Jennifer Mathieu - Devoted - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444945256
    • Publication date:10 Jan 2019

Devoted

By Jennifer Mathieu

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

From the author of Zoella's Book Club pick, MOXIE, come a feminist coming-of-age story about self-discovery and taking life into your own hands ...

An empowering, feminist coming-of-age story about self-discovery, from the author of MOXIE - a Zoella Book Club book ...

Rachel Walker's family and community have turned away from the world.

Every part of Rachel's life is controlled, from what she reads to where she goes and what she wears. Her parents dictate how her life must be: marriage, modesty, children and obedience to her future husband. But when a former member of her community, a girl who escaped, moves back to her small Texas town, Rachel's world turns upside down.

She realises that her life is her own. But can she find the courage to fight for it?

Biographical Notes

Jennifer Mathieu was born on the East Coast of America, to a mom from Cuba and a dad from Chile. Jennifer teaches English to middle and high schoolers in Texas, where she now lives with her husband, son and rescue dog. She used to make her own zine, and is writing about all her favourite things in Moxie - punk rock, lady rights, the 90s, zines, Texas, and an interesting female protagonists. She writes contemporary YA fiction that treats teens like real people.
www.jennifermathieu.com
twitter: @jenmathieu
Instagram: @authorjenmathieu
Facebook: writerjennifermathieu

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444945225
  • Publication date: 10 Jan 2019
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Devoted tells the story of Rachel Walker. Raised in a strict Calvinist Christian family in a remote texan town, her life is controlled in every way, from what she wears to where she goes, to what she should and shouldn't read. Her parents decide every aspect of how she must live, and her life is already mapped out for her: Marriage, children, modesty and obedience to her future husband. Rachel lives in the shadow of her perfect older sister Faith, and younger sister Ruth who always knows what to say in her prayers, whereas Rachel can never find the right words. But when someone from the community's past returns - a girl who escaped this narrow world - Rachel's life is turned upside down. this is a story about one woman's fight to live life to its fullest. the characters and the setting are very believable, the story line is full of drama, and we cheer Rachel on all the way. — Burton Mail
Hodder Children's Books

Afterward

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu

From the author of MOXIE, comes a moving story of self-discovery and the hope that comes with friendship.Ethan Jorgensen went on a bike ride four years ago, and has not been seen since ...When Caroline's little brother is kidnapped, his subsequent rescue leads to the discovery of Ethan, now fifteen years old. Caroline can't help but wonder what happened to her brother who has non-verbal autism and is not adjusting well to life back home. And there's only one person who knows the truth: Ethan.But Ethan isn't sure how he can help Caroline when he is fighting traumatic memories of his own time in captivity.One thing's for sure. Both Caroline and Ethan need a friend, and their best option just might be each other ...

Orion Children's Books

The Star Outside my Window

Onjali Q. Rauf
Authors:
Onjali Q. Rauf
Hodder Children's Books

The Liars

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu
Wren & Rook

You Got This

Bryony Gordon
Authors:
Bryony Gordon
Hodder Children's Books

Accidental Trouble Magnet

Zanib Mian, Nasaya Mafaridik
Contributors:
Zanib Mian, Nasaya Mafaridik

Welcome, readers, to the imaginative brain of Omar! You might not know me yet, but once you open the pages of this book you'll laugh so hard that snot will come out of your nose (plus you might meet a dragon and a zombie - what more could you want?). My parents decided it would be a good idea to move house AND move me to a new school at the same time. As if I didn't have a hard enough time staying out of trouble at home, now I've also got to try and make new friends. What's worse, the class bully seems to think I'm the perfect target. At least Eid's around the corner which means a feast (YAY) and presents (DOUBLE YAY). Well, as long as I can stay in Mum and Dad's good books long enough...The combination of Zanib Mian's hilarious text and Nasaya Mafaridik's fantastic cartoon-style illustrations make the PLANET OMAR series perfect for fans of Tom Gates and Wimpy Kid. Previously published as 'THE MUSLIMS', this was the winner of the Little Rebels Award in June 2018. The text has been revised, expanded with new scenes and re-illustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

The Truth About Alice

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu
Hodder Children's Books

Moxie

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu
Hodder Children's Books

Just Like My Daddy

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling

From the creator of the bestselling Hugless Douglas, this humorous, touching tale is a celebration of dads everywhere - even if they are moody, lazy and good at pretending to be busy!A striking new edition of this bestselling picture book.One little lion cub can't wait to grow up and do everything just like his dad.David Melling is one of the UK's best-loved author-illustrators and his stories combine brilliantly imaginative illustrations with an endearing sense of what it is like to be a small child learning about the world.

Wayland

What is Humanism? How do you live without a god? And Other Big Questions for Kids

Michael Rosen, Annemarie Young
Authors:
Michael Rosen, Annemarie Young
Orion Children's Books

The One Dollar Horse: Fire Storm

Lauren St John
Authors:
Lauren St John

Franklin Watts

Space Exploration

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow

Space Travel Guides offer a unique look at our Solar System and beyond for older children. Adopting a `travel guide` format, this original series takes the reader on a fascinating fact-packed voyage, offering insights and points of interest along they way. Stunning full-colour photographs and quirky cartoons ensure that no detail is omitted as the trip progresses - from planetary features to star magnitudes and from space toilets to driving on the Moon.

Franklin Watts

The Outer Planets

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow

Space Travel Guides offer a unique look at our Solar System and beyond for older children. Adopting a `travel guide` format, this original series takes the reader on a fascinating fact-packed voyage, offering insights and points of interest along they way. Stunning full-colour photographs and quirky cartoons ensure that no detail is omitted as the trip progresses - from planetary features to star magnitudes and from space toilets to driving on the Moon.

Orion Children's Books

The Haunted House

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Number One for Fiendish Fun!This book contains an EPIC battle, a haunted house, a treasure map and a TERRIBLE TV show!Four utterly hilarious and totally brilliant Horrid Henry stories by Francesca Simon, with illustrations by Tony Ross. An irresistible introduction to reading for pleasure.

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Number One for Fiendish Fun!This book contains HIDEOUS behavior, terrible dancing, disgusting glop and a trip to France!Four utterly hilarious and totally brilliant Horrid Henry stories by Francesca Simon, with illustrations by Tony Ross. An irresistible introduction to reading for pleasure.

Orion Children's Books

Get Rich Quick

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Number One for Fiendish Fun!This book contains a not-so-great escape, an egg-and-spoon race, a money-making scheme and an AWFUL cousin! Four utterly hilarious and totally brilliant Horrid Henry stories by Francesca Simon, with illustrations by Tony Ross. An irresistible introduction to reading for pleasure.

Orion Children's Books

Nits Nits Nits!

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Orion Children's Books

Secret Club

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Hodder Children's Books

Speak

Laurie Halse Anderson
Authors:
Laurie Halse Anderson

From her first moment at Merryweather High, Melinda Sordino knows she's an outcast. She busted an end-of-summer party by calling the cops. Now her old friends won't talk to her, and people she doesn't know glare at her. No one knows why she called the police, and she can't get out the words to explain. So she retreats into her head, determined not to think about it. But, try as she might, it just won't go away...

Orchard Books

Billy Bonkers

Giles Andreae, Nick Sharratt
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, Nick Sharratt

Mad stuff just happens with Billy Bonkers! Billy is a bouncy, bubbly, bonkers boy. And wherever he goes, off-the-wall adventures always seem to follow. From bouncing so hard on his trampoline that he bounces up, up and away...into space, and eating so much porridge his stomach puffs up and he floats into the garden tree (and gets stuck...until he burps anyway), to a flight on a deflating lilo to biff a big, vicious shark right on the nose! Along with his wacky dad, brainy sister and down-to-earth mum, Billy's life is never boring, it's bonkers! This zany text is perfectly accompanied by Nick Sharratt's energetic illustrations.

Orion Children's Books

Tricking the Tooth Fairy

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Number One for Fiendish Fun!This book contains a lost tooth, a wedding, a HORRIBLE guest and a PUKEY poem! Four utterly hilarious and totally brilliant Horrid Henry stories by Francesca Simon, with illustrations by Tony Ross. An irresistible introduction to reading for pleasure.