Clare Collinson - British Insects and other Minibeasts - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781445136325
    • Publication date:12 Feb 2015
Books in this series

British Insects and other Minibeasts

By Clare Collinson

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Introduces children to a variety of wildlife that live around them.

There are more insects and other minibeasts in British neighbourhoods than any other kind of animal. Whether you are at home, walking down the street, in a meadow or by a river, there's plenty of minibeasts to discover! In this book discover a range of minibeasts from bees, butterflies and bugs to worm and woodlice. It is full of great nature-spotting tips and includes information about the classification of insects.

The book is part of the 'Nature in your neighbourhood' series - find out all about the plants and animals that live all around you!

Biographical Notes

Clare Collinson lives in Oxford and is a writer and editor of educational books for children. She loves to write about wildlife, inspired by her interest in plants, animals and the environment. The 'Nature in Your Neighbourhood' series introduces young naturalists to the huge variety of wildlife we can find close to our homes. When she's not working, Clare is kept busy by her family and garden, and she relaxes by walking in the countryside.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445136332
  • Publication date: 26 Jul 2018
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Wayland

You Can Be an Ice Skater

Alix Wood
Authors:
Alix Wood
Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Toe of Treachery

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Hodder Children's Books

Accidental Trouble Magnet

Zanib Mian, Nasaya Mafaridik
Contributors:
Zanib Mian, Nasaya Mafaridik

Welcome, readers, to the imaginative brain of Omar! You might not know me yet, but once you open the pages of this book you'll laugh so hard that snot will come out of your nose (plus you might meet a dragon and a zombie - what more could you want?). My parents decided it would be a good idea to move house AND move me to a new school at the same time. As if I didn't have a hard enough time staying out of trouble at home, now I've also got to try and make new friends. What's worse, the class bully seems to think I'm the perfect target and has made it his mission to send me back to Pakistan. But I've never even been to Pakistan! And my cousin told me the pizza there is YUCK. The only good thing is that Eid's just around the corner which means a feast of all my favourite food (YAY) and presents (DOUBLE YAY). I'm really hoping I can stay in Mum and Dad's good books long enough to get loads...The combination of Zanib Mian's hilarious text and Nasaya Mafaridik's fantastic cartoon-style illustrations make the PLANET OMAR series perfect for fans of Tom Gates and Wimpy Kid. Previously published as 'THE MUSLIMS', this was the winner of the Little Rebels Award in June 2018. The text has been revised, expanded and re-illustrated.

Orchard Books

Aisha the Astronaut Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Aisha the Astronaut Fairy's magical item, the astronauts everywhere lose their mojo!Can the girls help Aisha defeat him in a truly out-of-this-world adventure?

Orchard Books

Orla the Inventor Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Orla the Inventor Fairy's magical item, inventors everywhere stop having ideas!Can the girls help Orla defeat him and bring inspiration back to fairy and human worlds?

Orchard Books

Dani the Detective Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Dani the Detective Fairy's magical item, detectives everywhere run out of clues! Can the girls help Dani get it back and help solve mysteries everywhere?

Wren & Rook

The Story of Flight

Jakob Whitfield
Authors:
Jakob Whitfield
Orchard Books

Elsie the Engineer Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Elsie the Engineer Fairy's magical item, engineers everywhere lose their very special skills! Can the girls help Elsie defeat him and save the magic of engineering from being destroyed?

Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Egg of Glory

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell

WARNING: DO NOT GIVE THIS BOOK TO YOUR OWN GRANDMA. SHE MIGHT GET IDEAS...Grandma demands justice!**And also all the teacakesA priceless artefact has been stolen in Russia - and Grandma Dangerous wants to find it. Nothing will stand in her way - not even some poisoned caviar, a prison break or a spot of contemporary dance. Can Ollie and Grandma return the treasure and get back home, before being caught by the politsiya? Or - worse - before Mum finds out?Praise for Book 1: "Thrills! Biscuits! This book has it all" Andy Riley, author of King Flashypants

Pat-a-Cake

Here Come the Llamas

Pat-a-Cake, Laura Hambleton
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Laura Hambleton
Wren & Rook

The A–Z of Wonder Women

Yvonne Lin
Authors:
Yvonne Lin
Orchard Books

Evelyn the Mermicorn Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Quercus Children's Books

The Lost Magician

Piers Torday
Authors:
Piers Torday
Wren & Rook

The You Are Awesome Journal

Matthew Syed, Lindsey Sagar, Toby Triumph
Contributors:
Matthew Syed, Lindsey Sagar, Toby Triumph
Franklin Watts

Dolphin Ride

Jill Atkins, Geraldine Rodriguez
Contributors:
Jill Atkins, Geraldine Rodriguez
Hodder Children's Books

King Flashypants and the Boo-Hoo Witches

Andy Riley
Authors:
Andy Riley
Orion Children's Books

When the Mountains Roared

Jess Butterworth
Authors:
Jess Butterworth

A vivid, warm and atmospheric adventure set in the mountains of India, about a girl who is determined to protect the wild leopards of the mountain from poachers, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell.I thought we'd live here forever ... but then, I thought Mum would be here forever too.When Ruby's dad uproots her from Australia to set up a hotel in the mountains of India, Ruby is devastated. Not only are they living in a run-down building in the middle of the wilderness surrounded by scorpions, bears and leopards, but Ruby is sure that India will never truly feel like home - not without her mum there.Ever since her mum died, Ruby has been afraid. Of cars. Of the dark. Of going to sleep and never waking up. But then the last remaining leopards of the mountain are threatened and everything changes. Ruby vows to do all she can to protect them - if she can only overcome her fears...

Franklin Watts

British Birds

Clare Collinson
Authors:
Clare Collinson
Franklin Watts

British Trees and Flowers

Clare Collinson
Authors:
Clare Collinson
Franklin Watts

British Mammals

Clare Collinson
Authors:
Clare Collinson