Louise Derrington - How to Build... Robots - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

How to Build... Robots

By Louise Derrington

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Build and test a range of REAL working models in this series aimed at inventors and engineers of the future

So you want to build your own robot models? Real ones that you can power and move?

Well now you can, with How to Build. Inside you'll find simple instructions, equipment lists and templates to help you make working models, including a robotic hand, bristle-bot, drawing robot, scrub-bot, solar fan robot and "Robbo the Robot".

This series is aimed at budding inventors and engineers of the future, and contains builds which require adult supervision. It supports design and technology skills and learning, and is ideal for use at home, school and at STEM clubs.

Biographical Notes

Louise Derrington trained as a Social Anthropologist at Edinburgh University before beginning her working life as a journalist. A chance interview about the teaching of hearing impaired children in Holland caused her to change direction and train as a teacher of both the hearing impaired and special needs. Louise has a low boredom threshold and writing is her new personal challenge.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445144689
  • Publication date: 22 Feb 2018
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
For any child who aspires to build robot models -- ones that can be powered and move -- this is the ideal book. It includes clear, step-by-step instruction, with illustrations at every stage, equipment lists and templates to help — Parents In Touch
The instructions given for all of the projects are very concise and easy to follow ... A good book for any aspiring inventors and the projects could easily be used as classroom activities too — School Librarian
Orion Children's Books

Thief in the Night

Abie Longstaff
Authors:
Abie Longstaff

The third book in The Trapdoor Mysteries, a series about Tally, a code-breaking, animal-loving servant girl and her best friend, a squirrel named Squill, who solve mysteries with the help of a secret library...Orphan Tally is the servant girl at Mollett Manor - and she's also the Secret Keeper of the magical library hidden beneath a trapdoor, underneath the manor's grounds. Along with Squill the squirrel, she uses the enchanted books to solve crimes. So when ghostly noises start haunting the lady of the manor in the middle of the night, she's terrified and turns to Tally for help. But can the library help Tally catch something that no one can see?

Franklin Watts

Biodiversity

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

A powerful look at the biggest environmental issues facing our generationEarth's rich biodiversity at risk everywhere, from the icy poles to the dense rainforest, as deforestation, climate change and pollution threaten fragile ecosystems. Can we reverse the damage before it is too late? Our Earth is facing huge environmental challenges, from plastic pollution choking our oceans to critical loss of biodiversity. Ecographics aims to raise young readers' awareness of these challenges with the latest headline-grabbing facts and stats, pertinent case studies and powerful photos. Important reading for children aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Fish Live in Water

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley
Franklin Watts

The Stone, Bronze and Iron Ages

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Which genius ideas and inventions began in the Stone, Bronze and Iron Ages? This period, stretching from the first ancestors of modern humans to the start of the ancient civilisations of Greece and Rome, was a time of amazing developments. Find out how the discovery of how to make fire and tools, farm the land and form symbols to communicate in writing transformed society and had a lasting impact on the way we live today.

Orchard Books

Rainbow Magic: Sasha the Slime Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Franklin Watts

Climate Change

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

A powerful look at the biggest environmental issues facing our generationEarth is now warmer than at any time in the past 650,000 years, putting it at huge risk from natural disasters from flooding to desertification. How can we reverse climate change before it is too late? Our Earth is facing huge environmental challenges, from plastic pollution choking our oceans to critical loss of biodiversity. Ecographics aims to raise young readers' awareness of these challenges with the latest headline-grabbing facts and stats, pertinent case studies and powerful photos. Important reading for children aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Minerals

Richard Spilsbury
Authors:
Richard Spilsbury
Franklin Watts

The Romans

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Hodder Children's Books

Whoever You Are

Diana Hendry
Authors:
Diana Hendry

From the Costa award-winning author of Harvey Angell, comes the sequel to Out of the Clouds.Pa is off again to work on his world-changing scientific discovery, leaving the rest of the Coggins family behind at their hidden clifftop home, Dizzy Perch. Oliver is in charge, with strict instructions about no visitors, in order to protect Pa's top-secret location. But Ma doesn't listen, and invites her favourite author to say.When a woman arrives at Dizzy Perch claiming to be the author, the whole family are enchanted by their guest. All apart from Oliver, that is. A good job too, because the woman is really the sister of Pa's Sworn Enemy Mac, whose mission it is to bring Pa down and steal his research. How is Oliver going to be able to keep his promise to Pa and protect his family, when they simply refuse to listen to him...?A classic mystery adventure perfect for fans of Enid Blyton.

Franklin Watts

My Parents' Divorce

Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Contributors:
Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean

This book helps young children find out about and understand what's happening when their parents divorce or separate. It features eight case studies from children who have a range of issues from a girl who is angry with her parents to a boy who is worried about what will happen next. The stories help readers understand and empathise with characters, while also offering practical advice that readers can use in their everyday lives. The end of the book features a short playscript to act out and discuss. The book has engaging illustrations throughout.In this series case studies combine with sensible, practical advice to help children aged 6+ find out what to do in difficult situations.

Franklin Watts

Bullying

Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Contributors:
Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Worlds Collide

Chris Colfer
Authors:
Chris Colfer
Hodder Children's Books

How to Train Your Dragon: How to Twist a Dragon's Tale

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

Read the HILARIOUS books that inspired the HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON films! Hiccup Horrendous Haddock the Third is a smallish Viking with a longish name. Hiccup's father is chief of the Hairy Hooligan tribe which means Hiccup is the Hope and the Heir to the Hairy Hooligan throne - but most of the time Hiccup feels like a very ordinary boy, finding it hard to be a Hero. Over on Lava-Lout Island, the volcano is ready to blow. Now Hiccup faces a terrifying Quest to Stop the Volcano Exploding, alongside his best friend Fishlegs and Humungously Hotshot the ex-Hero.But not only is Lava-Lout Island full of EXTERMINATOR DRAGONS, Hiccup's ARCH ENEMY is also lurking - and he's seeking REVENGE! ***Please note this ebook is TEXT ONLY and does not include the illustrations that appear in the printed book.***READ ALL 12 BOOKS IN THE SERIES!You don't have to read the books in order, but if you want to, this is the right order:1. How to Train Your Dragon2. How to Be a Pirate3. How to Speak Dragonese4. How to Cheat a Dragon's Curse 5. How to Twist a Dragon's Tale6. A Hero's Guide to Deadly Dragons7. How to Ride a Dragon's Storm8. How to Break a Dragon's Heart9. How to Steal a Dragon's Sword10. How to Seize a Dragon's Jewel11. How to Betray a Dragon's Hero12. How to Fight a Dragon's FuryHow to Train Your Dragon is now a major DreamWorks franchise starring Gerard Butler, Cate Blanchett and Jonah Hill and the TV series, Riders of Berk, can be seen on CBeebies and Cartoon Network.

Hodder Children's Books

How to Train Your Dragon: How to Ride a Dragon's Storm

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Hodder Children's Books

How to Train Your Dragon: A Hero's Guide to Deadly Dragons

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Wayland

Technology

Colin Hynson
Authors:
Colin Hynson

Discover the amazing array of jobs within the field of technology that you never knew existed. From the professional hackers, known as cyber security experts, who use security techniques to make sure that an organisation's data is safe from falling into the wrong hands, to the app developers who design the latest apps, from games and entertainment to navigation tools. Read about the academic and vocational routes you can take to reach these jobs and how to get ahead in these exciting professions whilst you are at school and college.

Wayland

Science

Colin Hynson
Authors:
Colin Hynson

Discover the amazing array of jobs within the field of science that you never knew existed. From the exoplanet hunters who use powerful telescopes to look for planets orbiting stars, to the forensic scientists who help detectives by using forensic chemistry to link suspects to crime scenes.Read about the academic and vocational routes you can take to reach these jobs and how to get ahead in these exciting professions whilst you are at school and college.

Wayland

Crystals

Richard Spilsbury
Authors:
Richard Spilsbury

The rocks that cover Earths surface wouldn't exist without crystals. Written to support the science national curriculum, this text encourages readers to get up close and personal with the crystals contained in rocks. Along the way, they'll learn important Earth science skills, such as how crystals form, how to identify crystals based on their physical properties, and where in the world they're found. The text also teaches readers how we use crystals in everyday life, and what kinds of hobbies and careers involve working with crystals. This information-rich text features engaging images, fact boxes, and sidebars, which offer opportunities for additional learning.

Franklin Watts

Rockets

Louise Derrington
Authors:
Louise Derrington

So you want to build your own rocket models? Real ones that you can power and launch?Well now you can, with How to Build. Inside you'll find simple instructions, equipment lists and templates to help you make working models, including a straw rocket, fizzy rocket, balloon rocket, water rocket, matchstick rocket and tube rocket.This series is aimed at budding inventors and engineers of the future, and contains builds which require adult supervision. It supports design and technology skills and learning, and is ideal for use at home, school and at STEM clubs.

Hodder Children's Books

How to Train Your Dragon: How to Seize a Dragon's Jewel

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell