Heather Maisner - 20th Century Russia - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781445150338
    • Publication date:08 Aug 2019

20th Century Russia

A Century of Upheaval

By Heather Maisner

  • Hardback
  • £13.99

An accessible account of a dramatic era in Russian history
Biographical Notes

Heather Maisner is author of over 30 children's books, translated into 8 languages, including the award-winning Magic Hourglass, Magic Globe and Diary of a Princess. She also teaches creative writing to children.

Her books range from picture books to books for fluent young readers to historical non-fiction. Many of her books combine fiction with fact and games with information, they are ideal for beginner and reluctant readers.

Heather loves to walk, dance, travel (speaks five languages), make bread and cook for her large family - and amazing black cat.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445150345
  • Publication date: 27 Oct 2016
  • Page count: 64
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
A comprehensive book, packed with authoritative information — Parents In Touch
Perfect for the KS3 history curriculum — Parents in Touch
Heather Maisner carefully analyses the rise and fall of Soviet Union, with excellent, succinct explanations of the various events. This is a handsome, well-produced book (with stimulating photographs, paintings and posters) and can be highly commended. — The School Librarian
Hodder Children's Books

SLAY

Brittney Morris
Authors:
Brittney Morris

'We are different ages, genders, tribes, tongues, and traditions ... but tonight we all SLAY'Black Panther meets Ready Player One. A fierce teen game developer battles a real-life troll intent on ruining the Black Panther-inspired video game she created and the safe community it represents for black gamers.By day, seventeen-year-old Kiera Johnson is an honors student, a math tutor, and one of the only black kids at Jefferson Academy. By night, she joins hundreds of thousands of black gamers who duel worldwide as Nubian personas in the secret multiplayer online role-playing card game, SLAY.No one knows Kiera is the game developer, not her friends, her family, not even her boyfriend, Malcolm.But when a teen in Kansas City is murdered over a dispute in the SLAY world, news of the game reaches mainstream media, SLAY is labeled a racist, exclusionist, violent hub for thugs and criminals.Driven to save the only world in which she can truly be herself, Kiera must preserve her secret identity. But can she protect her game without losing herself in the process?

Hodder Children's Books

The Black Flamingo

Dean Atta
Authors:
Dean Atta
Franklin Watts

Black History Matters

Robin Walker
Authors:
Robin Walker

Black history matters, today and always.An important and hard-hitting account of the history of black people, looking at African kingdoms, slavery, apartheid, the battle for civil rights and much more. Important and inspiring black personalities, from Olaudah Equiano to Oprah Winfrey, are highlighted throughout, while achievements and progress are balanced alongside a look at the issues that continue to plague black communities. #Blacklivesmatter is a powerful international movement, designed to raise awareness of and end ongoing injustice towards black people. This book is designed to connect with that movement and offer an important resource for all young readers during Black History Month and beyond.

Franklin Watts

Forced to Flee

Wren & Rook

You Got This

Bryony Gordon
Authors:
Bryony Gordon

Wayland

What is Race? Who are Racists? Why Does Skin Colour Matter? And Other Big Questions

Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan
Authors:
Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan

An important and timely book on race and racism, encouraging children to think for themselves about the issues involved.Talk about race is often discouraged, but this book aims to bring everyone into the conversation. It explores the history of race and society, giving context to how racist attitudes come into being. It looks at belonging and identity, the damaging effects of stereotyping and the benefits of positive representation. The authors talk sensitively about how to identify and challenge racism, and how to protect against and stop racist behaviour.Aimed at young people aged 10 and upwards.Part of the groundbreaking and important 'And Other Big Questions' series, which offers balanced and considered views on the big issues we face in the world we live in today.Other titles in the series include:What is Humanism? How do you live without a god?What is Feminism? Why do we need it?Who are Refugees and Migrants? What makes people leave their homes?What is Consent? Why is it important?What is Right and Wrong? Who Decides? Where Do Values Come From?

Hodder Children's Books

Winnie's Great War

Lindsay Mattick, Josh Greenhut, Sophie Blackall
Contributors:
Lindsay Mattick, Josh Greenhut, Sophie Blackall
Quercus Children's Books

The Impossible: On the Run

Mark Illis
Authors:
Mark Illis
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Summer of Us

Cecilia Vinesse
Authors:
Cecilia Vinesse

Five friends. Five cities. Two complicated love stories . . . The perfect read for fans of Jennifer E Smith and Sara Barnard.Aubrey and Rae have been planning their European tour since the moment they met. It was meant to be the perfect way to spend their last summer together before university, but now it's not just the two of them . . .There's Jonah, Aubrey's seemingly perfect boyfriend, and Gabe, who Aubrey may have accidentally kissed. Then there's Clara, the friend Rae is crushing on, hard, even though there's no hope because Clara is into guys, not girls. And on top of all that Aubrey and Rae's friendship appears to be falling apart. Things are more complicated at eighteen than they were at ten.Set off on a romantic adventure that embraces warm summer nights, the thrill of first kisses and the bittersweet ache of saying goodbye to the past.

Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed
Franklin Watts

Understanding Transgender

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

Self-Esteem and Confidence

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

This book looks at self-esteem and how it's possible to change it. It deals with issues such as a healthy body image, peer pressure, celebrity culture and bullying and provides lots of practical advice for young people dealing with low self-esteem.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Wayland

From Prejudice to Pride: A History of LGBTQ+ Movement

Amy Lamé
Authors:
Amy Lamé

From Prejudice to Pride looks at the rise and achievements of the LGBTQ+ movement and the different communities, pioneers and stories of heartbreak and courage that have marched alongside it. Perfect for readers aged 11 and upwards, this book will inspire courage and pride in young LGBTQ+ people and help answer questions for all readers interested in gender and identity.Follow LGBTQ+ history from ancient civilisations to the present-day, and learn about key events including the trial of Oscar Wilde, the Stonewall riots, the AIDS crisis, same-sex marriage and changing laws that have impacted on LGBTQ+ life. Gain insight into the shifting attitudes that have challenged lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people and the experiences that help us understand what it means to be LGBTQ+ today.Filled with photographs documenting LGBTQ+ life from the past and present, and from around the world.

Wayland

The Chinese Empire

Ellis Roxburgh
Authors:
Ellis Roxburgh
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Seven Days of You

Cecilia Vinesse
Authors:
Cecilia Vinesse

It's Sophia's last week in Tokyo, and she's going to make it count...Sophia has spent her life ping-ponging between different countries and schools, so, in theory, saying goodbye should be easy. But now she's leaving Tokyo - the place that finally felt like home. The only way she can get through this is to make her final week perfect.Then Jamie Foster-Collins shows up, just in time to ruin everything. Jamie and Sophia used to be friends . . . and his return stirs up feelings she thought she'd forgotten.Suddenly, hours and minutes become meaningless. Only time spent together, exploring the hidden streets of the city they love, is real.

Franklin Watts

Viking Kong

Tommy Donbavand
Authors:
Tommy Donbavand

What do you get when you cross a monster Viking baby who won't stop growing, two kids, a Viking clan and a very big stinky nappy? This book of course! Hold on to your nose as Erik and Freya battle to keep Olf under control, feed him and stop him crying (because he floods the village). Tommy Donbavand's Funny Shorts is a series of full-colour, rip-roaring reads for kids that will have them bawling with laughter. This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to get kids reading with confidence. EDGE - for books kids can't put down.

Wayland

The Egyptian Empire

Ellis Roxburgh
Authors:
Ellis Roxburgh
Wayland

Did Anything Good Come Out of... WWII?

Emma Marriott
Authors:
Emma Marriott

This book looks at the events leading to the World War II, the most widespread war in history, in which the major participants used all their industrial, economic and scientific might to wage 'total war'. It examines the legacy of the war, both in terms of the bad things that came out of it, such as the fear and mistrust between the USA and Russia that led to the Cold War, and the good things, including advances in medicine and computing and the establishment of the United Nations.

Wayland

The British Empire

Ellis Roxburgh
Authors:
Ellis Roxburgh

Find out how Britain came to rule around 458 million people around the world and what life was like for the people of these colonies? Discover the key explorers that played a role in the building of the empire, John Cabot, Sir Walter Raleigh and Captain James Cook. And find out about how the British Empire became the Commonwealth of Nations in 1949 and the on-going tensions that resulted in the Falklands War.Each book in this series covers a particular empire or regional series of empires, charting its history from its rise to its eventual fall. Concise text and supporting boxes explore the reasons for the empire's success and its failure and explain the mechanics of governing the empire and the experience of living under it.

Wayland

Did Anything Good Come Out of... WWI?

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

This book looks at how and why World War I was born out of the longstanding rivalries and feuds between European nations, at home and across their overseas empires, and how the conflict sucked in imperial and colonial troops from around the world. It examines the legacy of the the war, both in terms of the bad things that came out of it, such as the rise of fascism and totalitarian rule, and the good things, including developments in medicine and plastic surgery, enhanced aeroplane technology and advances in suffrage and equality for women.