Jennifer Mathieu - Devoted - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444945256
    • Publication date:10 Jan 2019

Devoted

By Jennifer Mathieu

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

From the author of Zoella's Book Club pick, MOXIE, come a feminist coming-of-age story about self-discovery and taking life into your own hands ...

An empowering, feminist coming-of-age story about self-discovery, from the author of MOXIE - a Zoella Book Club book ...

Rachel Walker's family and community have turned away from the world.

Every part of Rachel's life is controlled, from what she reads to where she goes and what she wears. Her parents dictate how her life must be: marriage, modesty, children and obedience to her future husband. But when a former member of her community, a girl who escaped, moves back to her small Texas town, Rachel's world turns upside down.

She realises that her life is her own. But can she find the courage to fight for it?

Biographical Notes

Jennifer Mathieu was born on the East Coast of America, to a mom from Cuba and a dad from Chile. Jennifer teaches English to middle and high schoolers in Texas, where she now lives with her husband, son and rescue dog. She used to make her own zine, and is writing about all her favourite things in Moxie - punk rock, lady rights, the 90s, zines, Texas, and an interesting female protagonists. She writes contemporary YA fiction that treats teens like real people.
www.jennifermathieu.com
twitter: @jenmathieu
Instagram: @authorjenmathieu
Facebook: writerjennifermathieu

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444945225
  • Publication date: 10 Jan 2019
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

Arrowheart 2

Rebecca Sky
Authors:
Rebecca Sky
Orion Children's Books

Untitled Annabel Pitcher 1

Annabel Pitcher
Authors:
Annabel Pitcher
Hodder Children's Books

Little Tigers

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver

Told through the eyes of a tiger and her two cubs, this beautiful book is a story of nature, migration, family and the strength of parental love.Mother Tiger and her two cubs journey through their jungle habitat, searching high and low for the perfect new home where they will be safe. A beautifully illustrated celebration of the love between parent and child and the wonders of the natural world. With its mesmerising, atmospheric charcoal drawings and lyrical storytelling, Jo Weaver's new picture book has the feel of an instant classic. Perfect for fans of BBC's Planet Earth.Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards.

Hodder Children's Books

Jennifer Mathieu UNTITLED

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu

Hodder Children's Books

Afterward

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu

From the author of MOXIE, comes a moving story of self-discovery and the hope that comes with friendship.Ethan Jorgensen went on a bike ride four years ago, and has not been seen since ...When Caroline's little brother is kidnapped, his subsequent rescue leads to the discovery of Ethan, now fifteen years old. Caroline, can't help but wonder what happened to her brother who has non-verbal autism and is not adjusting well to life back home. And there's only one person who knows the truth: Ethan.But Ethan isn't sure how he can help Caroline when he is fighting traumatic memories of his own time in captivity.One thing's for sure. Both Caroline and Ethan need a friend, and their best option just might be each other ...

Orion Children's Books

A Strange Kind of Brave

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Hodder Children's Books

You Can't Hide

Sarah Mussi
Authors:
Sarah Mussi
Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Egg of Glory

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Hodder Children's Books

Missing

Jenny Oldfield
Authors:
Jenny Oldfield

A family marooned on an island finds loveable dolphins to help them survive: classic adventure from million-copy-selling Jenny Oldfield. Shipwrecked near a tiny island in a vast ocean, the Fisher family are guided to safety by a small pod of dolphins. Fleur, Alfie, Mia and their parents must learn to build shelter, find fresh water and hunt for food. Each of the children forms a special bond with one of the family of dolphins. Fleur adores the fun-loving, tail-walking Jazz. Mia names her dark-grey dolphin friend Stormy. And Alfie is saved from the shipwreck by Pearl, who always looks out for him. The family have relied on their pod of dolphins for everything - but they're ready to come to the rescue when, this time, it's their dolphin friends who need the kids' help! Jenny Oldfield strikes gold in this beautifully illustrated, exciting adventure story, the fifth in the Dolphin Island series.The full series: Shipwreck, Lost at Sea, Survival, Fire!, Missing, Storm Clouds.

Hodder Children's Books

Storm Clouds

Jenny Oldfield
Authors:
Jenny Oldfield

A family marooned on an island finds loveable dolphins to help them survive: classic adventure from million-copy-selling Jenny Oldfield. Shipwrecked near a tiny island in a vast ocean, the Fisher family are guided to safety by a small pod of dolphins. Fleur, Alfie, Mia and their parents must learn to build shelter, find fresh water and hunt for food. Each of the children forms a special bond with one of the family of dolphins. Fleur adores the fun-loving, tail-walking Jazz. Mia names her dark-grey dolphin friend Stormy. And Alfie is saved from the shipwreck by Pearl, who always looks out for him. A mysterious creature is prowling in the island's forests. while a hurricane rises off shore. Fleur, Alfie and Mia need the dolphins as never before ... Jenny Oldfield strikes gold in this beautifully illustrated, exciting adventure story, the sixth in the Dolphin Island series.The full series: Shipwreck, Lost at Sea, Survival, Fire!, Missing, Storm Clouds.

Hodder Children's Books

The Grerks at No. 55

Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Orchard Books

Phantom

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt
Hodder Children's Books

The Survival Game

Nicky Singer
Authors:
Nicky Singer
Franklin Watts

A New Friend For Hannah

Elizabeth Dale, Sarah Lawrence
Contributors:
Elizabeth Dale, Sarah Lawrence
Hodder Children's Books

Grace and Fury

Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart
Hodder Children's Books

The Golden Sands

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters

The seventh in a magical, exciting series by Olympian and World Book Day ambassador Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony!What if you had a magic bracelet that meant you could see golden magic everywhere?Evie's grandma has sent her another parcel. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet! And when Evie and her friends find themselves on the most exciting beach holiday of their lives, they'll need all their magical know-how for their most dangerous challenge yet ... Evie shares Jessica's determination and drive - an inspiration for kids everywhere.The full list of titles: 1. The Silver Unicorn2. The Enchanted Puppy3. The Sprites' Den4. The Unicorn's Foal5. The Clocktower Charm6. The Fire Bird7. The Golden Sands

Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins

One boy stranded at sea. One girl back on land. One ocean between them. The only thing willing him to survive is the thought of her. A romance with bite, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.Sometimes you have to lose yourself, to find each other.Kai has always been best friends with Jen; ever since he and his mum moved to Cornwall when he was small. But now his feelings are deepening. It's ridiculous to imagine Jen would feel the same, especially since she has been hanging out with surf-pro Macca, the guy everyone fancies. Frustrated by his feelings, Kai makes a snap decision that will put his life in great danger. Stranded at sea, time is running out. With only his thoughts to occupy him, he must face some buried truths about his past. And confront his future with the girl back on shore, if he can reach it ... if the ocean doesn't take him first.

Hodder Children's Books

The Truth About Alice - from the author of MOXIE

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu

Fans of THIRTEEN REASONS WHY will love this powerful book about stereotypes, secrets and standing up for gender equality, from the author of Zoella Book Club book MOXIE.There are all sorts of rumours about Alice Franklin. And after star quarterback Brandon Fitzsimmons dies in a car accident, the rumours start to spiral out of control blaming Alice for Brandon's death.In this remarkable novel, four Healy High students - the party girl, the car accident survivor, the ex best friend and the boy next door - tell all they know. But exactly what is the truth about Alice? In the end there's only one person to ask: Alice herself.Zoella on Moxie: 'I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH ... a really empowering book that I wish I had read when I was younger.' 'Should be required reading for anyone in high school' Bustle

Franklin Watts

Poppy's Project

Jackie Walter, John & Gus Art
Contributors:
Jackie Walter, John & Gus Art
Franklin Watts

Poor Bear

Lynne Benton, Alex Naidoo
Contributors:
Lynne Benton, Alex Naidoo