John C. Miles - The Home Front - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Home Front

By John C. Miles

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

A in-depth look at the heroic fighting forces of the Second World War
Biographical Notes

John. C Miles began his fascinating journey of discovery in Toronto, Canada where he trained as a classical musician. Moving to the UK, he spent many years as a parasite on the broad back of London whilst working as a children's non-fiction editor. Like Anthony à Wood, he is a snapper up of unconsidered historical trifles and has spent many years studying the past and wondering how and why. He now lives near Bath, growing parsnips, taking photographs with his collection of vintage film cameras and dressing as an 18th-century pirate.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445157870
  • Publication date: 28 Jun 2018
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Hodder Children's Books

The Sharp Edge of a Snowflake

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir
Wayland

The Fall of the Berlin Wall

Patricia Levy
Authors:
Patricia Levy
Hodder Children's Books

Devoted

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu

An empowering, feminist coming-of-age story about self-discovery, from the author of MOXIE - a Zoella Book Club book ...Rachel Walker's family and community have turned away from the world.Every part of Rachel's life is controlled, from what she reads to where she goes and what she wears. Her parents dictate how her life must be: marriage, modesty, children and obedience to her future husband. But when a former member of her community, a girl who escaped, moves back to her small Texas town, Rachel's world turns upside down.She realises that her life is her own. But can she find the courage to fight for it?

Hodder Children's Books

The Other Side of Lost

Nick Lake
Authors:
Nick Lake

Sixteen-year-old Emily and her little brother Aidan are onboard a plane bound for Anchorage. When the plane crashes, both kids and the pilot barely escape with their lives and are left to fight for survival in the Alaskan wilderness. But there is worse to come - Emily and Aidan are being chased, and their shady, unknown pursuers are closing in. As the kids go on the run, Emily finds herself in greater danger than she could have imagined. Because nothing in her life is what it seems - not even the things she holds dearest of all...

Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Egg of Glory

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Franklin Watts

Roman Britain

Moira Butterfield
Authors:
Moira Butterfield
Orion Children's Books

Wundersmith

Jessica Townsend
Authors:
Jessica Townsend
Wayland

Mayans

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards
Quercus Children's Books

The Lost Magician

Piers Torday
Authors:
Piers Torday
Hodder Children's Books

Grace and Fury

Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart

Bold, brutal and beautiful, this is a must-read with the glitter and romance of The Selection and the thrilling action and intrigue of Red Queen.In a world where women have no rights, sisters Serina and Nomi face two very different fates: one in the palace, the other on an island prison where women must fight to survive. Serina has spent her whole life preparing to become a Grace - selected to stand by the heir to the throne as a shining example of the perfect woman. But her headstrong and rebellious younger sister has a dangerous secret, and one wrong move could cost both sisters everything. Can Serina fight? And will Nomi win?

Franklin Watts

London on Fire: A Great City at the time of the Great Fire

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles
Franklin Watts

At Sea

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles

A look at the heroic fighting forces of the Second World WarHow did the forces that fought at sea affect the outcome of the Second World War? This book explores the ships and submarines that slugged it out to rule the seas during the Second World War, from stealthy U-boats to mighty battleships. Along the way, readers will discover the key battles, tactics and weapons that helped the Allies to victory. The Fighting Forces of the Second World War is a must-read for all young military buffs, who enjoy poring over the tactics, uniforms, weapons, special equipment and much more of the heroic fighting forces who waged the Second World War. Key battles and notable events, told chronologically, provide a useful solid historical structure and offer key learning, while the single-topic approach allows easy comparison between the different sidesA great series for readers aged 11 and up.

Wayland

Masters of Matter

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown

What if you could teleport, change shape or be elastic? You'd be a superhero BUT are these superpowers feasible in the real world? Superpower Science: Masters of Matter tells you all about the reality of these superpowers when looked at through a scientific lens.The series Superpower Science focuses on the superpowers commonly associated with superheroes and reveals just how scientifically realistic they could be to us mere humans. Each title focuses on four superpowers and explains which science principles would come into action if the superpower existed and what effect these science principles would have on the body. Momentum builds by questioning everything as we progress. The comic book format and vintage-looking colourful illustrations paired with quirky and humorous explanations turn what would be considered by many as dry physics principles into high interest exciting books. By pointing out the physical limitations of superpowers, the series aims to fix them, not crush children's dreams but inspire them to be interested in science. Perfect for reader aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

Get in Shape

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson
Wayland

Fantastic Forces and Motion

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown

What if you could fly or have super strength or super speed? You'd be a superhero BUT are these superpowers feasible in the real world? Superpower Science: Fantastic Forces and Motion tells you all about the reality of these superpowers when looked at through a scientific lens.The series Superpower Science focuses on the superpowers commonly associated with superheroes and reveals just how scientifically realistic they could be to us mere humans. Each title focuses on four superpowers and explains which science principles would come into action if the superpower existed and what effect these science principles would have on the body. Momentum builds through each superhero story as we question everything and clearly explain the science behind their powers as they would exist in real-life. The comic book format and vintage-looking colourful illustrations paired with quirky and humorous explanations turn what would be considered by many as dry physics principles into high interest exciting books. By pointing out the physical limitations of superpowers, the series aims to fix them, not crush children's dreams but inspire them to be interested in science. Perfect for reader aged 9 and up.

Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins
Hodder Children's Books

Arrowheart

Rebecca Sky
Authors:
Rebecca Sky

What if you had the power to make any boy fall in love with you? Addictive romance with a fantasy twist for fans of Holly Smale, Ally Carter, and Zoe Sugg.The gods are gone. The people have forgotten them. But sixteen-year-old Rachel Patel can't forget - the gods control her life, or more specifically, her love life.Being a Hedoness, one of a strong group of women descended from Greek God Eros, makes true love impossible for Rachel. She wields the power of that magical golden arrow, and with it, the promise to take the will of any boy she kisses. But the last thing Rachel wants is to force someone to love her . . .When seventeen-year-old Benjamin Blake's disappearance links back to the Hedonesses, Rachel's world collides with his, and her biggest fear becomes a terrifying reality. She's falling for him - a messy, magnetic, arrow-over-feet type of fall.Rachel distances herself, struggling to resist the growing attraction, but when he gives up his dream to help her evade arrest, distance becomes an insurmountable task. With the police hot on their trail, Rachel soon realises there are darker forces hunting them - a group of mortals recruited by the gods who will stop at nothing to preserve the power of the Hedonesses - not to mention Eros himself, who is desperate to reverse the curse . . .Prepare to fall under the spell of Wattpad star Rebecca Sky, in this compulsive romance.

Orchard Books

A Thousand Perfect Notes

C. G. Drews
Authors:
C. G. Drews
Orchard Books

Everless

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland

THE TOP TEN BESTSELLERTime is a prison. She is the key. Packed with danger, temptation and desire - a perfect read for fans of The Red Queen.In the land of Sempera, the rich control everything - even time. Ever since the age of alchemy and sorcery, hours, days and years have been extracted from blood and bound to iron coins. The rich live for centuries; the poor bleed themselves dry.Jules and her father are behind on their rent and low on hours. To stop him from draining himself to clear their debts, Jules takes a job at Everless, the grand estate of the cruel Gerling family. There, Jules encounters danger and temptation in the guise of the Gerling heir, Roan, who is soon to be married. But the web of secrets at Everless stretches beyond her desire, and the truths Jules must uncover will change her life for ever ... and possibly the future of time itself.'Sara Holland is a fierce storyteller. An intoxicating blend of blood, secrets, and haunting mythology, Everless gives new and terrifying meaning to the phrase running out of time.' Stephanie Garber, New York Times and Sunday Times bestselling author of Caraval

Franklin Watts

Your Number's Up

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson