Kath Shackleton - Survivors of the Holocaust - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781445150437
    • Publication date:11 Jan 2018

Survivors of the Holocaust

By Kath Shackleton

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

An extraordinary, beautifully illustrated graphic novel that looks at the horrors of the Holocaust through the eyes of children and young people who lived through it

Based on a series of a BAFTA-nominated animated documentaries, the artwork in Survivors of the Holocaust has been reinvented to bring together six different real-life survivors' account of the Holocaust. Every word rings with truth, whether it describes the bleak fear of arriving at Auschwitz or the sheer terror of Kristallnacht, and is complemented by dazzling, clever artwork.

This unique children's graphic novel aims to bring the survivors' stories to a new audience. It is an important, timely reminder of the horrors that can be inflicted on innocent people and a reflection of the Holocaust's legacy today. It has been longlisted for the prestigous School and Library Association Information Books Awards, 2017.

The Holocaust is an important part of the history curriculum at Key Stage 3 and this book is pitched perfectly for 9-12 year olds.

Biographical Notes

Kath Shackleton and the team at Fettle Animation have brought together six stories of Holocaust survivors in this moving graphic novel. Each story is retold in the survivor's own words, allowing them to speak for themselves about their horrifying experiences.

All of the survivors - Arek, Heinz, Ruth, Martin, Trude and Suzanne - have settled in and around Leeds. They are active members of the Holocaust Survivor's Friendship Association, whose mission is to preserve the memories and testimony of Holocaust survivors for teaching and learning, and to work towards a more tolerant society.

Fettle Animation is an award-winning animation studio based in Yorkshire. They specialise in animated documentaries with quirky, dazzling graphics. The series 'Children of the Holocaust' was created in partnership with BBC Learning and screened on BBC2. It has been nominated for many prizes and awards, including a prestigious BAFTA.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445150444
  • Publication date: 26 May 2016
  • Page count: 96
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
An extraordinary book of first-hand survivor stories enhanced by the comic-strip style illustration ... it is impossible not to be deeply moved by the way that these stories are told ... a valuable range of stories ... Each of the six stories has a unique element that nonetheless tells of the incredible scale of the Final Solution and adds to our understanding from a very human perspective ... I think this is an invaluable addition to any school/class library from Year 6 onwards — School Librarian
Survivors of the Holocaust is a hard-hitting and very necessary re-telling of a poignant and shocking time in our history...The visual narrative provided by strong, deceptively simple illustrations makes for a truly emotive and haunting read and one which must not be forgotten. This very accessible insight into a most piteous time in our history would be perfect for any school library or book shelf...We also love the simplicity of this illustrated timeline. A potted history of key events from January 1933 - August 1945 to remind readers of the major moments of World War II — Picture Books Blogger
Poignant ... each terrifying reality is clearly shared by its survivor so that it cannot be, and should not be, forgotten — Carousel
Wren & Rook

The Story of Flight

Jakob Whitfield
Authors:
Jakob Whitfield
Franklin Watts

Animals

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Insects, Bugs and Other Invertebrates

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Find out all about the incredible invertebrates that lived on the planet millions of years ago. From giant millipedes to super-sized scorpions, discover the wondrous world of prehistoric life. This stunningly illustrated series looks at life in the prehistoric era, focusing not just on dinosaurs, but looking at the world as a whole. The prehistoric era is absolutely fascinating for children and adults alike, and is useful for schools studying history chronologically. Amazingly detailed and accurate illustrations bring the prehistoric era to life. Engaging reading for children aged 7+.

Quercus Children's Books

The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken

Every family has secrets - but not every family has a secret pact with a demon.Prosper is the only unexceptional Redding in his remarkable family. So, when he discovers that an 800-year-old demon called Alastar is responsible for their luck - and that this demon is currently living inside him - he's more than a little surprised.Alastar isn't keen to be banished back to the demon realm and will do anything to try and trick his unwilling host into a contract - from nasty insults to wild promises. And even more unnerving, his power over Prosper seems to be growing with each passing night. Prosper has only days to break the curse - a feat that seems impossible. But with the help of a feisty witch-in-training, maybe he can do it? A darkly comic tale with thrilling twists and turns that will keep every reader guessing. Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket, Jonathan Stroud and Skulduggery Pleasant.

Franklin Watts

Charles Darwin

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Franklin Watts

Indus Valley Civilisation

Tim Cooke
Authors:
Tim Cooke
Franklin Watts

Ancient Egypt

Anita Croy
Authors:
Anita Croy
Franklin Watts

Ancient Greece

Anita Ganeri
Authors:
Anita Ganeri
Franklin Watts

Trans Global

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Quercus Children's Books

The Darkest Legacy

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Franklin Watts

Ancient Rome

Tim Cooke
Authors:
Tim Cooke

The ancient Romans were skilled builders, artists and inventors, and one of the best ways to discover how they lived is by studying the artefacts they made. Just as ancient objects enable us to step back into the world of the people who made them, the stories people told can reveal what they thought about their world. This book combines facts about the ancient Romans with photographs of the artefacts they left behind and the stories they shared with each other to present a full picture of life at the time.

Franklin Watts

Mayas and Incas

Anita Croy
Authors:
Anita Croy
Franklin Watts

Shang Dynasty

Tim Cooke
Authors:
Tim Cooke

The Shang were skilled builders, artists and craftsmen, and one of the best ways to discover how they lived is by studying the artefacts they made. Just as ancient objects enable us to step back into the world of the people who made them, the stories people told can reveal what they thought about their world. This book combines facts about the ancient Chinese with photographs of the artefacts they left behind and the stories they shared with each other to present a full picture of life at the time.

Franklin Watts

Ancient Greece

Tim Cooke
Authors:
Tim Cooke
Hodder Children's Books

The Outcast

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu
Hodder Children's Books

Words in Deep Blue

Cath Crowley
Authors:
Cath Crowley
Quercus Children's Books

Clean

Juno Dawson
Authors:
Juno Dawson

A razor-sharp, adrenaline rush of a novel from award-winning author Juno Dawson, Clean is Gossip Girl meets Girl, Interrupted. 'Compulsively readable and touching - I loved it' Marian KeyesWhen socialite Lexi Volkov almost overdoses, she thinks she's hit rock bottom. She's wrong. Rock bottom is when she's forced into an exclusive rehab facility. From there, the only way is up for Lexi and her fellow inmates, including the mysterious Brady.As she faces her demons, Lexi realises love is the most powerful drug of all ... It's a dirty business getting clean.Addiction and redemption, love and despair. Clean will have you hooked from the first page. ** With a stunning rose gold foil cover, Clean will look amazing on your bookshelf **

Quercus Children's Books

The Darkest Minds

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken

The first book in the heart-stopping The Darkest Minds trilogy, by New York Times bestselling author of Passenger, for fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games.Ruby is sixteen. She is dangerous. And she is alive. For now.A mysterious disease has killed most of America's children. Ruby might have survived, but she and the others have emerged with something far worse than a virus: frightening abilities they cannot control. Pressured by the government, Ruby's parents sent her to Thurmond, a brutal state 'rehabilitation camp', where she has learned to fear and suppress her new power. But what if mastering it is a whole generation's only chance for survival?'A riveting emotional read that kept me on the edge.' - Melissa Marr, author of Wicked LovelyAlexandra Bracken is the New York Times bestselling author of Passenger, Wayfarer and The Darkest Minds series. Visit her online at www.alexandrabracken.com and on Twitter @alexbracken.

Wayland

Mayans

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards
Wayland

Empires

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele