Leon Gray - Global Positioning System: Who's Tracking You? - Hachette Children's Group

Global Positioning System: Who's Tracking You?

By Leon Gray

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

A series that explores the most pressing issues facing humankind today through the opinions of leading experts.

Global Positioning System explains what GPS is, its origins and how it affects the daily lives of people around the world. It explores the use of GPS in industry and leisure, crime solving and the military. The book also offers expert opinion about the uses of GPS, which are sometimes controversial and invasive.

Is our planet's population out of control? What is the future of the global economy? Are we playing God with genetic modification? How secure is the global positioning system and who is tracking you? In Ask the Experts discover some of the most topical issues facing people today and read expert opinions on each subject. Once you have 'asked the experts', become an expert yourself and use the knowledge you have learned to make up your own mind about our future. An investigative series for children aged 9+.

Biographical Notes

Leon Gray is a highly experienced children's book author who has written titles on many subjects, from science and geography to world issues. Before becoming an author, he worked in book publishing in London. Leon now lives in Scotland and is married with three children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445138701
  • Publication date: 08 Jan 2015
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Hodder Children's Books

Mystery of the Theatre Ghost

Pamela Butchart, Enid Blyton, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Pamela Butchart, Enid Blyton, Tony Ross
Hodder Children's Books

The Haven

Simon Lelic
Authors:
Simon Lelic
Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Egg of Glory

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Orchard Books

The Secret Jungle

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations. JACK, RUBY AND DANNY FACE A DEADLY ROBOTIC FOE! RUBY'S MOTHER HAS VANISHED INTO THE DEPTHS OF THE JUNGLE. TO FIND HER, TEAM HERO MUST EXPLORE A NEW, VAST LANDSCAPE - AND DO BATTLE WITH A GIANT ROBOT! There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Book 1: The Secret Jungle, Book 2: Ninja Strike, Book 3: The Night Thief, Book 4: An Army AwakensAnd don't forget Adam Blade's other series: Beast Quest and Sea Quest

Orchard Books

Evermore

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland

Jules confronts the girl who is both her oldest friend and greatest enemy in the highly anticipated sequel to the Top Ten Bestseller Everless.Jules Ember was raised hearing legends of the ancient magic of the wicked Alchemist and the good Sorceress. But she has just learned the truth: She is the Alchemist, and Caro - a woman who single-handedly murdered the Queen and Jules's first love, Roan, in cold blood - is the Sorceress.The whole kingdom believes that Jules is responsible for the murders, and a hefty bounty has been placed on her head. And Caro is intent on destroying Jules, who stole her heart twelve lifetimes ago. Now Jules must piece together the stories of her past lives to save the person who has captured her heart in this one.Perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard, Stephanie Garber and Kendare Blake, Evermore is the high-stakes, star-crossed follow up to Everless that fans have been waiting for.

Franklin Watts

Rivers and Coasts

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Hodder Children's Books

The Secret Seven Collection 5

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Franklin Watts

Polar Lands

Leon Gray
Authors:
Leon Gray

The polar lands at and seas around the North and South Poles are one of Earth's most unique and unspoiled habitats. Many plants, animals and people have made these cold, snowy and icy environments their home and are adapted to living there. They have to be tough to survive in a world where freezing temperatures, long dark winters, and fearsome predators are all challenges to survival. Find out about threats to these beautiful environments and why they are so important to life on Earth and how the may be used or may change in the futureBooks aimed at KS2 readers wanting to find out a bit more about world environments. Amazing Habitats explores six main habitats.

Wayland

How Does a Touch Screen Work?

Leon Gray
Authors:
Leon Gray

Touch screens have transformed our modern lives, allowing us to control equipment and communicate with each other through smart devices - all at the touch of a button. Discover how touch screens began as scientific resources, how they were changed into the fun and practical gadgets we use today and what the future of these adaptable and inventive devices could be. High-Tech Science is a series of four books that look at the revolutionary, cutting-edge science that we rely on to run our lives and keep our modern world working.

Wayland

How Does GPS Work?

Leon Gray
Authors:
Leon Gray

From its earliest uses in the US military to its role today in vehicle navigation, surveying and transport tracking, GPS has changed the way we travel, work and have fun. It has also become a crucial tool for emergency services, law enforcement officers and the monitoring of convicted criminals. Find out more about how GPS works and how this high-tech science affects your world.High-Tech Science is a series of four books that look at the revolutionary, cutting-edge science that we rely on to run our lives and keep our modern world working. It it closely linked with the Science and Design and Technology curriculums.

Franklin Watts

Awesome Animals: Facts, Stats and Quizzes

Tracey Turner
Authors:
Tracey Turner

Stat Attack is irresistible to fact fiends, providing A-Z lists, top tens, etc, and focusing on mind-boggling information about the subjects that really interest them. Fascinating lists are meticulously researched and backed up with supplementary information. The books lend themselves to statistic games and comparisons, and are illustrated in an infographic style.

Franklin Watts

Genetic Modification: Should Humans Control Nature?

Leon Gray
Authors:
Leon Gray
Franklin Watts

Oceans

Leon Gray
Authors:
Leon Gray

The oceans are one of Earth's unique habitats, but many plants and animals have made the oceans their home and are adapted to living there. They have to be tough to survive in a world where crashing waves, icy depths and fearsome predators are all challenges to survival. People also use the oceans for food and for pleasure and even to generate power for their homes. This book covers everything you need to know about this saltwater world...Books aimed at KS2 readers wanting to find out a bit more about world environments. Amazing Biomes explores six main habitats.

Franklin Watts

Deserts

Leon Gray
Authors:
Leon Gray

Deserts are one of the harshest environments on Earth, but many plants, people and animals have made deserts their home and are adapted to living there. They have to be tough to survive the raging hot sun, icy nights, sandstorms and of course, very little (and sometimes no) rain. Read on to find out how they do it! Deserts are also changing. Some are being irrigated and used to grow crops, or they can be used for sport and leisure. Find out what changes we can expect for the deserts of the future.Books aimed at KS2 readers wanting to find out a bit more about world environments. Amazing Habitats explores six main habitats.

Wayland

Animals

Leon Gray
Authors:
Leon Gray

Discover the incredible superpowers displayed by creatures in the natural world. Find out how scientists have harnessed or mimicked these superpowers to create amazing developments in technology and medicine. Explore how the creations of animators and filmmakers have been influenced by these superpowers.

Wayland

Deserts

Leon Gray
Authors:
Leon Gray
Franklin Watts

Solving The Mysteries of Stonehenge

Leon Gray
Authors:
Leon Gray
Hodder Children's Books

Secret Seven Mystery

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Adam Blade

Adam Blade is the name for a small collective of authors who have been writing the bestselling series Beast Quest and Sea Quest for ten years! Beast Quest has now sold over 10 million copies. The newest series from the Adam Blade team is called Team Hero. You can find out more about all these amazing adventures at the series websites: beastquest.co.uk and teamherobooks.co.uk

Albert Uderzo

Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of Pilote. Asterix the Gaul, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 34 Asterix albums.