Nicola Morgan - Positively Teenage - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781445158938
    • Publication date:26 Apr 2018

Positively Teenage

A positively brilliant guide to teenage well-being

By Nicola Morgan

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

A wellbeing guide to getting the best out of your teenage years

Positively Teenage gives you tools to approach your teenage years with optimism and understanding and to develop real wellbeing for life. The media so often portray adolescence negatively but this book shows you how to approach these years far more positively so that you can really flourish and be in control. You'll find simple strategies to develop a positive attitude, growth mindset, self-understanding, determination and resilience and you'll see how those strengths will help you cope with any challenges, enjoy life and achieve your potential. Full of practical, proven strategies for physical and mental health, Positively Teenage will show you lots of ways to flourish physically and mentally - from doing things you enjoy to learning new skills; looking after your diet, exercise and attitude to being healthy online; getting great sleep to understanding your personality - allowing you to take control of many areas of your life. With these new strengths and skills, you can survive any storms and thrive on the challenges of your exciting life.

Scattered throughout are POSITIVE BOOSTS: quick ideas for actions you can take to build positivity and well-being. Add them into your life and use your imagination and your new understanding to invent others.

Positively Teenage gives you the power to let yourself flourish, achieve and be who you want to be. Use your powers well! Be truly, positively, teenage! Stand tall, stretch your arms wide, take a deep breath and say, loudly (or in your head), 'I can do this!'

"Nicola Morgan has that rare gift of being able to communicate science and make it fun." Professor Simon Baron Cohen, University of Cambridge

Biographical Notes

Nicola Morgan is an international speaker and award-winning author for and about teenagers. She has written nearly 100 books, including novels such as Fleshmarket (currently being adapted for the London stage) and Mondays are Red, but in the last twelve years she has become increasingly well known for her passionate factual work on adolescence, with Blame My Brain - The Amazing Teenage Brain Revealed and The Teenage Guide to Stress being seminal titles for teenagers and the adults who work with and care about them. A former teacher and dyslexia specialist, Nicola now writes and speaks around the world on a range of subjects relating to adolescence and wellbeing, as well as the reading brain, reading for pleasure and the effects of life online. Her positive, respectful and empathetic attitude towards young people naturally led her to write Positively Teenage.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445158143
  • Publication date: 24 May 2018
  • Page count: 192
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Hodder Children's Books

Grace and Fury

Tracy Banghart, Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart, Tracy Banghart

In a world where women have no rights, sisters Nomi and Serina Tessaro face two very different fates. Serina has been groomed her whole life to become a Grace - one of three poised, beautiful women selected to stand by Prince Malachi's side as shining, subjugated examples of what all women should be. But when Nomi catches the prince's eye instead, it's Serina who must take the fall for the dangerous secret that her little sister has been hiding.The girls are separated, finding themselves in cages of different kinds: one in the palace, the other in prison, both desperate to escape. In a world this dangerous, one wrong move could cost these sisters their lives.

Orchard Books

A Thousand Perfect Notes

C. G. Drews
Authors:
C. G. Drews
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Truth of Different Skies

Kate Ling
Authors:
Kate Ling

What makes you abandon your world? How do you say goodbye when it's forever? A heart-breaking story about survival, love and hope. For fans of Meg Rosoff and Beth Revis.'I've always feared this place would keep me rooted forever . . . but now, without gravity, I'm flying, floating, falling' Bea feels trapped. Having never left her small town and with no money or anyone to rely on, she faces the inevitable future of a dead-end job - forced to survive, rather than live. When a message arrives from space, a mission is planned to travel to its source. Bea knows she has to be chosen to go, no matter what it takes, even though it means leaving Earth forever. Her life has to matter. Except she didn't plan on falling in love before she left . . .

Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed
Franklin Watts

Cheetah Learns to Play Nicely - A book about being a good sport

Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Franklin Watts

Breath by Breath: A Mindfulness Guide to Feeling Calm

Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli
Contributors:
Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli

Wayland

Paper Print Stamp

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks
Franklin Watts

Get Outdoors: A Mindfulness Guide to Noticing Nature

Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli
Contributors:
Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli

It's Saturday morning and Jada and her brother Michael are watching TV. It's a beautiful day and Dad wants to get them outside so he invents 'The Garden Game'. Whoever notices the most interesting things is the winner. At first, they can't see anything. Just grass and flowers. But by looking slowly, more closely, and using all of their senses, they soon begin to notice lots of fascinating things. Small things they would not have noticed before seem so much bigger and interesting. And finally, their sense of smell leads them to the prize!The story shows how they use mindfulness - the ability to pay attention to the present moment with curiosity - to help them pay attention in everyday life.Mindfulness practices (exercises) are integrated into each story, and expanded on in the 'Notes to Parents and Teachers' section at the end of the books. Readers are invited to PAUSE at various points in the story to notice their own present moment experience. The four stories in the 'Mindful Me' series explore how a mindful attitude to life can enhance enjoyment, promote a sense of calm and confidence, and provide young people with a 'friend for life'. Mindfulness techniques have been shown to help relieve stress and anxiety and improve health and mental well-being.The books can be used at home or in the classroom, for storytime or as part of the PSHCE curriculum.The other titles are:Breath by Breath: A Mindfulness Guide to Keeping CalmExploring Emotions: A Mindfulness Guide to Dealing with EmotionsSleep Easy: A Mindfulness Guide to Getting a Good Night's Sleep

Franklin Watts

Sleep Easy: A Mindfulness Guide to Getting a Good Night's Sleep

Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli
Contributors:
Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli
Franklin Watts

Exploring Emotions: A Mindfulness Guide to Dealing with Emotions

Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli
Contributors:
Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli
Franklin Watts

Autism

Louise Spilsbury
Authors:
Louise Spilsbury
Hodder Children's Books

Movie Night

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay
Orchard Books

Everless

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland

Time is a prison. She is the key. Packed with danger, temptation and desire - a perfect read for fans of The Red Queen.In the land of Sempera, the rich control everything - even time. Ever since the age of alchemy and sorcery, hours, days and years have been extracted from blood and bound to iron coins. The rich live for centuries; the poor bleed themselves dry.Jules and her father are behind on their rent and low on hours. To stop him from draining himself to clear their debts, Jules takes a job at Everless, the grand estate of the cruel Gerling family. There, Jules encounters danger and temptation in the guise of the Gerling heir, Roan, who is soon to be married. But the web of secrets at Everless stretches beyond her desire, and the truths Jules must uncover will change her life for ever ... and possibly the future of time itself.'Sara Holland is a fierce storyteller. An intoxicating blend of blood, secrets, and haunting mythology, Everless gives new and terrifying meaning to the phrase running out of time.' Stephanie Garber, New York Times and Sunday Times bestselling author of Caraval

Orchard Books

Dino Duckling

Alison Murray
Authors:
Alison Murray

A funny and touching celebration of difference, based on Hans Christian Andersen's The Ugly Duckling.Dino Duckling can dive, swim and fish just like his duckling brothers and sisters. But when the time comes for the family fly south for the winter, Dino Duckling finds he really is different ... Can this very special family find a way to stick together?Alison Murray's stylish adaptions of popular nursery rhymes and fables have been shortlisted twice for the prestigious Scottish Book Trust Children's Book Award. Look out for these other delightful retellings of classic rhymes and fables from Alison Murray: Apple Pie ABCHare and TortoiseHickory Dickory DogLittle MouseThe House That Zack BuiltOne, Two, That's My Shoe

Hodder Children's Books

Crash Landing

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Hodder Children's Books

Satellite

Nick Lake
Authors:
Nick Lake

The Martian for teens - an epic, highly original space thriller with real science and heartbreaking beauty.Leo has never set foot on Earth. Born and raised with twins Orion and Libra on the Moon 2 Space Station, they have grown up together in the most extraordinary of ways. Now, they are preparing to make their first trip home - their first journey to Earth. But Leo, Orion and Libra cannot possibly imagine the irreversible consequences that their return will set into motion...

Franklin Watts

Suffragettes and the Fight for the Vote

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley
Franklin Watts

Being Safe with People

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

Being Safe On A Bike

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Wayland

It's Not Fair

Brian Moses
Authors:
Brian Moses

Young children experience many confusing emotions in their early years and It's Not Fiar looks at the situations where children feel they have been treated unfairly, in light-hearted but ultimately reassuring way. This picture book examines how and why people find situations unfair, illustrates scenarios of people acting out because of this, and the best way to deal with it with age-appropriate content.Ideal for home or the classroom, this book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to help children deal with situations when things feel unfair.