Kath Shackleton - Survivors of the Holocaust - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Survivors of the Holocaust

By Kath Shackleton

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

An extraordinary, beautifully illustrated graphic novel that looks at the horrors of the Holocaust through the eyes of children and young people who lived through it
Biographical Notes

Kath Shackleton and the team at Fettle Animation have brought together six stories of Holocaust survivors in this moving graphic novel. Each story is retold in the survivor's own words, allowing them to speak for themselves about their horrifying experiences.

All of the survivors - Arek, Heinz, Ruth, Martin, Trude and Suzanne - have settled in and around Leeds. They are active members of the Holocaust Survivor's Friendship Association, whose mission is to preserve the memories and testimony of Holocaust survivors for teaching and learning, and to work towards a more tolerant society.

Fettle Animation is an award-winning animation studio based in Yorkshire. They specialise in animated documentaries with quirky, dazzling graphics. The series 'Children of the Holocaust' was created in partnership with BBC Learning and screened on BBC2. It has been nominated for many prizes and awards, including a prestigious BAFTA.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445150444
  • Publication date: 26 May 2016
  • Page count: 96
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
An extraordinary book of first-hand survivor stories enhanced by the comic-strip style illustration ... it is impossible not to be deeply moved by the way that these stories are told ... a valuable range of stories ... Each of the six stories has a unique element that nonetheless tells of the incredible scale of the Final Solution and adds to our understanding from a very human perspective ... I think this is an invaluable addition to any school/class library from Year 6 onwards — School Librarian
Survivors of the Holocaust is a hard-hitting and very necessary re-telling of a poignant and shocking time in our history...The visual narrative provided by strong, deceptively simple illustrations makes for a truly emotive and haunting read and one which must not be forgotten. This very accessible insight into a most piteous time in our history would be perfect for any school library or book shelf...We also love the simplicity of this illustrated timeline. A potted history of key events from January 1933 - August 1945 to remind readers of the major moments of World War II — Picture Books Blogger
Poignant ... each terrifying reality is clearly shared by its survivor so that it cannot be, and should not be, forgotten — Carousel
Wayland

the Cold War?

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

This book looks at how and why the Cold War developed between the USSR and the USA and their opposing ideas of communism and capitalism. It examines the legacy of the Cold War, both in terms of the bad things that came out of it, such as instability and conflicts around the world, denial of human rights to millions of people and the stockpiling of nuclear and conventional weapons, and the good things, including technological progress, advances in medical understanding and developments in art, literature and sport.

Wayland

WWI?

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

This book looks at how and why World War I was born out of the longstanding rivalries and feuds between European nations, at home and across their overseas empires, and how the conflict sucked in imperial and colonial troops from around the world. It examines the legacy of the the war, both in terms of the bad things that came out of it, such as the rise of fascism and totalitarian rule, and the good things, including developments in medicine and plastic surgery, enhanced aeroplane technology and advances in suffrage and equality for women.

Wayland

Rosa Parks

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Wayland

Emily Davison

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Find out about the exciting life of Emily Davison. Read about her childhood and learn about the marches and protests of the WSPU. Discover what happened at the Epsom Derby and how women finally got the vote in Britain. A simple fun picture quiz helps readers to recall what they have read. A perfect one-stop-shop for help with homework assignments! Broad-ranging appeal for nursery age through to Key Stage 2.

Franklin Watts

Far From Home: Refugees and migrants fleeing war, persecution and poverty

Cath Senker
Authors:
Cath Senker

What if you had to leave your home and you could never go back? What do you think that would be like?For millions of Syrian and Iraqi citizens (and for people from many other nations around the world), these are the question they face. The current, desperate situation in their homelands and the mass migrations from the Middle East is both shocking to us, and sadly nothing new. Far From Home addresses the clear need for a balanced and informative book on this complex topic. It examines the root causes of mass migrations from both a historical and current perspective. Historical sources and first-hand accounts are used to explore racism, religion, life in refugee camps and the challenges migrant and refugees face on arrival in new lands and the response of the western world. The book will also look at the difficult and dangerous journeys people make in an attempt to reach a safe haven and life in refugee camps, with the constant struggle to access shelter, warmth, food, medicine and access to education.Designed to be accessible to both children and adults, this book is a open and balanced tool for opening discussions around these sensitive issues. For children aged 11+.Author Cath Senker is an expert on writing in this area. She has housed refugees in her own home and is active in helping to provide education to those arriving in Britain.

Hodder Children's Books

Crash Landing

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

Don't miss the last episode of international bestseller Robert Muchamore's ROCK WAR series! The Rock War TV show has come to a dramatic finale, but its contestants still have everything to play for. Jay's about to see what fame and fortune are really about for his brother Theo. Summer's got to take her career back into her own hands. And Dylan might soon be seeing the world of show-business from the four walls of a prison cell. From the author of CHERUB and Henderson's Boys: find out more at rockwar.com

Orion Children's Books

Jenny the Pony's Big Day

Liz Kessler, Mike Phillips
Contributors:
Liz Kessler, Mike Phillips
Wayland

School Shootings

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Summer Holiday Showdown

Frank Lampard
Authors:
Frank Lampard
Hodder Children's Books

Indigo Donut

Patrice Lawrence
Authors:
Patrice Lawrence
Wayland

The Aztecs

Tim Cooke
Authors:
Tim Cooke

Life in the past was in many ways very different from life today, but in one way it was very similar.There were always some people who were wealthier, more powerful or more famous than everyone else- and it was those early celebrities who set the fashions of the age and who got tongues wagging withearly celebrity gossip. At Home With... uses a magazine approach to reveal what fashionable life was like in various societies.Each book in the series focuses on a highly popular and widely studied period of history. The subjects include famous individuals and their homes, fashions, pastimes, food and drink, ways of getting around - and the must-have possessions of the day.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Ryan Higa’s How to Write Good

Ryan Higa
Authors:
Ryan Higa
Wren & Rook

Doing It

Hannah Witton
Authors:
Hannah Witton
Orion Children's Books

Saint Death

Marcus Sedgwick
Authors:
Marcus Sedgwick

A potent, powerful and timely thriller about migrants, drug lords and gang warfare set on the US/Mexican border by PRINTZ MEDAL winning and CARNEGIE MEDAL, COSTA BOOK AWARD and GUARDIAN CHILDREN'S FICTION PRIZE shortlisted novelist, Marcus Sedgwick. Anapra is one of the poorest neighbourhoods in the Mexican city of Juarez - twenty metres outside town lies a fence, and beyond it, America - the dangerous goal of many a migrant. Faustino is one such trying to escape from the gang he's been working for. He's dipped into a pile of dollars he was supposed to be hiding and now he's on the run. He and his friend, Arturo, have only 36 hours to replace the missing money, or they're as good as dead. Watching over them is Saint Death. Saint Death (or Santissima Muerte) - she of pure bone and charcoal-black eye, she of absolute loyalty and neutral morality, holy patron to rich and poor, to prostitute and narco-lord, criminal and police-chief. A folk saint, a rebel angel, a sinister guardian.

Orchard Books

But Then I Came Back

Estelle Laure
Authors:
Estelle Laure

Estelle Laure is a bright new talent with a gorgeous voice - perfect for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell.Eden has always let her head lead the way. It's why she excels at ballet, at school, and at life in general. But when she nearly drowns and then wakes from a month-long coma, everything is different. She's troubled by dreams that seem more real than waking life, and her neat cookie-cutter existence is no longer satisfying. Unable to stifle her passionate heart anymore, she finds herself drawn to a boy with melting-chocolate eyes, and to a future different to what she ever imagined. That's when Eden discovers that when it comes to love, first you fall, then you have to leap.Estelle Laure's debut, This Raging Light, was a stunning debut with an unforgettable voice that has captured the hearts for readers.

Wayland

A Guide to Britain and Ireland

Kevin Pettman
Authors:
Kevin Pettman
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Incredible Billy Wild

Joanna Nadin
Authors:
Joanna Nadin
Orchard Books

Dark Wyng

Chris d'Lacey
Authors:
Chris d'Lacey

The second in the stunning new fantasy series from the New York Times bestselling author, Chris d'Lacey.A dark stranger walks among the men.A dark force waits in the mountains.A dark wyng will be formed.The dark dragon is coming...Ren is the first of his kind - a boy with the skills of a dragon. But as he tests his new powers, the dragons are growing wary.Meanwhile, a strange man has joined the hom, determined to help them wreak vengeance on the skalers. He knows about the dragons, but can he be trusted?As tensions rise between hom and dragon, both are unaware that there's a bigger battle coming... because the dark dragon will rise again...

Orion Children's Books

The Trap

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons
Wayland

The Victorians

Tim Cooke
Authors:
Tim Cooke

Ever wondered what life was really like for the Victorians? Did Queen Victoria really say 'We are not amused'? Well, she may have done if she had read our behind-the-scenes guide to her 19th-century world. Learn about the good (and bad) side of life for the Victorians in this vibrant guide!Part of a series of books that takes children behind the scenes to reveal the fashions, fads and secrets of the past.