Jennifer Mathieu - Devoted - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444945256
    • Publication date:06 Sep 2018

Devoted

By Jennifer Mathieu

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

From the author of Zoella's Book Club pick, MOXIE, come a feminist coming-of-age story about self-discovery and taking life into your own hands ...

An empowering, feminist coming-of-age story about self-discovery, from the author of MOXIE - a Zoella Book Club book ...

Rachel Walker's family and community have turned away from the world.

Every part of Rachel's life is controlled, from what she reads to where she goes and what she wears. Her parents dictate how her life must be: marriage, modesty, children and obedience to her future husband. But when a former member of her community, a girl who escaped, moves back to her small Texas town, Rachel's world turns upside down.

She realises that her life is her own. But can she find the courage to fight for it?

Biographical Notes

Jennifer Mathieu was born on the East Coast of America, to a mom from Cuba and a dad from Chile. Jennifer teaches English to middle and high schoolers in Texas, where she now lives with her husband, son and rescue dog. She used to make her own zine, and is writing about all her favourite things in Moxie - punk rock, lady rights, the 90s, zines, Texas, and an interesting female protagonists. She writes contemporary YA fiction that treats teens like real people.
www.jennifermathieu.com
twitter: @jenmathieu
Instagram: @authorjenmathieu
Facebook: writerjennifermathieu

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444945225
  • Publication date: 06 Sep 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Franklin Watts

Indus Valley Civilisation

Tim Cooke
Authors:
Tim Cooke
Orion Children's Books

Lane of the Lost

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

A new poignant and big-hearted story from bestselling Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted author Sarah Moore Fitzgerald.Allie has brought danger and ruin to her family because of a range of terrible decisions. She is hiding out on a mountain with a sack full of tinned food, an opener, a pen and a lighter and from this vantage point we hear who's coming to get her, what she has done and why.

Franklin Watts

It's My Body

Louise Spilsbury
Authors:
Louise Spilsbury
Franklin Watts

The Great Pet Shop Rescue

Tony Lee, Giovanni Costa
Contributors:
Tony Lee, Giovanni Costa

Jenny loves pets, especially her dogs Fosco and Dexter. But when the dogs discover a terrible secret at the Hapipetz Hotel, they are forced into action. Jenny's pets come up with a plan for a daring rescue, but can they pull it off?This title is part of the EDGE: Bandit Graphics series: individual, high-quality, safe, 32-page graphic novels written by New York Times bestselling author Tony Lee, suitable for readers aged 7+.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Where Do You Go, Birdy Jones?

Joanna Nadin
Authors:
Joanna Nadin

A story about finding yourself when everything changes and believing that love never runs out. Perfect for fans of A Boy called Hope and Jacqueline WilsonEleven-year-old Birdy Jones is all alone. She doesn't belong at school, at home, or even with her dad anymore. The only place she feels like herself is at her Grandpa's pigeon loft, where the familiar warmth and birdsong block out the world. It's also where she meets Dogger - her only friend and the one person who really seems to know where she's coming from.Birdy used to be happy, when it was just her and Dad, but now she has a stepmum and a little sister and another baby on the way. Worse, her growing family needs to move house, but Birdy doesn't believe there'll ever be enough room for her in Dad's busy life - and she can't leave Grandpa and the pigeons. She won't.Birdy dreams of a different family and future, and with Dogger's help she decides to find one - even if it means running away from everything she's ever known. But sometimes you need to fly away to find your way home again . . .

Hodder Children's Books

Mr Panda’s Colours

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony
Hodder Children's Books

Mr Panda’s Feelings

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony
Franklin Watts

Alien Kidnap

Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Contributors:
Tony Bradman, Wil Overton

Kid Force 3 are Jayden, Layla and Caleb. They aren't regular kids, they're super kids - each with an amazing superhero power.In Toxic Cookie Monster a bad bag of cookies turns a teacher into a monster, and Kid Force 3 have to save the town from her chocolate chip craving.This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to get children reading with confidence. This series is suitable for guided reading with children aged 5+, but also for older readers with low reading confidence or struggling to enjoy books.

Franklin Watts

My Little Brother’s a Zombie

Tony Lee, Tony Westwood
Contributors:
Tony Lee, Tony Westwood
Franklin Watts

Terrorism

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin

What is terrorism? How do terrorists differ from other criminals? What makes some individuals and groups decide to use violence to create terror as a means of achieving their aims? This book looks at the history of terrorism and analyses the motivations for its use. It looks at what is being done to tackle terrorism and asks readers to think about what they can do to help people in countries affected by terrorism, for example by fundraising for organisations supporting victims of terrorist attacks.

Hodder Children's Books

Once upon a bedtime

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling
Orion Children's Books

The Haunting

Margaret Mahy
Authors:
Margaret Mahy
Orion Children's Books

The Changeover

Margaret Mahy
Authors:
Margaret Mahy

A brand-new edition of the Carnegie Medal-winning THE CHANGEOVER - written by internationally bestselling author, Margaret Mahy.'A gorgeous, strange, unforgettable story . . . I more than loved it' Laini Taylor - author of Daughter of Smoke and Bone'A clammy hand pressed Laura down onto her knees beside Jacko's bed. It was the hand of terror, nothing less.'It was a warning. Laura felt it when she looked in the mirror that morning. There had been others: the day her father left home, the day she met Sorensen - the boy with the strange silver eyes.But nothing had prepared Laura for the horror of today. And now her little brother, Jacko, was fighting for his life after being sucked dry of his youth by the sinister Carmody Braque.Laura knows there is only one way to save Jacko; she must join Sorensen and use his supernatural powers to change over if there is to be any hope for her little brother.An unforgettable, supernatural romance.

Orion Children's Books

Ghost Boys

Jewell Parker Rhodes
Authors:
Jewell Parker Rhodes
Hodder Children's Books

The Great Art Activity Book

Paul Thurlby
Authors:
Paul Thurlby
Hodder Children's Books

Oi Frog!

Kes Gray, Jim Field
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Jim Field

Oi! Who sits where?Find out in this fun and noisy book!The laughter never ends with Oi Frog and friends . . . A sound book of the bestselling Oi Frog! with brilliant rhyming read-aloud text, jam-packed with animals and silliness, from the award-winning Kes Gray and Jim Field.Perfect for children and parents alike with an irresistible sound bite - 'Oi!' shouted by David Mitchell.Look out for more Oi books: Oi Dog!, Oi Cat! and Oi Goat!Praise for the Oi books: - 'Gigglingly delightful ... a perfect match of words and pictures to entertain again and again' - Daily Mail- 'Laugh out loud funny, with great illustrations ... cries out for a second reading immediately!' - Bookbag- 'It's simply brilliant' - The Independent- 'A hilarious rhyming story which has animals sitting on more and more unlikely things, all in the interests of rhyme ... perfectly pitched for young children.' - Parents in TouchKes is one of the Independent's TOP TEN children's authors and winner of the Red House Children's Book Award. Jim's first picture book Cats Ahoy! won the Roald Dahl Funny Prize in 2011. Oi Dog! was shortlisted for the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award and the British Book Awards in 2016, amongst others. It also won the Teach Primary New Children's Fiction Award and the MadeForMums Award.

Hodder Children's Books

Little Whale

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver

Told through the eyes of a whale and her calf, this mesmerisingly beautiful book is a story of migration, family and the strength of parental love."We're going home, Little Whale," said her mother. Travelling from the warm weather of the south, through coral reefs, kelp forests and glittering shoals of fish, Little Whale follows her mother north. For in the icy north is their family - but also great danger...With its evocative charcoal drawings and lyrical storytelling, Jo Weaver's illustrations have the feel of an instant classic celebrating the tender relationship between parent and child.Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards 2014.

Hodder Children's Books

Knock Knock Pirate

Caryl Hart, Nick East
Contributors:
Caryl Hart, Nick East

A rhyming pirate counting book with a difference - the follow up to the hilarious Knock Knock Dinosaur - from award-winning author Caryl Hart, creator of How to Grow a Dinosaur, and bestselling illustrator Nick East.A visit from a pirate might sound like fun . . . but when the Captain's whole crew turn up too - causing mayhem and chaos - it's time for this little girl to panic. What is Dad going to say when he gets home?!Caryl Hart has won the Stockport Children's Book Award, the Oldham Brilliant Books Award, the Rotherham Children's Book Award, and has been shortlisted for the Red House Children's Book Award.Follow Caryl at carylhart.com and @carylhart1 Find Nick at nickeastillustration.com

Hodder Children's Books

Oi Cat!

Kes Gray, Jim Field
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Jim Field
Hodder Children's Books

Me and My Dad

Robin Shaw
Authors:
Robin Shaw

From the award-winning animator of The Snowman and the Snowdog, Ethel & Ernest and We're Going on a Bear Hunt, this imaginative adventure is a visual feast and the perfect gift for Father's Day. There is nothing more exciting that a trip down the road with Dad. There are snapping crocodiles, stomping dinosaurs, sleeping princesses and golden treasure - but that's not even the best bit. The best bit's at the end...This is Robin Shaw's first book for children.Follow Robin Shaw on Twitter at @RobinPeeShaw.