Patrice Lawrence - Snap - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Snap

World Book Day 2019

By Patrice Lawrence

  • Paperback
  • £1.00

From the award-winning author of Orangeboy, a story of two friends, one missing boy and a secret as precious as gold. Written especially for World Book Day 2019.

From the award-winning author of Orangeboy and Indigo Donut, a new short story written especially for World Book Day 2019.

When Soraya's younger brother Farhad runs off into the freezing night, Soraya and her friend, Austin, are in a race against time to find him. High above the streets, Farhad's guilt closes in. He doesn't want to be found.

A story of two friends, one missing boy and a secret as precious as gold.

Biographical Notes

Patrice Lawrence was born in Brighton and brought up in an Italian-Trinidadian household in Mid Sussex. Patrice lives in east London and shares a cat called Stormageddon. She has been writing for as long as she has been reading. She loves crime fiction, sci-fi and trying to grow things. Her ideal mixtape includes drum 'n' bass, Bruce Springsteen and Studio Ghibli soundtracks. Music can't help creeping into her books. Her debut novel, Orangeboy, won the Waterstone's Book Prize for Older Readers and the YA Book Prize, and her second novel, Indigo Donut, won the Crime Fest Best Crime Fiction for Young Adults and was shortlisted for the YA Book Prize. @LawrencePatrice

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444950205
  • Publication date: 28 Feb 2019
  • Page count: 128
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

The Hottentops at No. 87

Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Hodder Children's Books

Rose, Interrupted

Patrice Lawrence
Authors:
Patrice Lawrence
Orion Children's Books

The Wishing Bones

Michelle Lovric
Authors:
Michelle Lovric
Hodder Children's Books

Malory Towers: New Class at Malory Towers

Enid Blyton, Rebecca Westcott, Narinder Dhami, Patrice Lawrence, Lucy Mangan
Authors:
Enid Blyton, Rebecca Westcott, Narinder Dhami, Patrice Lawrence, Lucy Mangan

It's time to welcome new girls to Malory Towers, the famous boarding school by the sea, in four brand-new stories by outstanding authors, set in Enid Blyton's much-loved school.YA and Waterstones Book Prize-winner Patrice Lawrence introduces us to proud Marietta with her magnificent head of braided hair. A dormitory argument reveals something unusual about Marietta, and something equally unexpected about Alicia.In Guardian and Stylist columnist Lucy Mangan's story, student librarian Evelyn is wary of her lively, lacrosse-playing classmates. When one of them becomes a regular visitor to the hushed domain of the library, can Evelyn really trust her?Sunita Sharma joins Malory Towers surrounded by a sense of mystery, in Narinder Dhami's fabulous story. But is Sunita really as glamorous as Gwendoline imagines?In Rebecca Westcott's heartwarming story, Darrell and friends fear the worst when spoilt Gwendoline's cousin joins the school. But Maggie is very different from her stuck-up relative . . .

Hodder Children's Books

The Boxer

Nikesh Shukla
Authors:
Nikesh Shukla

Told over the course of the ten rounds of his first fight, this is the story of amateur boxer Sunny. A seventeen year old feeling isolated and disconnected in the city he's just moved to, Sunny joins a boxing club to learn to protect himself after a racist attack. He finds the community he's been desperately seeking at the club, and a mentor in trainer Shobu, who helps him find his place in the world. But racial tensions are rising in the city, and when a Far Right march through Bristol turns violent, Sunny is faced with losing his new best friend Keir to radicalisation.A gripping, life-affirming YA novel about friendship, radicalisation and finding where you belong.

Hodder Children's Books

Oi Duck-billed Platypus! Audiobook

Kes Gray, Jim Field
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Jim Field
Hodder Children's Books

Run, Riot

Nikesh Shukla
Authors:
Nikesh Shukla
Hodder Children's Books

Indigo Donut

Patrice Lawrence
Authors:
Patrice Lawrence

The breathtaking second book from the author of Orangeboy, winner of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize for Older Readers, the YA Book Prize, the CrimeFest award, and shortlisted for the Costa Book Award .Praise for Orangeboy:"A truly brilliant book." Malorie Blackman"Incredible book. Thank you Patrice Lawrence for such a fresh and riveting piece of fiction." Ben Bailey Smith (Doc Brown)Seventeen-year-old Indigo has had a tough start in life, having grown up in the care system after her dad killed her mum. Bailey, also seventeen, lives with his parents in Hackney and spends all his time playing guitar or tending to his luscious ginger afro. When Indigo and Bailey meet at sixth form, serious sparks fly. But when Bailey becomes the target of a homeless man who seems to know more about Indigo than is normal, Bailey is forced to make a choice he should never have to make. A life-affirming story about falling in love and everyone's need to belong.

Hodder Children's Books

Monster Mountain Chase!

Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi
Contributors:
Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi
Orchard Books

Contagion

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Don't miss this startling first book in a breathtaking new trilogy from Teri Terry, queen of the teen psychological thriller and author of the bestselling Slated trilogy!URGENT!An epidemic is sweeping the country.You are among the infected. There is no cure, and you cannot be permitted to infect others. You are now under quarantine. The very few of the infected who survive are dangerous and will be taken into the custody of the army.Young runaway Callie survived the disease, but not the so-called treatment. Her brother Kai is still looking for her. And his new friend Shay may hold the key to uncovering what truly happened. From the author of the international sensation Slated comes the first book in a powerful new story of survival and transformation; love and power.

Quercus Children's Books

A Kiss in the Dark

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke

Real, compulsive and intense: Cat Clarke is the queen of emotional suspense. For fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.Can love survive the ultimate betrayal? A compelling story of love and identity from a bestselling author.When Alex meets Kate the attraction is instant. Alex is funny, good-looking, and a little shy - everything that Kate wants in a boyfriend. Alex can't help falling for Kate, who is pretty, charming and maybe just a little naive... But one of them is hiding an unbelievable secret, and as their love blossoms, it threatens to ruin not just their relationship, but their lives...

Quercus Children's Books

Entangled

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke
Hodder Children's Books

Boot Camp

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Hodder Children's Books

Orangeboy

Patrice Lawrence
Authors:
Patrice Lawrence
Quercus Children's Books

We Are Giants

Amber Lee Dodd, Amber Lee Dodd
Authors:
Amber Lee Dodd, Amber Lee Dodd

'A total page-turner...very moving and touching.' JACQUELINE WILSONA brilliantly funny and wonderfully warm-hearted story about love, family, and what it means to be different. Sydney thinks her mum Amy is the best mum in the world - even if she is a bit different. When everyone else kept growing, Amy got to four feet tall and then stopped right there. The perfect height, in Sydney's opinion: big enough to reach the ice cream at the supermarket, small enough to be special. Sydney's dad died when she was only five, but her memories of him, her mum's love and the company of her brave big sister Jade means she never feels alone . . . But when the family are forced to move house, things get tricky. Sydney and Jade must make new friends, deal with the bullies at their new school and generally figure out the business of growing up in a strange new town.And Sydney doesn't want to grow up - not if it means getting bigger than her mum...

Orion Children's Books

The Secret Life of Daisy Fitzjohn

Tania Unsworth
Authors:
Tania Unsworth

An enthralling, magical and spine-tingling story of a young girl who has never before seen the outside world. The second novel from THE ONE SAFE PLACE author Tania Unsworth. For her whole life, 11-year-old Daisy has lived with her mother in their family home, the splendid but crumbling Brightwood Hall. She has never set foot in the outside world. But one day, when her mother doesn't come home and a strange man arrives at the house, Daisy must use her wits to survive.This enthralling story of a young girl's physical and mental journey is beautifully imagined by Tania Unsworth, and readers will be completely transported by the unique magic of Daisy's world.

Hodder Children's Books

How Many Legs?

Kes Gray, Jim Field
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Jim Field

From the award winning creators of Oi Frog! comes an hilarious counting picture book about our four-legged - and two-legged and eight-legged - friends! How many legs would there be if a polar bear came for tea? How high would the leg count go if a squid rode in on a buffalo? As more and more animals join in the fun, count along if you can! Praise for Oi, Frog! also by Kes Gray and Jim Field: 'An absolute treat.' - Daily MailKes Gray is a bestselling, multi award-winning author of more than 70 books for children. He eats Ideaflakes for breakfast, spreads silliness on his toast and lives in a place called Different. Jim Field is a lead-driven, pencil-pushing, 25-frames-per-second Led Zeppelin fan. He is also a hugely talented illustrator and animation director. His first picture book Cats Ahoy! won the Roald Dahl Funny Prize.Oi Frog!, Oi Dog! and Oi Cat! are a top ten bestselling series. Oi Dog! was shortlisted for the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award and the British Book Awards in 2016, amongst others. It also won the Teach Primary New Children's Fiction Award, MadeForMums Award, Bishop's Stortford Picture Book Award and Portsmouth Picture Book Award. Oi Cat! was the Independent Booksellers Children's Book of the Season and Oi Goat! is a World Book Day book in 2018.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Enchantress Returns

Chris Colfer
Authors:
Chris Colfer

Alex and Conner Bailey have not been back to the magical Land of Stories since their adventures in The Wishing Spell ended. But one night, they learn the famed Enchantress has kidnapped their mother. Against the will of their grandmother (the one and only Fairy Godmother), the twins must find their own way into the Land of Stories to rescue their mother and save the fairy tale world from the greatest threat it's ever faced.

Hodder Children's Books

14: The Rimes

Kes Gray
Authors:
Kes Gray
Hodder Children's Books

15: The Wattwatts

Kes Gray
Authors:
Kes Gray