Louise Derrington - How to Build... Rockets - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781445143941
    • Publication date:26 May 2016
Books in this series

How to Build... Rockets

By Louise Derrington

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Build and test a range of REAL working models in this series aimed at inventors and engineers of the future

So you want to build your own rocket models? Real ones that you can power and launch?

Well now you can, with How to Build. Inside you'll find simple instructions, equipment lists and templates to help you make working models, including a straw rocket, fizzy rocket, balloon rocket, water rocket, matchstick rocket and tube rocket.

This series is aimed at budding inventors and engineers of the future, and contains builds which require adult supervision. It supports design and technology skills and learning, and is ideal for use at home, school and at STEM clubs.

Biographical Notes

Louise Derrington trained as a Social Anthropologist at Edinburgh University before beginning her working life as a journalist. A chance interview about the teaching of hearing impaired children in Holland caused her to change direction and train as a teacher of both the hearing impaired and special needs. Louise has a low boredom threshold and writing is her new personal challenge.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445143934
  • Publication date: 22 Feb 2018
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Orchard Books

Reindeer Recovery

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once 3

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Hodder Children's Books

Mr Penguin and the Catastrophic Cruise

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

From the international bestselling creator of Claude comes a hero like no other: Mr Penguin. Indiana Jones meets Hercule Poirot in this series from Alex T. Smith. Mr Penguin is boarding a luxury cruise ship. He doesn't like water, and he can't swim, but his friend Colin is performing with the Ladies Choir on board - and anyway, Mr Penguin feels like a rest after some busy Adventuring. What's more, fish finger sandwiches are apparently available twenty-four hours a day. Heaven! But despite the glamorous film stars and party atmosphere, Mr Penguin can't help but feel that something shifty is happening on board. And when he befriends a young stowaway with a mystery of her own to solve, he soon finds that Adventures are lying in wait after all ...This is the third Mr Penguin book with plenty of slapstick humour, mystery and adventure. Highly illustrated throughout with a striking black and orange design.Praise for Mr Penguin and the Lost Treasure:'Addictive slapstick' - Guardian'The perfect introduction to mystery stories' - Scotsman

Orchard Books

Lost Kitten

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

Helping animals, having fun! The bestselling Animal Ark series has been reimagined for a new generation of children. Perfect for animal lovers and fans of Holly Webb and Magic Animal Friends. When Amelia and Sam find a lost white kitten in the wilderness, they can't work out why her behaviour seems different to other cats. With the help of the vets at Animal Ark, they work out that the lost kitten is deaf and help track down her owners. Because she can't hear, Tinkerbell is safer staying at home - but she really wants to explore outdoors. Can Amelia and Sam find a way to make the intrepid little kitten's garden safe but fun to play in?A brilliant animal series from multi-million-selling author Lucy Daniels, loved by parents and children alike!"I remember reading these books as a child myself. Now buying them for my own daughter. . . Delightful stories!" "I love this series of books. They made me realise how special animals are!"

Orchard Books

Llama on the Loose

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Wren & Rook

The Marvellous Adventure of Being Human

Max Pemberton
Authors:
Max Pemberton
Franklin Watts

Plastic Planet

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

A powerful look at how plastic pollution is becoming the biggest environmental disaster of a generation Once hailed as a miraculous invention, plastic has become the indestructible scourge of our Earth. It has infiltrated every part of our planet, from the deepest oceans to most remote ice fields. It chokes our wildlife, litters our beaches and even pollutes our drinking water. The world is reaching a crisis point.Plastic Planet looks at plastic through the ages, exploring what it is, how it's made and how we have become so dependent on it in a single-use, disposable world. It highlights the social inequality of plastic pollution and explores how plastic has become a widespread and dangerous pollutant that is inextricably linked to climate change. The book looks ahead to possible solutions to our plastic crisis, from global changes such as changing people's mindsets, to innovations such as compostable plastics, to practical solutions such as recycling and bottle return schemes.

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Quercus Children's Books

A Girl Called Justice

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Hodder Children's Books

Bombs and Blackberries

Julia Donaldson, Thomas Docherty
Contributors:
Julia Donaldson, Thomas Docherty
Hodder Children's Books

The Girl with the Lost Smile

Miranda Hart, Kate Hindley
Contributors:
Miranda Hart, Kate Hindley
Franklin Watts

Attack of the Zombie Bunnies

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore

Take on the role of a cartoon hero in this fully interactive, wacky, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.YOU live in a small, dull town with your ma and pa, and while they are perfectly happy growing fruit and veg for the ever-expanding population, YOU want more than this sedate, rural life. That'll be when the zombie bunnies start popping up all over the place...Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve Skidmore, and illustrated by the amazing Lee Robinson.Age appropriate for 6 to 8 year olds. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Franklin Watts

Kung Fu Kitten

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore

Take on the role of a cartoon hero in this fully interactive, wacky, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.The Ugly Pug Gang are making your life a total misery - and now they've stolen your most precious locket. These little pooches are just a bunch of pint-sized bullies! YOU must train in kung fu and learn the Way of the Kitten. Only then will you be able to put a muzzle ?on those bad pugs, before they take over the town...Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve Skidmore, and illustrated by the amazing Lee Robinson.Age appropriate for 6 to 8 year olds. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Franklin Watts

How to Build... Robots

Louise Derrington
Authors:
Louise Derrington

So you want to build your own robot models? Real ones that you can power and move?Well now you can, with How to Build. Inside you'll find simple instructions, equipment lists and templates to help you make working models, including a robotic hand, bristle-bot, drawing robot, scrub-bot, solar fan robot and "Robbo the Robot".This series is aimed at budding inventors and engineers of the future, and contains builds which require adult supervision. It supports design and technology skills and learning, and is ideal for use at home, school and at STEM clubs.

Franklin Watts

Frankenstein

Mary Shelley
Authors:
Mary Shelley

Discover the classic gothic horror story of Frankenstein in this illustrated retelling, perfect for young readers Frankenstein is the terrifying tale of a scientist who uses his powers to bring a dead body back to life and creates a monster. Little can the scientist imagine the consequences of his actions, as he and his creation quickly become drawn into a deadly game of cat and mouse, which only one of them can win...Adapted by Mick Gowar from the original novel by Mary Shelley.Frankenstein is part of a series of adaptations of well-known stories, designed to introduce young readers to the classics. Divided into short chapters and illustrated with modern black and white artwork, each title offers an accessible and exciting read.Perfect for readers aged 7 and up.

Hodder Children's Books

Stories of Wizards and Witches

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Get ready for broomstick rides and bubbling cauldrons in these magical short stories from Enid Blyton - ideal for reading aloud, or for children over 7 to read alone! This bumper collection of 25 short stories is populated by every sort of magical and mysterious creature, from a grumpy wizard who is outwitted by an elf to pixie who rides on a rabbit. The stories are the perfect length for reading aloud in a classroom or at bedtime. With lots of humour and fantastic characters, these will appeal to newly confident readers to read alone as well as to younger children being read to.Enid Blyton remains one of Britain's favourite children's authors and her bumper short story collections are perfect for introducing her to the latest generation of readers.

Orion Children's Books

The Secret of Supernatural Creek

Lauren St John
Authors:
Lauren St John
Quercus Children's Books

The Starman and Me

Sharon Cohen
Authors:
Sharon Cohen

E.T. meets Stig of the Dump in a page-turning adventure for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and David Almond'A proper adventure story for all curious middle graders ... heartily recommended' The Bookbag*Now shortlisted for both the Essex Book Awards 2018 and the Branford Boase Award 2018!*He wasn't an alien, I was sure of that. It was more like he'd walked in through an ancient door from the past ... except he was here, in my bedroom and his misty forest was somewhere real on Planet Earth.Twelve-year-old Kofi first spots the prehistoric human on a supermarket roundabout. He is small and dark and curled into a tight ball. His name is Rorty Thrutch and he has zero memory of how he ended up in the unexceptional village of Bradborough, or why he's being hunted... Kofi soon finds out that Rorty can do amazing things. He can copy, paste and delete objects, using only the power of his mind. This is the discovery of the century and mad, greedy scientists will stop at nothing to track him down.Kofi and best friend Janie are on a mission. Not only must they protect Rorty, but they have to find his missing girlfriend Pogsy Blue, too. Our prehistoric ancestors have crashed headlong into the 21st century and time is running out to save them...THE STARMAN AND ME explores where we have come from and where we are moving to - it's about the magic of DNA, the power of identity, and the importance of caring for each other.

Wayland

Early Islamic Civilisation

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Early Islamic civilisation spread across the Middle East, Africa, Europe and Asia in the 7th and 8th centuries CE, forming a massive empire. Find out about the birth of Islam, amazing inventions and trade across the empire. Read about weapons and war, the city of Baghdad, the life of a scribe, science and medicine and find out how to make an Islamic tile design!Packed with fascinating information, the Explore! series inspires children's curiosity to find out more about the past. A great tool for readers age 8+ or teachers looking for books to support the new curriculum.