Clare De Marco - The Greedy Pirates - Hachette Children's Group

The Greedy Pirates

By Clare De Marco

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Fun stories of under 50 words for emergent readers.

Parker and Patch are two pirates with a thirst for treasure! When they discover they both have the same treasure map, it is a race to see who gets to the treasure first!

The Tiddlers series features fun stories with a word count of fewer than 50 words for children who are just starting to read.

A word list at the beginning of the story allows for a quick check of the reader's ability to read and understand words before reading, and a puzzle at the end of the story encourages rereading for pleasure.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445132235
  • Publication date: 08 Jan 2015
  • Page count: 24
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Hodder Children's Books

Pugicorn

Matilda Rose, Tim Budgen
Contributors:
Matilda Rose, Tim Budgen

He's a dog . . . in a unicorns' world!Every year, young princesses and princes arrive at Mrs Paws' Magic Pet shop to pick a perfect unicorn pet. But this year Princess Ava has arrived too late. There are no unicorns left . . . only PUGICORN. He's short and hairy. He can't sit still or gallop gracefully - and he certainly can't leap over rainbows. Can a pugicorn ever be a princess's best friend? *WITH A SUPER SPARKLY GLITTER COVER!*The trend for pugicorns is taking off - and you'd be barking mad to miss it!

Orchard Books

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn Eats Christmas

Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Contributors:
Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn saves Christmas in this brilliantly funny second book from Lou Carter, the bestselling author of There Is No Dragon in This Story.It's Christmas Eve and Oscar the Unicorn is hungry.He's eaten the Christmas tree, the stockings and is about to make a start on the presents. But at least he hasn't eaten the magic reindeer food that allows the reindeer to fly . . . has he?! Oh. He has. All of it. How is Santa going to deliver presents to the rest of fairyland with his trusty reindeer unable to fly? Luckily, Princess Oola has an idea . . . Oscar will make the best reindicorn EVER! The brilliantly funny sequel to the Oscar the Hungry Unicorn, full of Christmas fun and silliness!

Pat-a-Cake

Puss in Boots

Pat-a-Cake, Rachel Elliot, Sharon Harmer
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Rachel Elliot, Sharon Harmer

Jack is struggling, so Puss promises to make his fortune in return for a pair of special, shiny red boots. The wily cat pulls off some clever tricks and Jack ends up with a castle of his very own. This story is a perfect introduction to the classic tale, with its gentle, rhythmic text and bright, friendly illustrations.It's never too early to introduce children to the magic and wonder of classic tales. Familiar characters are brought to life at each turn of the page with spellbinding artwork and lyrical writing. A visual glossary at the beginning introduces new vocabulary and promotes understanding. A lively activity at the end invites discussion and will make even the very youngest children want to return to these story books again and again. Fairy tales and classic stories are a vital introduction to the basics of storytelling like setting, characters and plot. They boost a child's imagination and also teach valuable life lessons about good overcoming evil, the difference between right and wrong and the importance of rising to a challenge. Also available: Goldilocks and the Three Bears, Cinderella, Jack and the Beanstalk, The Three Little Pigs.

Pat-a-Cake

The Little Mermaid

Pat-a-Cake, Ronne Randall, Junissa Bianda
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Ronne Randall, Junissa Bianda
Hodder Children's Books

Christopher Pumpkin

Sue Hendra, Paul Linnet, Nick East
Contributors:
Sue Hendra, Paul Linnet, Nick East
Orchard Books

My Pet Star

Corrinne Averiss, Rosalind Beardshaw
Contributors:
Corrinne Averiss, Rosalind Beardshaw

A magical story about the importance of kindness.When a little girl finds a lost star, she takes it home and cares for it, just like a beloved pet. She reads it stories, makes it special snacks and tucks it into bed at night. The more she cares for the star, the brighter it glows. Until, one day, it's time to let go ... A heartfelt story about caring for others, from BAFTA award-winning writer and CILIP Greenaway-nominated author Corrinne Averiss. Perfect for sharing at bedtime.

Pat-a-Cake

Show and Tell

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake
Pat-a-Cake

Bestest Friends

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake
Orchard Books

Rainbow Magic Early Reader: Charlotte the Baby Princess Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

Little Tigers

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver
Orchard Books

Daddy Fartypants

Emer Stamp, Matt Hunt
Contributors:
Emer Stamp, Matt Hunt
Franklin Watts

I Am Here, Where Are You?

Anita Jones, Sarah Horne
Contributors:
Anita Jones, Sarah Horne

A fabulously illustrated look at our place in the world - from the room we are in right out to the universeIn I Am Here, Where Are You? Ollie tells the reader where he is. Using this simple premise, Ollie starts off in the room in his house, then zooms out from this location to his road, his town, county, country, continent, planet, solar system, galaxy and finally universe.For readers aged four and up, I Am Here, Where Are You? follows the simple structure of "This is the House that Jack Built". Photographs and gorgeous artwork by the super-funky Sarah Horne combine to give children a sense of their place in the world by zooming out from their own location. It provides a springboard for discussion of the reader's location and explores concepts of cultural diversity, extended family, time zones and conservation of the planet we all share. Finally, it invites the reader to practise writing their own address, finishing at The Universe. The book provides great support for the geography curriculum at key stages 1 and 2.

Orchard Books

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn

Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Contributors:
Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Hodder Children's Books

The Story of Tantrum O'Furrily

Cressida Cowell, Mark Nicholas
Contributors:
Cressida Cowell, Mark Nicholas
Orchard Books

I Love My Teacher

Giles Andreae, Emma Dodd
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, Emma Dodd
Orchard Books

Pirate Stew

Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Contributors:
Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson

WITH BLUE FOIL FINISH!A quick-witted shrimp saves his friends from the pirates' cooking pot in this hilarious undersea caper about friendship, tolerance ... and CLEANING!Scrubadub the Shrimp LOVES to clean. He polishes the crabs, trims the reeds, shampoos the fish and grooms the frogs, until all his friends have had ENOUGH. But when the seafood friends are scooped from the sea by hungry pirates, only Scrubadub can save them from the stew pot ... using his super cleaning powers!This funny and engaging story will encourage even the messiest children to tidy up!Shortlisted for the Stockport Children's Book Awards.Lou Carter's richly funny rhyming story is reminiscent of Julia Donaldson and hilariously illustrated by rising star Nikki Dyson, illustrator of Zippo the Super Hippo.Perfect for fans of Jonny Duddle's The Pirates Next Door and The Pirate-Cruncher.

Orchard Books

Ten Little Pirates Board Book

Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty
Contributors:
Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty
Orchard Books

Ten Little Dinosaurs

Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty
Contributors:
Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty

Count along with the Ten Little Dinosaurs in this action-packed, counting rhyme adventure!Ten Little Dinosaurs set off in search of adventure ... But what will the Ten Little Dinosaurs do when they meet a grumpy triceratops? And a stomping diplodocus? And a HUNGRY T-REX?Part traditional counting rhyme, part fun-filled story, Ten Little Dinosaurs is perfect for sharing together. Read the bouncy rhyming story.Count from ten to one and back again, as the Little Dinosaurs disappear then reappear. Spot and count the details on each page. And join in with all the great sound-words!The Ten Little series has sold over a million copies worldwide, and Ten Little Bookworms is a 2019 World Book Day pick.'Count along with these adventurous dinosaurs in roaringly funny rhymes.'The Independent'Brilliant to help teach children recognise numbers.'Huffington Post'Riotous fun... Sure to raise a roar of approval'New Statesman

Orchard Books

I Love My Granny

Giles Andreae, Emma Dodd
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, Emma Dodd

A celebration of Grandparents and the special role they play in family life.This delightful picture book captures the joy of spending a fun-filled day with Granny. With a gentle, rhyming story and lovely illustrations, this is the perfect present for every family. Whether for new Grandparents, on Mother's Day or at any time of the year. From the creators of I Love My Daddy, a Sunday Times Top 10 Bestseller, and I Love My Mummy, winner of the Book Trust Early Years Award. And the author of picture book classic, Giraffes Can't Dance.

Hodder Children's Books

The Blue Balloon

Mick Inkpen
Authors:
Mick Inkpen

A celebrated classic which continues to delight millions of children. Kipper has found a soggy blue balloon in the garden. At first, it seems like an ordinary balloon, but it's not. It's full of fun and magic. This is a book to be treasured, loved, read time and time again, with fantastic fold out pages.