Heather Maisner - 20th Century Russia - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

20th Century Russia

A Century of Upheaval

By Heather Maisner

  • Hardback
  • £13.99

An accessible account of a dramatic era in Russian history
Biographical Notes

Heather Maisner is author of over 30 children's books, translated into 8 languages, including the award-winning Magic Hourglass, Magic Globe and Diary of a Princess. She also teaches creative writing to children.

Her books range from picture books to books for fluent young readers to historical non-fiction. Many of her books combine fiction with fact and games with information, they are ideal for beginner and reluctant readers.

Heather loves to walk, dance, travel (speaks five languages), make bread and cook for her large family - and amazing black cat.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445150345
  • Publication date: 27 Oct 2016
  • Page count: 64
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
A comprehensive book, packed with authoritative information — Parents In Touch
Perfect for the KS3 history curriculum — Parents in Touch
Heather Maisner carefully analyses the rise and fall of Soviet Union, with excellent, succinct explanations of the various events. This is a handsome, well-produced book (with stimulating photographs, paintings and posters) and can be highly commended. — The School Librarian
Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Egg of Glory

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell

Franklin Watts

Sex and relationships

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

This book is a fantastic introduction to the tricky subject of sex for children aged 9+. In a straightforward way, it explores what sex is and what it's for, examines sexuality and identity, what healthy relationships are like and tackles modern-day issues that confront teenagers such as sexting and online pornography.Is is part of the series Healthy for Life, which gives factual information on a range of health issues so teens can get the information they need to be healthy. The books feature fun infographic style illustrations.

Wayland

Mayans

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards
Quercus Children's Books

The Lost Magician

Piers Torday
Authors:
Piers Torday
Orion Children's Books

Siege and Storm

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo
Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins

One boy stranded at sea. One girl back on land. One ocean between them. The only thing willing him to survive is the thought of her. A romance with bite, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.Sometimes you have to lose yourself, to find each other.Kai has always been best friends with Jen; ever since he and his mum moved to Cornwall when he was small. But now his feelings are deepening. It's ridiculous to imagine Jen would feel the same, especially since she has been hanging out with surf-pro Macca, the guy everyone fancies. Frustrated by his feelings, Kai makes a snap decision that will put his life in great danger. Stranded at sea, time is running out. With only his thoughts to occupy him, he must face some buried truths about his past. And confront his future with the girl back on shore, if he can reach it ... if the ocean doesn't take him first.

Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of the Sun

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond
Orion Children's Books

Ghost Boys

Jewell Parker Rhodes
Authors:
Jewell Parker Rhodes

A New York Times BestsellerThis was one of my most anticipated 2018 books and I was not disappointed. A must read." -Angie Thomas, No. 1 New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give'tender, timely ... surprising and hopeful' - ObserverA heartbreaking and powerful story about a black boy killed by a white police officer, drawing connections with real-life history, from award-winning author Jewell Parker Rhodes.ALIVETwelve-year-old Jerome doesn't get into trouble. He goes to school. He does his homework. He takes care of his little sister. Then Jerome is shot by a police officer who mistakes his toy gun for a real threat.DEADAs a ghost, watching his family trying to cope with his death, Jerome begins to notice other ghost boys. Each boy has a story and they all have something in common...Bit by bit, Jerome begins to understand what really happened - not just to him, but to all of the ghost boys.A poignant and gripping story about how children and families face the complexities of race in today's world.

Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed

SUNDAY TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER"A very funny and inspiring read! Brilliantly practical with a wide variety of examples that make it relevant for both boys and girls (and adults)!" - Amazon Customer"A truly inspiring book for the younger generation!" - Amazon Customer"Brilliant book - perfect for that child/person who needs a little bit of confidence" - Amazon Customer"Everyone should read this ... Very motivational and inspiring." - Amazon Customer"Genuinely funny and engaging. There are messages in this book for both adults and children. It's a must read." - Amazon CustomerThis positive and empowering guide, by bestselling mindset author Matthew Syed, will help boys and girls build resilience, fulfil their potential and become successful, happy, awesome adults.I'm no good at sport ... I can't do maths ... I really struggle with exams ... Sound familiar?If you believe you can't do something, the chances are you won't try. But what if you really could get better at maths, or sport or exams? In fact, what if you could excel at anything you put your mind to?You Are Awesome can help you do just that, inspiring and empowering young readers to find the confidence to realise their potential. The first children's book from Times journalist, two-time Olympian and best-selling mindset author Matthew Syed, it uses examples of successful people from Mozart to Serena Williams to demonstrate that success really is earned rather than given, and that talent can be acquired. With hard work and determination, practice and self-belief, and, most importantly, a Growth Mindset, there's no reason why anyone can't achieve anything. Practical, insightful and positive, this is the book to help children build resilience, embrace their mistakes and grow into successful, happy adults.

Orchard Books

Everless

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland

THE TOP TEN BESTSELLERTime is a prison. She is the key. Packed with danger, temptation and desire - a perfect read for fans of The Red Queen.In the land of Sempera, the rich control everything - even time. Ever since the age of alchemy and sorcery, hours, days and years have been extracted from blood and bound to iron coins. The rich live for centuries; the poor bleed themselves dry.Jules and her father are behind on their rent and low on hours. To stop him from draining himself to clear their debts, Jules takes a job at Everless, the grand estate of the cruel Gerling family. There, Jules encounters danger and temptation in the guise of the Gerling heir, Roan, who is soon to be married. But the web of secrets at Everless stretches beyond her desire, and the truths Jules must uncover will change her life for ever ... and possibly the future of time itself.'Sara Holland is a fierce storyteller. An intoxicating blend of blood, secrets, and haunting mythology, Everless gives new and terrifying meaning to the phrase running out of time.' Stephanie Garber, New York Times and Sunday Times bestselling author of Caraval

Quercus Children's Books

The Impossible

Mark Illis, Bimpe Alliu
Contributors:
Mark Illis, Bimpe Alliu
Franklin Watts

Suffragettes and the Fight for the Vote

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley
Franklin Watts

Bronze Age

Moira Butterfield
Authors:
Moira Butterfield
Quercus Children's Books

Through the Dark

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Quercus Children's Books

In the Afterlight

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Franklin Watts

Little Bears go on a Picnic

Heather Maisner, Tomislav Zlatic
Contributors:
Heather Maisner, Tomislav Zlatic

Little Bears have a Picnic is a book with a difference! The cheeky little bears are so excited, they can't keep still. They keep knocking things over and playing hide-and-seek. Children can help Big Bear by working out where everything should go, and then flip the changing-picture page to find out if they're right!The book has lots of detail and is brightly illustrated to engage small children. It helps them explore their world and stretches their powers of observation, vocabulary and understanding.It is part of a series of charming picture books - why not discover the little bears at school, going shopping and going to bed.

Franklin Watts

Little Bears go Shopping

Heather Maisner, Tomislav Zlatic
Contributors:
Heather Maisner, Tomislav Zlatic
Franklin Watts

Little Bears go to School

Heather Maisner, Tomislav Zlatic
Contributors:
Heather Maisner, Tomislav Zlatic

A search-and-find book with a difference! Children will love spotting the hiding bears, discovering the naughty things they've done and helping Big Bear to put everything back in its place - then flipping the page to see if they were right! It is the perfect interactive story book to share with a child aged 3+ who is in school or starting school or a nursery setting or when discussing why it's a good idea to tidy up!It is part of a series of charming picture books - why not discover the little bears at bedtime, going shopping and having a picnic. The books have lots of detail and is brightly illustrated to engage small children. They help them explore their world and stretch their powers of observation, vocabulary and understanding.

Franklin Watts

Vikings

Moira Butterfield
Authors:
Moira Butterfield

Orion Children's Books

Shadow and Bone

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo

Enter the Grishaverse with Book One of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by the number one New York Times-bestselling author of Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom. Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Sarah J. Maas. Soldier. Summoner. Saint. Orphaned and expendable, Alina Starkov is a soldier who knows she may not survive her first trek across the Shadow Fold-a swath of unnatural darkness crawling with monsters. But when her regiment is attacked, Alina unleashes dormant magic not even she knew she possessed. Now Alina will enter a lavish world of royalty and intrigue as she trains with the Grisha, her country's magical military elite - and falls under the spell of their notorious leader, the Darkling. He believes Alina can summon a force capable of destroying the Shadow Fold and reuniting their war-ravaged country, but only if she can master her untamed gift.As the threat to the kingdom mounts and Alina unlocks the secrets of her past, she will make a dangerous discovery that could threaten all she loves and the very future of a nation.Welcome to Ravka . . . a world of science and superstition where nothing is what it seems.Praise for the Grishaverse:"Utterly, extremely bewitching." The Guardian"There's a level of emotional and historical sophistication within Bardugo's original epic fantasy that sets it apart." Vanity Fair"Unlike anything I've ever read." Veronica Roth, bestselling author of Divergent"This is a great choice for teenage fans of George R.R. Martin and J.R.R. Tolkien." RT Book ReviewsRead all the books in the Grishaverse!The Shadow and Bone Trilogy (previously published as The Grisha Trilogy)Shadow and BoneSiege and StormRuin and RisingThe Six of Crows DuologySix of CrowsCrooked KingdomThe Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic