Anne Walter - Little Red Riding Hood: Caperucita Roja - Hachette Children's Group

Little Red Riding Hood: Caperucita Roja

By Anne Walter
Illustrated by Marjorie Dumortier

  • Hardback
  • £8.99

Easy to read dual Language retellings of classic fairy tales, accompanied by beautiful colour artwork

An accessible introduction to modern languages, these billingual readers Introduce the best loved fairy tales with parallel text in English and Spanish. Stories are told in approximately 400 words and are supported by modern artwork. The two anguages are in a different fonts to help distinguish them clearly on each spread. As well as a perfect approach to learning a new language for the first time, these books will be a useful tool for EAL teaching as well. The texts are perfectly pitched for chidlren aged 5-7 and up.

Biographical Notes

Anne Walter is an expert on young children's fairy tales and she has written many adaptations for Franklin Watts for primary school age children. She is adept at short, accessible texts for reluctant and struggling readers and has a great undertanding of the literacy needs of young children. She frequents schools and libraries to promote her work and literacy development more generally.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445158242
  • Publication date: 14 Sep 2017
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Orchard Books

Padma the Pirate Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Kirsty, Rachel and Padma for some perilous pirate fun!Padma the Pirate Fairy is here to take Kirsty and Rachel on a wild adventure! The two best friends must hold on to their hats as they set off on a rollicking journey to defeat dastardly Jack Frost and his goblins.

Franklin Watts

Anansi and the Box of Stories

Katie Dale, Valentina Bandera
Contributors:
Katie Dale, Valentina Bandera

A beautifully illustrated retelling of this favourite African tale. Anansi the spider is a trickster and he will stop at nothing to get Nyame's story box, proving that even the littlest among us can achieve the greatest things.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Orchard Books

The Night Thief

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Hodder Children's Books

The Squurms at No. 322

Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Chris Jevons

Nelly isn't scared of monsters. In fact, she babysits for them. From the bestselling author of the OI FROG! and DAISY books comes this hilarious, action-packed series for fans of THE BOLDS and BARRY LOSER.'If monsters are real, how come I've never seen one?''Because they never go out.''Why don't monsters ever go out?''Because they can never get a babysitter.'Ever ice-skated with a baby Thermitt, or played musical chairs with one hundred and twenty Digdiggs? Every time Nelly rings on a new monster family's doorbell she's up for a new challenge. Come on her monster-sitting adventures in this laugh-out-loud funny second book in the NELLY THE MONSTER SITTER series. Kes Gray is one of the Independent's top ten children's authors, and winner of the Red House Children's Book Award.This story now comes with brand-new illustrations; it was previously published in a collection entitled: Grerks, Squurms & Water Greeps.

Orchard Books

The Secret Jungle

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Ninja Strike

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Ivy the Worry Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel, Kirsty and Ivy as they help keep worries at bay!Ivy the Worry Fairy has a very important job - helping people manage their worries. Everyone gets worried from time to time, and it's important to know how to deal with it. But when Jack Frost steals Ivy's magical objects, her special power to help people is threatened! Can Rachel and Kirsty help get them back and help restore people's inner calm everywhere?

Franklin Watts

The Stone, Bronze and Iron Ages

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Which genius ideas and inventions began in the Stone, Bronze and Iron Ages? This period, stretching from the first ancestors of modern humans to the start of the ancient civilisations of Greece and Rome, was a time of amazing developments. Find out how the discovery of how to make fire and tools, farm the land and form symbols to communicate in writing transformed society and had a lasting impact on the way we live today.

Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Egg of Glory

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Franklin Watts

Enter The Penguin

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore

Take on the role of a cartoon hero in this fully interactive, wacky, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.YOU are a ninja penguin, and your recent travels take you to a seal village. But all is not well in town. A group of bandit bears are causing big trouble - and they might be even more than you can handle. YOU must team up with a gang of buddies - Foxy, Jagger, Snowy and Bigfoot - to battle Big Daddy Bear...Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve Skidmore, and illustrated by the amazing Lee Robinson.Age appropriate for 6 to 8 year olds. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Franklin Watts

Killer Custard

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore

Take on the role of a cartoon hero in this fully interactive, wacky, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.The school cook serves up smooth custard! And if that wasn't weird enough, the yellow stuff comes alive and starts to eat everyone... YOU must stop the revenge of the killer custard, before it's dessert time for everyone.Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve Skidmore, and illustrated by the amazing Lee Robinson.Age appropriate for 6 to 8 year olds. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Franklin Watts

Werewolf

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow

Take on the role of the Monster Hunter in this fully interactive, flick-through-the pages, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.YOU are the Monster Hunter, protecting the world from creatures in the shadows. Werewolves are runningwild in Russia. You're sent into the snow to stop them in their tracks...Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve SkidmoreAge appropriate for 8+. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Franklin Watts

Mutant

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Wren & Rook

The Good Guys

Rob Kemp, Paul Blow
Contributors:
Rob Kemp, Paul Blow

What if we celebrated men for their kindness as well their strength? For their generosity as well as their career success? For their loyal friendship as well as their charisma? The Good Guys introduces us to fifty men who have showed that changing the world doesn't require a sword or a corporate jet. Readers will find stories of extraordinary men including David Attenborough, Nelson Mandela, Oskar Schindler and Usain Bolt, as well as unsung heroes such as James Harrison, who has spent fifty years donating his rare blood to save millions of babies. There's even a section celebrating ten boys who didn't let their young age stop them from helping others, such as Matthew Kaplan, who responded to his brother's bullies by setting up an anti-bullying programme for schools. The Good Guys celebrates the feats of heroes and everyday men, and will inspire readers to transform the world through compassion, friendship and understanding.

Franklin Watts

Sleeping Beauty – English/Polish

Anne Walter
Authors:
Anne Walter

This is a beautiful billingual English-Polish edition of Sleeping Beauty.An accessible introduction to modern languages, these billingual readers Introduce the best loved fairy tales with parallel text in English and Polish. Stories are told in approximately 400 words and are supported by modern artwork. The two languages are in a different fonts to help distinguish them clearly on each spread. As well as a perfect approach to learning a new language for the first time, these books will be a useful tool for EAL teaching as well. The texts are perfectly pitched for chidlren aged 5-7 and up.

Franklin Watts

Goldilocks and the Three Bears – English/Polish

Anne Walter
Authors:
Anne Walter
Franklin Watts

Alien

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Franklin Watts

Zombie

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Franklin Watts

Little Red Riding Hood – English/Polish

Anne Walter
Authors:
Anne Walter

Franklin Watts

The Ugly Duckling – English/Polish

Anne Walter
Authors:
Anne Walter