Moira Butterfield - Vikings - Hachette Children's Group

Vikings

By Moira Butterfield

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

What can artefacts from the past tell us about the people who lived way back when?

What's the first Viking object you can think of? A Viking battle axe or a longship? Did you know that thousands more stone, metal, pottery, bone and wooden objects have been found from this time in human history? All of these objects can tell us a lot about the Vikings. We know about the animals they farmed, the the tools and weapons they used and we know about their everyday life and culture from the remains of the buildings they lived in. All over Britain, Viking artefacts have been Found!. Uncover the stories of thirteen incredible finds, what they can tell us about life back then and how they might relate to your life today.

Found! is a series of six books that span British archaeological finds from the Stone, Bronze and Iron Ages, Roman Britain, the Viking Age and the Anglo Saxons. Ideal for readers aged 9+ studying history topics at Key Stage 2.

Biographical Notes

I have been writing for many years in a number of different genres, from books for babies up to books for 11 year-olds plus. I like to try new things and tackle new subjects, so I don't limit myself to one type of book. One month I might be writing about history, and the next month I might be creating an imaginary story. Examples of my work have been selected for national Key Stage study in the UK, and in the USA I was commended by the Library of Congress for my work in non-fiction, which they felt encouraged reluctant readers. I work with visuals always in mind, and love the challenge of getting across information or an exciting story with good graphics to back it up. Lately I have been blogging about the craft of writing, and I've also appeared at National Book Festivals, which I think of as the most challenging thing of all to do! I get a lot of emails from children around the world, inspired by one of my books they have read, and that gives me great pleasure.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445152967
  • Publication date: 13 Apr 2017
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Wayland

On Planet Earth

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Wayland

In the Animal Kingdom

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle

Following a narrative chain throughout every book in the series Cause Effect and Chaos!, each spread focuses on a different action, process or phenomenon with illustrations and arrows guiding the reader through the chain of events. A highly visual approach with simple text makes this a perfect series for imparting important concepts and consequences to struggling readers.With information on the probability of each of the extreme (chaotic) reactions presented as an infographic, the reader will be reassured that chaos is not the most likely outcome. The series reaches into different core areas of the science, geography and history curriculum. Perfect for reader aged 9 and up.

Hodder Children's Books

Summertime Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Wayland

In the Rainforest

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle

Following a narrative chain throughout every book in the series Cause Effect and Chaos!, each spread focuses on a different action, process or phenomenon with illustrations and arrows guiding the reader through the chain of events. A highly visual approach with simple text makes this a perfect series for imparting important concepts and consequences to struggling readers.With information on the probability of each of the extreme (chaotic) reactions presented as an infographic, the reader will be reassured that chaos is not the most likely outcome. The series reaches into different core areas of the science, geography and history curriculum. Perfect for reader aged 9 and up.

Wayland

In Engineering and Industry

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle

Following a narrative chain throughout every book in the series Cause Effect and Chaos!, each spread focuses on a different action, process or phenomenon with illustrations and arrows guiding the reader through the chain of events. A highly visual approach with simple text makes this a perfect series for imparting important concepts and consequences to struggling readers.With information on the probability of each of the extreme (chaotic) reactions presented as an infographic, the reader will be reassured that chaos is not the most likely outcome. The series reaches into different core areas of the science, geography and history curriculum. Perfect for reader aged 9 and up.

Orchard Books

Bridesmaid Surprise – Two magical adventures in one!

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Wayland

In Outer Space

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Wayland

In the Human Body

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle

Following a narrative chain throughout every book in the series Cause Effect and Chaos!, each spread focuses on a different action, process or phenomenon with illustrations and arrows guiding the reader through the chain of events. A highly visual approach with simple text makes this a perfect series for imparting important concepts and consequences to struggling readers.With information on the probability of each of the extreme (chaotic) reactions presented as an infographic, the reader will be reassured that chaos is not the most likely outcome. The series reaches into different core areas of the science, geography and history curriculum. Perfect for reader aged 9 and up.

Orchard Books

Mission Impuffable

Anne Marie Ryan
Authors:
Anne Marie Ryan
Orion Children's Books

The Trials of Morrigan Crow

Jessica Townsend
Authors:
Jessica Townsend

International bestselling new series. Enter the Wundrous world of Morrigan Crow and Nevermoor - the most fantastical children's series of the year."Exciting, mysterious, marvellous and magical ... quite simply one of the best children's books I've read in years" - Robin Stevens, author of Murder Most Unladylike"An extraordinary story full of magics great and small" - Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of The Girl of Ink and Stars"Endlessly inventive, with a fresh delight on every page. Nevermoor rewrites the genre of the Chosen Child novel. This is a special book" - David Solomons, author of My Brother is a Superhero"A full-speed joy of a book; funny, quick-footed, and wildly, magically inventive" - Katherine Rundell, author of Rooftoppers"A wonderful, warm-hearted magical adventure" - Sunday Express"Funny and delightful" - The Sunday TimesMorrigan Crow is cursed, destined to die on her eleventh birthday. But, as the clock strikes midnight, she's whisked away by a remarkable man called Jupiter North and taken to the secret city of Nevermoor.There she's invited to join the Wundrous Society. Mystery, magic and protection are hers - if only she can pass four impossible trials, using an exceptional talent. Which she doesn't have...Perfect for fans of the Harry Potter series and His Dark Materials, this series takes readers into an extraordinary world, setting hope and imagination alive.

Franklin Watts

Hercules

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Andrew Tunney
Contributors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Andrew Tunney
Franklin Watts

Freya

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Andrew Tunney
Contributors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Andrew Tunney
Franklin Watts

Anglo-Saxon Britain

Moira Butterfield
Authors:
Moira Butterfield

What's the first Anglo-Saxon object you can think of? Did you know that thousands of stone, metal, pottery and wooden objects have been found from this time in human history? All of these objects can tell us a lot about the Anglo-Saxons. We know about the animals they farmed, the the tools and weapons they used and we know about their everyday life and culture from the remains of the buildings they lived in. All over Britain, Anglo-Saxon artefacts have been Found!. Uncover the stories of thirteen incredible finds, what they can tell us about life back then and how they might relate to your life today.Found! is a series of six books that span British archaeological finds from the Stone, Bronze and Iron Ages, Roman Britain, the Viking Age and the Anglo Saxons. Ideal for readers aged 9+ studying history topics at Key Stage 2.

Franklin Watts

Iron Age

Moira Butterfield
Authors:
Moira Butterfield

What's the first Iron Age object you can think of? Did you know that thousands of stone, metal, pottery and wooden objects have been found from this time in human history? All of these objects can tell us a lot about the Celts and the Iron Age. We know about the animals they farmed, the the tools and weapons they used and we know about their everyday life and culture from the remains they left behind. All over Britain, Iron Age artefacts have been Found!. Uncover the stories of thirteen incredible finds, what they can tell us about life back then and how they might relate to your life today.Found! is a series of six books that span British archaeological finds from the Stone, Bronze and Iron Ages, Roman Britain, the Viking Age and the Anglo Saxons. Ideal for readers aged 9+ studying history topics at Key Stage 2.

Hodder Children's Books

Dinosaur Dash!

Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi
Contributors:
Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Kids Who Knew Too Little

Gitty Daneshvari
Authors:
Gitty Daneshvari
Hodder Children's Books

The Unicorn's Foal

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters

The fourth in a magical, exciting adventure by Olympic gold medallist Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony: a bumper Christmas special edition, with extra quizzes and activities. What if you had a special bracelet that let you become invisible whenever you wanted? Evie's grandma has sent her another parcel. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet! A unicorn foal is lost in the park! Evie's going to need the bracelet - and a brave heart - to help him. But she's always ready to have some magical adventures! Evie shares Jessica's determination and drive - an inspiration for kids everywhere.

Franklin Watts

Everyday Life

Moira Butterfield
Authors:
Moira Butterfield
Franklin Watts

Warriors and Weapons

Moira Butterfield
Authors:
Moira Butterfield
Wayland

Toys and Games Around the World

Moira Butterfield
Authors:
Moira Butterfield