Simon Chapman - Himalayan Mountains - Hachette Children's Group

Himalayan Mountains

By Simon Chapman

  • Hardback
  • £13.99

Get stuck into exploring, and find out more about the world's amazing biomes, in these expedition diaries.

Simon is heading to the Himalayan Mountains of western China, where he'll begin his journey along the Nujiang River and up through coniferous forests into the alpine region. He faces treacherous mountains in the last leg of his trek to find Yunnan snub-nosed monkeys.

Simon Chapman, winner of the Blue Peter Book Award, brings geography to life, and his Expedition Diaries are a great way to introduce the world's biomes and habitats to children, direct from someone who's actually been in them - sometimes up to his neck! These books are perfect for sparking interest in this key school topic.

Biographical Notes

Simon Chapman is a British children's writer. His books include the Explorers Wanted! series, of which Explorers Wanted! At the North Pole won a Blue Peter Book Award inn 2005. Simon teaches physics at Morecambe Community High School in Lancashire.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445156781
  • Publication date: 09 Nov 2017
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Wayland

Adventure Projects

Andrew Robinson
Authors:
Andrew Robinson
Wayland

Game Projects

Andrew Robinson
Authors:
Andrew Robinson
Wren & Rook

Incredible Journeys: Discovery, Adventure, Danger, Endurance

Levison Wood, Sam Brewster
Contributors:
Levison Wood, Sam Brewster
Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Early Reader: School Trip

The Pokémon School students are going to Kanto! They can't wait to find out about all of the differences between the Pokémon in Kanto and Alola. Plus, they get to battle it out in the Pokémon Gym! Gotta catch 'em all!

Wayland

The Fall of the Berlin Wall

Patricia Levy
Authors:
Patricia Levy

High-drama history, describing moment-by-moment the fall of the Berlin WallThirty years ago, on 9 November 1989, the Berlin Wall came down. This historic event is described in detail, focusing not only on the day itself, but also what led to the wall being there in the first place. It looks at the history of the Wall, explaining why it was built, as well as looking at the implications of what happened in the wider context of 20th century history. Real life accounts are included in moment-in-time boxes, acting as a freeze frame of people's thoughts, emotions and experiences as those from West Germany were at last free to travel to the East and vice versa.Complete with photographs, maps and a timeline, this is a fascinating insight into 20th century history.An ideal book to support the study of modern history in schools

Wayland

Experiments for Exploring Outer Space

Mark Thompson
Authors:
Mark Thompson
Wayland

Experiments for Looking Into Space

Mark Thompson
Authors:
Mark Thompson
Franklin Watts

The Stone, Bronze and Iron Ages

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Which genius ideas and inventions began in the Stone, Bronze and Iron Ages? This period, stretching from the first ancestors of modern humans to the start of the ancient civilisations of Greece and Rome, was a time of amazing developments. Find out how the discovery of how to make fire and tools, farm the land and form symbols to communicate in writing transformed society and had a lasting impact on the way we live today.

Wayland

Sports

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Wayland

Inventions

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins

Are there any inventions older than the wheel? Who invented the computer? What was all the fuss about inventing a flying machine - and was it really that dangerous? Whether it spins, flies, lights up or explodes, Infomojis: Inventions is all about exploring inventions in a fun and engaging way. Core scientific areas of investigation are covered, such as how wing shape creates lift or how splitting atoms creates a deadly bang!The book features custom-made 'infomojis' - presenting the information with real personality! So inject fun into facts, and take your young astronomer to the next evolution in infographics. Infomojis is a series of ten books that are perfect for curious readers aged 8+.

Franklin Watts

Roman Britain

Moira Butterfield
Authors:
Moira Butterfield
Wayland

Planet Earth

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins

Did you know that Earth formed about 4.5 billion years ago? Or about earthquakes, ecosystems and the Goldilocks Zone? Well, where have you been?! Whether it smashes, erupts, evaporates or freezes, Infomojis: Planet Earth is all about exploring our planet in a fun and engaging way. Core scientific areas of investigation are covered, such as plate tectonics and the role rainforests play in life on Earth.The book features custom-made 'infomojis' - presenting the information with real personality! So inject fun into facts, and take your young geologist to the next evolution in infographics. Infomojis is a series of ten books that are perfect for curious readers aged 8+.

Wayland

Space

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Franklin Watts

Easter

Jasmine Brooke
Authors:
Jasmine Brooke

This book explores the festival of Easter and the story behind it and features six simple origami projects for your own festive fun! The book shows how people around the world celebrate Easter both in church and at home. Attractively designed, its simple text and wonderful full-colour photos make this an essential book for children celebrating or learning about the festival. The origami activities are accessible to all and are explained with step-by-step illustrations. Your fantastic creations can be used as decorations for the festival, for presents, to impress your teacher for a Easter school project or simply to wow your friends!The book is part of the Origami Festivals series, which bring religious festivals to life through origami art. Each festival is examined in detail, from its history to its significance today and the manner in which people worldwide celebrate it. Origami craft activities engage the reader in each festival and add a fun art and design element to the series. A religious and interactive craft series for children aged 9+.

Wayland

Experiments for Rocketing into Space

Mark Thompson
Authors:
Mark Thompson
Wayland

Experiments for Surviving in Space

Mark Thompson
Authors:
Mark Thompson

Find out what its like to live in space with these fun experiments. There are lots of things to think about if we want to be able to survive in space. What will you eat? How will you cook? How will you grow food? Many of these things become a lot harder in space not just because of the lack of air but also because you will probably be weightless and floating around inside the spaceship. There are dangers in space too like rocks flying around that could hit the unexacting astronaut and radiation from the Sun. Have fun carrying out these twelve activities to help you explore what it might be like to live in space.Easy to follow, step-by-step instructions show you how to investigate everything you ever wanted to know about space.Uses readily available, cheap materials.This series covers key areas of the curriculum such as forces, rocks and soils, healthy diets, exercise, recycling and waste management, magnets, solar power, gravity, distance, maps and constellations.

Hodder Children's Books

I Am Fugitive

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir

What if finding out the meaning of life meant destroying peace on Earth - would you still seek out the answers? Perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas, The Hunger Games and Divergent After rescuing thousands of teenagers from a gruelling regime in space, Amy Sullivan must try to make sense of home, as it is now. But after an invasion of such colossal proportions, it seems Earth won't be going back to normal any time soon. And when Amy is made Ambassador for Solidarity at the newly created Earth Council, she must defend Earth against new attacks from Visitors. Working day and night to protect planet Earth, Amy still dreams of Caeser, the boy with the dimples, from another planet - she is convinced he can help her. But Caeser is still in space, where conflict is the only thing on agenda. Are two teenagers from different galaxies able to make those in power choose peace ... over the very meaning of life itself?

Franklin Watts

Chinese New Year

Robyn Hardyman
Authors:
Robyn Hardyman

This book explores the festival of Chinese New Year and the story behind it and features eight simple origami projects for your own festive fun! The book shows how people around the world celebrate Chinese New Year and what the Chinese calendar and the animals of the zodiac are. Attractively designed, its simple text and wonderful full-colour photos make this an essential book for children celebrating or learning about the festival. The origami activities are accessible to all and are explained with step-by-step illustrations. Your fantastic creations can be used as decorations for the festival, for presents, to impress your teacher for a Chinese New Year, or China, school project or simply to wow your friends!The book is part of the Origami Festivals series, which bring religious festivals to life through origami art. Each festival is examined in detail, from its history to its significance today and the manner in which people worldwide celebrate it. Origami craft activities engage the reader in each festival and add a fun art and design element to the series. An interactive craft series for children aged 9+.

Wayland

India

Rosemary Hankin
Authors:
Rosemary Hankin

Explore the landscape, climate and produce of different regions of India and find out how these influence the food people eat and the meals they prepare. Then learn how to make well-known Indian dishes such as aloo ka paratha, rajma and chicken biryani to share with your family and friends.

Wayland

Italy

Rosemary Hankin
Authors:
Rosemary Hankin

Explore the history, landscape and produce of different regions of Italy and find out how these influence the food people eat and the meals they prepare. Then learn how to make well-known Italian dishes such as minestrone soup, Margherita pizza and tiramisu to share with your family and friends.