Penny Dolan - Little Spook - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £4.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781445154329
    • Publication date:27 Sep 2018
Books in this series

Little Spook

Independent Reading Orange 6

By Penny Dolan
Illustrated by Joshua Heinsz

  • Hardback
  • £8.99

This story is part of Reading Champion, a series carefully linked to book bands to encourage independent reading skills, developed with Dr Sue Bodman and Glen Franklin of UCL Institute of Education (IOE)

In this story, Little Spook is afraid of something - but none of the Spook family can work out what is frightening him. Then a little firefly comes to the rescue ...

Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.

Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Independent Reading: Orange stories are perfect for children aged 5+ who are reading at book band 6 (Orange) in classroom reading lessons.

Biographical Notes

Penny Dolan is a children's writer and storyteller living in North Yorkshire. She is a popular speaker with both infant and junior children, and has visited many School Book Weeks and literacy events across the UK, with her enjoyable 'Author Talks' and lively story-telling sessions. She has also spoken and performed in libraries, bookshops, museums, art galleries, historic sites and outdoor locations, and has appeared on the children's programme of several literature festivals. She has a wide interest in children's books and has been Chair of the Federation of Children's Book Groups. Penny has a wide experience of schools. She was a primary advisory teacher for English and Drama but has been a freelance language arts worker for several years. She has also taught on residential writing courses for children, tutored both storytelling and writing courses for adults, and spoken at conferences. Penny has a degree in Education, specialising in Language and Literacy and an Advanced Diploma in Educational Drama. As well as working on her writing, Penny enjoys drawing, painting, reading, chatting and daydreaming. Her favourite colour is yellow. Her favourite food is strawberries-and-cream, and she is probably the world's slowest swimmer. She has three untidy desks, two grown-up children and one rather bad cat.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445154312
  • Publication date: 14 Dec 2017
  • Page count: 24
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Wayland

Electricity

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

Finding out about electricity has never been so engaging. This book is full of exciting experiments, fun puzzles, quirky humour and science facts to make you saw WOW ... it's science with a BOOM! For children progressing through Book Bands, it is suitable for reading at level 10: White.Why not look out for the other BOOM SCIENCE titles? This fun series for children aged 6+ explores key science topics including Electricity, Forces, Human Body, Light, Materials, Plants, Seasons and Sound.

Wayland

Forces

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Franklin Watts

Queen Victoria

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Find out about the life of Queen Victoria from her early life and ascent to the throne to her life as queen. This book is perfect for young children studying the Victorian age.The Info Buzz series, for age 5+, helps children develop their knowledge and understanding of the world by covering a wide range of topics in a fun, colourful and interactive way. The books have a lively design, engaging text and photos, questions to get children thinking and talking and teaching notes. Each title is written in conjunction with a literacy consultant and features book band guidance and downloadable activity sheets online.

Franklin Watts

Tim Berners-Lee

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Orchard Books

Go Popplio!

Gotta Catch 'Em All! A fantastic full-colour early reader that Pokémon's youngest fans have been waiting for!Ash and his new friends in the Alola region are off to the seaside to search for marine Pokémon. But Team Rocket are out to cause trouble once again ... Let the sea battle commence!

Orchard Books

The Litten Mystery

Franklin Watts

Neil Armstrong and the Moon Landings

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Franklin Watts

A New Friend For Hannah

Elizabeth Dale, Sarah Lawrence
Contributors:
Elizabeth Dale, Sarah Lawrence
Franklin Watts

MORE!

Enid Richemont, Shahab Shamshirsaz
Contributors:
Enid Richemont, Shahab Shamshirsaz
Franklin Watts

Thin Ice

Sue Graves, Roger Simó
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Roger Simó

When friends Lenny and Ted take their bikes off to the woods on a cold, snowy day, Mum warns them to keep away from the icy pond. The trouble is, Lenny just can't resist it and ends up nearly paying a very high price...Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Orchard Books

Grymon the Biting Horror

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Skrar the Night Scavenger

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Tarantix the Bone Spider

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!Tom and Elenna must follow the shadow path to find and defeat the third deadly Netherworld Beast. How will they stop the giant spider Tarantix from poisoning Avantia's precious river?There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Grymon the Biting Horror; Skrar the Night Scavenger; Tarantix the Bone Spider and Lypida the Shadow Fiend

Orchard Books

Lypida the Shadow Fiend

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!Tom and Elenna must enter the deadly Netherworld to face the last of Malvel's monstrous Beasts. Lypida the Shadow Fiend is a terrifying creature with a tail like a powerful whip!There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Grymon the Biting Horror; Skrar the Night Scavenger; Tarantix the Bone Spider and Lypida the Shadow Fiend

Orion Children's Books

The Astonishing Colour of After

Emily X. R. Pan
Authors:
Emily X. R. Pan

'This brilliantly crafted novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. A very special book' - John Green, bestselling author of The Fault in Our StarsLife, loss, love and art explode in a kaleidoscope of emotions as one girl must learn the truth about her family's past in order to bring peace to the present. For fans of John Green, Jennifer Niven, Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.Leigh Chen Sanders is sixteen when her mother dies by suicide, leaving only a scribbled note: 'I want you to remember'. Leigh doesn't know what it means, but when a red bird appears with a message, she finds herself travelling to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time. Leigh is far away from home and far away from Axel, her best friend, who she stupidly kissed on the night her mother died - leaving her with a swell of guilt that she wasn't home, and a heavy heart, thinking she may have destroyed the one good thing left in her life. Overwhelmed by grief, Leigh retreats into her art and into her memories, where colours collide and the rules of reality are broken. The only thing Leigh is certain about is that she must find out the truth. She must remember.With lyrical prose and magical elements, Emily X.R. Pan's stunning debut novel alternates between past and present, romance and despair, as one girl attempts to find herself through family history, art, friendship, and love.

Franklin Watts

Flip the Flamingo

Penny Dolan
Authors:
Penny Dolan
Wayland

Poverty and Hunger

Louise Spilsbury, Hanane Kai
Contributors:
Louise Spilsbury, Hanane Kai

The Children in Our World picture book series helps children make sense of the larger issues and crises that dominate the news in a sensitive and appropriate manner. With relatable comparisons, carefully researched text and striking illustrations, children can begin to understand what poverty and hunger are, how they affect people in countries all over the world and how readers can help those affected. Where issues aren't appropriate to describe in words, award-winnning illustrator, Hanane Kai, uses striking and sensitive illustrations help children visualise the people and situations impacted by poverty and hunger with images that are suited to their age and disposition.The series forms an excellent cross-curricular resource that looks at refugees, war, poverty and racism, and this book is ideal for tying into discussions on food, wealth and current affairs.

Wayland

Racism and Intolerance

Louise Spilsbury, Hanane Kai
Contributors:
Louise Spilsbury, Hanane Kai
Franklin Watts

The Battle of Hastings

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin

Why Do We Remember?: The Battle of Hastings looks at the gripping events that led up to the famous battle of Hastings in 1066 and the following Norman conquest of Anglo-Saxon Britain. This simple, friendly children's first history series, aimed at readers aged 5 and up, takes a close look at some key events and personalities through history and reveals how and why they are still important to us today. A perfect support to learning about history at Key Stage 1, each book uses a rich variety of historical sources, from diaries to paintings, to bring events to life, while simple historical vocabulary is introduced and explained. Each book also features a simple timeline and explores how we find about the past. All text has been carefully checked by a historian.

Orion Children's Books

Ruin and Rising

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo

Enter the Grishaverse with Book One of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by the number one New York Times-bestselling author of Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom. Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Sarah J. Maas. Soldier. Summoner. Saint.The nation's fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army.The Darkling rules from his shadow throne while a weakened Alina Starkov recovers from their battle under the dubious protection of the zealots who worship her as a Saint. Now her hopes lie with the magic of a long-vanished ancient creature and the chance that an outlaw prince still survives.As her allies and enemies race toward war, only Alina stands between her country and a rising tide of darkness that could destroy the world. To win this fight, she must seize a legend's power - but claiming the firebird may be her ruin. Praise for the Grishaverse: "Utterly, extremely bewitching." The Guardian "There's a level of emotional and historical sophistication within Bardugo's original epic fantasy that sets it apart." Vanity Fair "Unlike anything I've ever read." Veronica Roth, bestselling author of Divergent "This is a great choice for teenage fans of George R.R. Martin and J.R.R. Tolkien." RT Book Reviews Read all the books in the Grishaverse! The Shadow and Bone Trilogy (previously published as The Grisha Trilogy) Shadow and Bone Siege and Storm Ruin and Rising The Six of Crows Duology Six of Crows Crooked Kingdom The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic