Clare De Marco - The Mermaid's Socks - Hachette Children's Group

The Mermaid's Socks

By Clare De Marco
Illustrated by Steve Brown

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Fun stories of under 50 words for emergent readers

The Mermaid's Socks is a funny story for all little mermaid fans who are beginning to read on their own. Perfect for children aged 4+ who are reading at book band red.

When Princess Bubble the mermaid gets a pair of socks for her birthday, she has no idea what they are! Can she think of a use for them?

The Tiddlers series features fun stories with a word count of fewer than 50 words for children who are just starting to read. A word list at the beginning of the story allows for a quick check of the reader's ability to read and understand words before reading, and a spot the picture puzzle at the end of the story encourages rereading for pleasure. Compiled in consultation with Catherine Glavina, PGCE Primary and Early Years Course Leader, The Centre for Professional Education, University of Warwick.

Biographical Notes

Clare De Marco (Author)
Clare lives in London with her husband, son and daughter. She is always sharing stories with young, and not so young, children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445146072
  • Publication date: 09 Feb 2017
  • Page count: 24
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Wayland

Flowers

Victoria Munson
Authors:
Victoria Munson
Wayland

Trees

Victoria Munson
Authors:
Victoria Munson
Orchard Books

The Wonderbird

David Lucas
Authors:
David Lucas
Hodder Children's Books

A Home in the Snow

Peter Bently, Charles Fuge
Contributors:
Peter Bently, Charles Fuge
Wayland

Turn off the Tap

Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Wayland

Rubbish or Recycling?

Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen

Twins, Nadia and Nasir are keen to enter the school recycling competition, but what should they make? As they explore the rubbish in their house, they discover what can and can't be recycled and what happens to their rubbish. They learn about reducing, reusing and recycling and come up with a clever plan to help everyone at school work out what is rubbish and what is recycling.Good to be Green is a series of six environment education books that help children age 6+ explore green issues and find out what they can do to help the planet. Each book features the story of a child who is exploring their world and learning why it's important to think green. Alongside the stories are fact boxes with extra information and at the end of each story there are activity ideas, teaching notes and a quiz. Each story is accompanied by bright illustrations by Diane Ewen.

Wayland

Wild Ideas

Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim
Contributors:
Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim

A beautiful, non-fiction picture book challenging children's preconceptions and showing them they can learn from animals.Wild Ideas looks deep into the forests, skies and oceans to explore how animals solve problems. Whether it's weaving a safe place to rest and reflect, blowing a fine net of bubbles to trap fish or leaping boldly into a new situation, the animals in our world can teach us a lot about problem-solving. From the creators of You Are Stardust, the book uses lyrical text grounded in current science alongside wonderfully detailed art to present problems as doorways to creative thinking. Wild Ideas encourages an enquiry-based approach to learning, inviting readers to indulge their sense of wonder and curiosity by observing the natural world, engaging with big ideas and asking questions.Perfect for readers aged 5 and up.Praise for You Are Stardust:"This glorious synthesis of art and science invites discussion about our place in the world, where we come from, how we change and what makes us feel alive ... A terrific book for nurturing curiosity and fostering a feeling of enchantment."(Playing By The Book)

Franklin Watts

Africa: Nigeria

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch

A simple, friendly geography series that takes a look at countries around the world.Welcome to Nigeria! In this book, young readers tell you all about what makes their country special, from its great capital city, to the landscape, people, food and things to see and do.This series introduces young readers to different continents and countries around the world, highlighting the differences and similarities between them. Clear, friendly text and big photos make these books a great starting point for learning about geography in general, and countries in particular.

Hodder Children's Books

How to Train Your Dragon The Hidden World: The Story of the Film

Based on the billion dollar DreamWorks frnachise, read all about Hiccup and Toothless's next adventure in Berk in this official Story of the Film!Everyone's favourite heroes Hiccup and Toothless are back for a brand-new adventure!Read the story of the film in this fun, full-colour storybook!Look out for more How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World books:How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World 1001 StickersHow to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World Dragon GlidersHow to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World Glow in the Dark Sticker BookHow to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World The Story of the FilmHow to Train Your Dragon Ultimate Movie GuideHow to Train Your Dragon is now a major DreamWorks franchise. How to Train Your Dragon 3 is scheduled for release in 2019 and the TV series Defenders of Berk can be seen on CBBC and Netflix.

Hodder Children's Books

How to Train Your Dragon The Hidden World: Glow in the Dark Sticker Book

Hodder Children's Books

How To Train Your Dragon The Hidden World: Ultimate Movie Guide

Based on the billion dollar DreamWorks franchise, this is the ultimate guide to How to Train Your Dragon.This definitive, official guide gives you the lowdown on all of Toothless and Hiccup's adventures - from how they first met to their biggest battles. Learn dragon myths, Viking legends and battle stories in this bumper book of Berk. A must-have gift for any Dragons fans!Look out for more How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World books:How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World 1001 StickersHow to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World Dragon GlidersHow to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World Glow in the Dark Sticker BookHow to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World The Story of the FilmHow to Train Your Dragon Ultimate Movie GuideHow to Train Your Dragon is now a major DreamWorks franchise. How to Train Your Dragon The Hidden World is scheduled for release in February 2019 and the TV series Defenders of Berk can be seen on CBBC and Netflix.

Hodder Children's Books

How to Train Your Dragon The Hidden World: 1001 Stickers

Based on the billion dollar DreamWorks franchise, join Hiccup and Toothless in this fun-filled sticker activity book - with over 1000 stickers!A dragon-filled activity book perfect for fans of How To Train Your Dragon! This sticker book is packed with games, activities and over 1000 stickers of all of your favourite Dragons characters. Look out for more How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World books:How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World 1001 StickersHow to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World Dragon GlidersHow to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World Glow in the Dark Sticker BookHow to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World The Story of the FilmHow to Train Your Dragon Ultimate Movie GuideHow to Train Your Dragon is now a major DreamWorks franchise. How to Train Your Dragon 3 is scheduled for release in 2019 and the TV series Defenders of Berk can be seen on CBBC and Netflix.

Hodder Children's Books

How To Train Your Dragon The Hidden World: Dragon Gliders

Based on the billion dollar DreamWorks franchise, build and fly your own dragons in this action-packed activity book!Race your dragons with your friends and find out who can fly the furthest - will it be Toothless, Stormfly, Hookfang or the new Light Fury?Full of games, puzzles, colouring and more, this activity book will keep Dragons fans busy for hours!Look out for more How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World books:How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World 1001 StickersHow to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World Dragon GlidersHow to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World Glow in the Dark Sticker BookHow to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World The Story of the FilmHow to Train Your Dragon Ultimate Movie GuideHow to Train Your Dragon is now a major DreamWorks franchise. How to Train Your Dragon 3 is scheduled for release in 2019 and the TV series Defenders of Berk can be seen on CBBC and Netflix.

Hodder Children's Books

Lots of Frogs

Howard Calvert, Claudia Boldt
Contributors:
Howard Calvert, Claudia Boldt

Tommy Fox has a box - a box full of frogs. And when they all jump out at school, that's when the fun begins! There is chaos in the classroom and high jinks in the hall. Can Tommy get the frogs back in the box?You'll want to hop along with this fun, rhyming text by debut author Howard Calvert with deliciously bright and bold illustrations from Claudia Boldt!

Hodder Children's Books

Is it Really Nearly Christmas?

Joyce Dunbar, Victoria Turnbull
Contributors:
Joyce Dunbar, Victoria Turnbull
Franklin Watts

Double Dragons

Enid Richemont
Authors:
Enid Richemont
Franklin Watts

Long-Necked Dinosaurs

David West
Authors:
David West

Professor Pete knows lots about all sorts of dinosaurs and other prehistoric animals. Learn all about long-necked dinosaurs from pronouncing their difficult names to facts about their weight, what they eat, how fast they can run and where they used to live in the world. Children will soon become dinosaur experts.Following the same style as Nora the Naturalist's Animals and Safari Sam's Wild Animals, Professor Pete's Prehistoric Animals are brilliant introductory books for young readers aged 5+ in the high-interest area of dinosaurs.

Wayland

Seashore

Victoria Munson
Authors:
Victoria Munson

A fun guide to the seashore for young children. From tiny crabs to slippery seaweed, discover fun facts about amazing seashore wildlife. Find out what plants and animals live at the seashore, how they survive and how to identify them.Which fish have teeth strong enough to crack open shells?Which sea mammal can reach speeds of 30 kph? Simple descriptions mixed with beautiful photographs make this a great children's first guide to the seashore. If you like this title, why not search out the others in the series: Birds, Mammals, Flowers, Minibeasts and Trees.

Wayland

Mammals

Victoria Munson
Authors:
Victoria Munson
Wayland

With Hands and Feet

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks

A collection of fun, simple, inexpensive craft projects, ideal for time-poor parents and budget-challenged schools, promoting reuse and recycling. Beautifully designed, the book is clearly and appealingly illustrated with step-by-step instructions and engaging artwork. Each activity is straightforward and achievable, and as such is therapeutic for stressed or anxious children, allowing them to make things by themselves, and to have confidence in their own abilities. Let's Make Art With Hands and Feet shows you how to make a fingerprint sweetshop, fist-print fish, a thumb-print circus, a handprint zoo, a footprint space rocket and much, much more. Techniques include drawing, painting, printing, collage, making rubbings and paint-scraping - used in ingenious ways for fantastic results!Other titles in the series include Let's Make Art By Printing and Stamping, Let's Make Art with Everyday Things and Let's Make Art with Scrap Paper, so there's a whole load of upcycling fun to be had!