Heather Maisner - 20th Century Russia - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

20th Century Russia

A Century of Upheaval

By Heather Maisner

  • Hardback
  • £13.99

An accessible account of a dramatic era in Russian history
Biographical Notes

Heather Maisner is author of over 30 children's books, translated into 8 languages, including the award-winning Magic Hourglass, Magic Globe and Diary of a Princess. She also teaches creative writing to children.

Her books range from picture books to books for fluent young readers to historical non-fiction. Many of her books combine fiction with fact and games with information, they are ideal for beginner and reluctant readers.

Heather loves to walk, dance, travel (speaks five languages), make bread and cook for her large family - and amazing black cat.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445150345
  • Publication date: 27 Oct 2016
  • Page count: 64
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
A comprehensive book, packed with authoritative information — Parents In Touch
Perfect for the KS3 history curriculum — Parents in Touch
Heather Maisner carefully analyses the rise and fall of Soviet Union, with excellent, succinct explanations of the various events. This is a handsome, well-produced book (with stimulating photographs, paintings and posters) and can be highly commended. — The School Librarian
Hodder Children's Books

Book 2

Simon Lelic
Authors:
Simon Lelic

An adrenaline-fuelled adventure, second in the Haven series, by top thriller writer Simon Lelic. Ollie Turner isn't sure he's ready to be a hero ...Our rules. Our city. Our secret. Below the city streets is the Haven, a sanctuary for kids run by kids, and the headquarters of an organisation that fights for justice everywhere. Ollie Turner is leading the Haven's investigations team, and a new threat is on the horizon. A boy has gone missing from a private boarding school nearby: it's Jack's brother, and Jack is a key part of the investigations team. But when Ollie and his friends go undercover to investigate in the school, they find much more than they'd ever bargained for ... A book for teens and above from the writer of adult thrillers THE HOUSE, THE LIAR'S ROOM and RUPTURE, this is the second in the HAVEN series.

Hodder Children's Books

Queen of Ruin

Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart
Hodder Children's Books

The Paper & Hearts Society

Lucy Powrie
Authors:
Lucy Powrie
Hodder Children's Books

Contender: The Chosen

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu
Orchard Books

The Boy Who Steals Houses

C. G. Drews
Authors:
C. G. Drews

Can two broken boys find their perfect home? By turns heartbreaking and heartwarming, this is a gorgeously told, powerful story.Sam is only fifteen but he and his autistic older brother, Avery, have been abandoned by every relative he's ever known. Now Sam's trying to build a new life for them. He survives by breaking into empty houses when their owners are away, until one day he's caught out when a family returns home. To his amazement this large, chaotic family takes him under their wing - each teenager assuming Sam is a friend of another sibling. Sam finds himself inextricably caught up in their life, and falling for the beautiful Moxie. But Sam has a secret, and his past is about to catch up with him.Heartfelt storytelling, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer Niven.

Hodder Children's Books

The Dark Lady

Akala
Authors:
Akala

Henry Shakespeare is a street boy searching for his parents - his dark skin and curious name are his only clues.A thrilling new series set in a magical realist Shakespearean world, written by award-winning rapper, poet and writer Akala, founder of the renowned Hip-hop Shakespeare Company.Perfect for introducing secondary school readers to Shakespeare and the Renaissance, The Dark Lady contains poems, rhymes and songs.Inspired by the Dark Lady (the fierce, independent black woman alluded to in Shakespeare's sonnets 127-154) and featuring Shakespeare himself and many of his key characters, this exciting new series brings to life through fresh eyes the visceral, violent and daring world of the Renaissance.

Orion Children's Books

Izzy + Tristan

Shannon Dunlap
Authors:
Shannon Dunlap
Orchard Books

Fated

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Don't miss this prequel to the multi award-winning SLATED trilogy by Teri Terry, queen of the teen thriller!I'm just one girl. What can I do?Sam's cosy life as daughter of the Deputy Prime Minister is about to end. These are turbulent times. Borders have closed and protests are turning violent. The government blames the country's youth, and is cracking down hard. Mobile phones are blocked, gatherings are banned and dissent is brutally crushed.Sam is torn between family loyalty and doing what is right. when she meets Ava and Lucas her mind is made up.One girl, one choice. She can make a difference: she must. Even if her life - and her heart - are on the line ...A red-hot thriller packed with secrets and revelations that shines a new light on the award-winning SLATED trilogy.

Wayland

The Fall of the Berlin Wall

Patricia Levy
Authors:
Patricia Levy
Franklin Watts

Food and Eating

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Food can be confusing! There's a lot of information out there about which foods are 'good' or 'bad' for you - and it seems to change every week! And people can sometimes get very stressed about food and eating, and how it affects their bodies. This book for children aged 9+ explains how food works, so they can make their own decisions armed with all the facts.Is is part of the series Healthy for Life, which gives factual information on a range of health issues so young people can get the information they need to be healthy. The books feature fun infographic style illustrations. Why not seek out another title from the series: Puberty and Growing up; Food and Eating; Smoking, Drugs and Alcohol; Keeping Fit; Sex and Relationsips; Self-esteem and Mental Health.

Hodder Children's Books

Devoted

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu
Orchard Books

Evermore

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland

Jules confronts the girl who is both her oldest friend and greatest enemy in the highly anticipated sequel to the Top Ten Bestseller Everless.Jules Ember was raised hearing legends of the ancient magic of the wicked Alchemist and the good Sorceress. But she has just learned the truth: She is the Alchemist, and Caro - a woman who single-handedly murdered the Queen and Jules's first love, Roan, in cold blood - is the Sorceress.The whole kingdom believes that Jules is responsible for the murders, and a hefty bounty has been placed on her head. And Caro is intent on destroying Jules, who stole her heart twelve lifetimes ago. Now Jules must piece together the stories of her past lives to save the person who has captured her heart in this one.Perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard, Stephanie Garber and Kendare Blake, Evermore is the high-stakes, star-crossed follow up to Everless that fans have been waiting for.

Wayland

What is Race? Who are Racists? Why Does Skin Colour Matter? And Other Big Questions

Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan
Authors:
Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan
Franklin Watts

The Maya and Chichén Itzá

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard

Travel back in time to Chichén Itzá and find out all about the Maya.Like modern travel guides, the books in this series highlight must-see features and explain local culture. Each highlighted destination contains an explanation of what took part in these areas, as well as a look at important artefacts found there providing a bigger picture of life in the past. Typical travel guide notes include, 'best time to visit', 'what to eat' and 'where to stay'.

Franklin Watts

Viking Britain and Jorvik

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard

Travel back in time to Jorvik and find out all about the Vikings in Britain. Like modern travel guides, the books in this series highlight must-see features and explain local culture. Each highlighted destination contains an explanation of what took part in these areas, as well as a look at important artefacts found there providing a bigger picture of life in the past. Typical travel guide notes include, 'best time to visit', 'what to eat' and 'where to stay'.

Wayland

Heroes of Light and Sound

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Wayland

The Superhuman Body

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown

What if you could be immortal or have super senses or read minds? You'd be a superhero! BUT are these superpowers feasible in the real world? Superpower Science: The Superhuman Body tells you all about the reality of these superpowers when looked at through a scientific lens.The series Superpower Science focuses on the superpowers commonly associated with superheroes and reveals just how scientifically realistic they could be to us mere humans. Each title focuses on four superpowers and explains which science principles would come into action if the superpower existed and what effect these science principles would have on the body. The comic book format and vintage-looking colourful illustrations paired with quirky and humorous explanations turn what would be considered by many as dry physics principles into high-interest exciting books. By pointing out the physical limitations of superpowers, the series aims to fix them, not crush children's dreams but inspire them to be interested in science. Perfect for reader aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

Positively Teenage

Nicola Morgan
Authors:
Nicola Morgan
Hodder Children's Books

The Outcast

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu
Hodder Children's Books

The Battlemage

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu