Helen Greathead - Perilous Places - Hachette Children's Group

Perilous Places

By Helen Greathead

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

Get your brain juices pumping with these fiendish question and answer books!

Would you climb Mount Everest, or dive in the Mariana Trench? Would you rather be lost in the jungle or the desert?
These diabolical situations and more will have you running for cover as you plunge into a series of fiendish questions and answers.

Brilliant author, Helen Greathead, has plucked some dastardly situations from places all around the world and mashed them up into brain-tastic challenges. All you have to do is choose!

So, come on, what would YOU choose?

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445142210
  • Publication date: 28 Jan 2016
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Wayland

The Tech-Head Guide: Robots

William Potter
Authors:
William Potter
Wayland

The Tech-Head Guide: Computers

William Potter
Authors:
William Potter
Hodder Children's Books

Toto the Ninja Cat 3

Dermot O’Leary
Authors:
Dermot O’Leary

Toto is no ordinary cat, and she can't wait for you to join her on her THIRD ninja adventure! From one of the UK's best-loved broadcasters, purrfect for fans of The Aristocats, The Secret Life of Pets and Atticus Claw Breaks the Law. Toto, the amazing ninja cat, is back and cooler than ever! Toto is almost blind, but that doesn't stop her having brilliant adventures. Ideal for reading aloud or for children to curl up with and read alone, the story features brilliant black and white illustrations throughout. With gentle themes of friendship, inclusivity and winning in the face of adversity, this is a hilarious must-read for all animal-loving kids! Dermot says: 'The idea for Toto first came to me when my wife and I rescued two stray cats from an olive grove in Italy. One of them, Toto, has been blind from birth, but we quickly realised she had ninja-like reactions. Like a lot of cat owners (or cat servants), we like to imagine our pets having secret lives when we're out or asleep. So before I knew it I was writing about Toto and her brother Silver's nocturnal adventures around London. I really hope that children who pick it up enjoy reading the adventures of our little Italian underdog (cat).'Have you read Toto's other adventures: The Great Snake Escape and The Incredible Cheese Heist?

Wayland

The Ancient Olympic Games

Jhonny Nunez
Contributors:
Jhonny Nunez

Travel back in time to Ancient Greece to discover the origins of the Olympic Games.Bright, bold and dynamic artwork bring to life the origins of the Olympic Games. Find out about the legend behind the games, the original events and the excitement that filled Olympia during the Olympic Festival.

Orchard Books

Electro the Storm Bird

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!A wicked curse has been put on Tom's magical Golden Armour, turning its powers to Evil. Now he has fallen under its enchantment and is being controlled by his pirate enemy, Ria. Tom must battle a terrifying lightning bird - but he will need the help of his loyal companion Elenna more than ever ...There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out!

Orchard Books

Fluger the Sightless Slitherer

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Wayland

The Tech-Head Guide: Drones

William Potter
Authors:
William Potter

Explore the rise of technology that may soon rule our lives!What is a drone, how does it work, what are they being used for and what role may they play in the future? Big impactful photos fill the pages highlighting the science and technology at work. These pieces of technology are infiltrating all areas of our lives, including the home, our social life, the world of work, health and education. The supportive functions and the sinister elements are all explored.Learn about how drones are used for search and rescue missions, deliveries of pizzas and medicines but also races and as weapons.An essential guide to our future overlords - geek up on the technology that drives these machines and prepare for their takeover.

Wayland

The Tech-Head Guide: AIs

William Potter
Authors:
William Potter
Orchard Books

The Case of the Evil Engineer

Girls Excelling at Maths and Science! Four friends use their smarts to solve mysteries.Four 12-year old girls from different countries meet as room-mates at a prestigious international summer camp for young scientists in California. The camp is sponsored by Vance Tech - one of the world's biggest tech companies. At first, despite having a love of maths and science in common, the girls view each other as competitors - a big prize for the best robot will be awarded at the end of the camp, at a launch party for Vance Tech's newest wearable tech product. At first it seems exciting to be trialling the new bracelets, until the girls begin to realise that they are actually guinea pigs themselves! Someone is plotting to sabotage the award ceremony using the campers' robots. The implications aren't just mind-blowing - they are literally explosive! The girls form a secret organisation called G.E.M.S. (standing for Girls Excelling at Maths and Science - and also their initials!) and use their science smarts to expose the evil engineer behind the sabotage.

Franklin Watts

Your Brain and Body

Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Contributors:
Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio

Aimed at young tweens, this book will help you to look after your brain and body and develop good mental health. How are you today? Your brain and body work as a team. What you do with your body - what you eat, how you exercise and how much sleep you get - affects your mood, while your thoughts and feelings affect how you feel physically. This book will help you to understand how your physical and mental health are closely linked. There are hints and tips on quick ways to improve your health that you can try every day or whenever you need to. The text has been approved by a consultant working in the field of young people's mental health and includes information on further sources of help and advice.

Franklin Watts

Robot Runaway

Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Contributors:
Tony Bradman, Wil Overton

Kid Force 3 are Jayden, Layla and Caleb. They aren't regular kids, they're super kids - each with an amazing superhero power.In this story, a professor's new robot malfunctions and escapes, out of control. Can Kid Force 3 track it down and stop it from destroying anything in its path? This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to get children reading with confidence. This series is suitable for guided reading with children aged 5+, but also for older readers with low reading confidence or struggling to enjoy books.

Franklin Watts

Human Rights

Alice Harman, David Broadbent
Contributors:
Alice Harman, David Broadbent

How can you be a good global citizen? By understanding the world we live in and how we can effect change. This book explores what human rights are, what happens when they are respected and when they are limited, for example losing your right to freedom if you commit a crime. The book looks at movements such as Black Lives Matter and at how we can all help to protect human rights through activation.The I'm a Global Citizen series explores the concept of 'Global Citizenship': recognising that the world we live in is unfair and unequal, but promoting individual and collective action to challenge and change this. Each book has information, fun activities, challenges, case studies and ideas for group and individual action presented with fun illustrations. The books promote the idea that we have power as individuals: each of us can change things, and each of us has choices about how we behave. They encourage children aged 8+ to counter ignorance and intolerance.

Franklin Watts

Rules for Everyone

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, David Broadbent
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, David Broadbent
Franklin Watts

Plants

Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Contributors:
Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Hodder Children's Books

Malory Towers: New Class at Malory Towers

Enid Blyton, Rebecca Westcott, Narinder Dhami, Patrice Lawrence, Lucy Mangan
Authors:
Enid Blyton, Rebecca Westcott, Narinder Dhami, Patrice Lawrence, Lucy Mangan

It's time to welcome new girls to Malory Towers, the famous boarding school by the sea, in four brand-new stories by outstanding authors, set in Enid Blyton's much-loved school.YA and Waterstones Book Prize-winner Patrice Lawrence introduces us to proud Marietta with her magnificent head of braided hair. A dormitory argument reveals something unusual about Marietta, and something equally unexpected about Alicia.In Guardian and Stylist columnist Lucy Mangan's story, student librarian Evelyn is wary of her lively, lacrosse-playing classmates. When one of them becomes a regular visitor to the hushed domain of the library, can Evelyn really trust her?Sunita Sharma joins Malory Towers surrounded by a sense of mystery, in Narinder Dhami's fabulous story. But is Sunita really as glamorous as Gwendoline imagines?In Rebecca Westcott's heartwarming story, Darrell and friends fear the worst when spoilt Gwendoline's cousin joins the school. But Maggie is very different from her stuck-up relative . . .

Franklin Watts

The Vikings

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland
Wayland

Fish

Pat Jacobs
Authors:
Pat Jacobs
Wayland

Ponies

Pat Jacobs
Authors:
Pat Jacobs
Wayland

How to Design the World's Best Sports Stadium

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Imagine someone gave you a sackful of money and told you to build a sports stadium. You'd definitely want it to be the best sports stadium the world. But how do you go about designing THAT? Armed with your own imagination and some smart research, find out how you can transform a fantasy design into an actual dream product. You'll apply real-world design considerations to your ideas, refining your design to make it workable and achievable as it takes shape.

Wayland

How to Design the World's Best Space Station

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Imagine someone gave you a sackful of money and told you to build a space station. You'd definitely want it to be the best space station in the world. But how do you go about designing THAT? Armed with your own imagination and some smart research, find out how you can transform a fantasy design into an actual dream product. You'll apply real-world design considerations to your ideas, refining your design to make it workable and achievable as it takes shape.