are disappearing, and there are whispers of a silent snow beast on the prowl. It's time to call Agent Weasel, woodland super-spy. Can he and his trusty dormouse friend Doorkins find out more about the sleek winter ermine who are winning all the golden acorns? Will Weasel be able to take part in the competition without falling over his own feet? Will there be enough marshmallows and sprinkles for another hot chocolate? Who knows? But rest assured: even on the darkest, coldest and snowiest of nights, Agent Weasel always gets his animal. This is the second in the rib-ticklingly funny Agent Weasel series, with glorious illustrations throughout.

Wren & Rook

Every Child A Song

Nicola Davies, Marc Martin
Contributors:
Nicola Davies, Marc Martin
Wren & Rook

How Did I Get Here?

Wren & Rook

Does It Fart?

Nick Caruso, Dani Rabaiotti, Alex G. Griffiths
Contributors:
Nick Caruso, Dani Rabaiotti, Alex G. Griffiths

An explosive and hilarious look at facts, farts, and fun!Dogs fart. Cats fart. Horses fart (a lot). But what about snakes? Spiders? Octopuses? What about chimpanzees? Cheetahs? Or dinosaurs?In this gaseous guide to kids' favourite animals (and some they've probably never heard of), young readers will discover not only which animals parp, but also which have the stinkiest farts, which fart the most, and where all this smelly stuff comes from. They'll even learn which species has its own secret fart code! Perfect for reluctant readers, and with full-colour illustrations throughout, Does It Fart? is the funniest book you never knew you needed.Based on the New York Times bestseller Does It Fart?: The Definitive Field Guide to Animal Flatulence.

Orchard Books

Where's the Poo? A Pooptastic Search and Find Book

Dynamo
Contributors:
Dynamo

A group of poos has been flushed away and embarks on an epic, fun-filled adventure round the world!Search for six very special poos in every scene. From a trip to the aquarium and a day at the theme park, to a rainforest trek and a roller disco, there's so much to spot and find!

Hodder Children's Books

BOOT - small robot, BIG adventure

Shane Hegarty
Authors:
Shane Hegarty
Wayland

Lizards

Pat Jacobs
Authors:
Pat Jacobs
Wayland

The Fall of the Berlin Wall

Patricia Levy
Authors:
Patricia Levy
Wayland

Incredible Rainforests

Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost

Take a stroll through the rainforest! From squawking birds of paradise, to monkeys swinging through the trees and insects crawling along the forest floor, be amazed by the variety of life that lives in the rainforest.This beautifully illustrated picture book shows the glorious nature that lives in the rainforest. Find out about food chains and the web of life in the different canopies of the huge rainforest trees.'Look and Wonder' is a fresh, bold and bright, narrative non-fiction picture book series, for children aged 4 and up, introducing children to life cycles and the natural world. The eye-poppingly colourful digital illustration style will explain the scientific concepts while the light and fun text-style will make these books real home and classroom favourites.Other titles in the series:A Stroll Through the SeasonsA Wonderful World of WeatherIncredible RainforestsThe Amazing Butterfly Life Cycle StoryThe Amazing Plant Life Cycle StoryThe Awesome Night SkyThe Great Big Water Cycle Adventure

Wayland

Amazing Animal Babies

Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost

Find out about different animals and their babies, from caterpillars to butterflies, joeys to kangaroos and cubs to lions.This beautifully illustrated picture book shows the wonderful world of nature in all its glory.'Look and Wonder' is a fresh, bold and bright, non-fiction picture book series, for children aged 4 and up, introducing children to life cycles and the natural world. The eye-poppingly colourful digital illustration style will explain the scientific concepts while the light and fun text-style will make these books real home and classroom favourites.Other titles in the series:A Stroll Through the SeasonsA Wonderful World of WeatherIncredible RainforestsThe Amazing Butterfly Life Cycle StoryThe Amazing Plant Life Cycle StoryThe Awesome Night SkyThe Great Big Water Cycle Adventure

Orchard Books

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn

Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Contributors:
Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson

A hilariously funny tale of friendship, belonging and LOTS OF EATING from the bestselling author of There Is No Dragon in This Story. Perfect for fans of Oi Frog.WITH SUPER SPARKLY GLITTER COVER!Oscar the Unicorn has eaten his stable so he needs to find somewhere else to live. Not easy if you're a unicorn who eats everything in sight ... No one wants him around: not the pirates or the fairies or the dragons. Will Oscar ever find a place to call home? Well, it just so happens that Princess Oola has been searching for a unicorn FOR EVER ...

Hodder Children's Books

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Hodder Children's Books

Toto the Ninja Cat and the Incredible Cheese Heist

Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Contributors:
Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Franklin Watts

Sleeping Beauty – English/Polish

Anne Walter
Authors:
Anne Walter
Franklin Watts

Goldilocks and the Three Bears – English/Polish

Anne Walter
Authors:
Anne Walter
Franklin Watts

Little Red Riding Hood – English/Polish

Anne Walter
Authors:
Anne Walter

Franklin Watts

The Ugly Duckling – English/Polish

Anne Walter
Authors:
Anne Walter

A beautiful billingual English-Polish picture book of The Ugly Duckling.An accessible introduction to modern languages, these billingual readers present well known fairy tales with parallel text in English and Polish. Stories are told in approximately 400 words and are supported by modern artwork. The two languages are in different fonts to help distinguish them clearly on each spread. As well as a perfect approach to learning a new language for the first time, these books will be a useful tool for EAL teaching as well. The texts are perfectly pitched for children aged 5-7 and up.

Wren & Rook

The World of the Whale

Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward
Contributors:
Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward
Wayland

With Everyday Things

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks

A collection of fun, simple, inexpensive craft projects, ideal for time-poor parents and budget-challenged schools, promoting reuse and recycling. Beautifully designed, the book is clearly and appealingly illustrated with step-by-step instructions and engaging artwork. Each activity is straightforward and achievable, and as such is therapeutic for stressed or anxious children, allowing them to make things by themselves, and to have confidence in their own abilities. Let's Make Art With Everyday Things shows you how to use object found lying around, from cardboard and coins to leaves and vegetables, to make ice-cream bunting, forky faces, pasta prints, a soapy solar system, leafy insects and much, much more. Techniques include printing, collage, making rubbings and paint-scraping - used in ingenious ways for fantastic results!Other titles in the series include Let's Make Art By Printing and Stamping, Let's Make Art with Hands and Feet and Let's Make Art with Scrap Paper, so there's a whole load of upcycling fun to be had!

Wayland

With Scrap Paper

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks

A collection of fun, simple, inexpensive craft projects, ideal for time-poor parents and budget-challenged schools, promoting reuse and recycling. Beautifully designed, the book is clearly and appealingly illustrated with step-by-step instructions and engaging artwork. Each activity is straightforward and achievable, and as such allows stressed or anxious children to 'make it happy', building confidence in their own abilities. Let's Make Art With Scrap Paper shows you how to weave paper into skyscrapers, make shaggy dogs from old newspaper, create a mosaic smiley snail, assemble an elephant-shaped bookmark from cardboard and old magazines and much, much more. Techniques include drawing, painting, printing, collage, making rubbings and paint-scraping - used in ingenious ways for fantastic results!Other titles in the series include Let's Make Art By Printing and Stamping, Let's Make Art with Everyday Things and Let's Make Art with Hands and Feet, so there's a whole load of upcycling fun to be had!