Damian Harvey - Tiddlers: Splash! - Hachette Children's Group

Tiddlers: Splash!

By Damian Harvey

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Fun stories with a word count of fewer than 50 words for emergent readers.

Rain is not fun - until you've got puddles to splash in! But they can be messy too so it's time for a bath plus plenty of bubbles!
The Tiddlers series features fun stories with a word count of fewer than 50 words for children who are just starting to read.
A
word list at the start of the book allows you to check the child's
ability to decode and understand each word before reading, providing a
fully supported first reading experience. And a puzzle at the end of the
story encourages rereading for pleasure.

Biographical Notes

Damian Harvey was born in Blackpool, Lancashire, but now lives in North Wales with his lovely wife, Vicky. He has three wonderful daughters, one brilliant boy and a cat called Polly. Before he became a writer, Damian worked as a painter and decorator, a lifeguard, a swimming teacher, and as an assistant in a record shop. His love of books started at a very early age with regular visits to the local library with Mum and bedtime stories every night. As he got older he spent his pocket money on books like Flat Stanley, Finn Family Moomintroll, Professor Brainstorm, Fantastic Mr Fox and many more. Now, Damian enjoys reading all sorts of books but lists Terry Pratchett and Iain M Banks among his favourite authors. About ten years ago he thought it would be a good idea to have a go writing books himself and he hasn`t stopped since. Damian has now written more than 60 books for children and doesn`t plan on stopping any time soon.



Although Damian enjoys sitting at home writing stories, he is very much in demand in schools and libraries `and just about anywhere else` where his lively, interactive `some say hilarious` performance sessions take children and teachers by surprise and leave them enthusiastic and excited about books and reading. He also leads workshops to help children with their own writing and everyone agrees that this is lots of fun too.



You can find out more about Damian, and see what he`s up to now, by visiting his website: www.damianharvey.co.uk

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445106915
  • Publication date: 26 Sep 2013
  • Page count: 24
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Franklin Watts

A New Home in Space

Damian Harvey, José Rubert
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, José Rubert
Hodder Children's Books

The Squurms at No. 322

Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Chris Jevons

Nelly isn't scared of monsters. In fact, she babysits for them. From the bestselling author of the OI FROG! and DAISY books comes this hilarious, action-packed series for fans of THE BOLDS and BARRY LOSER.'If monsters are real, how come I've never seen one?''Because they never go out.''Why don't monsters ever go out?''Because they can never get a babysitter.'Ever ice-skated with a baby Thermitt, or played musical chairs with one hundred and twenty Digdiggs? Every time Nelly rings on a new monster family's doorbell she's up for a new challenge. Come on her monster-sitting adventures in this laugh-out-loud funny second book in the NELLY THE MONSTER SITTER series. Kes Gray is one of the Independent's top ten children's authors, and winner of the Red House Children's Book Award.This story now comes with brand-new illustrations; it was previously published in a collection entitled: Grerks, Squurms & Water Greeps.

Franklin Watts

King Midas

Damian Harvey, Sonya Abby Soekarno
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, Sonya Abby Soekarno

In this retelling of the Greek myth, King Midas learns what true value means when his greed robs him of everything that he holds most dear.This first colour chapter book is a perfectly levelled, accessible text for Key stage 2 readers aged 9-10. Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and activities to provoke deeper response and encourage writing. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Pat-a-Cake

Fancy Dress

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake

Perfect for celebrating all things fancy dress, and great for World Book Day! Create crazy costume combinations as you flip the flaps/ Mix and match fun fancy dress costumes to make lots of new flip flap friends with this colourful split-page book. Watch as spacesuits, tiger costumes and footballers get all mixed up in this rainbow book of new fancy dress friends. With 72 possible combinations s to mix and match, children will keep coming back for more flip flap fun.

Franklin Watts

The Blitz Baby

Damian Harvey, Nicolas Hitori De
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, Nicolas Hitori De

During a bombing of Plymouth in World War 2, a German plane is shot down near Jenny and Thomas's house. They long to investigate, but they hear something and decide to investigate first. They are soon in grave danger, needing help from the last source they would expect.This first colour chapter book is a perfectly levelled, accessible text for Key stage 2 readers aged 9-10. Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and activities to provoke deeper response and encourage writing. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Max and the Gladiator

Damian Harvey
Authors:
Damian Harvey

Max is on a school trip to Chester to visit some Roman ruins. As he takes a little nap after lunch he is suddenly transported back in time ... and before him stands a fully armed Roman Gladiator! This story is part of Reading Champion, a series carefully linked to book bands to encourage independent reading skills, developed with Dr Sue Bodman and Glen Franklin of UCL Institute of Education (IOE)Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Run, Melina, Run

Damian Harvey
Authors:
Damian Harvey
Franklin Watts

Cave Boy and the Egg

Damian Harvey, Bill Bolton
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, Bill Bolton
Hodder Children's Books

Iguana Boy Saves the World With a Triple Cheese Pizza

James Bishop, Rikin Parekh
Contributors:
James Bishop, Rikin Parekh
Hodder Children's Books

Iguana Boy vs. The 30 Second Thief

James Bishop, Rikin Parekh
Contributors:
James Bishop, Rikin Parekh

Wayland

Forces

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

Finding out about forces has never been so engaging. This book is full of exciting experiments, fun puzzles, quirky humour and science facts to make you say WOW ... it's science with a BOOM! For children progressing through Book Bands, it is suitable for reading at level 10: White.Why not look out for the other BOOM SCIENCE titles? This fun series for children aged 6+ explores key science topics including Electricity, Forces, Human Body, Light, Materials, Plants, Seasons and Sound.

Hodder Children's Books

Attack of the Snack

Julian Gough, Jim Field
Contributors:
Julian Gough, Jim Field
Franklin Watts

Stuck in the Mud

Damian Harvey
Authors:
Damian Harvey
Franklin Watts

Fun at the Beach

Damian Harvey
Authors:
Damian Harvey

Mum and Dad want to go to the beach, but Kenzo and Koko are not so keen - the weather is very windy. Once they arrive, it's Kenzo and Koko who have all the fun! Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.Independent Reading Blue 4 stories are perfect for children aged 5-6 who are reading at book band 4 (Blue) in classroom reading lessons.

Franklin Watts

The Big Match

Damian Harvey
Authors:
Damian Harvey

Todd is football mad. It's Todd's birthday soon and he decides he wants to have a football party! But then he gets tickets to see the big match and it's on the same day - what will Todd decide to do? Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Sam's Super Family

Damian Harvey, Paul Davidson
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, Paul Davidson
Franklin Watts

Granny at the Park

Damian Harvey, Jan Smith
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, Jan Smith
Pat-a-Cake

Big Stickers for Tiny Hands

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake
Hodder Children's Books

Goodnight, Mr Panda

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony

'An ideal book for kids to learn about the importance of good manners.' Sun 'There's a new pre-school politeness tsar in town.' The Times Mr Panda and his friends are getting ready for bed. But some won't brush their teeth, others won't have a bath, and one won't even wear pyjamas! It's down to Mr Panda to show them how to do bedtime properly. Steve Antony's Mr Panda has taken the children's book world by storm, selling over 600,000 copies since it was first published.

Franklin Watts

Farmer Finn's Silly Sheep

Damian Harvey, Steve Brown
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, Steve Brown