Scot Ritchie - Look at that Building - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Look at that Building

A First Book of Structures

By Scot Ritchie

  • Hardback
  • £11.99

Set off on a building adventure and learn all about the science and engineering of buildings along the way!

Sally's dad has built her a new treehouse, but Max the dog can't climb up and join in all the fun - he needs a new doghouse!
Come along as five friends go on a quest to find out all they can about buildings and how they are constructed. By checking out structures, both big and small, Sally and her four friends (and Max and Ollie the cat!) learn about how buildings are made, what makes them strong and how they stay standing. After a fun day of exploring they are ready to build Max the best doghouse around!

This fun book introduces readers aged 7+ to the basic science and engineering that goes into buildings. Let the award-winning illustrator, Scot Ritchie take you on a skyscraper of an adventure.

Biographical Notes

Scot is an award winning illustrator/author who has been drawing since the dawn of time. He has illustrated over 50 books, some of which he also wrote.

Scot has worked with the National Film Board of Canada and has had his illustrations exhibited at the National Gallery of Canada. He lives in Vancouver, but enjoys traveling and has been able to pack up his laptop and work from London, Berlin and Hawaii.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445153711
  • Publication date: 26 Jan 2017
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
This book relies heavily on the excellent illustrations to convey much of the information and these, coupled with informative and easily understood text, makes the book a really good read. — Parents in Touch
Forming a bridge between picture book for pre-readers and truly informative information source, I found this a great visual exploration for 4 to 8-year-olds. Short chunks of wirting address this child reader (or listener) in a chatty, intimate style. I liked this unusual approach to an early information source and recommend it. — The School Librarian
Wayland

What Is Fake News?

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

The term 'fake news' may be relatively new, but the idea of presenting false information as a legitimate news story in an attempt to influence public opinion certainly isn't. This book looks at the various ways in which people receive information and the risks of being manipulated by half-truths, rumours or lies. It considers what motivates those who create and disseminate fake news and aks what societies and individuals can do to spot and stop fake news.

Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins

One boy stranded at sea. One girl back on land. One ocean between them. The only thing willing him to survive is the thought of her. A romance with bite, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.Sometimes you have to lose yourself, to find each other.Kai has always been best friends with Jen; ever since he and his mum moved to Cornwall when he was small. But now his feelings are deepening. It's ridiculous to imagine Jen would feel the same, especially since she has been hanging out with surf-pro Macca, the guy everyone fancies. Frustrated by his feelings, Kai makes a snap decision that will put his life in great danger. Stranded at sea, time is running out. With only his thoughts to occupy him, he must face some buried truths about his past. And confront his future with the girl back on shore, if he can reach it ... if the ocean doesn't take him first.

Orchard Books

A Fairy Ballet

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Tiana the Toy Fairy: The Land of Sweets

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Another brand-new Rainbow Magic story featuring YouTube star Tiana from Toys AndMe!Join Kirsty and Rachel for another adventure with Tiana the Toy Fairy! When Jack Frost steals Tiana's magical candy key, the magical Land of Sweets is under threat. Can the three friends get it back before Fairyland turns sour?

Franklin Watts

Look Where We Live

Scot Ritchie
Authors:
Scot Ritchie
Orchard Books

Debbie the Duckling Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

The Pet Keeper Fairies

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Learning to read is fun with the Rainbow Magic Fairies! Developed in conjunction with Early Years reading consultants and based on the most up-to-date educational research, the Rainbow Magic Beginner Readers are the perfect way to introduce your child to the magical world of reading.

Franklin Watts

Follow that Map

Scot Ritchie
Authors:
Scot Ritchie

The search is on for Ollie and Max!Come along as five friends go on an adventure to find a missing cat and dog. Using maps to guide them, they'll make their way through their neighbourhood, into the city, across the country and around the world - phew! They'll even find time to search for treasure, enjoy the rides at Playland and learn about the weather - all before dinner time. Join in and Follow That Map!This fun book introduces readers aged 7+ to some essential mapping skills, including direction, symbols and how to read different types of maps. Let the award-winning illustrator, Scot Ritchie take you on a mapping adventure.

Orchard Books

Susie the Sister Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Susie helps make sure the magical bond between all sisters is strong and true. But when her three special objects go missing, big and little sisters everywhere start falling out! Could this be the work of nasty Jack Frost? Rachel, Kirsty and Susie must work together to defeat him.There's a diary planner, a padlock and a mobile phone in this book. Read on to see if Rachel, Kirsty and Elsa can find them!

Orchard Books

Tiana the Toy Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

A brand-new Rainbow Magic story featuring YouTube star Tiana from Toys AndMe!Tiana's special magic looks after toys and fun times everywhere. But when naughty Jack Frost steals her shiny magical marble, toys everywhere stop working the way they should, and ruin everyone's fun! Kirsty and Rachel must travel with Tiana to the magical Land of Toys and help find Jack Frost and his goblins, and get the marble back.

Orchard Books

Eleanor the Snow White Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

Ariana the Firefighter Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Ariana the Firefighter Fairy makes sure firefighters everywhere do a fantastic job keeping people safe. But when nasty Jack Frost steals her magical object, it all starts to go wrong! Can Rachel and Kirsty help their fairy friend put things right?

Orchard Books

Clare the Caring Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Everyone knows Kirsty and Rachel are best friends. But when Jack Frost steals the Friendship Fairies' magical objects, the special bond of BFFs everywhere is at risk! Can they fight the Ice Lord and his goblin minions to restore the magic of friendship in both the Fairyland and worlds?

Orchard Books

Fizz the Fireworks Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

A Magical Birthday Surprise

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

Catherine the Fashion Princess Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Catherine the Fashion Princess Fairy helps make sure princesses everywhere have the perfect outfits for their royal functions. But when Jack Frost and his goblins steal her magical objects, all sorts of things start to go wrong! Can Kirsty and Rachel help get them back before fashion disasters strike the human and fairy worlds?

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Cannibal Curse

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Orchard Books

Daisy the Festival Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

Frances the Royal Family Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

Faith the Cinderella Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Kirsty and Rachel are getting ready for the glamorous Fairytale Ball. But the fabulous plans start to fall apart when Cinderella falls out of her story and into the human world! Can the girls help Faith the Cinderella Fairy get her magical glass slipper back from Jack Frost and get Cinders back in time for the ball?