Clare Hibbert - Seaside Towns - Hachette Children's Group

Seaside Towns

By Clare Hibbert

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

A perfect introduction to the history and geography of life beside the seaside.

In Seaside Towns you can compare tiny harbours and bustling resorts, and learn about the kinds of buildings and businesses they have today. Discover what goes on at a port and read about lighthouses, piers and fish and chip shops.

The Beside the Seaside series looks at specific aspects of daily life by the sea, whether examining plant and animal habitats, exploring the various jobs people do, looking at types of buildings and structures, or comparing a holiday by the sea in the past and present day.

An essential set of books for learning about all aspects of the seaside, and a perfect teaching tool for Key Stage 1.

Biographical Notes

Clare specializes in non-fiction books for children of pre- and primary school age. Her favourite subjects are animals, history, art and culture. She has been shortlisted for the prestigious Aventis Junior Science Prize, and won a dozen Practical Pre-School Gold Awards. When she's not writing, Clare likes spending time with her family, taking long walks, going to the theatre and watching contemporary dance - her favourite dancer is Akram Khan.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445137612
  • Publication date: 08 Jun 2017
  • Page count: 24
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Hodder Children's Books

Little Tigers

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver
Franklin Watts

Insects, Bugs and Other Invertebrates

Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Contributors:
Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Franklin Watts

Mammals, Birds and other Vertebrates

Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Contributors:
Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Franklin Watts

Plants

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

This stunningly illustrated series looks at life in the prehistoric era, focusing not just on dinosaurs, but looking at the world as a whole. The prehistoric era is absolutely fascinating for children and adults alike, and is useful for schools studying history chronologically. Amazingly detailed and accurate illustrations bring the prehistoric era to life. Engaging reading for children aged 7+.

Franklin Watts

Dinosaurs

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

This stunningly illustrated series looks at life in the prehistoric era, focusing not just on dinosaurs, but looking at the world as a whole. The prehistoric era is absolutely fascinating for children and adults alike, and is useful for schools studying history chronologically. Amazingly detailed and accurate illustrations bring the prehistoric era to life. Engaging reading for children aged 7+.

Franklin Watts

Volcanoes

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Dig deep into the explosive world of volcanoes and then become a word wizard and dazzle everyone with your newfound knowledge.Write On is a high interest information series with a difference, designed to help the newly independent reader become a confident writer. Eye-catching photos and accessible text help build knowledge. Top writing tips and 'wow' words inspire easy to achieve writing projects, a fantastic way to improve literacy skills. A great book for 7-9 year olds or those working at Key Stage 2.

Franklin Watts

In Your Body

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Did you know there were tiny living things on your body that you can't see? Some are bacteria, others are mould, others are tiny little insects! But what do they do and what do they look like? Find out about the good ones and the bad ones! Full-page photographs of these alien-like creatures in high magnification reveals their horror (or even their beauty). This book supports natural history studies and the KS2 and KS3 science curriculum where appropriate.It is part of a series, Micro Monsters which takes a close up look at the tiny creatures that are around us all the time and which we cannot see with the naked eye. Some are harmless, some are just pests, and some are deadly. From bedbugs to zooplankton and from bacteria to water fleas, all microscopic life is here. The revelation of the places these creatures inhabit will have readers squirming in their seats as they find out how these mini monsters can help and hinder humans.

Franklin Watts

Big Cats

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Rainforests

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Wander through wild rainforests and discover facts about who and what lives there, then become a word wizard and dazzle everyone with your newfound knowledge.Write On is a high interest information series with a difference, designed to help the newly independent reader become a confident writer. Eye-catching photos and accessible text help build knowledge and the varied design includes easy to digest bullet points of information. Top writing tips and 'wow' words will inspire writing project ideas and improve literacy skills. The Writing school section at the back of the book helps transform the factual information in a variety of ways from comic strips to blogs. The books will be a perfect literacy aid for 8-11 year olds.

Orchard Books

Mad About Trucks and Diggers!

Giles Andreae, David Wojtowycz
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, David Wojtowycz
Hodder Children's Books

Knock Knock Pirate

Caryl Hart, Nick East
Contributors:
Caryl Hart, Nick East
Hodder Children's Books

Little Whale

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver

Told through the eyes of a whale and her calf, this mesmerisingly beautiful book is a story of migration, family, the strength of parental love and the wonders of nature.Little Whale has never seen the cold, rich waters of the north. She and her mother travel from the warm southern ocean, passing coral reefs, kelp forests and shoals of shimmering fish - with her mother guiding her and protecting her all the way home. With its lyrical storytelling and evocative charcoal drawings shot through with blue, Jo Weaver's story has the feel of an instant classic, celebrating the tender relationship between parent and child and the majesty of their underwater world. Perfect for fans of BBC's Blue Planet.Jo's previous book, Little One, was longlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal 2016. Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards 2014.

Franklin Watts

Dragon's Hiccups

Jenny Jinks, Martin Remphry
Contributors:
Jenny Jinks, Martin Remphry
Franklin Watts

Seaside Holidays Then and Now

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Seaside Holidays Then and Now compares what it would have been like to go on holiday to the seaside in the past with modern seaside holidays today. Readers are encouraged to explore what has changed and what has stayed the same, including the places we stay, beach activities and the clothes we wear.The Beside the Seaside series looks at specific aspects of daily life by the sea, whether examining plant and animal habitats, exploring the various jobs people do, looking at types of buildings and structures, or comparing a holiday by the sea in the past and present day. An essential set of books for learning about all aspects of the seaside, and a perfect teaching tool for Key Stage 1.

Franklin Watts

In Your Food

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Orchard Books

Emily the Emerald Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Disaster has struck Fairyland! Jack Frost has stolen all the jewels from Queen Titania's crown. Without them, the fairies are losing their magical powers. Rachel and Kirsty have to help India the Moonstone Fairy, Scarlett the Garnet Fairy, Emily the Emerald Fairy, Chloe the Topaz Fairy, Amy the Amethyst Fairy, Sophie the Sapphire Fairy, and Lucy the Diamond Fairy to get the jewels back, before it's too late... In this story, it's time for Kirsty and Rachel to help Emily the Emerald Fairy find her magical missing jewel.

Franklin Watts

Dinosaurs

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Space

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

From stargazing to supernovas, rocket power to the Red Planet, learn all about what makes up our universe, and beyond!Write On is a high interest information series with a difference, designed to help the newly independent reader become a confident writer. Eye-catching photos and accessible text help build knowledge. Top writing tips and 'wow' words inspire easy to achieve writing projects, a fantastic way to improve literacy skills. A great book for 7-9 year olds or those working at Key Stage 2.

Franklin Watts

Remembrance Day

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Why Do We Remember?: Remembrance Day explores how and why on this day we commemorate those who died in wars, from the First World War right up to modern day conflicts. Poppies, memorials and Remembrance Day parades are all also looked at.This simple, friendly children's first history series, aimed at readers aged 5 and up, takes a close look at some key events and personalities through history and reveals how and why they are still important to us today. A perfect support to learning about history at Key Stage 1, each book uses a rich variety of historical sources, from diaries to paintings, to bring events to life, while simple historical vocabulary is introduced and explained. Each book also features a simple timeline and explores how we find about the past. All text has been carefully checked by a historian.

Franklin Watts

Endangered Animals

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert