Deborah Chancellor - A Walk From Our Island School - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781445127453
    • Publication date:27 Feb 2014
Books in this series

A Walk From Our Island School

By Deborah Chancellor

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A young geography series which uses circular walks from schools to explore geographical features and simple map skills

A group of friends from Tobermory Primary School in Mull, Scotland are going on a walk. The children have planned their walk carefully and have a list of questions they want to answer about their local area. We then follow them as they explore their local area and answer their questions.

This book is part of 'A walk from' series which explores different geographical environments using maps and photos. It helps young children understand geographical similarities and differences through studying the human and physical geography of a small area of the United Kingdom. The books feature key physical and human geographical vocabulary and skills such as compass directions, map reading and recognising landmarks and features. Perfect for readers aged 7 and up.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445155890
  • Publication date: 12 Oct 2017
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Hodder Children's Books

Agent Weasel and the Abominable Dr Snow

Nick East
Authors:
Nick East

Meet Agent Weasel: woodland super-spy. Can he save the Big Freeze winter games from disaster? And will there be enough marshmallows for another hot chocolate? Perfect for reading alone or sharing together, for fans of The Bolds and Toto the Ninja Cat.It's the opening night of the Big Freeze winter games, but all is not well in the United Woodlands. Top animal athletes are disappearing, and there are whispers of a silent snow beast on the prowl. It's time to call Agent Weasel, woodland super-spy. Can he and his trusty dormouse friend Doorkins find out more about the sleek winter ermine who are winning all the golden acorns? Will Weasel be able to take part in the competition without falling over his own feet? Will there be enough marshmallows and sprinkles for another hot chocolate? Who knows? But rest assured: even on the darkest, coldest and snowiest of nights, Agent Weasel always gets his animal. This is the second in the rib-ticklingly funny Agent Weasel series, with glorious illustrations throughout.

Wayland

Save the Animals

Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen

Good to be Green is a series of six environment education books that help children age 6+ explore green issues and find out what they can do to help the planet. Each book features the story of a child who is exploring their world and learning why it's important to think green. Alongside the stories are fact boxes with extra information and at the end of each story there are activity ideas, teaching notes and a quiz. Each story is accompanied by bright illustrations by Diane Ewen.

Wayland

Save and Mend

Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen

Good to be Green is a series of six environment education books that help children age 6+ explore green issues and find out what they can do to help the planet. Each book features the story of a child who is exploring their world and learning why it's important to think green. Alongside the stories are fact boxes with extra information and at the end of each story there are activity ideas, teaching notes and a quiz. Each story is accompanied by bright illustrations by Diane Ewen.

Wayland

Let's Walk to School

Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen

Good to be Green is a series of six environment education books that help children age 6+ explore green issues and find out what they can do to help the planet. Each book features the story of a child who is exploring their world and learning why it's important to think green. Alongside the stories are fact boxes with extra information and at the end of each story there are activity ideas, teaching notes and a quiz. Each story is accompanied by bright illustrations by Diane Ewen.

Wayland

Don't Waste Your Food

Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen

Good to be Green is a series of six environment education books that help children age 6+ explore green issues and find out what they can do to help the planet. Each book features the story of a child who is exploring their world and learning why it's important to think green. Alongside the stories are fact boxes with extra information and at the end of each story there are activity ideas, teaching notes and a quiz. Each story is accompanied by bright illustrations by Diane Ewen.

Wren & Rook

How Did I Get Here?

This is the unathorised biography of you. Charting your incredible journey from Big Bang to birth (in about the time it takes to eat your breakfast), Philip Bunting's hilarious and one of a kind history of evolution was created to raise more questions than it answers. Perfect for fans of Jon Klassen and Chris Haughton.

Wren & Rook

Does It Fart?

Nick Caruso, Dani Rabaiotti, Alex G. Griffiths
Contributors:
Nick Caruso, Dani Rabaiotti, Alex G. Griffiths

An explosive and hilarious look at facts, farts, and fun!Dogs fart. Cats fart. Horses fart (a lot). But what about snakes? Spiders? Octopuses? What about chimpanzees? Cheetahs? Or dinosaurs?In this gaseous guide to kids' favourite animals (and some they've probably never heard of), young readers will discover not only which animals parp, but also which have the stinkiest farts, which fart the most, and where all this smelly stuff comes from. They'll even learn which species has its own secret fart code! Perfect for reluctant readers, and with full-colour illustrations throughout, Does It Fart? is the funniest book you never knew you needed.Based on the New York Times bestseller Does It Fart?: The Definitive Field Guide to Animal Flatulence.

Orchard Books

Where's the Poo? A Pooptastic Search and Find Book

Dynamo
Contributors:
Dynamo

A group of poos has been flushed away and embarks on an epic, fun-filled adventure round the world!Search for six very special poos in every scene. From a trip to the aquarium and a day at the theme park, to a rainforest trek and a roller disco, there's so much to spot and find!

Wayland

Turn off the Tap

Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen

This environment education story follows Tia who is always being told by her mum to turn off the tap to save water - but why is this important? Through the story, Tia learns why water is precious and the small steps she can take to help to save it.Good to be Green is a series of six environment education books that help children age 6+ explore green issues and find out what they can do to help the planet. Each book features the story of a child who is exploring their world and learning why it's important to think green. Alongside the stories are fact boxes with extra information and at the end of each story there are activity ideas, teaching notes and a quiz. Each story is accompanied by bright illustrations by Diane Ewen.

Wayland

Rubbish or Recycling?

Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Franklin Watts

The Town Makeover

Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks

This book explores the theme of civic or community pride in shared spaces and is suitable for young children aged 5+. Noah is really looking forward to his favourite magician visiting his town but he thinks his town needs a makeover before he comes. He and his family and friends get to work clearing litter and decorating the town. But how do they all feel when it looks like the magician can't make it after all? For children following Book Bands, it is suitable for children reading at band 5: green.The book is a part of the British Values series which explores tricky subjects such as democracy, the rule of law, mutual respect and tolerance through fun illustrated stories. Each book includes teacher notes for discussing the theme of the story.

Franklin Watts

Champion Gran

Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Hodder Children's Books

BOOT - small robot, BIG adventure

Shane Hegarty
Authors:
Shane Hegarty

For fans of WALL-E and Toy Story, comes a heart-warming, humorous adventure about a young robot trying to find its way home. Beautifully illustrated throughout, Boot is a special book you will want to treasure and share.When toy robot, Boot, wakes up at a scrapyard, it has no idea how it got there and why it isn't with its owner, Beth. It only has two and a half glitchy memories, but it knows it was loved, which means something important to humans. Boot soon realises its emotions make it different to other robots, who just function and don't think. Boot is scared but tries to be brave, which is hard when its screen keeps showing a wobbly, worried face. Luckily Boot meets Noke and Red - other 'advanced' robots who have learned to survive in secret.With its new friends by its side, Boot is determined to find Beth and the gang set off on a dangerous adventure. Everything Boot thought it knew about the world is changing and things aren't as simple as it remembers . . .Boot is a story that will take you by surprise and make you think about the world around you.

Franklin Watts

The Red Flag

Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks

This story explores the theme of rules and how they keep us safe. It includes teacher notes for exploring the wider theme of laws. The story follows Josh who decides to ignore the red warning flag at the beach and sets off in his boat alone. He gets into danger and has to be rescued by lifeboat and realises why the safety rule was in place. The story is suitable for children aged 5+ who are learning to read or to explore with an adult.The book is a part of the British Values series which explores tricky subjects such as democracy, the rule of law, mutual respect and tolerance through fun illustrated stories. Each book includes teacher notes for discussing the theme of the story.

Franklin Watts

Who Did That?

Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Franklin Watts

Making Friends

Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks

The book is a part of the British Values series which explores tricky subjects such as democracy, the rule of law, mutual respect and tolerance through fun illustrated stories. Each book includes teacher notes for discussing the theme of the story.

Franklin Watts

The Class Vote

Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Wayland

Lizards

Pat Jacobs
Authors:
Pat Jacobs

Whether they already own one, or beg for one each Christmas and birthday, children love pets, and Pet Pals is the perfect title for any pet-loving child out there. From where they sleep to what they eat, and how you can make them feel safe and at home, this book provides all the pet care advice you could possibly need. Adorable photos, and gentle, accessible text, makes this the perfect guide for all pet carers - whether they own a pet or not!

Wayland

The Fall of the Berlin Wall

Patricia Levy
Authors:
Patricia Levy
Wayland

Amazing Animal Babies

Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost