Penny Dolan - Little Spook - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £4.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781445154329
    • Publication date:27 Sep 2018
Books in this series

Little Spook

Independent Reading Orange 6

By Penny Dolan
Illustrated by Joshua Heinsz

  • Hardback
  • £8.99

This story is part of Reading Champion, a series carefully linked to book bands to encourage independent reading skills, developed with Dr Sue Bodman and Glen Franklin of UCL Institute of Education (IOE)

In this story, Little Spook is afraid of something - but none of the Spook family can work out what is frightening him. Then a little firefly comes to the rescue ...

Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.

Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Independent Reading: Orange stories are perfect for children aged 5+ who are reading at book band 6 (Orange) in classroom reading lessons.

Biographical Notes

Penny Dolan is a children's writer and storyteller living in North Yorkshire. She is a popular speaker with both infant and junior children, and has visited many School Book Weeks and literacy events across the UK, with her enjoyable 'Author Talks' and lively story-telling sessions. She has also spoken and performed in libraries, bookshops, museums, art galleries, historic sites and outdoor locations, and has appeared on the children's programme of several literature festivals. She has a wide interest in children's books and has been Chair of the Federation of Children's Book Groups. Penny has a wide experience of schools. She was a primary advisory teacher for English and Drama but has been a freelance language arts worker for several years. She has also taught on residential writing courses for children, tutored both storytelling and writing courses for adults, and spoken at conferences. Penny has a degree in Education, specialising in Language and Literacy and an Advanced Diploma in Educational Drama. As well as working on her writing, Penny enjoys drawing, painting, reading, chatting and daydreaming. Her favourite colour is yellow. Her favourite food is strawberries-and-cream, and she is probably the world's slowest swimmer. She has three untidy desks, two grown-up children and one rather bad cat.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445154312
  • Publication date: 14 Dec 2017
  • Page count: 24
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Franklin Watts

Willow in Africa

Jenny Jinks
Authors:
Jenny Jinks

Orchard Books

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn

Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Contributors:
Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson

A hilariously funny tale of friendship, belonging and LOTS OF EATING from the bestselling author of There Is No Dragon in This Story. Perfect for fans of Oi Frog.WITH SUPER SPARKLY GLITTER COVER!Oscar the Unicorn has eaten his stable so he needs to find somewhere else to live. Not easy if you're a unicorn who eats everything in sight ... No one wants him around: not the pirates or the fairies or the dragons. Will Oscar ever find a place to call home? Well, it just so happens that Princess Oola has been searching for a unicorn FOR EVER ...

Franklin Watts

Pirate Hank's Plank

Penny Dolan, Nacho Gomez
Contributors:
Penny Dolan, Nacho Gomez
Franklin Watts

Flip the Flamingo

Penny Dolan
Authors:
Penny Dolan
Hodder Children's Books

How to Train Your Dragon

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Hodder Children's Books

How to Train Your Dragon: How To Be A Pirate

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Hodder Children's Books

How to Train Your Dragon: How To Speak Dragonese

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

Read the HILARIOUS books that inspired the HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON films! Hiccup Horrendous Haddock the Third is a smallish Viking with a longish name. Hiccup's father is chief of the Hairy Hooligan tribe which means Hiccup is the Hope and the Heir to the Hairy Hooligan throne - but most of the time Hiccup feels like a very ordinary boy, finding it hard to be a Hero. When Hiccup's dragon Toothless is captured by Romans, only Hiccup and his friend Fishlegs can rescue him. But things get WORSE, when the Romans steal Hiccup's precious book HOW TO SPEAK DRAGONESE and Hiccup and Fishlegs are taken off to the Fortress of Sinister!Now they must save Toothless AND themselves - but how can they possibly escape? READ ALL 12 BOOKS IN THE SERIES!You don't have to read the books in order, but if you want to, this is the right order:1. How to Train Your Dragon2. How to Be a Pirate3. How to Speak Dragonese4. How to Cheat a Dragon's Curse 5. How to Twist a Dragon's Tale6. A Hero's Guide to Deadly Dragons7. How to Ride a Dragon's Storm8. How to Break a Dragon's Heart9. How to Steal a Dragon's Sword10. How to Seize a Dragon's Jewel11. How to Betray a Dragon's Hero12. How to Fight a Dragon's FuryHow to Train Your Dragon is now a major DreamWorks franchise starring Gerard Butler, Cate Blanchett and Jonah Hill and the TV series, Riders of Berk, can be seen on CBeebies and Cartoon Network.

Hodder Children's Books

How to Train Your Dragon: How to Twist a Dragon's Tale

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

Read the HILARIOUS books that inspired the HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON films! Hiccup Horrendous Haddock the Third is a smallish Viking with a longish name. Hiccup's father is chief of the Hairy Hooligan tribe which means Hiccup is the Hope and the Heir to the Hairy Hooligan throne - but most of the time Hiccup feels like a very ordinary boy, finding it hard to be a Hero. Over on Lava-Lout Island, the volcano is ready to blow. Now Hiccup faces a terrifying Quest to Stop the Volcano Exploding, alongside his best friend Fishlegs and Humungously Hotshot the ex-Hero.But not only is Lava-Lout Island full of EXTERMINATOR DRAGONS, Hiccup's ARCH ENEMY is also lurking - and he's seeking REVENGE! READ ALL 12 BOOKS IN THE SERIES!You don't have to read the books in order, but if you want to, this is the right order:1. How to Train Your Dragon2. How to Be a Pirate3. How to Speak Dragonese4. How to Cheat a Dragon's Curse 5. How to Twist a Dragon's Tale6. A Hero's Guide to Deadly Dragons7. How to Ride a Dragon's Storm8. How to Break a Dragon's Heart9. How to Steal a Dragon's Sword10. How to Seize a Dragon's Jewel11. How to Betray a Dragon's Hero12. How to Fight a Dragon's FuryHow to Train Your Dragon is now a major DreamWorks franchise starring Gerard Butler, Cate Blanchett and Jonah Hill and the TV series, Riders of Berk, can be seen on CBeebies and Cartoon Network.

Hodder Children's Books

How to Train Your Dragon: A Hero's Guide to Deadly Dragons

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Orchard Books

Storm The Lightning Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

Trixie the Halloween Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Trixie the Halloween Fairy makes sure that Halloween is fun-filled and exciting for everyone! But when a gang of greedy goblins steal Trixie's Enchanted Sweets, all Halloween plans are thrown into chaos. Can Kirsty and Rachel help Trixie find the Enchanted Sweets before this special day is ruined for everyone?

Orchard Books

Voltrex the Two-headed Octopus

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Tecton the Armoured Giant

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Hodder Children's Books

Kipper's Visitor

Mick Inkpen
Authors:
Mick Inkpen

Kipper has a visitor - a slightly dirty gosling in need of a bath. But the gosling doesn't say very much. 'Honk!' is about all he can manage!Created for World Book Day 2016 and starring the much-loved Kipper, this charming story follows Kipper and an adorable gosling through a bubbly bathtime.'You simply cannot fail to win smiles with a new book about Kipper.' Daily Mail'The charmingly comical Inkpen, as always, hits the spot.' Guardian

Franklin Watts

The Pied Piper of Hamelin

Penny Dolan, Martin Impey
Contributors:
Penny Dolan, Martin Impey

The town of Hamelin has a big problem - there are rats everywhere! When a strange piper turns up and offers to solve the rat problem, the townspeople are eager to agree to his terms. But then they break their promises, and the Pied Piper is furious... A beautifully illustrated retelling of this favourite traditional story. Must Know Stories includes favourite tales, celebrating the diversity of our literary heritage. Level 2 stories are told in chapters in under 1000 words.

Franklin Watts

Clever Little Monkey

Penny Dolan, Nicola Anderson
Contributors:
Penny Dolan, Nicola Anderson

Clever Little Monkey really wants the bananas on the other side of the river - but the river is full of hungry crocodiles! Can he trick his way across?The Tadpoles series contains fun, original stories told in under 80 words and accompanied by bright illustrations, perfect for beginner readers.

Orchard Books

Becky the Best Friend Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Everyone knows Rachel and Kirsty are best friends! But when nasty Jack Frost steals Becky the Best Friend Fairy's magical objects, BFFs everywhere start having problems. Can the girls help Becky get them back and put things right?There's a heart trinket box, a photo album and a BFF charm necklace in this book. Read on to see if Rachel, Kirsty and Becky can find them!

Orion Children's Books

The Darkest Part of the Forest

Holly Black
Authors:
Holly Black

Wayland

Hunters

Tom Jackson
Authors:
Tom Jackson
Hodder Children's Books

The Blue Balloon

Mick Inkpen
Authors:
Mick Inkpen

A celebrated classic which continues to delight millions of children. Kipper has found a soggy blue balloon in the garden. At first, it seems like an ordinary balloon, but it's not. It's full of fun and magic. This is a book to be treasured, loved, read time and time again, with fantastic fold out pages.