Jillian Powell - Little Owl - Hachette Children's Group

Little Owl

By Jillian Powell

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Fun stories of under 50 words for emergent readers.

Little Owl is trying to learn to fly. Big Owl wants to help, but Little Owl won't stop looking down!

The Tiddlers series features fun stories with a word count of fewer than 50 words for children who are just starting to read.

A word list at the beginning of the story allows for a quick check of the reader's ability to read and understand words before reading, and a puzzle at the end of the story encourages rereading for pleasure.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445132686
  • Publication date: 08 Jan 2015
  • Page count: 24
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Hodder Children's Books

Little Tigers

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver

Mother Tiger and her two cubs journey through their jungle habitat, searching high and low for the perfect new home where they will be safe. A beautifully illustrated celebration of the love between parent and child and the wonders of the natural world. With its mesmerising, atmospheric charcoal drawings and lyrical storytelling, Jo Weaver's new picture book has the feel of an instant classic. Perfect for fans of BBC's Planet Earth.Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards.

Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of Happy

Laura Baker, Angie Rozelaar
Contributors:
Laura Baker, Angie Rozelaar

A beautiful exploration of feelings shown through colour as one little boy navigates a range of emotions - from happiness and excitement to hope and love, all on his way to present a gift to his mum.Blue is for the calm I feel wandering in the spring.Yellow is for happy when I spot a special thing.This book is the perfect introduction to both emotions and colours.

Orchard Books

Happy to Be Me

Emma Dodd
Authors:
Emma Dodd

A fun-filled, rhyming book celebrating bodies of all kinds, from Emma Dodd, the bestselling author-illustrator of Forever and Sometimes.Thank you, hands, you touch and hold.Ears, you hear the things I'm told.Thank you, eyes, you let me see. Oh, I'm so happy to be me!From arms that let us hug, to feet that are perfect for tickling ... our bodies are amazing. And the most important thing of all? Our hearts that let us love!Emma Dodd's simple, heartfelt story offers children and their parents a way of talking easily, and with gratitude, about their bodies and the wonderful things they can do. This is the perfect way to build body confidence and self-esteem in even the youngest children!Look out for these other amazing books from Emma Dodd (written by Giles Andreae):I Love YouI Love My MummyI Love My DaddyI Love My GrandmaI Love My GrandadI Love My PuppyI Love My BirthdayI Love My DinosaurI Love My Teacher

Hodder Children's Books

Amazing

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony
Hodder Children's Books

Knock Knock Alien

Caryl Hart, Nick East
Contributors:
Caryl Hart, Nick East

Aliens at the door can only mean trouble in this hilarious rhyming counting book that is out of this world! A little girl is in for an interstellar adventure when the noisy space invaders hijack her house to get home. Can she get back down to Earth - without waking Gran?!The follow-up to the hilarious Knock Knock Dinosaur and Knock Knock Pirate - from award-winning author Caryl Hart, creator of Supermarket Zoo, and bestselling illustrator Nick East.

Hodder Children's Books

Everybunny Dream

Ellie Sandall
Authors:
Ellie Sandall
Franklin Watts

At the Skate Park

Jillian Powell
Authors:
Jillian Powell

Reading Champion is a book banded reading programme for independent reading offering fantastic, original stories accompanied by engaging artwork. Each book has been carefully levelled making it easy to match to a child's reading ability and fully supports reading for pleasure.In this story, Pip and Dan head to the skate park - but who will end up laughing and who will end up flat on their face? A perfectly pitched story for children aged 3-5 starting to learn to read alone or support to those reading book band red 2 in the classroom.

Pat-a-Cake

First Writing

Pat-a-Cake, Becky Down
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Becky Down
Franklin Watts

The Maya

Jillian Powell
Authors:
Jillian Powell
Franklin Watts

China and the Shang Dynasty

Jillian Powell
Authors:
Jillian Powell

What do you know about the Shang Dynasty? Explore the incredible history of China during this time and find out how people lived, worked, created and celebrated in this fascinating period in history. The Shang were famous for their bronze artefacts and they were very advanced in the arts, writing, warfare and culture at the time. Craft activities support and enhance each section to bring what you've read to life.Part of the series Discover Through Craft. Twelve books that explore key curriculum topics using a mixture of activities, quizzes, facts and crafts. For children aged 7-9.

Wayland

A History of Britain Through Art

Jillian Powell
Authors:
Jillian Powell

This book discusses the history of Britain, from ancient settlements right up to our own times. Some of the pictures show momentous events such as the invasion of England by William the Conqueror or the Battle of Britain, which has shaped the history of the country. Other pictures reflect the life of a nation, such as the splendid architecture of a medieval cathedral, the Fire of London and travel in a Victorian omnibus. This approach provides an insight into the history of Britain as seen through the eyes of artists.

Orchard Books

Magical Story Collection

Wayland

Greatest Inventions of All Time

Jillian Powell
Authors:
Jillian Powell
Wayland

Our New Baby

Jillian Powell
Authors:
Jillian Powell
Wayland

Tudor Times

Jillian Powell
Authors:
Jillian Powell

Each book in this delightful, child-friendly series focuses on a different period in history, from Ancient Egypt right up to World War 2. Children will love learning about each era, and then following the simple instructions to make useful or interesting objects from that time. Age-appropriate and accessible, the books are jam-packed with great ideas and perfect for use at home or in the classroom. In Craft Box: Tudor Times, you can learn how to make a Tudor rose, a masquerade mask, a jester's crown, a jester's stick, a tussie mussie, a model of a Tudor house, a ruff, a stained glass coat of arms, a Tudor cap, a ship's figurehead, a cup and ball and a peg doll!Fun facts on every spread give background information about the Tudor era and its people, from Kings and Queens and the Royal Court, to the lives of everyday people.A Further Information spread suggests age-appropriate websites and books, so children can go away and learn more about the Tudors.A glossary explains any tricky words, and will help to further increase children's knowledge and understanding of the era.

Wayland

World War II

Jillian Powell
Authors:
Jillian Powell

Inspire children to get crafty by the make-do-and-mend attitude of World War II. Learn all about the ordinary people on the Home Front by making true-to-life artefacts such as a draught-stopper, an evacuee's suitcase and a gas mask. Then craft a Spitfire aeroplane, a pilot's goggles and some medals to learn all about the life of the soldiers during World War II. Packed to the brim with crafts and facts this book is full of original and exciting ideas for the home or school!

Wayland

Victorian Times

Jillian Powell
Authors:
Jillian Powell

Each book in this delightful, child-friendly series focuses on a different period in history, from Ancient Egypt right up to World War 2. Children will love learning about each era, and then following the simple instructions to make useful or interesting objects from that time. Age-appropriate and accessible, the books are jam-packed with great ideas and perfect for use at home or in the classroom. In Craft Box: Victorian Times, you can learn how to make a Penny Black stamp, a barrel organ, a silhouette portrait, a bellows camera, a spinning top, a Victorian police helmet, a Jubilee souvenir, a model of the Crystal Palace, a Victorian calling card, a terrarium, a candlestick telephone and a cornucopia!Fun facts on every spread give background information about the Victorian era and its people, from the engineers, explorers and inventors who are still famous today, to Queen Victoria herself.A Further Information spread suggests age-appropriate websites and books, so children can go away and learn more about the Victorians.A glossary explains any tricky words, and will help to further increase children's knowledge and understanding of the era.

Franklin Watts

Rainforests

Jillian Powell
Authors:
Jillian Powell

What is a rainforest? Do you know the difference between a tropical rainforest and a temperate rainforest? Explore the amazing variety of plants and animals that call rainforests around the world home and find out how they are adapted to survive there. From giant trees and carnivorous plants to monkeys, birds, frogs and minibeasts. Discover why we need to protect these rich habitats from deforestation and why they are called the 'lungs of the world'.Part of the series Discover Through Craft. Six books that explore key curriculum topics for children aged 7-9.

Franklin Watts

Weather and Seasons

Jillian Powell
Authors:
Jillian Powell

What is weather? Why do we have seasons? Explore the amazing variety of weather that can be experienced on our planet and why the seasons are so important for life on Earth. From beautiful sunny days to raging storms; from the blossoming of life in spring to the cold, icy winter, this book explains why the planet needs to undergo all of these changes throughout the year.Part of the series Discover Through Craft. Six books that explore key curriculum topics for children aged 7-9.

Hodder Children's Books

The Blue Balloon

Mick Inkpen
Authors:
Mick Inkpen

A celebrated classic which continues to delight millions of children. Kipper has found a soggy blue balloon in the garden. At first, it seems like an ordinary balloon, but it's not. It's full of fun and magic. This is a book to be treasured, loved, read time and time again, with fantastic fold out pages.