Andy Glynne - Naomi's Story - Living with Leukaemia - Hachette Children's Group

Naomi's Story - Living with Leukaemia

By Andy Glynne

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

Real-life testimonies of young people living with illness. Originally made as a series of animated films for the BBC, these books explore the experiences of young people who are dealing with different illnesses

This powerful and eye opening picture book uses the first-person testimony of Naomi, a 10-year-old girl with acute lymphoblastic leukaemia. Naomi bravely explains what it was like to find out she had cancer, when she lost all her hair and what it was like spending so much time in hospital.

The intimate and direct impact of using Naomi's real first-person testimony encourages us to empathise with her situation, and to understand how some children's lives are very different from their own. Naomi talks about school, family, friends and explains the confusion and chaos caused by cancer.

The BAFTA award-winning stories were originally produced as animations for the BBC. Aimed at children aged 9 and up, these powerful and evocative stories have now been captured in book form as rich, visual testimonies of the impact an illness has on a child's daily life and how they cope and are able to enjoy the life that they have.

Biographical Notes

Andy Glynne is a double BAFTA award-winning documentary filmmaker, producer, clinical psychologist and author. He is the Founding Director of DFG - the Documentary Filmmakers Group - the UK's national organisation to promote innovation and talent in documentary filmmaking. Andy is also Managing Director of the production company Mosaic Films. He has directed and produced numerous award-winning documentaries both in the UK and across the world, and has spent much of his career working with, and mentoring, new and emerging filmmakers.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445156682
  • Publication date: 26 Oct 2017
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Franklin Watts

Natural Resources

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

A powerful look at the biggest environmental issues facing our generationEarth's growing population is putting an unprecedented strain on our rich natural resources, from water and wood, to fossil fuels and wildlife. Can we reduce and manage our demand before it becomes too late? Our Earth is facing huge environmental challenges, from plastic pollution choking our oceans to critical loss of biodiversity. Ecographics aims to raise young readers' awareness of these challenges with the latest headline-grabbing facts and stats, pertinent case studies and powerful photos.Important reading for children aged 8 and up.

Franklin Watts

Hidden Talent

Cath Jones, Anne Defreville
Contributors:
Cath Jones, Anne Defreville
Franklin Watts

When People Die

Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Contributors:
Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean

Death is difficult to deal with at any age, but for children who are handling it for the first time, it can be extra tough. This engaging book will help young readers learn to navigate this type of situation. It features seven case studies following children who have a range of issues from a girl who misses her mum to a boy who is worried he might die. The end of the book features a short playscript to act out and discuss.Whether it is a friend, family member or acquaintance who has passed away, readers will learn about the best ways to handle death through the help of the relatable stories and colourful illustrations. Practical advice is presented in a way readers of all ages can understand and implement into their own lives. In this series case studies combine with sensible, practical advice to help children find out what to do in difficult situations.

Franklin Watts

The Blitz Baby

Damian Harvey, Nicolas Hitori De
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, Nicolas Hitori De
Franklin Watts

Hasan's Idea

Jill Atkins, José Rubert
Contributors:
Jill Atkins, José Rubert

Hasan is new at school - and he has a brilliant idea to help him settle in, and for his friends to learn more about each other's cultures.This first colour chapter book is a perfectly levelled, accessible text for Key stage 2 readers aged 9-10. Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and activities to provoke deeper response and encourage writing. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Insects, Bugs and Other Invertebrates

Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Contributors:
Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Franklin Watts

My Parents' Divorce

Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Contributors:
Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Wayland

The Energy We Use

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

What are the problems and challenges we face around the world when it comes to the energy we use? How can we make the most of renewable energy sources and find alternative forms of fuel? Interactive 'Solve It!' design challenges give readers the information they need to develop sustainable solutions to the problems discussed, and step-by-step 'Test It!' activities encourage them to explore putting principles into practice.

Wayland

The Stuff We Buy

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Orchard Books

Ospira the Savage Sorceress

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Franklin Watts

Melissa's Story - Living with HIV

Andy Glynne
Authors:
Andy Glynne
Franklin Watts

My Stepfamily

Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Contributors:
Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean

This book helps young children aged 7+ find out about and understand life in a stepfamily. When a child's parent remarries, that child gains a new parent, and often, new siblings. This can be great, but it can also come with its own unique set of challenges. This informative book is designed to help readers navigate and learn from these challenges. Relatable stories are presented through the use of colourful illustrations and accessible text. This book is an excellent resource for readers who have recently become or are currently preparing to become part of a new stepfamily.It features seven stories from children who have a range of stepfamily issues from a girl who doesn't want to share to a boy who is worried because he likes his stepdad more than his 'real' dad. The end of the book features a short playscript to act out and discuss. In this series case studies combine with sensible, practical advice to help children find out what to do in difficult situations.

Franklin Watts

Ben and Izzy's Story - Living with Anaphylaxis

Andy Glynne
Authors:
Andy Glynne
Franklin Watts

Our New Baby

Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Contributors:
Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Franklin Watts

Understanding Sexuality

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

This book looks at the issues around sexuality - what it means, being lesbian, gay or bisexual, coming out, homophobia and accepting yourself and being happy in your own skin. It includes talking and debating points and is perfect for someone starting to question their sexuality or for PSHE lessons.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Franklin Watts

Mountains

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Explore mountains around the world and find out how they are created. See what happens when mountains experience erosion and how climate and biomes change with height. Find out about the people, plants and animals that live at high altitudes and the risk of deadly avalanches.Geographics is an engaging series with colourful infographics and photos used to illustrate universal geography topics such as volcanoes, rivers and earthquakes. Perfect for the geography curriculum at KS2 the series is suitable for children aged 8 and up.

Franklin Watts

Jasper's Story – Living with Cystic Fibrosis

Andy Glynne
Authors:
Andy Glynne

This powerful and eye opening picture book uses the first-person testimony of Jasper, a 10-year-old boy with cystic fibrosis. Jasper explains what his condition is, the treatment he receives and the emotional challenges he faces. Using Jasper's real first-person testimony creates an intimate and direct tone that will help students to empathise with people's differences. Jasper's circumstances are easily relatable to children; he talks about school, his brother, friends, his hobbies and explains the complications that cystic fibrosis brings to these situations.The BAFTA award-winning stories were originally produced as animations for the BBC. Aimed at children aged 9 and up, these powerful and evocative stories have now been captured in book form as rich, visual testimonies of the impact an illness has on a child's daily life and how they cope and are able to enjoy the life that they have.

Franklin Watts

Summer's Story - Living with Epilepsy

Andy Glynne
Authors:
Andy Glynne

Orchard Books

The Ethan I Was Before

Ali Standish
Authors:
Ali Standish

My dare. My friend. My fault. Uplifting and unpredictable, this poignant debut middle-grade novel is a classic in the making. Perfect for fans of Wonder and A Boy Called Hope.Ethan had been many things. He was always ready for adventure and always willing to accept a dare, especially from his best friend, Kacey. But that was before. Before the accident that took Kacey from him. Before his family moved from the city he loves to a tiny town in the middle of nowhere. Ethan's new home feels like the place for second chances. It's also home to Coralee, a girl with a big personality and even bigger stories. Coralee may be just the friend Ethan needs, except Ethan isn't the only one with secrets. Coralee's are catching up with her, and what she's hiding might be putting both their lives at risk. The Ethan I Was Before is a story of friendship, wonder, adventure and ultimately of hope.

Wayland

Navid's Story - A Journey from Iran

Andy Glynne, Jonathan Topf
Contributors:
Andy Glynne, Jonathan Topf