Deborah Chancellor - A Walk From Our Island School - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781445127453
    • Publication date:27 Feb 2014
Books in this series

A Walk From Our Island School

By Deborah Chancellor

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A young geography series which uses circular walks from schools to explore geographical features and simple map skills

A group of friends from Tobermory Primary School in Mull, Scotland are going on a walk. The children have planned their walk carefully and have a list of questions they want to answer about their local area. We then follow them as they explore their local area and answer their questions.

This book is part of 'A walk from' series which explores different geographical environments using maps and photos. It helps young children understand geographical similarities and differences through studying the human and physical geography of a small area of the United Kingdom. The books feature key physical and human geographical vocabulary and skills such as compass directions, map reading and recognising landmarks and features. Perfect for readers aged 7 and up.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445155890
  • Publication date: 12 Oct 2017
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Franklin Watts

Space

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Assorted Animals

Paul Rockett
Authors:
Paul Rockett
Wayland

Sea and Sky Monsters

Katie Woolley
Authors:
Katie Woolley

Did you know that dinosaurs weren't the only creatures that roamed the earth all those years ago? There were also terrifying sea creatures like plesiosaurs and incredible flying reptiles too. Explore their world in Sea and Sky Creatures . Learn about their special features, how much they ate and when they lived... From Chronosaurus to Quetzalcoatlus, you'll find out all kinds of fascinating facts about these fierce and violent beasts. The Dinosaur Infosaurus series presents to you pre-historic beasts in all their terrifying glory, with realistic artwork alongside digestible chunks of information presented as infographics. Perfect for readers aged 7+.

Franklin Watts

Bites of Food

Paul Rockett
Authors:
Paul Rockett

Food is part of a country's identity. It can provide a sense of place, history and identity. This book highlights foods that have been part of people's lives in Britain since prehistoric times until today. These may be meals that were popular at the time, telling us how people lived, or they may be meals that are significant to a particular moment in history. Some of the foods may still be familiar today; some may make you feel hungry, some may make you feel glad that they're part of history and not part of your lunch!The book is part of 'A history of Britain in 12 ...', a series which examines 12 items that are key to British history from the Stone Age to present day. The series helps students understand chronology and the idea of continuity and change. By focusing on different objects, it also encourages the reader to understand how our knowledge of the past is constructed from a range of sources and to gain knowledge of the methods of historical enquiry.

Franklin Watts

A New Friend For Hannah

Elizabeth Dale, Sarah Lawrence
Contributors:
Elizabeth Dale, Sarah Lawrence
Franklin Watts

MORE!

Enid Richemont, Shahab Shamshirsaz
Contributors:
Enid Richemont, Shahab Shamshirsaz

When Sanjay is given a magic bowl that produces food by a kind goddess, he and his family need never be hungry again. Then the greedy Maharajah takes the bowl from him. But the Maharajah cannot control the magic and the food keeps coming... This traditional tale clearly echoes with 'The Magic Porridge Pot'.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Thin Ice

Sue Graves, Roger Simó
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Roger Simó

When friends Lenny and Ted take their bikes off to the woods on a cold, snowy day, Mum warns them to keep away from the icy pond. The trouble is, Lenny just can't resist it and ends up nearly paying a very high price...Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Orion Children's Books

The Boy At the Back of the Class

Onjali Q. Rauf
Authors:
Onjali Q. Rauf

There used to be an empty chair at the back of my class, but now a new boy called Ahmet is sitting in it.He's eight years old (just like me), but he's very strange. He never talks and never smiles and doesn't like sweets - not even lemon sherbets, which are my favourite!But the truth is, Ahmet really isn't very strange at all. He's a refugee who's run away from a War. A real one. With bombs and fires and bullies that hurt people. And the more I find out about him, the more I want to be his friend.That's where my best friends Josie, Michael and Tom come in. Because you see, together we've come up with a plan.

Franklin Watts

Endangered Animals

Franklin Watts, Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Franklin Watts, Clare Hibbert

Get to grips with facts about endangered animals and then become a word wizard and dazzle everyone with your newfound knowledge.Write On is a high interest information series with a difference, designed to help the newly independent reader become a confident writer, perfect for the 7-11 age group. Eye-catching photos and accessible text help build knowledge. Top writing tips and 'wow' words inspire easy to achieve writing projects, a fantastic way to improve literacy skills.

Hodder Children's Books

The Golden Sands

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters

The seventh in a magical, exciting series by Olympic gold medallist Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony!What if you had a magic bracelet that meant you could see golden magic everywhere?Evie's grandma has sent her another parcel. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet! And when Evie and her friends find themselves on the most exciting beach holiday of their lives, they'll need all their magical know-how for their most dangerous challenge yet ... Evie shares Jessica's determination and drive - an inspiration for kids everywhere.

Franklin Watts

Fara Williams

Roy Apps
Authors:
Roy Apps
Wayland

The Age of Dinosaurs

Katie Woolley
Authors:
Katie Woolley
Franklin Watts

Who Did That?

Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks

This story expores the issue of responsibility and owning up to our actions. In the story, seven-year old Sasha smashes a window by accident but blames her little brother Henry. When Henry runs away Sasha has to confess and say how sorry she is. Sasha's grandma explains how we should always face the consequences of what we've done and things will turn out better that way. The story is suitable for children aged 5+ who are learning to read or for sharing with an adult.The book is a part of the British Values series which explores tricky subjects such as democracy, the rule of law, mutual respect and tolerance through fun illustrated stories. Each book includes teacher notes for discussing the theme of the story.

Wayland

Killer Dinosaurs

Katie Woolley
Authors:
Katie Woolley
Wayland

Gigantic Dinosaurs

Katie Woolley
Authors:
Katie Woolley

Did you know that Stegosaurus's brain was no larger than a plum? Explore the world of plant-eating dinosaurs in Gigantic Dinosaurs. Learn about their special features, how much they ate and when they lived. From Diplodocus to Stegosaurus, you'll find out about all kinds of fascinating facts about these gigantic but gentle beasts. The Dinosaur Infosaurus series presents to you pre-historic beasts in all their terrifying glory, with realistic artwork alongside digestible chunks of information presented as infographics. Perfect for readers aged 7+.

Wayland

The Poo That Animals Do

Paul Mason, Tony De Saulles
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Tony De Saulles

A fascinating insight into the world of animal poo - with "strange but poo" facts, from the smelliest, biggest, smallest, and most expensive poo to poo camouflage and keeping warm, discover all there is to know about animal poop and its uses. Photos combine with the tongue-in cheek humour of Tony De Saulles' illustrations and Paul's Mason's raucous text to enliven even the most reluctant reader. A great book for satisfying the curiosity of 7 to 9 years olds while learning science at the same time!

Franklin Watts

Volcanoes

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Dig deep into the explosive world of volcanoes and then become a word wizard and dazzle everyone with your newfound knowledge.Write On is a high interest information series with a difference, designed to help the newly independent reader become a confident writer. Eye-catching photos and accessible text help build knowledge. Top writing tips and 'wow' words inspire easy to achieve writing projects, a fantastic way to improve literacy skills. A great book for 7-9 year olds or those working at Key Stage 2.

Franklin Watts

Big Cats

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Fashion Items

Paul Rockett
Authors:
Paul Rockett
Franklin Watts

Feats of Engineering

Paul Rockett
Authors:
Paul Rockett

Britain has been home to world-leading engineers, inventors, architects and designers who have changed the way Britain and the world works. In this book discover some key feats of engineering that have taken place in Britain or have been created by British innovators since prehistoric times until today. Find out have all played a part in shaping the history of Britain, and what they tell us about the different periods of our history.The book is part of 'A history of Britain in 12 ...', a series which examines 12 items that are key to British history from the Stone Age to present day. The series helps students understand chronology and the idea of continuity and change. By focusing on different objects, it also encourages the reader to understand how our knowledge of the past is constructed from a range of sources and to gain knowledge of the methods of historical enquiry.